• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ThrottleStop how to remove Throttle flag

fm663

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Messages
5 (0.02/day)
My Dell E7440 laptop goes into Throttle mode due to it stopped liking the power adapter, even though there is nothing wrong with it. All component temperatures are still fine, except the fan runs at 100% speed.

How to remove the Throttle indicator so that the laptop does not throttle causing high speed fan?

Also, is there a way to control the fan speed?
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,406 (0.34/day)
Open up the Limit Reasons window. What does it show? Is BD PROCHOT red? If so, try using ThrottleStop to disable BD PROCHOT. This is a common throttling method used by Dell laptops.
 

fm663

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Messages
5 (0.02/day)
Thanks for your help, here are my findings so far. If you want me to try other things please let me know.

With BD-PROCHOT already disabled:

When I have AC adapter connected, I get the following in the Limit Reasons window, where UTILIZATION blinks between RED and YELLOW. I have tried with three different Dell original chargers 65W, 90W and 130W - all same behavior. Also FAN speed is very high.

When AC adapter dis-connected, UTILIZATION stays YELLOW and fan speed is low

Note for all these testing above, I already had BD-PROCHOT already disabled.

1546563614923.png


With BD-PROCHOT enabled:

With BD-PROCSHOT enabled the laptop CPU speed keeps from dropping from 2.5GHz all the way down to 100MHz and then laptop hangs with super high speed fan. Screenshot below shows the Throttle state.

BD PROCHOT and CORE POWER and GPU POWER appears where UTILIZATION blinks between RED and YELLOW.

1546564273621.png
 

Attachments

Last edited:

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,406 (0.34/day)
http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Core_i5/Intel-Core i5-4300U Mobile processor.html

The 4300U uses configurable TDP levels. The default TDP is 15 Watts, TDP-Up is supposed to be 25 Watts and TDP-down is 11.5 Watts. Looks like Dell set a power limit way below this. The last picture shows that your CPU is being forced down to 5 Watts or less so both the CPU and iGPU are throttling excessively.

Have you tried enabling the FIVR - Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits feature? You need to first download and install the RwDrv.sys file into your ThrottleStop folder. Click on the Install button in this section of ThrottleStop for further details.

After you install and check that option, do some more testing to see if it makes any difference. Also post a picture of the Turbo Power Limits (TPL) window so I can have a look.

Are you using ThrottleStop to undervolt your CPU? That can help these low power devices too.

Instead of checking Set Multiplier, did you try setting the FIVR - Non Turbo Ratio to 1? That can help with some throttling schemes.
 

fm663

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Messages
5 (0.02/day)
Thank you for your help. I have disabled Turbo and also unchecked Multipler. Most of the warnings are gone, however I am getting getting GPU POWER in RED. here is a screenshot.

I do not know how to use FIVR Control. What values should I be setting?
There is also a GPU-Z sensors screenshot.

1546641471032.png


1546642091601.png

1546642153182.png
 
Last edited:

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,406 (0.34/day)
I have disabled Turbo
Why? I cannot remember recommending to do that.

I said you should check the FIVR - Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits box. You need to push the Install button first to install the appropriate driver. Try doing that first.

There are a few features in the FIVR window that might be able to significantly help you.
 

fm663

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Messages
5 (0.02/day)
I am surprised by the power of this tool, I am still very new to this and want to learn all the parameters in details.

My laptop seems to be behaving a lot better. Here are the screenshots. Am I doing anything wrong or anything that can be set in a better.

1546694857280.png
1546694867427.png

1546694882954.png

1546694899674.png
1546694925674.png
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,406 (0.34/day)
It looks like you are making progress.

The first ThrottleStop profile is your Performance profile. The goal should be maximum performance when you are plugged in. Why is Disable Turbo checked and why is Set Multiplier only set to 25? Your CPU supports a maximum multiplier of 29 so Set Multiplier should be set to 29 T. The T indicates that Intel Turbo Boost will be used. Intel built this performance into this CPU so do not be afraid to use it. Keep in mind that Dell is the problem, not Intel.

Intel CPUs do a fantastic job of looking after themselves. Get rid of any negative thoughts about what is a safe maximum CPU temperature. Intel designed all of their CPUs to automatically throttle and slow down if they ever get too hot. Let the CPU manage its maximum temperature. ThrottleStop cannot be used to go beyond the Intel maximum safe temperature so no worries. A low power 4300U CPU cannot be overclocked so using ThrottleStop to maximize its performance is not going to hurt it. You are only trying to extract the maximum performance that is already there.

The Intel recommended thermal throttle temperature for the 4300U is 100°C. ThrottleStop shows PROCHOT 97°C. Dell has set a -3°C offset to the throttling temperature so it will throttle sooner than the Intel spec. This means you do not have to worry about your CPU ever reaching the Intel specified maximum temperature. It will throttle and slow down before it ever gets to 100°C.

In the FIVR window, set the voltage range to 125 mV instead of 1000 mV. This is safer in case you accidentally move the voltage offset slider and hit OK without noticing what you just did. No one wants to accidentally feed their CPU an extra +1000 mV.

Same with the VCCIN slider. You are not using this feature yet but it is still safer to set the max to 1.80 V instead of 2.30 V.

The Power Saver option is intended for early Core 2 Duo mobile processors from about 10 years ago. I would not use this feature on your CPU. Modern CPUs use low power C states like C7 to save power. When idle, sitting at the desktop with nothing open and only ThrottleStop running, a 2 core CPU should be spending well over 90% of its time in the C7 state. 99% in C7 would be ideal.



Remember, MHz when idle, not that important. C state residency time, very important. When a CPU core enters C7, it is disconnected from the voltage rail and it is also disconnected from the internal clock. This means the core is running internally at 0 MHz and 0 Volts. Traditional monitoring software can not accurately report what a core is doing when idle in C7 because it would have to wake the core up to sample it. That's pointless. Better to leave the dormant core alone so it can save power. The ThrottleStop C state data is a way to see what a CPU core is really doing without having to wake it up.

You might have some useless programs running in the background on your computer. Open the Task Manager and find out what they are. Click on the Details tab and click on CPU to organize tasks from highest to lowest CPU Usage. Turn off and get rid of what you do not need. The Autoruns program is very useful for tracking down useless items that have been added to your Windows startup sequence.

Autoruns
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/autoruns

With only 2 cores available, it is important to run a clean system. Getting rid of the crap and bloatware on a computer is a science. Every time you install something, check that it is not significantly interfering with your CPU spending as much time as possible in the C7 state when idle.

Your undervolt looks OK. Try running something simple like the built in TS Bench test to make sure your CPU is stable. Watch for any signs of throttling while that test is running.

The Package C State Limit is locked, probably by the bios to C10. In ThrottleStop, the Request is set to C1. Change the Request to C10. If this register is locked by the bios to C10, there is no use wasting CPU cycles trying to change it to C1.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mik

Danez

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
5 (0.03/day)
How to fix that limit problem..and all my settings already good?
 

Attachments

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,406 (0.34/day)
@Danez - If you look in the Turbo Power Limits window, there is a Lock bit set for both the Turbo Boost Power Limits and the Lock bit is also set for the Primary Plane Power Limits. These are set by the bios and once these registers have been locked, you cannot use software like ThrottleStop to make any adjustments. You would need a modified bios that does not lock these registers at boot time and that is probably not available for your laptop. No software can get around a register that is locked.
 

Danez

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
5 (0.03/day)
@Danez - If you look in the Turbo Power Limits window, there is a Lock bit set for both the Turbo Boost Power Limits and the Lock bit is also set for the Primary Plane Power Limits. These are set by the bios and once these registers have been locked, you cannot use software like ThrottleStop to make any adjustments. You would need a modified bios that does not lock these registers at boot time and that is probably not available for your laptop. No software can get around a register that is locked.
i see ..btw..regarding my settings..all good? and the limit reasons no harm/issues if i continue using my settings?cpu temp while gaming around 70-75..that safe?or i need disable the turbo and BD Prochot to reduce the cpu temp...
 
Last edited:

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,406 (0.34/day)
Intel rates most of their CPUs to be able to run 100% reliably up to a core temperature of 100°C.
70°C to 75°C is perfectly safe.

BD PROCHOT is a throttling method. If your laptop is not using the BD PROCHOT signal path to throttle your CPU then there is no reason to use ThrottleStop to disable this. Limit Reasons will show BD PROCHOT near the top if your laptop uses this.

The Core i3 does not use Intel Turbo Boost so disabling this will not make any difference to your CPU speed.
 

Danez

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
5 (0.03/day)
Intel rates most of their CPUs to be able to run 100% reliably up to a core temperature of 100°C.
70°C to 75°C is perfectly safe.

BD PROCHOT is a throttling method. If your laptop is not using the BD PROCHOT signal path to throttle your CPU then there is no reason to use ThrottleStop to disable this. Limit Reasons will show BD PROCHOT near the top if your laptop uses this.

The Core i3 does not use Intel Turbo Boost so disabling this will not make any difference to your CPU speed.
sry my bad..correction regarding the BD PROCHOT...what i mean is i need to tick/untick the BD PROCHOT on throttlestop?as far i know..when untick BD prochot..that may increase laptop CPU temp..correct me if im wrong..
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,406 (0.34/day)
Your Limit Reasons screenshot does not show BD PROCHOT in yellow or red. That means that BD PROCHOT is not being used on your computer. If this is not causing any throttling problems, you can leave BD PROCHOT checked in ThrottleStop. Not all laptops use this throttling method. Most do not use BD PROCHOT.

On a computer that is throttling because of BD PROCHOT, Limit Reasons will look like this.



Red box means throttling is in progress. Yellow box means throttling happened after you turned on your computer.
 

Danez

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
5 (0.03/day)
Your Limit Reasons screenshot does not show BD PROCHOT in yellow or red. That means that BD PROCHOT is not being used on your computer. If this is not causing any throttling problems, you can leave BD PROCHOT checked in ThrottleStop. Not all laptops use this throttling method. Most do not use BD PROCHOT.

On a computer that is throttling because of BD PROCHOT, Limit Reasons will look like this.



Red box means throttling is in progress. Yellow box means throttling happened after you turned on your computer.
i see btw thanks so much bro for the explanation
 

yurikta

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2019
Messages
3 (0.21/day)
I'm having trouble with the app, it just won't open.
My cpu is locked at 0.79ghz and I need this app to remove this lock.
Can someone help me????

Intel core i3 3220 2.2GHZ
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,406 (0.34/day)
it just won't open
What antivirus program are you using? Windows Defender will sometimes put ThrottleStop on its bad list and will prevent it from opening without telling you anything about what it has done. Are you getting any sort of error message or no message at all? The free version of Avast does not have this problem. Every other antivirus program does not have a problem with ThrottleStop. Only Windows Defender sometimes complains.

Are you using Windows 10? What build? There are some Windows 10 safety features that can prevent ThrottleStop from running. The Windows 10 - Core Isolation Memory Integrity feature has to be disabled if you want to run ThrottleStop.
 

yurikta

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2019
Messages
3 (0.21/day)
I'm using the latest released version of Windows 10.
Starting ThrottleStop This Error Appears
133822
 
Top