• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

This program "killed" my GPU or it was just coincidence?

bodosko

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name Temporary System :S
Processor Athlon X2 5400 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Foxconn A6VMX by VSCom
Memory 1 x 2Gb DDR2 800mhz Markvision
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts [currently dead] :(
Storage Samsung 80Gb
Display(s) AOC LM722 17'
Power Supply Seventeam 420W
Software Windows XP SP3
I don't know if this fact with the program caused it but I will tell....
I wanted to know my Motherboard BIOS version. On EVEREST it was recommending this program BIOSAgent to see BIOS Version.
I downloaded and immediately after I ran it, I got this splash screen, and here the PC freezed.

The program main screen is this one, that I couldn't even see cause it freezed at the program splash screen:


I waited about 30mins to see if it would "unfreeze", but it didn't happen.
So I reseted the PC, but it was not booting anymore. The motherboard, the fans, the processor, even the GPU were turned on, but the screen continued with the "no signal warn".

So this is the situation, if I try to turn on the PC with:
> > > GPU plugged in PCI-E slot, BIOS set to use PCI-E GPU, LCD plugged into PCI-E GPU. < < <
PC doesn't boot at all. LCD remains with "no signal" warn. Motherboard, fans, gpu, everything is turned on, but the PC looks freezed. Power LED flashes with an interval of 2sec.

> > > GPU plugged in PCI-E slot, BIOS ser to use Onboard Video, LCD plugged into Onboard video. < < <
PC boot, appears the motherboard logo screen(or POST screen), but right after it freezes on a black screen.

> > > GPU unplugged, BIOS set to Onboard Video. < < <
PC boot to windows and works completly fine.


My tries so far:
Clear BIOS CMOS data. Problem persist.
Flash motherboard BIOS with last updated BIOS. Problem persist.

I can't flash GPU BIOS, since when it is connected into PC, it freezes at startup, even if I use onboard VGA.

What's happening? Did this program made my GPU crash? Is my GPU dead? Can it be fixed? I don't want to buy another one, I was happy with mine. Can a GPU "die" just because of this?

Can you help me please? Thanks for your time. Sorry for so many questions :D

My PC specs:
VSCOM AV6MX
Athlon X2 5400 2.8Ghz
2GB Markvision
Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts
PCS Seventeam 420W

EDIT: I posted some more info, and the images I found on Google. Because people were thinking that I have messed or flashed my BIOS. No, the program is just to see BIOS version, and if there is an update. Even though my PC crashed BEFORE the program was completely opened.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,839 (1.28/day)
Location
New York
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.8Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW 2150/2240
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
try clearing your cmos then go into the bios and disable onboard graphics, maybe its not the card, maybe its the motherboard.

try it in another pc
 

bodosko

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name Temporary System :S
Processor Athlon X2 5400 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Foxconn A6VMX by VSCom
Memory 1 x 2Gb DDR2 800mhz Markvision
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts [currently dead] :(
Storage Samsung 80Gb
Display(s) AOC LM722 17'
Power Supply Seventeam 420W
Software Windows XP SP3
I tried to clear cmos data, and disable onboard video. No success.
So I flashed a updated BIOS(19/03/2009) on my motherboard . And then tried to boot with the GPU plugged again, and didnt work too.

Is there a possibility that my GPU BIOS is corrupted? Maybe it got corrupted when I reset the PC? Because ive noticed sometinhg weird.
If I set on BIOS the Video priority this way: Onboard>PCI-E>PCI.
And if I let my GPU plugged to the motherboard, but connect the monitor in the onboard VGA, I can boot up until windows splash screen appears. Immediately after it appears, the PC freezes on a black screen.

So, maybe the problem could be the GPU BIOS?
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
728 (0.17/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
does you video card still have warranty? if so rma it
 

russianboy

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Messages
1,799 (0.34/day)
Processor AMD 3500+ Venice at stock
Motherboard ECS K8T890-A
Memory 1 Gb Corsair Valueram CAS 3
Video Card(s) Connect3d X800 GTO OC'd to 551.25/551.25
Storage 4 mixed up drives
Display(s) Acer AL2216W 22"LCD
Case Generic noname crap
Audio Device(s) Realtec AC'97
Power Supply 500 watt Ultra PSU
Software Win2k Pro, XP, Ubuntu linux, and Vista
try clearing your cmos then go into the bios and disable onboard graphics, maybe its not the card, maybe its the motherboard.

try it in another pc
if it killed one computer, why the hell would you try it in another?
 

bodosko

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name Temporary System :S
Processor Athlon X2 5400 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Foxconn A6VMX by VSCom
Memory 1 x 2Gb DDR2 800mhz Markvision
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts [currently dead] :(
Storage Samsung 80Gb
Display(s) AOC LM722 17'
Power Supply Seventeam 420W
Software Windows XP SP3
does you video card still have warranty? if so rma it
No. It's 3 years old :X

if it killed one computer, why the hell would you try it in another?
I think you didn't read the entire topic. It didn't killed my PC. I'm using it right now with the onboard Video.
The thing is that the PC doesnt turn on when the GPU is connected.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,839 (1.28/day)
Location
New York
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.8Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW 2150/2240
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
if it killed one computer, why the hell would you try it in another?
talkin about the card, the card didn't kill the pc

so . . . .

:laugh:
 

russianboy

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Messages
1,799 (0.34/day)
Processor AMD 3500+ Venice at stock
Motherboard ECS K8T890-A
Memory 1 Gb Corsair Valueram CAS 3
Video Card(s) Connect3d X800 GTO OC'd to 551.25/551.25
Storage 4 mixed up drives
Display(s) Acer AL2216W 22"LCD
Case Generic noname crap
Audio Device(s) Realtec AC'97
Power Supply 500 watt Ultra PSU
Software Win2k Pro, XP, Ubuntu linux, and Vista
ah, I see now.

Sorry, it's been a long day...
 

bodosko

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name Temporary System :S
Processor Athlon X2 5400 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Foxconn A6VMX by VSCom
Memory 1 x 2Gb DDR2 800mhz Markvision
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts [currently dead] :(
Storage Samsung 80Gb
Display(s) AOC LM722 17'
Power Supply Seventeam 420W
Software Windows XP SP3
I can't even boot the PC with the GPU connected, with onboard video ON and monitor plugged to onboard.
So no way for reflash the GPU BIOS :(
What can i do now?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.56/day)
i dont see how a motherboard bios update could kill a gpu, i think its coincidence
really sorry about the card mate but motherboard bios and dead gpu just arnt linked
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
728 (0.17/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
i know you don't want to replace the card but if its dead try looking at newegg for a new one. and for older stuff there is this site
http://3btech.net/
 
Last edited:

bodosko

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name Temporary System :S
Processor Athlon X2 5400 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Foxconn A6VMX by VSCom
Memory 1 x 2Gb DDR2 800mhz Markvision
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts [currently dead] :(
Storage Samsung 80Gb
Display(s) AOC LM722 17'
Power Supply Seventeam 420W
Software Windows XP SP3
So no way ? Only a new one ?
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.61/day)
Rule of Thumb
If it's not broke, you can't fix it!!!

I say thos because, there's alot of people that assume that they need the lastest bios. When they don't! Programs like you used are dangerous!!! Use a Bios programs/Bios from the vendor.
 

pepsi71ocean

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.32/day)
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
i agree with CrackerJack.

You might try booting into safemode and trying to reinstall the drivers for your graphics card?

It is possiable that the program you downloaded could have been a virus, however the odds that the program could kill a GPU are hard to believe.

Thus why i think that you might want to try flashing a GPU bios or a new driver, drivers first on the GPU that is...
 

bodosko

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name Temporary System :S
Processor Athlon X2 5400 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Foxconn A6VMX by VSCom
Memory 1 x 2Gb DDR2 800mhz Markvision
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts [currently dead] :(
Storage Samsung 80Gb
Display(s) AOC LM722 17'
Power Supply Seventeam 420W
Software Windows XP SP3
I mentioned it 3 times already ...
I CAN'T BOOT THE PC WITH THE GPU CONNECTED TO THE MOTHERBOARD. THE PC FREEZES RIGHT AFTER THE MOTHERBOARD LOGO SCREEN IF I USE ONBOARD VGA. AND IF I USE THE X800 VGA THE PC DOESN'T BOOT AT ALL, JUST A FLASHING POWER LED AND FANS.

Sorry for CAPS, but I did mentioned this 3 times :(

Rule of Thumb
If it's not broke, you can't fix it!!!
I say thos because, there's alot of people that assume that they need the lastest bios. When they don't! Programs like you used are dangerous!!! Use a Bios programs/Bios from the vendor.
I just downloaded the program to see my motherboard BIOS version. And I couldn't even use the program.

I found this images on google...
When I ran the program, appeared this splash screen and PC freezed:
[EDITED] Images on original post
I didn't even see the program main screen:
[EDITED] Images on original post
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,011 (8.59/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Your card's bios IS broke. You can try flashing it, or use a different card.
 

bodosko

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name Temporary System :S
Processor Athlon X2 5400 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Foxconn A6VMX by VSCom
Memory 1 x 2Gb DDR2 800mhz Markvision
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts [currently dead] :(
Storage Samsung 80Gb
Display(s) AOC LM722 17'
Power Supply Seventeam 420W
Software Windows XP SP3
Ok, so how can I flash GPU BIOS if the PC doesn't even boot DOS ? :/
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,011 (8.59/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Use your onboard graphics. You put DOS on a CD-R or USB stick and have it boot from that.
 

bodosko

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name Temporary System :S
Processor Athlon X2 5400 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Foxconn A6VMX by VSCom
Memory 1 x 2Gb DDR2 800mhz Markvision
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts [currently dead] :(
Storage Samsung 80Gb
Display(s) AOC LM722 17'
Power Supply Seventeam 420W
Software Windows XP SP3
I will say it for the 4th time... :(
I mentioned it 3 times already ...
I CAN'T BOOT THE PC WITH THE GPU CONNECTED TO THE MOTHERBOARD. THE PC FREEZES RIGHT AFTER THE MOTHERBOARD LOGO SCREEN IF I USE ONBOARD VGA.AND IF I USE THE X800 VGA THE PC DOESN'T BOOT AT ALL, JUST A FLASHING POWER LED AND FANS.
Sorry for CAPS, but I did mentioned this 3 times
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,011 (8.59/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
I will say it for the 4th time... :(
I'm sorry, you should update/edit your original post because I read this:
So I unplugged my Graphic card and conected the LCD on the onboard vga. The PC worked just fine.
If removing the battery for at least 10 minutes and clearing the CMOS doesn't solve the problem using the onboard graphics, there is most likely bios corruption of the motherboard. I suppose it's possible both the onboard and vga card you have are bad. In that case you would have to use a different vga card to test it. If you are running two sticks of ram try using one, then the other too see if one of the sticks went bad. Take the heatsink off of your CPU and reapply thermal paste. Then make sure you properly re-seat the cooler to make sure there are no temperature problems. Finally it could be a power supply issue in which case you need to test using a different PSU. Like I said, most likely corrupted bios of the motherboard.
 

bodosko

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name Temporary System :S
Processor Athlon X2 5400 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Foxconn A6VMX by VSCom
Memory 1 x 2Gb DDR2 800mhz Markvision
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts [currently dead] :(
Storage Samsung 80Gb
Display(s) AOC LM722 17'
Power Supply Seventeam 420W
Software Windows XP SP3
@erocker:
I updated the original post, now it's more clear what my problem consists.
Reading it you will see that it can't be the mobo BIOS, neither PSU, CPU or RAM.
Because like I said there, the PC boots completely fine and normal JUST when the GPU is not plugged into my mobo.

Sorry for the misunderstanding.
 

pepsi71ocean

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.32/day)
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
i still thinkt he GPU is fried
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,011 (8.59/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
You aren't making any sense to me. You were saying it doesn't boot past the motherboard screen, now you're saying it boots fine as long as the video card is out. If it's the latter then it's your video card.
If it has troubles booting at all, most likely this program you tried fried your bios.
 

bodosko

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name Temporary System :S
Processor Athlon X2 5400 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Foxconn A6VMX by VSCom
Memory 1 x 2Gb DDR2 800mhz Markvision
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO 256mb/256bts [currently dead] :(
Storage Samsung 80Gb
Display(s) AOC LM722 17'
Power Supply Seventeam 420W
Software Windows XP SP3
You aren't making any sense to me. You were saying it doesn't boot past the motherboard screen, now you're saying it boots fine as long as the video card is out. If it's the latter then it's your video card.
It's written on the original post. I will quote it here.

So this is the situation, if I try to turn on the PC with:

> > > GPU plugged in PCI-E slot, BIOS set to use PCI-E GPU, LCD plugged into PCI-E GPU. < < <
PC doesn't boot at all. LCD remains with "no signal" warn. Motherboard, fans, gpu, everything is turned on, but the PC looks freezed. Power LED flashes with an interval of 2sec.

> > > GPU plugged in PCI-E slot, BIOS ser to use Onboard Video, LCD plugged into Onboard video. < < <
PC boot, appears the motherboard logo screen(or POST screen), but right after it freezes on a black screen.

> > > GPU unplugged, BIOS set to Onboard Video. < < <
PC boot to windows and works completly fine.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,011 (8.59/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Bad card, or bad motherboard. The only way to find out is to try a different card and see if the problem persists or you could try flashing the motherboard bios the proper way using what the manufacturer says and see if that fixes the problem.
 
Top