1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

This copy of windows must be activated before you continue??? WTH?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by vbx, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Not sure if I deleted something or what, but all of a sudden, I get this "activation" message every time I log onto xp? It says I have 5 days left?

    "This copy of windows must be activated before you continue".. Windows XP media center.

    There are two options: Would you like to activate windows now?
    Yes or No.

    When I click yes, It says Windows is already activated and I can do my thing on the desktop.

    But, when I log off and log back in, the same pop up menu showing up.

    Windows is genuine, running fine for months and all of a sudden, it says I have 5 days left?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. RaPiDo987

    RaPiDo987 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    583 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    I have encounter the same problem.... Do a windows update (service pack 2), then you'll have the option to enter you product key.... hope this helps
     
  3. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    I updated to SP3 a while back.
     
  4. Cybrnook

    Cybrnook

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    716 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    C:\Kitteh
    Did you recently do some significant hardware changes? Windows XP will log every hardware change, and when it reaches a certain limit, it forces you to reactivate. :)

    I also take it this is a Legit version? Not a Cooked copy?
     
  5. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    lol yea its legit. I doubt it would pass the WGA if it was a cooked copy. How do I reactivate? It says windows is already activated.
     
  6. Boyfriend New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    160 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Re-enter product key and then activate it. Google the method to change the product key of Windows XP
     
  7. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,961 (4.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,593
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Looks like your windows has got itself confused there - registry corruption or something. Well done Microsoft. :nutkick:

    If you go to the TechNet forums and look at the product activation FAQ or ask your question there, you'll get your answer in no time flat. They've got lots of Microsoft MVPs there who will know about this and give you a high quality answer.

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-gb/ms772425.aspx
     
  8. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)