• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TM 1900 to RT - AC68U - (Help)

Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
33 (1.43/day)
Likes
0
#1
I am at a impasse

When i upload said version of firmware TM-AC1900_3.0.0.4_376_1703-g0ffdbba.trx

I get this error in image below

"The file transferred is not a valid firmware image."

My current firmware version is 3.0.0.4.376_3199-ge62f8ab, I am trying to convert the TM 1900 to AC68U firmware.

How do i get around this?

Thanks,

I am follwing the steps on this post site https://lazymocha.com/blog/2018/04/16/flash-t-mobile-cellspot-tm-ac1900-to-asus-rt-ac68u-p/

Any Help would be greatly appreciated

I currently have a AC86U with Merlin on it.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,931 (0.60/day)
Likes
878
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809
#2
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
33 (1.43/day)
Likes
0
#3
  1. How to flash TM-AC1900 to AC68U:
    1. Install WinSCP, Putty, and a file archiver. Install the Asus Restore Utility.
    2. Create a folder on your desktop, name it “router”.
    3. Download this file and extract it to the newly made router folder. It contains a firmware to downgrade to, a firmware to upgrade to, and mtd-write.
    4. Set static IP for PC.
      start > run > ncpa.cpl > double click Ethernet > properties > IPV4 >
      IP: 192.168.29.5
      Subnet: Default (255.255.255.0)
      Gateway: 192.168.29.1
    5. Place router into Recovery/Restore mode
      Hold reset button 10 seconds
      Power off router (keep holding reset)
      Wait 10 seconds, keep holding reset
      Power on router holding reset for 10 more seconds
    6. Go to 192.168.29.1 in a web browser
      If Mini-CFE won’t load use Asus Restore Utility
    7. Flash TM-AC1900_3.0.0.4_376_1703-g0ffdbba.trx
I am on step 7 when i flash it i get that error?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,931 (0.60/day)
Likes
878
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809
#4
  1. How to flash TM-AC1900 to AC68U:
    1. Install WinSCP, Putty, and a file archiver. Install the Asus Restore Utility.
    2. Create a folder on your desktop, name it “router”.
    3. Download this file and extract it to the newly made router folder. It contains a firmware to downgrade to, a firmware to upgrade to, and mtd-write.
    4. Set static IP for PC.
      start > run > ncpa.cpl > double click Ethernet > properties > IPV4 >
      IP: 192.168.29.5
      Subnet: Default (255.255.255.0)
      Gateway: 192.168.29.1
    5. Place router into Recovery/Restore mode
      Hold reset button 10 seconds
      Power off router (keep holding reset)
      Wait 10 seconds, keep holding reset
      Power on router holding reset for 10 more seconds
    6. Go to 192.168.29.1 in a web browser
      If Mini-CFE won’t load use Asus Restore Utility
    7. Flash TM-AC1900_3.0.0.4_376_1703-g0ffdbba.trx
I am on step 7 when i flash it i get that error?
Compare your steps to these: https://www.bayareatechpros.com/ac1900-to-ac68u/

You have to downgrade CFE.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
33 (1.43/day)
Likes
0
#5
It wont let me downgrade from step 7 it shows the error in picture 44.png I uploaded.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,931 (0.60/day)
Likes
878
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809
#6
Is the router in rescue/recovery mode when you attempt this?
I did mine on an isolated laptop

This has to be done via Ethernet cable direct connection.
Static IP of PC has to be set at 192.168.29.(50)* a range higher than the router login IP of 192.168.29.1
All other wireless needs to be turned off
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
33 (1.43/day)
Likes
0
#7
Yes see the image I uploaded I'm on step 7 and in the mini mode or rescue mode.

It doesnt accept the firmware?

44.PNG
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,931 (0.60/day)
Likes
878
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809
#8
It doesnt accept the firmware?

someone's observation:
Then DON'T upgrade to the latest released 3.0.0.4.384_20624 firmware as the "upgrade" also overwrites CFE with a version that disables AiMesh on the converted TM-AC1900's. To get it back currently you'll have to reflash both a valid CFE and previous 384.20308 firmware.
It seems ASUS in their wisdom have moved to close down this excellent recycling path, partially for now (no AiMesh) but maybe they can disable more in the future?

If you can't downgrade Firmware, try downgrading the CFE to 1.0.2.0 first.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
33 (1.43/day)
Likes
0
#9
I have no idea what you are talking about.

I cant turn on ssh or telnet I have to downgrade I cant do anything.

I put it in rescue mode upload said file get error message.

The restore utility doesn't fine the router.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,931 (0.60/day)
Likes
878
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809
#10
I have no idea what you are talking about.
Read all the steps first, not just follow from the top #1 and start. The CFE is the bootloader for the router firmware.

Side tab Router "tools" "sysinfo" , 4th box down.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
33 (1.43/day)
Likes
0
#11
I'm starting to feel your not reading nor hearing what I'm saying I CANNOT get past step 7!!!! I feel like I'm speaking with a wall right now.

Sorry it just feels that way.

I cannot get past step seven I'm in rescue mode I upload 44.png the image I uploaded is the error message.

If you have another version you want me to upload I'll try it but the 1703 is not uploading on my tm1900
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,931 (0.60/day)
Likes
878
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809
#12
I cant turn on ssh or telnet I have to downgrade I cant do anything.
"Admin" side tab then "system" then scroll to near bottom.

I'm starting to feel your not reading nor hearing what I'm saying I CANNOT get past step 7!!!! I feel like I'm speaking with a wall right now.

Sorry it just feels that way.

I cannot get past step seven I'm in rescue mode I upload 44.png the image I uploaded is the error message.

If you have another version you want me to upload I'll try it but the 1703 is not uploading on my tm1900
I did mine over 3 years ago, you most likely cannot go forward due to a current CFE that does not permit a downgrade.
The only work around that I can see is to downgrade the CFE first. Then flash the old Firmware build. Then flash a current Merlin AC68U build.
If I was trying I would try the Merlin 384.8_2 build: https://sourceforge.net/projects/asuswrt-merlin/files/RT-AC68U/Release/

You may be able to skip some steps but I can't guide you. Rolling back the firmware was meant to aid in downgrading the CFE.
It may not wok that way now, as ASUS has tightened up on this action.

If you skip ahead to the CFE Instruction setting, you may be able to insert the current Merlin build in it's place.

There was a step in flashing to increase the NVRAM size. That was step 22 in this link: https://www.bayareatechpros.com/ac1900-to-ac68u/
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
33 (1.43/day)
Likes
0
#13
That's what I have been doing it's not letting me upload 1703 this is the version that has ssh and telnet access my current system tab doesnt have ssh or telnet.

How do I fix this?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,931 (0.60/day)
Likes
878
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809
#14
That's what I have been doing it's not letting me upload 1703 this is the version that has ssh and telnet access my current system tab doesnt have ssh or telnet.

How do I fix this?
Have you tried rebooting the router after the failed flash via turn off button, unplug, turn on button to drain system(while unplugged), then turn off, then plug in and turn on.

And a factory default reset.

Try looking at this: https://blog.silocitylabs.com/post/2018/01/01/flashing-merlin-to-tm-ac1900-or-ac68u/comment-page-1/

I don't know how to downgrade the current Tmobile firmware other than rescue mode.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,931 (0.60/day)
Likes
878
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,931 (0.60/day)
Likes
878
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809
#18
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,931 (0.60/day)
Likes
878
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809
#20
Are you thinking this will work?
If your current Firmware does not have a FIELD for allowing SSH then a straight router build would have that option.

How else to get an SSH field??? So I'm saying try it and keep your fingers crossed.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
33 (1.43/day)
Likes
0
#21
trying both now will follow up.

1st one which was the AC68U

Receive file size=44797998
The file transferred is not a valid firmware image.
Continue

uploading the second one...

TM 1900

error

Receive file size=44797998
The file transferred is not a valid firmware image.
Continue
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,662 (0.40/day)
Likes
678
Processor Processor
Motherboard Motherboard
Cooling Cooling
Memory Memory
Video Card(s) Video Card(s)
Storage Storage
Display(s) Display(s)
Case Case
Audio Device(s) Audio Device(s)
Power Supply Power Supply
Mouse Mouse
Keyboard Keyboard
Software Software
#22
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
33 (1.43/day)
Likes
0
#23
I have even just tried the ASUS upgrade utility

Its saying the router is not in rescue mode but it is i have access to the ASUSTek - CFE miniWeb Server

See picture
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,662 (0.40/day)
Likes
678
Processor Processor
Motherboard Motherboard
Cooling Cooling
Memory Memory
Video Card(s) Video Card(s)
Storage Storage
Display(s) Display(s)
Case Case
Audio Device(s) Audio Device(s)
Power Supply Power Supply
Mouse Mouse
Keyboard Keyboard
Software Software
#24
Top