• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Throttlestop overclocking Desktop PCs

Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,523 (3.23/day)
Back then I knew it wasn't worth the bother because the performance increase was so small in P4. But I came into overclocking during the Core 2 era which did away with it altogether. I would still do without it unless there was a need for the extra cores. But bebop350 is a Linux user so he probably knows what he's up to. I just stuck that in there for any others who may read this thread. There may be more in that system for other users
I was given, unintentionally, a challenge to live without HT(because of all the new vulnerability discoveries) on both my X5680 gaming system and this X5675 internet system. I have yet to notice a difference in anything beyond AV programs. Even then it's not much. Not an inconvenience. It's interesting how important we think something is until we need to live without it and everything carries on fine.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
571 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Even in X58 Intel has offered 2 core Xeon CPUs with very high clock speeds. Very rare and very expensive.
X5698 base clock 4.4GHz 2C/4T. So there are some serious users who pay serious money for fewer faster threads.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,523 (3.23/day)
Even in X58 Intel has offered 2 core Xeon CPUs with very high clock speeds. Very rare and very expensive.
X5698 base clock 4.4GHz 2C/4T. So there are some serious users who pay serious money for fewer faster threads.
I wonder what the usage scenario is?
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
571 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
My guess would be 2 CPU systems with 4C/8T. Maybe let a game developer program for future systems? Stock traders who need to get the first punch in. I've seen EVGA SR2 being sold in a batch of 10 in the stock trading area of Boca Raton. Apparently fast 2CPU systems mean something there. RAM capacity and bandwidth would make HDD speed pretty much irrelevant. Not sure really. But 4.4Ghz with a warrranty and full workstation level tech support didn't come cheap.
 
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
150 (0.76/day)
System Name MrGRiMv25 MkIV
Processor Xeon W3680 @ 3.73Ghz (133x28)
Motherboard HP Z400 Rev 2
Cooling Alpenfohn Brocken v1
Memory 3 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX570 Nitro+
Storage 240GB WD SSD, 6 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" iiyama XB2783HSU AMVA+
Case AeroCool Aero 500 RGB
Power Supply HP 600w Bronze (Delta)
Keyboard Gots keys
Software W10 x64
Those X5698's were "Intel Everest" CPU's specced for order at insane cost, something like 20k if I'm remembering correctly.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
571 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
New meaning to the phrase "Less is More".
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,523 (3.23/day)
My guess would be 2 CPU systems with 4C/8T. Maybe let a game developer program for future systems? Stock traders who need to get the first punch in. I've seen EVGA SR2 being sold in a batch of 10 in the stock trading area of Boca Raton. Apparently fast 2CPU systems mean something there. RAM capacity and bandwidth would make HDD speed pretty much irrelevant. Not sure really. But 4.4Ghz with a warranty and full workstation level tech support didn't come cheap.
I can see those scenario's. Makes one wonder what the gaming side of that might be and if ThrottleStop(or the SR2 motherboard) can take those CPU's beyond their 4.4ghz limits?
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
571 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
They're not unlocked CPUs AFAIK. None of the 2 CPU X58 Xeons were. So TS probably no. SR2 has an unlocked BIOS and can overclock those Xeons so I would say yes to that.
 
Last edited:

jbigticket23

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I came across something that may be of interest to those who feel X58 is too retro.
The Dell T3610 LGA2011 system. It's not X79, but C602 chipset and overclocking ASFAIK is unknown. But there are plenty of unlocked X79 Xeons and with 4 channel DDR3 RAM it's a pretty potent system as is.
https://www.userbenchmark.com/System/Dell-Precision-T3610/1177
These guys like it. But I can't confirm that all their CPU choices like the 150W or 8 core CPUs actually work in the Dell.
https://www.greenpcgamers.com/technology/awesome-precision-t3610-gaming-computer/
Here are a couple unlocked X79 CPU threads.
https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/xeons-with-an-open-multiplier.15983/
https://www.overclock.net/forum/8-intel-general/1591590-xeon-hacking-overclocking-x79-x99-beyond-x58-178.html#post27903282
All of the processors that greenpcgamers.com posts have been tested and verified to work in the systems. Upgrade your bios with the existing processor installed first to ensure you have the latest microcode updates.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
571 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
I think some of the unlocked X79 Xeon CPUs got relocked by Intel with microcode updates. So there may be updates that give CPU support, and later ones that lock down the multiplier.
I would do some research on this. A partial update may be what you want. Like the X58 Xeons none of them were supposed to be unlocked. Some of the overclocking happens because they're supported on unlocked aftermarket motherboards. Some of it by getting around the locked workstation BIOS using TS.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
285 (0.06/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
There's an X79 overclocking thread here.

I'm running a e5-1650v2 on this system, and it has an unlocked multiplier (to 71 apparently, but I've not tried over 50, which was by accident), and it overclocks just fine.

It runs significantly cooler than the 3930k I replaced.

I'm running an X5670 6 core in my X58 system, it has a limit on the multiplier that has to do with the mobo; other mobo's will clock higher multipliers than my Asus P6TD Deluxe.
I need to look into other bios's, but It's running 4.2GHz as is.

I'm going to see if I can stuff another 24GB of memory in it tonight; I hear it will run up to 48GB.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,440 (0.34/day)
it has a limit on the multiplier that has to do with the mobo
The maximum multiplier limit is set by Intel. CPU World shows what speed your CPU can run at when the BCLK is set to its default value.


To overclock the X5670 on an Asus P6TD board, you need to increase the BCLK in the bios. To obtain the maximum multiplier on this board, you need to enable your C States, core C3 or C6. The maximum multiplier is only going to be available when 1 or 2 cores are active. Most users prefer to disable the C States in the bios so the multiplier is consistent regardless of how many cores are active.

If it was my board, I would disable turbo boost and run the default 22 multiplier. This multi combined with a 200 MHz BCLK would make for a nice 4.4 GHz system. Set the memory multiplier so your memory is running within spec and add CPU voltage until it is stable. :)
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,523 (3.23/day)
I'm running an X5670 6 core in my X58 system, it has a limit on the multiplier that has to do with the mobo; other mobo's will clock higher multipliers than my Asus P6TD Deluxe.
If it was my board, I would disable turbo boost and run the default 22 multiplier. This multi combined with a 200 MHz BCLK would make for a nice 4.4 GHz system. Set the memory multiplier so your memory is running within spec and add CPU voltage until it is stable. :)
This ^ ^ Depending on the board and CPU, 201, 202 or 203 mhz BCLK might be more stable. Because of silicon lottery for both the CPU and the chipset, OC's are not an exact science so you may have to to tinker and tweak to get a perfectly stable OC.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
285 (0.06/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
The bios lets me set 24 in the bios, but it resets to 22 when it exits. I've read the P6T does not do that, but the P6T bios won't run some of the stuff I use.

I've got the BCLK set to 200, with a 22 mul right now; that's really very stable, and runs amazingly cool. It's worked handbrake for hours.

I'm peaking about 80C on a 6 heat pipe cooler, thermalright true black 120.

I can't even get 201 to work, I'd like to have those extra two mul steps, but bios editing is not my thing, lol.

The 24 mul worked once, the first time I set it; IDK why but it's never worked since.
And it works on the P6T, apparently.

I found the OC info awhile back on overclock.net.

I can't believe how expensive these processors were when they were new. :)

I could not, however, get to 48GB of ram; it won't recognize it, even in bios.
It counts to 24, but no more. :) If it boots at all.
It's mismatched sets, so that could be it.
I'll keep trying; it's capturing my Sis' home video tapes at the moment, lol.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
571 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
8GB modules are right at the limit for UDIMMs. Workstations go to RDIMM at that size.
Many users at at OCN X58 Xeon Club are running 48GB and they pretty much know what works and what doesn't.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,440 (0.34/day)
The bios lets me set 24 in the bios, but it resets to 22 when it exits.
Did you enable Intel Turbo Boost in the bios? The multiplier is limited to 22 when Turbo Boost is disabled.

If your bios is broken you can try using ThrottleStop to enable Turbo Boost. Make sure the Disable Turbo Boost box in ThrottleStop is not checked. Post some screenshots of ThrottleStop if you need help.

When testing, back the BCLK off quite a bit before trying to enable Turbo Boost. If the CPU multiplier goes from 22 to 24 and your BCLK is at 200 MHz, that is a big jump from 4400 MHz to 4800 MHz. It usually takes a lot more CPU voltage to get that stable. Not enough voltage and you will instantly get a BSOD.
 

beastmaster64

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2019
Messages
3 (0.02/day)
Hello, i own a dell t5500 since 2015 and about 3 or 4 days ago my fans ramped up full and i shut off my pc, when i started it again there were three problems or alerts
Alert! Card Cage Fan Failure error
Alert! unable to initialize the fan controller
Alert! Air temperature sensor not detected
the pc works fine and all fans are on,but the fans are max speed very loud
i tried speedfan and it doesnt change the speed of fans,
i tried powering off dissconecting all the things from the pc and it worked, but only for 30 secs and the fans are still full power,
any help would be appreciated.(sry for my english)
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,523 (3.23/day)
Hello, i own a dell t5500 since 2015 and about 3 or 4 days ago my fans ramped up full and i shut off my pc, when i started it again there were three problems or alerts
Alert! Card Cage Fan Failure error
Alert! unable to initialize the fan controller
Alert! Air temperature sensor not detected
the pc works fine and all fans are on,but the fans are max speed very loud
i tried speedfan and it doesnt change the speed of fans,
i tried powering off dissconecting all the things from the pc and it worked, but only for 30 secs and the fans are still full power,
any help would be appreciated.
This is a problem that happens from time to time on Dell systems from the time-frame the T3500/5500/7500 systems were made.
The fan controller on a particular run of motherboards can sometimes glitch out. Here's how to resolve the issue;

1. Power down the system and unplug the system power cable from the PSU.

2. Unplug and reseat(plug back in) all of the fan connectors in the system. Sometimes the connectors lose connection and this sets off a system alert in the bios.

3. Find the Power Supply Reset button on the back of the PSU(this presumes you are using a Dell PSU, if you have a non-Dell ATX PSU skip steps 3 & 4)

4. Press and hold the PSU reset button.

5. Press the system power button. This will fully drain the PSU of power(and reset stored info in the PSU internal IC if a Dell PSU is used).

6. Plug the system power cable back back in and power on the system.

7. Enter the BIOS by holding down the " F2 " key until the screen shows " Enter Setup " is highlighted.

8. Go to the logs entry and clear the system alerts.

9. Select save and restart.

The problem should be solved at that point and the system should boot normally with the fans not running full blast.
If this does not solve the problem try this procedure a second time. Otherwise your board might have developed a fault and may need replacement.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
116 (0.31/day)
My guess would be 2 CPU systems with 4C/8T. Maybe let a game developer program for future systems? Stock traders who need to get the first punch in. I've seen EVGA SR2 being sold in a batch of 10 in the stock trading area of Boca Raton. Apparently fast 2CPU systems mean something there. RAM capacity and bandwidth would make HDD speed pretty much irrelevant. Not sure really. But 4.4Ghz with a warrranty and full workstation level tech support didn't come cheap.
Aren't 2 CPU system slower than single CPU system in case of applications where both cpus work on same data set, hence latency??

2 CPUs would be advantage only in case of applications which use more cores like Video rendering, editing, 3D modelling, Virtualization Cinebench etc. But in normal daily use applications, gaming etc latency may be disadvantageous, perhaps.

Correct me if I am wrong. BUT due to these apprehensions only I backed out of good deals in T5500 (with Raiser) and T7600 (with 2 cpus). Particularly T7600 was being offered around $450 with 2 slower 8 core CPUs and 128 GBs of RAM. But I somewhat did not liked the idea of more cores with slower clock speeds as well as LATENCY. in 2 CPU system I also do not like the case air flow where hot air from one CPU further passes through the second CPU, particularly in T7600 and T5600 where cabinet size is more compact as compared to T7500 or even T5500.

Sandy bridge Xeons, as compared to Westmere Xeons, have lower clock speeds, but 2 cores more, and no fully confirmed report of overclocking.
I also backed out of a deal of T3600 around $200 because it had only 425 watts Power Unit and I also did not liked the idea of more but slower cores.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,523 (3.23/day)
Aren't 2 CPU system slower than single CPU system in case of applications where both cpus work on same data set, hence latency??
To a degree, yes. It's usually not enough to make a difference.

2 CPUs would be advantage only in case of applications which use more cores like Video rendering, editing, 3D modelling, Virtualization Cinebench etc. But in normal daily use applications, gaming etc latency may be disadvantageous, perhaps.
Those are the main scenario's where dual CPU's would be an advantage. Gaming doesn't benefit at all from additional CPU's.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
116 (0.31/day)
To a degree, yes. It's usually not enough to make a difference.


Those are the main scenario's where dual CPU's would be an advantage. Gaming doesn't benefit at all from additional CPU's.
I watched this video on Youtube, where the user is having double E5-2630 v2 in T7620.

The video does not have much info but in the comments section underneath he says that -

It is surprisingly slow for daily use.

this computer is configured is for simulation and crunching numbers.

He has also got Precision 7530 Xeon laptop that feels faster than this Precision T7620 dual-Xeon workstation.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,523 (3.23/day)
Hey everyone,
The user @Durkhead started a thread asking the following;
I have a optiplex 745 sff with qx6800 and gt 1030 I use throttle stop to overclock when I ran it the first time I got to 3.4ghz stable so like a dummy I decided to push to 3.7 it started to get unstable an it crashed windows 10 did a repair thingy and it came back, now when I raise the multiplier it lowers the bus speed so it never goes above 2.9 GHz what's wrong with it
I though it would be helpful to bring them over here. Anyone have any suggestions?
 

Durkhead

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2019
Messages
6 (0.04/day)
Hey everyone,
The user @Durkhead started a thread asking the following;

I though it would be helpful to bring them over here. Anyone have any suggestions?
I talked the unclewebb guy an he said it's just windows being stupid I was trying to play emulator an was getting slowdowns I figured 3.7ghz would be enough but I guess not
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
571 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
The Optiplex 745 has a very compromised VRM. 3 phase which is actually OK in itself, but only 2 MOSFETS per. Due to the full multiplier steps on the QX6800 3.45GHz is about it. Heatsinks on the VRM Mosfets will of course help. If you look at CPUZ 3.45 GHZ is actually the average overclock on an MSI motherboard for that CPU. Only the 4 phase ASUS, and Dell Dimensions go higher. Even the 2 core X6800 struggles to go 3.73 due to the B3 stepping.
The XPS 200 SFF, and Dimension 9200C (same thing) came in BTX SFF and had 4 phase VRM. Those MB should take a G0 QX6800 to 3.73Ghz. The Dell MB will shut down at 1.6V. so stay below that some and see what you get.
Here is a Dimension E520 running 3.7Ghz. 51% single core, and 58% 4 core ranking is not too bad for a 2005 computer.
It's the mid tower version. You need to look these up by Dell Model# DM061. That user glued copper sheet metal" flags" to the vertically mounted MOSFETS.
I have runs on the chart at CPUZ 3.99Ghz on that system. There's a link to one in my sig.
You might squeeze a little more out of it by underclocking the FSB with SetFSB, and add another multiplier, then bring it back up. But the MB from the multimedia systems is a much better place to start.
Due to the age of these finding one with good capacitors is not easy.

The issue with the Dellls downclocking the FSB has been seen before. Do you have C states disbaled in TS. Do you have a High Performance user profile set in Account manager.
 
Top