• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Throttlestop overclocking Desktop PCs

Durkhead

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2019
Messages
21 (0.09/day)
Excuse me if I'm posting this on the wrong place but I have a ques bout Intel turbo boost and how it works like if I bought a 9100f and had good motherboard and good cooling could I run it at Max speed as long as the temp was good, would I need throttlestop to do that? or if I got an optiplex with i5 4570 could I make that run at Max speed for long period of time I'm interested in getting a new PC for emulation which needs high clock speed but only uses 2 or three cores
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,526 (0.36/day)
Intel CPUs can run at full turbo speed indefinitely as long as they are not overheating and as long as they are not exceeding the turbo power limit. Some boards will allow you to set the power limits sky high. Other boards will lock the power limit register so even with software you will not be able to exceed the TDP limit.

Unless someone has used your exact combination, it is impossible to say what is possible.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
678 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
First thing I need to say is we don't know what works until someone tries it.
But here are the principles we try.
Throttlestop, and Intel XTU can "often" control Voltage and multiplier on unlocked CPUs on locked systems.
1-So your first stop should be userbenchmark.com to see if the system your interested in has any unlocked CPUs running there.
2- Get a feel for the CPU score of that CPU at base speed, and look for "outliers" with a noticeably higher CPU score. That's evidence of a successful overclock of "some kind". If there aren't any that means you're the guinea pig. If you try it and it doesn't work post here anyway. The information is still useful to others.
3- Throttlestop has the ability to be text edited in a word processor to only overclock 2 cores of a 4 core CPU. 6+ core IDK. Maybe 2, maybe 3 cores. Newer stuff perhaps the cores are more tightly integrated.
4-MAYBE if you change the file name you could open a 2nd TS window and underclock the other cores since that's Throttlestops purpose in notebooks. I don't think Volatge can be separated though. Has never been tried ASFAIK..
5- I would be looking at a surplus workstation. ECC capability and higher performance VRM and memory subsystems make older workstations perform better than newer Optiplex. Optiplex almost all have a 95W CPU limit. Workstations are 130+W capable. This almost always translates to higher overclock performance.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
Location
USA
Processor FX-6350 @4.5ghz/2.5ghz NB
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
Cooling Hyper 212
Memory 8gb Samsung DDR3L @1666 cl8 1.47v
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming RX 580 8gb @1475/2100
Storage 250gb SSD 2tb hdd
Display(s) LG 42in 1080p60
Audio Device(s) Logitech z-5500
Power Supply CX 650
Benchmark Scores R15 sing/multi 106/538
If I got an optiplex with i5 4570 could I make that run at Max speed for long period of time I'm interested in getting a new PC for emulation which needs high clock speed but only uses 2 or three cores
Hey Durk, I'm really into emulation and have emulated most consoles up to the switch, ps3, and 360. Before you go out and decide an OEM PC to buy for emulation please PM me what consoles you're looking to emulate and I'll help you decide what sort of build would be best for you as well as a few tips to help smooth out gameplay on newer console emulation.
 
Last edited:

dhrag5t

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2019
Messages
14 (0.10/day)
Does anyone know if the T3500 dual front fans can be modified to run at 100% all the time? Ideally through software. I want to see how much of an improvement I can get on my overclock by actively cooling the northbridge heatsink (x58 get notoriously hot) and cooling the VRM's on the motherboard. Basically want to cool down the PC as much as possible to see the true overclocking limit for this platform through Throttlestop.

With my current setup I've tried upping the TDP and TDC to 200 each for a 4.4 ghz overclock (33x multiplier on all cores) but it keeps crashing as soon as I start Cinebench. Even at the 32x multiplier (4.26 ghz) now, it's stable enough for day to day use but on more intensive CPU tasks I've recently had a few BSOD's over the past month or so. So even if I can't get to a stable 4.4 ghz, getting back to a 100% stable 4.26 like before would be great.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,555 (3.52/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Does anyone know if the T3500 dual front fans can be modified to run at 100% all the time?
To my knowledge, there is no such method. The only alternative is to mount non-Dell 120mm fans that have sufficient speed to do the work you need and are powered by the PSU directly instead of the motherboard. You will need to replace the 120mm fans with 92mm or 80mm Dell fans to keep the BIOS from alerting you at every bootup. One can be mounted to the CPU heatsink and the other to the motherboard chipset.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
678 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
I've had good results on other Dells by adding heatsinks to the VRM MOSFETS and had more Voltage become available.

HWInfo 64 has a fan speed utility you can try. Removing the blue PWM lead also sends the fans to 100% in fail safe mode.
Does it crash when you start Cinebench. or does it crash when the fans speed up? Some motherboards lose CPU Voltage then. I've powered the main fan off of a Molex and just used the PWM and RPM wires from the MB. A small chipset fan can be used to avoid errors. Fan errors need to be cleared manually in the BIOS on some Dells. You might look at the big fan/cooler mod I did on pages 8,9. Basically without the HD Tray the 150x50mm fan from the older 2 CPU machines and 90mm cage fan fit in the case. But the stock cooler is in the dead zone on that fan. This is a 256cfm fan @ 2000 rpm. So it's fairly quiet. It needs 1.8A. by itself. On the old BTX machines the MB can supply that at the fan header. But the T3500 has 2x.9A fans so it's risky to just plug it in. In 120mm format I've used the 3.4A. GFB1212VHG 120x50mm 2 motor fan off of Molex. But expensive, hard to find and not as good as the 150mm.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
Location
USA
Processor FX-6350 @4.5ghz/2.5ghz NB
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
Cooling Hyper 212
Memory 8gb Samsung DDR3L @1666 cl8 1.47v
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming RX 580 8gb @1475/2100
Storage 250gb SSD 2tb hdd
Display(s) LG 42in 1080p60
Audio Device(s) Logitech z-5500
Power Supply CX 650
Benchmark Scores R15 sing/multi 106/538
Does anyone know if the T3500 dual front fans can be modified to run at 100% all the time? Ideally through software.

You can unplug the front panel header which will get the fans to run at 100% speed 100% of the time. Alternatively, I use speedfan version 4.52 which automatically detects both fans and allows full control of them both.

Also here is a post of mine giving some cheap VRM cooling suggestions. I'm fairly certain between cooling your VRMs, upping the stock fan's speeds, throwing a fan onto the northbridge, and throwing a fan onto the cpu heatsink you'll get your 4.26ghz oc stable.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,555 (3.52/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
You can unplug the front panel header which will get the fans to run at 100% speed 100% of the time.
You don't want to do that.
Alternatively, I use speedfan version 4.52 which automatically detects both fans and allows full control of them both.
Really? Last time I used speedfan it failed to do anything.. I'll have to try again, might have missed something.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
Location
USA
Processor FX-6350 @4.5ghz/2.5ghz NB
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
Cooling Hyper 212
Memory 8gb Samsung DDR3L @1666 cl8 1.47v
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming RX 580 8gb @1475/2100
Storage 250gb SSD 2tb hdd
Display(s) LG 42in 1080p60
Audio Device(s) Logitech z-5500
Power Supply CX 650
Benchmark Scores R15 sing/multi 106/538
Really? Last time I used speedfan it failed to do anything.. I'll have to try again, might have missed something.
Yup, I just installed it and didn't do anything special. It saw and allowed me to control my t3500's front fans natively as well as my HD 7770's fan.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
678 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
There was simpler cooling mod in here with a Dynatron G17 cooler and a 90x38mm 132cfm Nydec fan that works in the same footprint as the stock cooler. Around Page 25 somehwere. You can keep the HDD tray which does have a ducting effect.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,555 (3.52/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Yup, I just installed it and didn't do anything special. It saw and allowed me to control my t3500's front fans natively as well as my HD 7770's fan.
Just downloaded and ran it. Here what it does on this T3500;
SpeedFan452-NoFans.jpg
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
Location
USA
Processor FX-6350 @4.5ghz/2.5ghz NB
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
Cooling Hyper 212
Memory 8gb Samsung DDR3L @1666 cl8 1.47v
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming RX 580 8gb @1475/2100
Storage 250gb SSD 2tb hdd
Display(s) LG 42in 1080p60
Audio Device(s) Logitech z-5500
Power Supply CX 650
Benchmark Scores R15 sing/multi 106/538
This is what I was met with the first time I started speedfan on my T3500.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,555 (3.52/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
678 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
I just found a source for assorted memory modules of the type and size we use including non ECC, and UDIMMs for the overclockers and gamers among us. They also list them by x64, x72, and single or dual rank specs. which can be hard to find sometimes. Hard to find capacities there also. 4GB DDR2, and 8GB single rank 1024x64 DDR3 at 1066 and 1333 speeds.
Many are OEM branded.
I've used these guys for CPUs many times and never had a problem. . They've been around a long time.
I called and asked and was told that memory upgrades are all NOS even for older sytems but CPus are not. So factor that in when comparing prices to used online stuff with no support.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
Location
USA
Processor FX-6350 @4.5ghz/2.5ghz NB
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
Cooling Hyper 212
Memory 8gb Samsung DDR3L @1666 cl8 1.47v
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming RX 580 8gb @1475/2100
Storage 250gb SSD 2tb hdd
Display(s) LG 42in 1080p60
Audio Device(s) Logitech z-5500
Power Supply CX 650
Benchmark Scores R15 sing/multi 106/538
Top