• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Thinking about overclocking i5 3570 to 4.6ghz

newlife

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
112 (0.06/day)
Likes
30
Location
Adelaide, Australia
System Name O'Neill By Design
Processor i5-3570 not k 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 extreme 6
Cooling Coolermater V8
Memory Patriot G2 DDR3 1600mhz (Overclocked to 2200mhz)
Video Card(s) 2x GIGABYTE GTX 560(GV-N56GOC-1GI)
Storage 60GB Patriot Pyro SSD, 2TB WD Black
Display(s) An Aussie 40" Full HD Led Lcd(Samsang Panel)
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC898 onboard
Power Supply Corsair GS-600(yes it runs 2x gtx 560)
Benchmark Scores SuperPi:8.265sec, Pifast: 16.44, WPrime 32m 6.895sec, Unigine Heaven-basic preset : 2638.12, 3D Mark
#1
Hey im thinking about overclocking i5-3570 to 4.6. Just by changing cpu ratio i got it 2 4ghz so i would need to change the bus speed from 100mhz to 115mhz which would also change pcie to the same. Does anyone think it is a good idea, what volatages should i use and what volatages are normal for that speed on i5-3570k?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,271 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#2
Increase the multi to 46. Set your voltage to 1.37 volts, test for stability. If stable, start lowering voltage and testing for stability between each drop in voltage until no longer stable. When you reach the lowest voltage you can run 4.6ghz at stable, check your CPU temp under full load and make sure it is no higher than 75'c.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#3
It is not a good idea to change BCLK. But even if you try you'd be lucky to get past 105.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,271 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#4
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#5
Increase the multi to 46. Set your voltage to 1.37 volts, test for stability. If stable, start lowering voltage and testing for stability between each drop in voltage until no longer stable. When you reach the lowest voltage you can run 4.6ghz at stable, check your CPU temp under full load and make sure it is no higher than 75'c.
Th OP states he has a locked i5-3570 so all you're saying does not apply. All he can do is apply 4 "bins" above the max turbo frequencies.
 

newlife

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
112 (0.06/day)
Likes
30
Location
Adelaide, Australia
System Name O'Neill By Design
Processor i5-3570 not k 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 extreme 6
Cooling Coolermater V8
Memory Patriot G2 DDR3 1600mhz (Overclocked to 2200mhz)
Video Card(s) 2x GIGABYTE GTX 560(GV-N56GOC-1GI)
Storage 60GB Patriot Pyro SSD, 2TB WD Black
Display(s) An Aussie 40" Full HD Led Lcd(Samsang Panel)
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC898 onboard
Power Supply Corsair GS-600(yes it runs 2x gtx 560)
Benchmark Scores SuperPi:8.265sec, Pifast: 16.44, WPrime 32m 6.895sec, Unigine Heaven-basic preset : 2638.12, 3D Mark
#6
it maxs at 4.2 all cores and 4.4 turbo with a multi of 42x(only 40x when all cores are in use) and bus set to 105. i know i should have got a i5 3570K then i could be pushing 5ghz, atm i only get a max of 50c with my cooler which is to cold for my liking
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,271 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#7
Th OP states he has a locked i5-3570 so all you're saying does not apply. All he can do is apply 4 "bins" above the max turbo frequencies.
DOH, and I'm one of those guys that hates it when someone replies to a thread without thoroughly reading it. My bad.