• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Thoughts about Dual PSU Setup

TheMafioso

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel core2duo e4300
Motherboard ASUS P5B Vanilla
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x512MB DDR2 Kingston 667MHZ
Video Card(s) BBA Radeon X850XT
Storage 2x80GB Seagate/Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 19" 955DF
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy Gamer / Inspire t6060 5.1 Speakers
#1
Hi Guys,

I recently upgraded to a new system, that is proving quite a burden on my old 450W PSU, so I am thinking of going for Dual PSU Setup, since I don't have much cash left for purchase of high end PSU, after the purchase of new system...

I came across this product while searching for Dual PSUs :
http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=21193

Its a pre-made Dual PSU 24-Pin Adapter cable from Ultra meant for Daisy Chaining two 24-Pin PSUs...
It seems a pretty easy job with this cable to install a Dual PSU setup, without the messy cutting, striping, etc required for dual PSUs.

So I wanted to know, is it really this easy as it seems....I know there would be some problems in placing and for the power cable of secondry PSU in the case, and maybe some noise issues...but apart from that, anyother issues that should I know of...

Regards,
 

mullered07

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#2
im not too sure tbh but i wouldnt bother installing 2 low end/generic psu's in a system and would spend a little bit of $ on a half-decent SINGLE psu, you dont even have to break the bank, im sure for around $70-$100 you could get a psu thats decent enough to cope with your system, cheap generic psu's are a no-no, and you could well be asking for trouble :shadedshu
 

TheMafioso

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel core2duo e4300
Motherboard ASUS P5B Vanilla
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x512MB DDR2 Kingston 667MHZ
Video Card(s) BBA Radeon X850XT
Storage 2x80GB Seagate/Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 19" 955DF
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy Gamer / Inspire t6060 5.1 Speakers
#3
^^As I said, I recently got my whole system upgraded, and infact did little overspend of the initial budget i've had thought...so 'am really outa cash

Actually the system is on a sort of okay PSU even now.....no issues as such, just that 12V line voltage drops sometimes low(measured with DMM also) when on load and mild OC...so was thinkin of setting up dual PSU's before I get into serious OCing...So wanted thoughts from anyone already having/having used a dual PSU setup..
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#4
wait till you get about 150 to 200 bucks and check newegg.com out. If you get a PC Power and Cooling Silencer 610 or the Quad 750...youll be oodles and caboodles better than a dual psu setup. Recently, Polywell had a cpu using to FSP (Fortronics PSUs I believe) 700W power supplies to power a QX6700, dual 8800GTX in SLI and a bunch of other niceties. The thing about dual PSUs is, the second PSUs power isnt evenly distributed and used to its fullest. So basically, its running up your energy bill and not being fully utilized. I hope this helps you out. Its in this months magazine (Mar 2007) of MaximumPC.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#6
the mafioso,if you could fill in your system spec on the usercp it would help :D
 

Khriez

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#7
Hey what would happen if I just plug in two power supplies, and without doing any modding or anything just plug in the second power supply into my video card ? Too scared to try :eek:
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.74/day)
Likes
663
#8
It would be fine, the only thing is that you plug it all in to the same surge protector, so the the grounding voltages dont differ.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#9
Hey what would happen if I just plug in two power supplies, and without doing any modding or anything just plug in the second power supply into my video card ? Too scared to try :eek:
Use a paper clip to short black and green wire on 20(4) pin connector to fire up PSU, or buy the cable doubler you talked about earlier.

Better off with one good PSU to power everything as stated earlier.
 

Khriez

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#10
Ok cool I was worrying that both 20 (or 24) pin connectors of the two Power supplies had to be both connected to each other and into the motherboard. I thought some weird electrical kind of problem would happen since the video card is plugged into the same motherboard, but it's getting it's power from a different power supply.

I was thinking the card might get too much power from the secondary power supply and it would break my whole computer.

Not sure if that made any sense.

Use a paper clip to short black and green wire on 20(4) pin connector to fire up PSU, or buy the cable doubler you talked about earlier.

Better off with one good PSU to power everything as stated earlier.
Is this a necessary step or just another method? I could plug in both power supplies into the same surge protector outlet.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#11
Is this a necessary step or just another method? I could plug in both power supplies into the same surge protector outlet.
The second Psu should not fire up if it does not detect the presence of a motherboard. Shorting the green to black leads makes the PSU think it is attatched to a motherboard!

I hope that covers it.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#14
Just make sure you have SOME airflow for the fan. But, as I digress, I Strongly disagree with a dual PSU system. However, if its your only way, go for it.
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#15
^^As I said, I recently got my whole system upgraded, and infact did little overspend of the initial budget i've had thought...so 'am really outa cash

Actually the system is on a sort of okay PSU even now.....no issues as such, just that 12V line voltage drops sometimes low(measured with DMM also) when on load and mild OC...so was thinkin of setting up dual PSU's before I get into serious OCing...So wanted thoughts from anyone already having/having used a dual PSU setup..
Tsk Tsk Tsk.

I have seen this sooo much.
People spend $800+ on a system and then power it with a $30 PSU lol.
What do you think might happen.
Often I hear My system blew up WTF.
lol.

The PSU is very important and I wouldnt trust a $300 machine on a crap PSU.

Listen get a good PSU its that simple.
If you dont you run a high risk of the system eventually blowing up or parts getting under/over volted.
Its kind of like getting a Ferrari and running it on a battery you found in the dump.
It just brings in all kinds of distaster.
 

Khriez

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#16
I was just playing aorund I got the old 250W to power up by putting a pin in the black and green wire. Only problem is it would be on 24/7 unless I turn off the surge outlet :eek: This one doesn't have a power switch lol.
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#17
I was just playing aorund I got the old 250W to power up by putting a pin in the black and green wire. Only problem is it would be on 24/7 unless I turn off the surge outlet :eek: This one doesn't have a power switch lol.
You are going to be running your computer 24/7 on those PSUs:eek: :eek: :eek:

Does anyone else see this as a recipe for disaster.:banghead:
 

Khriez

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#18
Hehe nope I just wanted to see what happens, I should hook up all my fans on it though but I don't think it's worth it.

I'm not going to try it anymore.
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#19
Hehe nope I just wanted to see what happens, I should hook up all my fans on it though but I don't think it's worth it.

I'm not going to try it anymore.
Lol you scared me there.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#20
I have actually been contimplating running a dual psu setup for my file server. all you need to do to a dual setup correctly is snipping of the secondary motherboard connector and soldering extentions to the green/black wires and connecting those to the primary motherboard connector. for larger full atx cases fitting two psu's is quite easy. i would however run all harddrives fans cdroms etc off the secondary and leave anything connected to the motherboard directly, video card, etc on the main psu.
 

TheMafioso

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel core2duo e4300
Motherboard ASUS P5B Vanilla
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x512MB DDR2 Kingston 667MHZ
Video Card(s) BBA Radeon X850XT
Storage 2x80GB Seagate/Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 19" 955DF
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy Gamer / Inspire t6060 5.1 Speakers
#21
I think, I have fitting the 2 psus in the case prob. sorted out, I would probably mod the case for it...and i'm from India, so don't much choices for high end/mid end PSUs, except for Antec(s) and maybe seventeam but they're terribly expensive here...so lets just say buying a high end PSU is out of question for a while..

And this setup looks very easy and effective especially with that cable.....and gives gEEk pleasure :), so I was wondering why aren't many people using it.....so that's why the thread..

It would be fine, the only thing is that you plug it all in to the same surge protector, so the the grounding voltages dont differ.
I have a APC UPS through which I would be connecting the 2 PSUs, i think it would be the same..?

the mafioso,if you could fill in your system spec on the usercp it would help :D
Funny thing....i had filled it up for quite sometime now..but just forgot to set "yes" to display specs :nutkick:
 
Last edited:

Demos_sav

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2006
Messages
870 (0.21/day)
Likes
42
Location
Cyprus
Processor Intel P4 519K LGA775 3.06GHz @ 3.82GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5WD2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory 3GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2 3-4-3-6 @667MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 320MB XXX Edition @ 630/970
Storage Samsung 160GB SATA2 7200RPM 8MB
Display(s) SONY SDM HS75 17' LCD
Case Interset (black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD ALC882 8-channel onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Software Windows XP Home edition 32bit fully tuned
Benchmark Scores 3dm01-29689 3dm03-31099 3dm05-10298 3dm06-6409
#22
You said that black and green wires must be connected for the power supply to work without beeing connected to the mobo. I found the green wire but there are plenty of black ones. Which one is the correct?
 

TheMafioso

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel core2duo e4300
Motherboard ASUS P5B Vanilla
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x512MB DDR2 Kingston 667MHZ
Video Card(s) BBA Radeon X850XT
Storage 2x80GB Seagate/Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 19" 955DF
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy Gamer / Inspire t6060 5.1 Speakers
#23
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#24
Has anyone had any success having a 2nd PSU power up with the computer's on/off button? I ask because I'd actually like to power up an ATX PSU in a separate case used as a drive enclosure. AT-style PSU's are just too noisy for my tastes.

Somebody should make an adapter for this that comes directly from the case's power switch to the PSU's motherboard CONNECTION, without having to plug into a motherboard. :)
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#25
You said that black and green wires must be connected for the power supply to work without beeing connected to the mobo. I found the green wire but there are plenty of black ones. Which one is the correct?
Pins 14 & 15 ... 99% sure

Has anyone had any success having a 2nd PSU power up with the computer's on/off button? I ask because I'd actually like to power up an ATX PSU in a separate case used as a drive enclosure. AT-style PSU's are just too noisy for my tastes.

Somebody should make an adapter for this that comes directly from the case's power switch to the PSU's motherboard CONNECTION, without having to plug into a motherboard. :)
Make yourself a switch!!! Very easy!


All those "special" connectors are doing is taking pins 14 (black) and 15 (green) and tying them into your other psu that is connected to your motherboard. Very easy to setup BUT you must share them both on the same ground (stated in above posts). VERY IMPORTANT!