1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

To upgrade now or rebuild in a year or so???

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by paulo7, May 27, 2008.

  1. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Hey everyone

    Quick q

    Currently have ab9 pro, e6300, and 8800 gts 640, seem hit wall at 333 on the fsb for the e6300

    Was thinking of moving up to evga 750i ftw (meant to be a great oc up to 500fsb easy) and maybe go sli.

    But was wondering whether be worthwhile waiting for Nehalem release as that would req new rebuild if was to get one next yr.. also 9900 coming out in summer too,

    Any advise be appreciated

    Thx

    Paul
     
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,435 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Each has its advantages. Upgrading now will mean you can get better performance from OCing for less money than a complete rebuild. Waiting and rebuilding will mean you have the latest and greatest. Downsides come with each as well, upgrading means you might not be able to use some parts you have now when new technology comes out, new technology sometimes has it's problems (e.g. 790i chipset). I would say go with which ever best fits your budget.
     
    paulo7 says thanks.
  3. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah problem with upgrading now is that I prob would end up using older parts for another system therefore increasing the overall expenditure as wouldnt like to make working parts redundant,

    making it more likely that I prob will wait rather then wasting money on parts that may be redundant in 7 months when Nehalem compatible mb come out as id imagine no chance of compatibility older hardware due to new incorporation of the northbridge into the chip cant wait!
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,440 (5.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,320
    So buy a cheap P35 mobo with a 500FSB potential...and just clock it till you upgrade the whole rig!

    Blood Iron...Gigabyte...ASUS ...they all will do around 500FSB unless limited by the CPU....most can be had under $125 USD...let alone if you can find one used!
     
    paulo7 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Could just buy your e2200 for that and thus avoid the 333 fsb wall through making use of the 11 multiplier compared to the 7 on the e6300, I dunno tempted get second hand mb but I know what some ppl like to do to them lol
     
  6. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,501 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Personally, I would wait. Wait till your computer cannot do what you want and then upgrade.
     
    paulo7 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,560 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Are you sure a new mb would GUARANTEE a higher overclock anyway ? Can`t you just get an upgrade mb that would support any future upgrades ?
     
    paulo7 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    I would definitely wait. In a year, the stuff that's out now will be cheaper while the new stuff will be wallet eaters, especially the Nehalem. But you'll be out of alot of cash if you want the 280 GTX anyway but I would still wait a year until the prices stablize.
     
    paulo7 says thanks.
  9. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Hey thanks for all the responses, some good advice so wish there was a futureproof motherboard! Although cant complain ab9 has seen me well since fall 2006 and is still goin strong just a poor oc shame as some other ones out at the time were ace isnt foresight great!

    Yeah 9900 are gonna be pricy I just have a feeling that tbh hardware we’ve seen over last yr or so has jus been pretty much reversion same technology due to dominance of intel

    however amd are starting to play there cards again so have feeling that next gen intel/nvidea cards/chips are gonna pretty special,
     
  10. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Been looking into it, found out due to lack of decent sli drivers be pretty pointless goin sli with 8800 gts 640

    One more q how imp do u think it is to upgrade to vista as I currently have avoided it, if I did move to a new mb I prob would make the upgrade and also Im not currently using a raid array (how much performance am I missing out on?), so these are a couple of things I would look into doing as already have vista sitting on my shelf if I was to change motherboards.

    Thnx every!
     
  11. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,560 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Try them both out if you like, but i prefer xp and just buying a fast hard drive
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,199 (4.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,680
    Location:
    US
    I'd wait at least a year. still wish i did and i upgraded from a AMD 3800 x2.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,560 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Well, I think this is a pointless question as the the answer will ALWAYS be questionable. Ok, if you upgrade now, you will have good cheap parts today. But in a year they are already mediocre at best. If you upgrade in a year, you will be in the same position you are in now asking the same question. You will NEVER win!
     
  14. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    970 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    +1 with that. I feel the same way and I came from a 3500+.

    I'd wait til Nehalem comes out, you'll have a much clearer picture by then.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    my ab9pro goes to at least 420 .. are you sure sumpn is not wrong with ur chip?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Everytime I went above 333 had random crashes in windows and orthos, tried loads of settings couldnt stop them from happening,

    Never went above 375sih I think so cant say whether it would have worked above

    Did you not encounter any problems?
     
  17. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Random freezing*
     
  18. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,696 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Fill in your complete system specs that will help a little bit.

    As far as upgrading, I would wait at least for the new 45nm chips to come with E0 stepping or w/e. Maybe hold out for ATI's 4k series, and see what nvidia has to offer against that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. mk_ln New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    unless there is something you cannot run (i.e. some application or game) then i would suggest waiting till the next round of things come out (late this year or so)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Rebo&Zooty

    Rebo&Zooty New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    490 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    paulo7 talk to DarkNova, he had a simlar problem and found what he was doing wrong, i dont remmber what it was, but he can probbly help
     
  21. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,052 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Yup, paulo7, go to the BIOS, and try changing tRD or Perfomance Level in memory settings to one higher.

    If there's no option in the BIOS, you need to download Memset (google it), and use that to change the Performance level.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Did you have problems with my particular motherboard Darknova? tRDC?

    Ye tried setting timings to 5-5-5-15 with trfc of 42

    tried various voltages combinations with little luck
     
  23. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,052 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Not your particular one no, but it was the same with 2 seperate motherboards from different manufacturers. Same issue I had with both.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,696 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Not sure on your knowledge in clocking, are you keeping your ram under 800mhz when you are going up?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    So you had the random freezing issue in windows? were the mb the same version after 965 I think is 975?

    Is what I said what you meant b4 about increasing the timings?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)