• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ThrottleStop for MSI GV72 7RE i7 7700HQ

Sambor11

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.13/day)
Hi everyone. I just started with ThrottleStop and be honest don't know so much about it. I look on forum and another websides try set TS for my Notebook but I am not sure if I did it correct. Can you have a look on my screanshots and tell me what I can improve please?
 

Attachments

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,937 (0.44/day)
What problem are you trying to solve by using ThrottleStop? Does your laptop have any throttling problems? Where is a screenshot of the TPL window so I can see how you have the power limits set?
 

Sambor11

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.13/day)
What problem are you trying to solve by using ThrottleStop? Does your laptop have any throttling problems? Where is a screenshot of the TPL window so I can see how you have the power limits set?
Thank for your replay.
I had problems with temperatures going up to 95 Celsius. When I repaste temp. went down and now. Now when I play game ( WOWS ) temp. are around 80 Celsius but funs working fast. Does values for Performance, Game and Internet should be the same or different? Should I change Offset Voltage to - 100?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Sambor11

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.13/day)
Can somebody tell me if my settings are correct, or shohld I change something?
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,937 (0.44/day)
Does values for Performance, Game and Internet should be the same or different
I only use one profile when I am using ThrottleStop. You can use as many profiles as you like and you can set them up however you like.

Should I change Offset Voltage to - 100?
Only you can answer that question. Do some testing. If your CPU can run reliably at -100 mV then use that setting. If it can run reliably at -125 mV then use that.

If you are using an Nvidia GPU when gaming, there is usually no need to undervolt the Intel GPU. If you do decide to undervolt the Intel GPU, usually you have to undervolt the iGPU Unslice equally or else your Intel GPU undervolt will be ignored. The Intel GPU undervolt can be set differently compared to the Intel core and cache.
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
78 (1.24/day)
Processor i5-9600K@4.7GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390-UD
Cooling CoolerMaster
Memory 16 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX2070 Super Windforce 3X OC
Storage 512 Gb Intel P660 NVMe + 1 Tb WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix MAG241C + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply Corsair CV650
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 9160 (CPU 5961 - GPU 10119) Cinebench R20 - 2960
Can somebody tell me if my settings are correct, or shohld I change something?
PP0 current limit set at 0 doesn't look good to me :confused:

It should be at 100 or above... did you change it or it was set at 0 by default ?

Another thing: I don't know why you undervolted Intel GPU, but as far as I know, if you do that you need to undervolt iGPU unslice by the same amount.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,937 (0.44/day)
PP0 current limit set at 0 doesn't look good to me
When the PP0 Current Limit is set to 0, the CPU will ignore this value and will not use this info to throttle the CPU. Seeing the PP0 Current Limit set to 0 by the manufacturer seems to be common. Setting this to 100 should also guarantee that it will not cause any throttling problems.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
78 (1.24/day)
Processor i5-9600K@4.7GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390-UD
Cooling CoolerMaster
Memory 16 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX2070 Super Windforce 3X OC
Storage 512 Gb Intel P660 NVMe + 1 Tb WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix MAG241C + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply Corsair CV650
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 9160 (CPU 5961 - GPU 10119) Cinebench R20 - 2960
When the PP0 Current Limit is set to 0, I the CPU will ignore this value and will not use this info to throttle the CPU. Seeing the PP0 Current Limit set to 0 by the manufacturer seems to be common. Setting this to 100 should also guarantee that it will not cause any throttling problems.
Good to know. I found it at 170 on mine.
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
78 (1.24/day)
Processor i5-9600K@4.7GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390-UD
Cooling CoolerMaster
Memory 16 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX2070 Super Windforce 3X OC
Storage 512 Gb Intel P660 NVMe + 1 Tb WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix MAG241C + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply Corsair CV650
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 9160 (CPU 5961 - GPU 10119) Cinebench R20 - 2960
One more question guys. On Task manager shows my CPU@ 2.8GHz is on 2.18GHz. Is not to low? If to low how increase it?
2.8 GHz is the base frequency, but during low workloads it should stay below that. SO I can't see anything wrong there.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
1,719 (0.56/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i7 9750h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2060
Storage x2 Intel 660p 2tb SSD nvme, WD Red SA500 2.5in 4TB
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 180w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
One more question guys. On Task manager shows my CPU@ 2.8GHz is on 2.18GHz. Is not to low? If to low how increase it?
That is the base speed, the 7700hq can go upto 3.4ghz on all 4 cores if it needs more speed.

I always undervolt with Intel extreme utility-XTU. I find it easier to operate than throttlestop
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
93 (1.50/day)
Location
Finland
Processor i7-9750H
Memory 16 Gt DDR4 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 6 Gt GDDR6
That is the base speed, the 7700hq can go upto 3.4ghz on all 4 cores if it needs more speed.

I always undervolt with Intel extreme utility-XTU. I find it easier to operate than throttlestop
I always undervolt with Intel extreme utility-XTU. I find it easier to operate than throttlestop.

Do we live in the same planet?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
1,719 (0.56/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i7 9750h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2060
Storage x2 Intel 660p 2tb SSD nvme, WD Red SA500 2.5in 4TB
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 180w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
I always undervolt with Intel extreme utility-XTU. I find it easier to operate than throttlestop.

Do we live in the same planet?
i dont live on this planet, i live in the basement
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
78 (1.24/day)
Processor i5-9600K@4.7GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390-UD
Cooling CoolerMaster
Memory 16 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX2070 Super Windforce 3X OC
Storage 512 Gb Intel P660 NVMe + 1 Tb WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix MAG241C + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply Corsair CV650
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 9160 (CPU 5961 - GPU 10119) Cinebench R20 - 2960
well, IMHO Throttlestop is way easier than Intel XTU, but every one is entitled to his opinion :kookoo:
 
Top