• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

to choose motherboard

ramarao

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor E8400 @ 3.0ghz
Motherboard asus rampage formula
Cooling asus silent knight Al
Memory corsair xms2 ddr2 800mhz 4gb
Video Card(s) zotac GTX260
Storage 250gb,500gb
Display(s) acer
Case CM690
Power Supply corsair hx1000w
#1
hi,
i am new to this forum , i want to buy asus rampage formula and the problem is i have intel DX48BT2 which is running fine for about 8 months without problems. i just wanted to know that is their any advantage of replacing intel board to asus. what should i do?please help.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#2
Well, you could probably OC better on the ASUS, but that's about it.
 

zanzabar

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
Processor e6850
Motherboard foxconn blackops
Cooling mcr220, mcp355 w/EK v1 g3/8, dtek v2, mcw30
Memory gskill HZ w/micron gts
Video Card(s) 3870
Storage 2x samsung 501j
Display(s) trinitron 24"
Case p180b
Audio Device(s) SBA2 plat pro
Power Supply 750TX
Software server08
#3
u can oc better and u would have better memory settings, but isnt that a ddr3 board, so a much better pick is a foxconn black ops
 

ramarao

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor E8400 @ 3.0ghz
Motherboard asus rampage formula
Cooling asus silent knight Al
Memory corsair xms2 ddr2 800mhz 4gb
Video Card(s) zotac GTX260
Storage 250gb,500gb
Display(s) acer
Case CM690
Power Supply corsair hx1000w
#4
u can oc better and u would have better memory settings, but isnt that a ddr3 board, so a much better pick is a foxconn black ops
yes it is ddr3 motherboard
 

ramarao

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor E8400 @ 3.0ghz
Motherboard asus rampage formula
Cooling asus silent knight Al
Memory corsair xms2 ddr2 800mhz 4gb
Video Card(s) zotac GTX260
Storage 250gb,500gb
Display(s) acer
Case CM690
Power Supply corsair hx1000w
#5
i am thinking to upgrade e8400 to q9650 and add extra 2 gigs of ram with the same motherboard. is it good to upgrade or to go to asus motherboard with the same processor and ram.
 

ramarao

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor E8400 @ 3.0ghz
Motherboard asus rampage formula
Cooling asus silent knight Al
Memory corsair xms2 ddr2 800mhz 4gb
Video Card(s) zotac GTX260
Storage 250gb,500gb
Display(s) acer
Case CM690
Power Supply corsair hx1000w
#6
i am not overclocker
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#7
if your not an overclocker and the board that you have now supports your CPU i wouldn't waste the money
 

ramarao

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor E8400 @ 3.0ghz
Motherboard asus rampage formula
Cooling asus silent knight Al
Memory corsair xms2 ddr2 800mhz 4gb
Video Card(s) zotac GTX260
Storage 250gb,500gb
Display(s) acer
Case CM690
Power Supply corsair hx1000w
#8
thank you,
i would just upgrade processor and add extra ram
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#9
no problem
if you get the Q9650 make sure you have BIOS 1782 OR HIGHER(or newer) so it is fully supported if it isn't already and may have some bugs worked out. good luck and have fun :toast:

EDIT: if you haven't already updated there is a new BIOS out its v 1902
here is a link to the donwload on intel's download center <---- clicky! :roll: (sorry kinda bored showing started to act immature)