1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Time to test this Open Box 4870!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Kantastic, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,165 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    I'm going to try overclocking it and stressing it to see if it's in tip top shape, if it isn't I'm returning it for a 5770.

    What tests would you guys recommend?
     
  2. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Furmark, but thats just me... :roll:

    See if it can do a 21% overclock like my HD4850 can. ;-p
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,165 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Furmark! Downloading that now!

    And would you recommend OC'ing in CCC?
     
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,995 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Download OCCT, run OCCT GPU and tick the box called "Error Checking". Then, use GPUTool or something to slowly overclock the card until white dots (errors) appear. Then, back the frequency down about 10MHz and it should be stable. Then, do the same for the RAM. Keep an eye on your temperatures with GPU-Z.

    I believe that CCC imposes overclocking limits, so it's best to use something else. GPUTool is a bit buggy, but it does mostly work.

    EDIT: Furmark is basically the OCCT GPU test. Tick the "Error Checking" or I think it's called "Stability Test" in Furmark.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,431 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    I would go straight for 5770.
     
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,995 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The 5770 is 40nm/DX11 (should run cooler and use less power) and has 800 stream processors like the 4870, but the 4870 has 256bit GDDR5. I'm unsure if the 128bit GDDR5 is a bottleneck for the card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    CCC give me a limit of 790MHz and 1100MHz. GPU Tool doesn't work with my 4870 (I got to 1100MHz on the core...). ATiTool give me driver errors. What else can i use to overclock?

    Im not hijacking the thread btw :)
     
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,995 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I think the AMD GPU Clock Tool allows unlimited frequencies.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,165 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Grr lol, I think I might just box this thing up and send it back for a 5770.
     
  10. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    I'd do the 5770.
    But nothing wrong with the 4870 especially if it is a 1gb version.
    If it is the 512mb version, flash to the Asus Top bios.
     
  11. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,165 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    It's the 512! And no to flashing, I'm still VERY amateur when it comes to computers so risk taking isn't exactly the smartest thing to do right now. I might drop off the 4870 and get the 5770, I don't know right now. I'll leave this as is for now and tweak the card a bit and get back to you guys!
     
  12. I see SPY!

    I see SPY! New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    334 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    Ati Tray Tools has an auto-overclocking feature that makes it a lot easier to spot for artifacts when overclocking. Instead of keeping on looking at the furmark test, the integrated stress-testing tool will scan the image it is rendering for differences in relation to the previous(correct) one. Also, it has no limits to the overclock, unlike CCC. It lets you adjust voltages(if your card supports it) and has a ton of other features. I really like the software, and encourage everyone to at least try it instead of the bloated CCC.

    You just install the basic driver for the card and the ATT tool and you're good to go :cool:
     
  13. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Kansas
    5770 for sure if you only got a 512. More ram, much better power draw, basically neck and neck performancewise.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,026 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,273
    I use RivaTuner to overclock my reference 4870.
     
  15. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,999 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)