1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Think twice about removing IHS on an X2 6000+

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Wile E, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Well, I killed yet another cpu. I tried to pop the IHS off of my X2 6000+. Had it good and warm and everything, but the core ripped out. Mine appeared to be soldered. I didn't think AMD did that, but the silvery substance squeezing out from around the core where it meets the IHS is shiny silver, and hard as a rock. I have to have some of the worst luck with computers. At least I have this X2 3800+ (very first batch :() to hold me off until I get my E6600. Pics below.
     

    Attached Files:

    Law-II and de.das.dude say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Wile E...you ever thought of...you know...stopping? lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    :roll: Never.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,788 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Never ever forcefully remove an IHS.
    If it doesn't literally fall off after cutting the black rubber on the edges it is soldered. Judging by the scratches on the edge of the package you indeed forced it off with a screwdriver.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,979 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    another dead cpu :p
    you should get insurance
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    lol the last weeks ur breaking stuff offed
     
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yep, discovered this the hard way. Unfortunately, I never noticed any references to that before. I thought the glue was just extra tough on mine. lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Now I know what the inside of a AMD dual core looks like.
    Thankyou for sharing.:D
     
    jgunning says thanks.
  9. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,224 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Wile E, I thought you were intelligent man! What happened!? :roll:
    Jokes :p, you've just been having an 'interesting' month :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Texas
    haha if killing $400+ worth on parts is considered interesting!
    lucky you have me waiting in the wings to bring my 680i and e6600!

    just remember, CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT! (*cue zek with funny cat picture)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It also killed the cpu in this case. :roll:

    Seriously tho, if it weren't for you, I'd be much more upset right now. Thanks bro.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    all i can say is when are you going to take of the IHS of the x2 3800:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Believe it or not, I'm debating it. :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,224 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Spoilt little child :laugh:
    I wish I had a mountain of hardware to screw with :p. One day :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    What?????

    rly? Have you tried it yet?

    You need a psu and FX62 now u say LOL
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The only reason I haven't tried yet, is because this is my last cpu. lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,224 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    HEY! When did you get a stacker!?
    Why was I not informed :cool:
    Congratulations on your entry into the cool club :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    lol. I'd debate the FX-62, but I don't need the psu. Mine is just fine. lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I can't belive this happened.

    Have you stuck it in just to see if it does still work?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    :roll: Look at the pics again. The WHOLE core is attached to the bottom of the IHS, and there is a ginormous (relatively speaking) hole where the core is supposed to be on the chip.

    0% chance of ever operating again.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Did u have to force it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Somewhat, but not that hard. I thought it was just a bit of glue that I missed or something.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Well I guess you have to put AMD chips on the oven now too before you remove it. That sucks!!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, I even took out off of a fresh shutdown, where I did a little Orthos to warm it up good.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. rhythmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,029 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    R.I.P. little sweetheart :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)