• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Throttlestop overclocking Desktop PCs

Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Messages
1,288 (0.95/day)
Location
Tel Fyr
System Name Purple Haze | Vacuum Box
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (-30 CO) | Intel® Xeon® E3-1241 v3
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk Max | Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
Cooling Dark Rock 4 Pro, P14, P12, T30 case fans | 212 Evo & P12 PWM PST x2, Arctic P14 & P12 case fans
Memory 32GB Ballistix (Micron E 19nm) CL16 @3733MHz | 32GB HyperX Beast 2400MHz (XMP)
Video Card(s) AMD 6900XTXH ASRock OC Formula & Phanteks T30x3 | AMD 5700XT Sapphire Nitro+ & Arctic P12x2
Storage ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB, Toshiba P300 3TB x2 | Kingston A400 120GB, Fanxiang S500 Pro 256GB
Display(s) Mi 2K Gaming Monitor 27", AOC 24G2U
Case Modded MS Industrial Titan II Pro RGB | Heavily Modded Cooler Master Q500L
Audio Device(s) Audient iD14 MKII, Adam Audio T8Vs, Bloody M550, HiFiMan HE400se, Tascam TM-80
Power Supply Rosewill Capstone 1000M | Enermax Revolution X't 730W (both with P14 fans)
Mouse Logitech G305, Bloody A91, Amazon basics, Logitech M187
Keyboard Redragon K530, Bloody B930, Epomaker TH80 SE, BTC 9110
Software W10 LTSC 21H2
You need a fan blowing directly on the socket area.
Yeah, figured. One for the VRM, one for the SB, and 1 for the each RAM banks. :laugh: The VRM on this board is crappy anyway, hence the OC locking with the IB-E update. And the adventure continues... on the X79 thread.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,047 (6.46/day)
Yeah, figured. One for the VRM, one for the SB, and 1 for the each RAM banks. :laugh: The VRM on this board is crappy anyway, hence the OC locking with the IB-E update. And the adventure continues... on the X79 thread.
Or you could buy a down-firing heatsink.
Something like this: http://nordic.thermaltake.com/products-model.aspx?id=C_00001896
With that kind of heatsink, you cool the CPU, VRMs and everything else around the socket all at once. You have to run a higher fan profile but it works.

EDIT, here's a Noctua model that fits all modern sockets;
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
383 (0.24/day)
Location
Pittsburgh Pa USA
Anyone rocking dual e5-2696v3 with CPU microcode exploit here? Or any dual 26xxv3?
 

386

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2022
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Well I literally have a team of people working on a t5810 bios mod right now haha. looks like the use of TS will continue as it seems to be impossible to make the bios menus visible. However I should end up with any and all limits gone and allow me to clock to the moon. Going to buy another motherboard and a 1650v3 to test on when ready. I'd hate to burn up my expensive 1680v3 if the board is going to end up shorting out or something. Also someone is working on using the JTAG connector to start programming with a raspberry pi. Might make changes easier in the future.
Interesting. Im trying to overclock the 1660 V3 on the HP z440 which is the competitor. In TS i can only get it up to 4ghz at 1.17 volts without it getting an instant BSOD

and before i had the 1660 v3 i was using a 2640 v3 with the microcode exploit you mentioned
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
1,078 (0.35/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
TS is not Dell specific, and neither is this thread. It just happens to be what most people here use. But there is an active HP overclocking community in HP Forums. They mostly use Intel XTU there.
BambiboomZ is one user there.
 

386

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2022
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Yea i don't want to use XTU cause its a pain on this computer. It locks you out from overclocking unless you put the computer in sleep mode for a sec to remove the protection. Then it locks you out again at some point and you have to reinstall, so I just use TS. I know I can raise voltage but I want to be deliberate since this is my first-time overclocking, plus I am using the stock tower cooler. I thought the i7 5960x and the Xeon E5 1660 v3 should be easily able to hit at least 4.0 without increasing voltage.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
383 (0.24/day)
Location
Pittsburgh Pa USA
Yea i don't want to use XTU cause its a pain on this computer. It locks you out from overclocking unless you put the computer in sleep mode for a sec to remove the protection. Then it locks you out again at some point and you have to reinstall, so I just use TS. I know I can raise voltage but I want to be deliberate since this is my first-time overclocking, plus I am using the stock tower cooler. I thought the i7 5960x and the Xeon E5 1660 v3 should be easily able to hit at least 4.0 without increasing voltage.
It may not need much. I can run 4.2 stable 1680v3 at 1.195 I think. 1.3 is the Intel "limit" you will hit current /wattage/ thermal limits long before that voltage
 

386

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2022
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Alright I have a question. When I try to adjust the turbo ratios for each core it doesn't take effect. The only thing that works is the set multiplier slide. I have gotten the system to 4.1 at 1.2 volts but I don't want to run that speed on all cores. I have it set in FIVR to 3.6 on 8 cores, and 4.2 on 2 cores, but those settings aren't doing anything, am i using it wrong?
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
383 (0.24/day)
Location
Pittsburgh Pa USA
Alright I have a question. When I try to adjust the turbo ratios for each core it doesn't take effect. The only thing that works is the set multiplier slide. I have gotten the system to 4.1 at 1.2 volts but I don't want to run that speed on all cores. I have it set in FIVR to 3.6 on 8 cores, and 4.2 on 2 cores, but those settings aren't doing anything, am i using it wrong?
Nope it just won't work the way you want it to. From what I understand it's because of the generation of CPU and nothing to do with TS
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,047 (6.46/day)
Have you tried to raise the voltage? 1.17 is still very low.
This. 1.2v should render a 4.2ghz OC.
Alright I have a question. When I try to adjust the turbo ratios for each core it doesn't take effect. The only thing that works is the set multiplier slide. I have gotten the system to 4.1 at 1.2 volts but I don't want to run that speed on all cores. I have it set in FIVR to 3.6 on 8 cores, and 4.2 on 2 cores, but those settings aren't doing anything, am i using it wrong?
You will not harm the CPU running all-core at 4.2ghz on 1.2v.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
383 (0.24/day)
Location
Pittsburgh Pa USA
This. 1.2v should render a 4.2ghz OC.

You will not harm the CPU running all-core at 4.2ghz on 1.2v.
Well they haven't said what temps are but did mention a stock cooler. That 8 core at 4.2 starts building some heat. That I know. It's very controllable on air but needs a decent cooler.

And side note. Someone responded on overclock.net about using an e5-2696v3 with the haswell turbo exploit. Stated can only hit 3.8ghz on a light load after the bios mod (like most have reported) going to hopefully assist on using TS to see if there's a way to have that 18 core run 3.8 under full load. If there is then a Dell 7910 and 2 of those CPUs are in my future:)
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,047 (6.46/day)
Well they haven't said what temps are but did mention a stock cooler. That 8 core at 4.2 starts building some heat. That I know. It's very controllable on air but needs a decent cooler.
A 1660v3? Nah, even a stock cooler can handle 4.2ghz/1.2v fine. Much more and yeah a better than stock cooler would be needed.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
383 (0.24/day)
Location
Pittsburgh Pa USA
Well I'm over 150 watts at 3.8ghz with mine. Voltage maybe 1.15. so not sure how you got that. I can go down in the mid 60s at 4.2 with my supermicro 5 heat pipe cooler. And I'm using a 1680v3. Supposedly binned better than a 1660v3
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
383 (0.24/day)
Location
Pittsburgh Pa USA
Seems like a less than great sample to me.

Par for the course for Haswell Xeon's. They're rated 140w at 3.6 all-core and 1.05v so we're not talking about a huge jump in power with 4.2 and 1.2v. The BroadwellEP's(1660v4/1680v4) are even better.
Where do you find a rating on all core full turbo speed? Tdp has never meant that. And in any system stock they were never designed to run all core full turbo. That's why people that run the bios mod to do full core turbo with the 26xxv3 try to undervolt to stay under tdp and keep it from throttling.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,047 (6.46/day)
Where do you find a rating on all core full turbo speed? Tdp has never meant that. And in any system stock they were never designed to run all core full turbo. That's why people that run the bios mod to do full core turbo with the 26xxv3 try to undervolt to stay under tdp and keep it from throttling.
It is an approximate rating..
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
383 (0.24/day)
Location
Pittsburgh Pa USA
Screenshot_20230206-103852.png
base frequency . No ratings ever on all core turbo. That doesn't exist.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,047 (6.46/day)
No ratings ever on all core turbo. That doesn't exist.
The TDP roughy equates to max watts the CPU will use under full-speed load. It's not always perfect, but is a solid guide. This can be discovered using a power measurement tool like a "KillAWatt", which I have.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
383 (0.24/day)
Location
Pittsburgh Pa USA
The TDP roughy equates to max watts the CPU will use under full-speed load. It's not always perfect, but is a solid guide. This can be discovered using a power measurement tool like a "KillAWatt", which I have.
Well a 1660v3 not overclocked will roughly boost to about 3.2ghz full load. Not 3.5 which is single core turbo speeds. So basing all core turbo and tdp together can't work.
 

386

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2022
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
I am currently runing 4.1 at 1.25 volts. Probably a bit conservative but 4.2 hit the current limit and I got tired of playing with it yesterday. At my current settings when i am playing games it gets up to like 82C, in some cases a couple of cores hit 90 which I don't want. I have the power capped actually at 120 watts cause I don't care if it throttles because it won't throttle when playing games which is what I want more performance from. Might turn it up to 145 though. Also my orignal goal was 4.5 ghz is there any way for me to hit that?

When I tried to run 4.2 yesterday it would instantly crash when opening pretty much any program
 
Top