• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Think I fried my 2500K :'(

Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#1
Was overclocking yesterday and messing with the vcore anyway normally I have it set manually though thought I would try the offset mode, anyway the issue is my efi bios doesn't have the best mouse support and when trying to scroll down boxes it becomes buggy, I ended up setting it to +0.5v which is the highest setting and misread it as 0.05v booted and BSOD, now I get an instant BSOD even at stock settings, tried everything :cry:
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,781
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
Tried removing the cmos battery for a hour ?.. And you checked the mobo just to see if thats gone and not the cpu ?.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#3
not tried removing battery for an hour no, though have reset cmos, at stock settings trying to reinstall Win7 x64 it loads the files and then when the windows flag icon appears it BSOD there, the message is

MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION with code STOP: 0x0000009c (0x0000000000000001, 0xfffff8800376bb30, 0x00000000bf800000, 0x0000000000000115)
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#4
It could also be a RAM stick or HDD although getting it while overclocking the CPU is a strong indicator of a failed CPU or board.

Have you tried the CPU in another board?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#5
Nope dont have another board/CPU to test none of my friends have an SB setup either :banghead:
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#6
it's odd, it will load one of my OC profiles which is 4.2ghz and start windows insallation so I am thinking it's probably not the CPU however I still get the BSOD once the windows icon appears, how can I troubleshoot this without another rig :banghead:
 
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
1,153 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name Alienware laptop
Processor intel i7-3610M @ 2,30Ghz
Motherboard dell?
Cooling 2 built in laptop cooling fans
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Mobility Radeon HD 7970 2GB GDDR5 850/1200 No overclock yet
Storage 1TB hard drive 1.5TB external
Display(s) laptop screen 17.3" 1920x1080 + LG 22" inch LCD HD 1920 x 1200
Case My laptop back pack case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster
Power Supply laptop brick
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#7
run in safe mode ? Try underclocking as much as you can. Remove all ram but one stick. hope this helps
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
1,647 (0.57/day)
Likes
3,802
Location
Alberta,Canada
Processor just a few i7's all AMD's gone to friends
Motherboard Mother F%#@& am I board
Cooling It's called Alberta Canada.
Memory Don't remember.
Video Card(s) Hope for blckjack
Storage hurt my toe's when droped
Display(s) never big enough
Case I think they call it a lost case
Audio Device(s) What speek up I'm old.
Power Supply Good old coffee
Software when you get this old everything is soft
Benchmark Scores Always on the bench never on the field.
#8
Have you looked for damage. Take the side panel off and look through the CPU hole. Also look at any thing on the front of the board.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#9
it wont run my oc profile as I previously thought it was running default settings anything other than these and it wont post, oh and am shit out of luck if its the CPU as even though it was a retail chip amazon only offer 30 days so would have to go direct to intel :banghead:

have removed all drives except my dvd drive and when it gets to the same point of windows installation it BSOD so I can't start in safe mode as I have no windows installation to boot into, removed everything except 1 stick ram, gpu and cpu and still the same, only posting at default options FFS
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2,191 (0.65/day)
Likes
1,069
Location
Texas
System Name Behemoth-6700k
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
Cooling D5 Vario w/ EK X-Top; EK 240 PE, EK 420 PE; EK RES X3 150; HeatKiller IV Pro
Memory 32Gb (4x8Gb) GSkill Ripjaws 3000Mhz @ 15/16/16/35 1.35v
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080ti Amp Extreme
Storage Crucial M500 240GB; Mushkin 1TB SSD x 2; WD Blue 2TB; WD Black 1TB x2
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 34" 3440x1440; LG 27" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo; Phanteks F140SP Fans x 12 (6 x Top Rad); Noctua IPPC-2000 x4 (Bottom Rad)
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350
Mouse MS Trackball Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB; Razer Tartarus Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
Remove battery as stated before, and wait an hour or so. I had a DFI board that did this too. Removing the battery and letting it sit for a bit did the trick.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#11
I highly doubt this will make any difference, what will this do apart from clear cmos which I have done numerous times? regardless I am going out anyway so I will do it though I don't expect anything to have changed when I come back :cry:
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,209 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,396
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#12
Hard luck bro
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#13
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.74/day)
Likes
351
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
#14
Ouch, overclocking does have its dangers sometimes it seems :/
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,756 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,649
Location
04578
#15
most likely the chip is damaged and if you used XMP profiles your fucked intel will refuse RMA
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
666 (0.27/day)
Likes
268
Location
coventry UK
System Name Gwafwar
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Msi p67a gd45
Cooling EK H30 HF240
Memory 16Gb Hyper X 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX970
Storage 840 250Gb 6TB on 3 drives
Display(s) 3x 27" 1080p Lg's
Case Coolermaster 690 II pure black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 80+bronze 800W
Mouse Saitek X65-f HOTAS
Software Win7 ultimate 64,
#16
most likely the chip is damaged and if you used XMP profiles your fucked intel will refuse RMA
why would intel refuse RMA on XMP. It's intel tech.... Just a personal curiosity.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,459 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,126
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#17
Remove battery as stated before, and wait an hour or so. I had a DFI board that did this too. Removing the battery and letting it sit for a bit did the trick.
I highly doubt this will make any difference, what will this do apart from clear cmos which I have done numerous times? regardless I am going out anyway so I will do it though I don't expect anything to have changed when I come back :cry:
Remove the battery. It can and may make a difference. I've had plenty of boards where just resetting the CMOS wasn't enough, but removing the battery was. It's easy to do.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#18
Battery's out, will leave it an hour or so and check, what seems more likely the board or the CPU is fried if this doesn't fix it?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,459 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,126
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#19
Based off of what you did I don't see how anything could of fried.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#20
Based off of what you did I don't see how anything could of fried.
Nor me but never had anything like this happen so I am worried, what does the vcore offset actually do cause as mentioned I set it at +0.5v (stupid glitchy mouse control in efi bios :banghead: ) so what would that actually mean for the CPU as mentioned it wouldnt boot anyway so was only running like that for a minute :mad:
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#21
My friends MSI P67 G45 has a very similar issue with the mouse even on the latest bios. Pretty annoying but at least the keyboard works.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,742 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,160
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,663 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,242
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#23
I'm cautiously optimistic that you haven't fried it. You've removed the battery as has been suggested, which is great. I'd like to also add that you should move the cmos clear link over, as described in the mobo manual. It's not clear from the posts above if you've actually done this bit. If not, it's a very important step to try.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#24
So after removing the battery for an hour then only having one stick of RAM and the dvd drive connected I turned it on, it posted and the Win7 dvd started loading, it actually made it past where it did before and took me to the installation options with no BSOD woohoo so exiting the windows installation cause I had no drives attached anyway I proceeded to install the other 3 sticks of RAM, my soundcard and plugged my other drives in, startedup, posted and started to load windows, then bam, the same BSOD happened :banghead: proceeded to remove all the drives except the dvd, kept all 4 ram sticks in and the same BSOD, removed the soundcard too BSOD took 3 sticks out BSOD, tried a different stick, BSOD rinse and repeat until I tested all 4 sticks seperately (and in different slots) with no change??? WTF gives?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,714 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,471
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#25
I would pull the CPU off the board and examine both the socket and the back of the CPU at this point. Not saying you did any damage here, but I had a similar response from my PC when I blew the socket up;)