1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

to upgrade or not to upgrade?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by JUDAS3, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. JUDAS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    345 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    suffolk uk
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,560 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    i think it would be pretty pointless
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. JUDAS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    345 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    suffolk uk
    thats no good m8 - WHY??????????

    be more specific..................
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    1+

    1.Xp doesn't need that much memory,there won't be much difference bewteen "4gb" and 2,
    2.your XP wont recognise 4gb of memory unless it is 64bit.

    Don't waste your money imho
     
  5. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,636 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    698
    its does see 3.5 gig thow.. which is more than 2 gig.. it does no harm and might be usefull.. and its cheap..

    trog
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,534 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,807
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Whilst XP 32bit does not recognise 4gig, it can still be used, there will be some benefits but honestly very little in XP, if I had the money burning a hole in my pocket and I was not going vista soon I would probably invest in a better aftermarket cooler and over4clock a little more......but hey, I am so shallow!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. JUDAS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    345 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    suffolk uk
    what more than a gt360mm with 3x 120mm fans and a h20 extreme block and pump.

    dont need more than that - even at 1.375 volts its only showing 26 deg C.

    :rockout:

    8800gts is now at 37 idle - lol, coz that on a seperate loop.

    check 866 out on case gallery.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,534 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,807
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Lol No I said "I" would buy a better cooler, you would be as well off, selling your PSU on fleabay and upgrading with the extra £35 :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. JUDAS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    345 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    suffolk uk
    good thought but even at 580w its got loads to spare, I'm saving up for a new system coz my missus wont let me get an irish wolfhound :(

    all the best.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,636 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    698
    i can never see the logic in saying that 2 gigs is all u need in XP.. followed up by it wont see 4 gigs..

    it sees 3.5 gig with a 512 card installed .. and 3.5 gig is 75% more than 2 gig.. so why not install 4 gig even if a small amount is wasted..

    course it being super cheap does affect my thinking... he he

    from a pure clocking point of view a couple of 512 sticks would probably be best..

    trog
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)