• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tkpenalty's X1950~HD4k Clubhouse

Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.06/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
Will double-sided tape conduct heat?

Grab some double side thermal tape, like the stuff that comes pre-installed on RAMsinks.
BTW, do you have a link for that backplate you ordered for the VRMs? Is is shorter than a RAMsink? I'm thinking about getting something to cool my PULSE chips......
Thermal tape link:
http://www.thermaflo.com/ifmat_tape.shtml
BTW from what I've heard, using any kind of thermal paste on IC chips isn't a good idea. That stuff is usually capacitive (not very conductive though) and can cause problems if they span across a live circuit on the PCB.

That link I showed has descriptions for the applications involved. It has some pretty good stuff there, such as thermal conductivity, elasticity, etc. This way you can find something that conducts well, but doesn't need support after it's been applied. If you want something to attach a VRM sink with I would use something that doesn't permanently bond to the IC, in case you have to RMA.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.32/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
Grab some double side thermal tape, like the stuff that comes pre-installed on RAMsinks.
BTW, do you have a link for that backplate you ordered for the VRMs? Is is shorter than a RAMsink? I'm thinking about getting something to cool my PULSE chips......
Thermal tape link:
http://www.thermaflo.com/ifmat_tape.shtml
BTW from what I've heard, using any kind of thermal paste on IC chips isn't a good idea. That stuff is usually capacitive (not very conductive though) and can cause problems if they span across a live circuit on the PCB.

That link I showed has descriptions for the applications involved. It has some pretty good stuff there, such as thermal conductivity, elasticity, etc. This way you can find something that conducts well, but doesn't need support after it's been applied. If you want something to attach a VRM sink with I would use something that doesn't permanently bond to the IC, in case you have to RMA.

Nah, Powercolor said I can keep the VRM plate on if I need to RMA and send me a new X1950PRO with the VRM plate.
 

micron

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
144 (0.03/day)
That stuff is usually capacitive

ca·pac·i·tance Pronunciation (k-ps-tns)

1. Symbol C The ratio of charge to potential on an electrically charged, isolated conductor.
2. Symbol C The ratio of the electric charge transferred from one to the other of a pair of conductors to the resulting potential difference between them.

I think what you're really talking about is thermal epoxy......regardless, the stuff neither capacitive or conductive.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,102 (8.07/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO, ID Cooling Frostflow 240
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Hey! I'm wondering what people are getting for 3dMark06 scores with thier x1950 AGP cards.

Here's mine:
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.32/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
Grab some double side thermal tape, like the stuff that comes pre-installed on RAMsinks.
BTW, do you have a link for that backplate you ordered for the VRMs? Is is shorter than a RAMsink? I'm thinking about getting something to cool my PULSE chips......
Thermal tape link:
http://www.thermaflo.com/ifmat_tape.shtml
BTW from what I've heard, using any kind of thermal paste on IC chips isn't a good idea. That stuff is usually capacitive (not very conductive though) and can cause problems if they span across a live circuit on the PCB.

That link I showed has descriptions for the applications involved. It has some pretty good stuff there, such as thermal conductivity, elasticity, etc. This way you can find something that conducts well, but doesn't need support after it's been applied. If you want something to attach a VRM sink with I would use something that doesn't permanently bond to the IC, in case you have to RMA.

I know about thermal tape obviously that stuff probably is hard to obtain, and Shin-Etsu is better.
Thermal tape by all means is never capacitive FYI, why do they have it for RAM chips?!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (0.94/day)
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
Hey! I'm wondering what people are getting for 3dMark06 scores with thier x1950 AGP cards.

Here's mine:

Nice score considering 3dmark06 is HEAVILY CPU dependant :)
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.32/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
Grab some double side thermal tape, like the stuff that comes pre-installed on RAMsinks.
BTW, do you have a link for that backplate you ordered for the VRMs? Is is shorter than a RAMsink? I'm thinking about getting something to cool my PULSE chips......
Thermal tape link:
http://www.thermaflo.com/ifmat_tape.shtml
BTW from what I've heard, using any kind of thermal paste on IC chips isn't a good idea. That stuff is usually capacitive (not very conductive though) and can cause problems if they span across a live circuit on the PCB.

That link I showed has descriptions for the applications involved. It has some pretty good stuff there, such as thermal conductivity, elasticity, etc. This way you can find something that conducts well, but doesn't need support after it's been applied. If you want something to attach a VRM sink with I would use something that doesn't permanently bond to the IC, in case you have to RMA.

I know about thermal tape, obviously that stuff is decent and hard to obtain. Shin-Etsu is wayyyy better.
Thermal tape by all means is never capacitive FYI, why do they have it for RAM chips?!



http://vizo.com.tw/index.php?main_page=vizo_product_info&products_id=31&tab=1

Get these, the plate will not fit on the HIS IceQIII, its only meant for acceleroX2 + X1950PRO (non-palit). Then you will have spares to cool other mofsets, etc. Btw, get the DDR400 variant and not the DDR2.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.06/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
While it is not electrically conductive, the compound is very slightly capacitive and could potentially cause problems if it bridges two close-proximity electrical paths.)

From Arctic's website on AS5
http://www.arcticsilver.com/as5.htm
I'm a junior level electrical engineering student, so you don't have to explain capacitance to me
:)
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.32/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
...oh geez.... AS5 is silver-based, thus there would be SOME potential to be capacitive. Ceramic thermal pastes prevent any conduction and thermal pads/tape/epoxy usually prevent any capacitive characteristics (unless you are talking about special purpose types).
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.06/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
Yea I know the tape isn't capacitive or electrically conductive, only thermally. I thought you mentioned using some ceramic based stuff earlier, and I've always read that any thermal compound is risky on IC chips. It's better to use tape on IC chips, compound on cores.

Anyhow, I think it's gonna be a tight fit if I do decide to sink these PULSE chips. Look how close they are to the fan! I may be able to get an old CPU heatsink and take it to a machine shop. This way they can trim it down to clear the fan. I really don't know of any RAMsinks that will fit under that clearance.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.32/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
Which faggotised bastard just one-starred our thread and 5 starred the others?!!! :shadedshu, doing that doesn't make you have a big e-penis you wanker/tosser.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.32/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
Um Binormalkilla, the SLEET VIZO heatsinks I recommended will not fit D=. Try to get copper heatsinks that have the fin broadside 90* away from the fan. Alu is fine, but at that size not really great.

EDIT: If some mod walks past, edit the title, adding [X1950 series support] to it. Sticky pl0x
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,544 (0.86/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Memory Team T-FORCE XCALIBUR RGB 4000 @3400 CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I guess [X1950 Series Clubhouse & Support] will be better. lol
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.06/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
doing that doesn't make you have a big e-penis you wanker/tosser.
ROFLMAO :laugh:
 

leopr

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2007
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Processor I7 2700K @ 4.60Ghz HT ON [1.27v]
Motherboard G1.Sniper 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 + 3 x GT 1450RPM
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600Mhz 1.25v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD HD7970 + Accelero 7970
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB + Corsair F3 GT 180GB
Display(s) Samsung LED 3D S23A700D
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blasted Recon3Di (On board)
Power Supply Seasonic M12 II 750W [Bronze]
Software W7 x64
They aren't over the VRM modules. Its better to cool them than let them burn. @125 degrees they will be likely to malfunction

So which are the VRM modules ? i thought they were under those black ceramic heat spreaders.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
3,558 (0.66/day)
Location
Enschede, The Netherlands
System Name Lian Li Carbon fiber ed.
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4.6Ghz 24/7 Max OC 5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech blocks, 360 Xflow rad, Swiftech 120 rad, Liang with XSPC res/pump top.
Memory 8Gb Mushkin 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 128 / Western Digital 160
Display(s) ASUS 25,5" wide VW266h
Power Supply Corsair HX620 modular
Software Windows 7 64
Will double-sided tape conduct heat?

Yes it will, but you have to get it as thin as possible.

I bought some for 50 cents and it works just as good as the stuff they sell at your pc store.
 

Attachments

  • C070225_103939.JPG
    C070225_103939.JPG
    32.5 KB · Views: 308
  • C070218_203425.JPG
    C070218_203425.JPG
    60.3 KB · Views: 584
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.32/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
So which are the VRM modules ? i thought they were under those black ceramic heat spreaders.

Honestly, on the powercolor model, they seem concealed or aren't cooled. Apart from that the VTEC and PULSE chips get too hot for my liking.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.06/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
I don't think that I'm going to bother sinking the PULSE chips because they don't get very hot on mine. I touched them after a run on the artifact scanner and they don't get that hot. I still want to see exactly how hot they are while scanning so I'm gonna try to get an infrared thermometer.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.32/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
I was thinking that too. The VRMs on the X1950PRO Powercolor are heatsinked by two ceramic black plates... HOWEVER they aren't sufficient. People who switch from stock to VF900CU are going to get an unpleasant surprise. There is no heatsink!!!
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.32/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
UPDATE:
26/2/07

URGENT TO PEOPLE USING X1950PRO WHO WISH TO SWITCH TO A VF900CU

Please remember to buy heatsinks, due to the fact that the VRMS DO NOT have cooling after you remove the stock cooler. This is an exception to the X1950PROs from the following manufactures/model, Powercolor Extreme 256/512, HIS ICEQIII, PALIT, GIGABYTE, HIS (standard) PCI-E.

Other brands not mentioned WILL NEED heatsinks.

VF900CU users SHOULD invest in extra heatsinks for the VRMs, I would recommend these http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835118220 (same as the ones that come with your VF900CU LOL) Extra ones can go onto the MOFSET on the GPU/Motherboard.



After removal of the standard cooler that part of the PCB should look like this

That is how the reference cooler looks like, anything similar after removal WILL NEED VRM HEATSINKING!


For AcceleroX2 Users (if it doesn't come with it): http://cgi.ebay.com/VR-Heat-Spreade...9009786QQihZ017QQcategoryZ80151QQcmdZViewItem
.

DO NOT INSTALL THE VF900 CU WITHOUT HEATSINKING THE VRMS. THIS MAKES THE VF900CU BAD BECAUSE THEY DID NOT THINK ABOUT SUPPORT FOR X1950PRO.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.06/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
Yea LOL I installed a VF900 on my Sapphire and it had black screens even in the CCC preview! I'm not getting rid of my Arctic IceQ3 cooler though, because it's great.
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.18/day)
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
I guess I must be lucky with my Gigabyte GV-RX195P256D-RH, X1950 Pro. I don't have the same problems as others do on this thread with VRM's overheating. My VC uses discrete components (ie mosfets) instead of integrated VR modules. Using PWM power circuitry is more efficient than using voltage regulators. These surface mount MOSFETS are mounted and soldered onto the circuit-board which acts as a heatsink.

With this VC, Gigabyte decided not to go with the reference ATI design and designed their own PCB.

A top view with my VF900-CU


From the back, you can clearly see the mosfets and the solid state, low ESR capacitors and the inductors which make up the power circuitry. No VRM's here.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.32/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
Yes indeed. But no voltage control is possible.
Damn... I should have went one day earlier to buy the Gigabyte one... but they were sold out the day I went... so I had to settle for this one.
The gigabyte will be VERY EASY to volt mod.
 
Top