• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

This may confuse you all..........

Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#1
Not sure where to start, im puzzled......Task manager (win8) is only showing two physical cores, a few days ago or when I last noticed I had four (FX-4100)....ive checked other forums and seems this is an apparent problem for some.... I even followed some peoples advice.....

ive ran a windows repair, reinstall win8, updated bios, enabled all four cores to remain on, reset bios defaults, took battery out etc, checked every monitoring program (all showing four cores), switched to boot on four cores, ran multi-threading/core programs, updated windows, searched windows forums, changed power settings and still TM wont recognise four physical cores......

I saw one guy mention it only has two cores and the others are logical (he worked for windows)...



please help
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,781
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#2
Interesting, must be a slight bug in Win8, or something to do with the 4 core achitecture of the AMD making windows think there is hyperthreading going on (which is NOT the case for AMD). It's showing 4 logical cores, but only 2 physical ones. As long as applications recognise it, I say no worries.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
It would seem the software people are deciding that each Bulldozer "Module" is a core with two logical processors in it. Looks like we are heading towards a fight between the software companies and AMD. AMD is calling each integer core a "core" while the software companies are calling each Module a "Core" and the integer cores in each module a "Logical Core".

I read somewhere that CPU-Z was doing the same thing Windows is, calling each module a "core" and each integer core a "logical core". It is really arguable which is true, because what AMD is calling a "Core" isn't a true full core, it is more of a core than Intel's HyperThreading, but not a true core either...

TL;DR It all comes down to what the software wants to call it, don't worry about it, you are still able to use your FX chip to its fullest. Windows is still using all 4 "cores".
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#4
hmm but im wondering if the other programs are seeing 'logical cores', and it is definitely a bug its bugging the hell out of me lol, so what youre saying is we're being sold 'quad cores' which are actually dual cores with the capability of 'quads'
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,480 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,637
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#5
2 real cores + 2 "virtual/ht"cores
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
2 real cores + 2 "virtual/ht"cores
nope. It's 4 identical cores in FX chips. I get what you mean...but...all 4 cores are identical.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
Two modules, four cores. Looks like the "word" modules isn't in Windows 8 library so it says what it says. Everything is working as it should be.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#8
Modules wasn't in my vocabulary either.... just found this once I searched the term....


''AMD Zambezi core and the first FX-Series microprocessors were launched in October 2011. Zambezi is based on Bulldozer microarchitecture, and it is manufactured on 32nm process. Internally, the core is organized as 2, 3, or 4 Bulldozer modules, coupled with shared 8 MB level 3 cache and on-chip DDR3 memory controller. Each Bulldozer module integrates two CPU cores, that share some circuitry, such as instruction fetch and decode logic, L1 instruction cache, L2 cache, and Floating-Point Unit. The core incorporates all technologies, found in AMD K10 microarchitecture, and adds SSE4.1, SSE4.2, AES and AVX extensions to instruction set. Currently (January 2012), Zambezi core is utilized only in desktop processors. ''

so I was thinking of purchasing an eight series, thinking of eight cores...:confused: lol and thanks for the clarification..
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
so I was thinking of purchasing an eight series, thinking of eight cores... lol and thanks for the clarification..
No problem :) The 8 series is still eight cores though...

8 series: 4 modules/8 cores
6 series: 3 modules/6 cores
4 series: 2 modules/4 cores
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
This is my very simplified guide to how Intel Cores work compared to AMD Cores, based on my understanding of how they work:
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#11
so which is best?? lol

I been reading up on overclocking and it mentions if it exceeds 3.8ghz then it uses two cores... will this be the modules?? also in my bios settings I can enable all cores to stay on and overclock% each core... again would that be two modules or staying with four 'cores'
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#12
I think that graphic is comparing Intels Hyperthreading to AMDs modules. While intel has two threads, it is beign worked on by one core, while the opposite is happening with AMD.

It would make more sense if it were 2 jobs > 2 cores instead the AMD graphic says 1 job > 2 cores, which I don't think is accurate.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#13
so which is best?? lol
Whoooboy we can discuss this at lenght, and it has been discussed at lenght. The simple answer is that Intel runs great with singlethreaded and multithreaded stuff, while AMD lacks behind in single threaded applications, but use multithreaded applications and they are doing pretty darn good. Generally. Depending on the actual application.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
I think that graphic is comparing Intels Hyperthreading to AMDs modules. While intel has two threads, it is beign worked on by one core, while the opposite is happening with AMD.

It would make more sense if it were 2 jobs > 2 cores instead the AMD graphic says 1 job > 2 cores, which I don't think is accurate.
A queue is multiple jobs, the core decides what job in the queue gets worked on by which worker.

Yes, you could have only one job in the queue, which is what happens with a single threaded application. But in that instance only one of the two "cores" will be used.

Also, what isn't really made clear by the picture is the fact that AMD's "cores" are less capable than Intel's. Which is why single threaded performance is worse with AMD.

Intel has one beefy core doing the work of two, and it is very capable of that, AMD has two weaker cores. When you ask Intel's single beefy core to do the work of a single core it tears through it very quickly compared to one AMD core.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#15
but then it comes to multi threaded applications it suffers.... im with you.... kinda!
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#16
Also, what isn't really made clear by the picture is the fact that AMD's "cores" are less capable than Intel's.
I wouldn't call them less capable since the capability of the CPU is about the same. The real difference is the length of the pipeline and how many clock cycles it takes to execute one particular instruction. As the pipeline gets longer, IPC is only one of the issues you encounter because now that you get that much deeper into the code before the first instruction executes, branch mispredictions have that much more of a penalty. Mainly because the bigger pipeline has to be completely cleared out before it can start executing again and you again have to wait for that first instruction to get through the entire pipeline.

All in all, Intel's CPU have better latency through the pipeline from start to end so they handle code with a lot of conditional statements better than AMD. I would say AMD offers a better core for crunching numbers where Intel offers a better core for logic in general. Meaning if you're going to do something like fold or crunch, AMD might be a better option (also because applications like those use all of your cores,) but when it comes to overall performance, Intel holds the crown.

Keep in mind though that neither AMD or Intel produces a bad CPU. They've both worked very hard on the CPU lineups that they have and some are good at some things and some are good at others. It's really that simple. Also how can you blame AMD? Intel has a lot more money than AMD to dump into everything anyways.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#17
isnt the 4100 two cores? and four modules?