• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Think I fried my 2500K :'(

Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,745 (0.41/day)
Likes
176
Location
The Nevada Wasteland
System Name 9th Level
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE @3.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA790FX-UD5P
Cooling Corsair H100, x2 250mm, x1 140mm, x3 120mm fans.
Memory 8GB Patriot DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480 (800/1600/2000/@1.0v)
Storage x1 80GB, x2 1TB.
Display(s) Acer 24" 2ms 1920x1200
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Xtreme gamer 64mb Xram
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#51
Nor me but never had anything like this happen so I am worried, what does the vcore offset actually do cause as mentioned I set it at +0.5v (stupid glitchy mouse control in efi bios :banghead: ) so what would that actually mean for the CPU as mentioned it wouldnt boot anyway so was only running like that for a minute :mad:
Just an FYI, I never use mouse controls in the bios. Only the keyboard. Can't go wrong with the keyboard.

Also, unplug the PSU then take the battery out. That way there is no power to the board at all.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.81/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#52
My first 2600K died in a similar fashion. If the new motherboard doesn't solve the problem RMA the CPU, it's possible they give you a new one.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
836
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#53
If I had to guess I would say the motherboard.... If it where the CPU.... you would probably just get a No Post/No video. But since you get to the windows installation....sounds to me like something is damaged on the motherboard somewhere. I would definitely try the motherboard first since you have tried most of the basics that everyone else has suggested to you.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#54
Think it's bad news, replaced mobo, installed all components went to load Windows and bam BSOD, the same one :cry: left CPU at stock and put 1.35vcore through her and loaded Windows without a hitch the first time. Looks like it has degraded because of the extra voltage put through it, the only real question now is how long it will last. The SB chips are notorious for degrading when they receive too much voltage, sometimes they can run for months and other times it has been a matter of weeks/days from when the degradation starts.

Am in a fresh Windows install so am going to start doing some stress testing at stock and try and get it lower than 1.35vcore to see how bad the situation might be, though tbh I think this 2500k's overclocking days are over, RIP baby :cry:
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.57/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#55
2500K is $149 at microcenter atm...
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,216 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,412
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#56
Pitty you cant RMA a CPU while its in that state too. you are stuck in a half dead like state and you never know when its gonna cop out.

2500K is $149 at microcenter atm...
Not bad if shipping to the UK doesnt kill it
 
Last edited:

scooper22

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
108 (0.04/day)
Likes
30
Location
Central Europe
Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX (uv, oc)
Motherboard 90-MXGIP0-A0UAYZ
Cooling VENOMOUS-X + TR-FDB-12-600 + PLPS
Memory F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2
Video Card(s) 21188-00-40R + DCACO-V3400-BLA01 (uv, unlock)
Storage WD10EALS-00Z8A0 + 4044951000029
Display(s) VM633AT
Case FT02B-W
Audio Device(s) SB0090, ALC892
Power Supply BN162
#57
Before ordering further hardware or RMAing something (takes time, stamp costs, etc.) you could try to check the system with priority on RAM.
As you have only a DVD-drive I propose the Ultimate Boot CD. It has lots of stuff like partitioning, etc. but also many hardware test suites. Let them run for some time and pour another glass ;-)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#58
Before ordering further hardware or RMAing something (takes time, stamp costs, etc.) you could try to check the system with priority on RAM.
As you have only a DVD-drive I propose the Ultimate Boot CD. It has lots of stuff like partitioning, etc. but also many hardware test suites. Let them run for some time and pour another glass ;-)
I have previously tried ALL RAM sticks seperately and in different slots with no luck, tried booting with onboiard and only 1 stick of RAM plugged in and absolutely nothing else and still no joy, tonight everything plugged in, give her some vcore and bam booted straight up, as I mentioned thye symptoms I have SB chips are notorious for developing if you give them too much voltage, luckily (well not for me) it doesn't happen as much now as when they first came out as overclocking SB has come on since and people can still get 4.5-5.0 out of them without pumping them full of voltage and degrading them.

Freedom you are right, I am stuck in limbo, just how far into limbo I am I do not know. Good thing is even at 1.35v it's idling at 24c and running IBT never goes above 40c, bought some MX-2 today and really my temps are FAR FAR better than the temps I had previously with Arctic Silver :wtf:
 

scooper22

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
108 (0.04/day)
Likes
30
Location
Central Europe
Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX (uv, oc)
Motherboard 90-MXGIP0-A0UAYZ
Cooling VENOMOUS-X + TR-FDB-12-600 + PLPS
Memory F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2
Video Card(s) 21188-00-40R + DCACO-V3400-BLA01 (uv, unlock)
Storage WD10EALS-00Z8A0 + 4044951000029
Display(s) VM633AT
Case FT02B-W
Audio Device(s) SB0090, ALC892
Power Supply BN162
#59
there are further tests for CPU (int/fp) validity and stress resistance on that CD. Or HDD-Tests that go through the SATA controller on the SB.
(Also, sticking one RAM stick in at a time is not testing the stick for vaulth-free-ness. A RAM test covers the whole address space on the stick and is usually located in the hours runtime)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,780 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,183
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#60
Might aswell bite the bullet and grab another CPU
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#61
Am tearing my hair out,

The CPU is actually at 1.135vcore not 1.35v as I thought and it passes IBT at that voltage (actually reads 1.044-1.055 in Windows :eek: ) So that's my theory of it being the CPU out of the window, I mean it still could be but now it doesn't make any sense at all.

RAM is running at 1333, going to leave everything else as is and run the XMP profile and see what happens :ohwell:
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,216 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,412
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#62
bought some MX-2 today and really my temps are FAR FAR better than the temps I had previously with Arctic Silver :wtf:
IMO either your house or room is retardedly cold (was 17-18'c in my room a few nights ago - my coolant temp went down to 28'c) or the temp sensor on your CPU is borked. like my 4870 was when Sapphire returned it from RMA.

My 2500k alone idles at around 30-35'c. Im thinking its borked. I used MX-2 for a long time on CPUs and graphic cards and they never dropped temps that drasticly unless the room was freezing.

-----

I'll probably get trolled for saying this, but id just do whatever i can to finish the CPU off then just RMA it and say it just stopped working one day.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,780 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,183
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#63
This is a very Hard lesson learned indeed, wisest words, Everything is like a box of chocolates, you never know what your gonna get.

Next time, Up the CPU a little bit and run it for a week with stress tests daily, keep eye on temps, voltage, cooling. Record it down, then up it a lil again n so forth.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#64
Up the CPU a little bit
I didn't mean to pump +0.5v into it :shadedshu

So after trying XMP (1600mhz) can't get the system to boot without BSOD even setting 1.65v for RAM and trying from 1.135vcore up to 1.32, it just wouldn't go.

Might be the RAM, chances are it's the memory controller, hirens boot CD here I come :rolleyes:

On a sidenote, it runs lovely at 1333 RAM and low vcore, fast aand solid, anything else and it just won't do it :ohwell:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,780 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,183
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#65
Try the Factory speed of the ram without XMP, aka force the settings themselves.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,780 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,183
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#67
So set 1600 and sub timings manually?
yes and the voltage that is factory for that ram.

Tell u truth I dont like XMP or anything like that rather do it myself.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,501
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#68
So set 1600 and sub timings manually?
yes and the voltage that is factory for that ram.

Tell u truth I dont like XMP or anything like that rather do it myself.
Don't forget you may need IMC volts too. With XMP off that will drop to stock. Most XMP profiles will add some here.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#69
yes and the voltage that is factory for that ram.

Tell u truth I dont like XMP or anything like that rather do it myself.
I will try, 1 question should the vcore have an effect on running a higher/tigther RAM timings? as I have it a 1.135v do I need to raise it when I up the RAM as the mem controller is on the proc?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,501
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#70
I will try, 1 question should the vcore have an effect on running a higher/tigther RAM timings? as I have it a 1.135v do I need to raise it when I up the RAM as the mem controller is on the proc?
Not typically, that's why I mentioned IMC voltage.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,501
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#72
it is different for every kit really:(

If you are having issues at 1600mhz ram speeds, bump it one or two notches from stock, shouldn't take a ton of volts to get it stable though, so if it isn't responding well, don't keep pushing the IMC;)

I don't have my board fired up to see the voltage, but iirc 1.2V is top end, as in you really don't need that much.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#73
it is different for every kit really:(

If you are having issues at 1600mhz ram speeds, bump it one or two notches from stock, shouldn't take a ton of volts to get it stable though, so if it isn't responding well, don't keep pushing the IMC;)

I don't have my board fired up to see the voltage, but iirc 1.2V is top end, as in you really don't need that much.
what else might the IMC voltage be listed at :confused:
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,501
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#74
googling the board...brb
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,780 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,183
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#75
TBH I dont overclock ram at all, leave it stock, CPU and vid card are what i focus on.