• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Total War SHOGUN 2 DX11 with built-in benchmark: even more demanding than Metro 2033!

Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Processor i7 980X [6C6T] @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA E760
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 6 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz C7, Uncore 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 810/1250, 1536SP
Storage Intel X25-M 160G G2, 2 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Lian Li 7FNWX
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
#1
It has successfully owned my 2 x 6950 2GB Crossfire :banghead:

The latest 2GB patch from Steam now enables a small built-in benchmark, through the beginning scene of the demo battle.



The 3rd option is not hardware demanding at all. With the following steps it is possible to stress test your system:

a) Select "Play Total War: SHOGUN 2", and change everything to max in game options:



b) Exit game, and re-open the Steam startup menu and select "Benchmark Game Settings".

Here are results of 2 x 6950 2GB Crossfire:



and for single 6950 2GB:



and here is a plot of the output log file using Excel:



Crossfire suffers a lag spike in the 4th second or so. Not sure if others have the same problem.

I'd say such fps is not playable for multiplayer game sessions, or 3rd party MODs to enable larger size of troops.
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,256
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#2
that game should be demanding in dx11 mode considering the pretty graphics and the scope of gameplay.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Processor i7 980X [6C6T] @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA E760
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 6 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz C7, Uncore 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 810/1250, 1536SP
Storage Intel X25-M 160G G2, 2 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Lian Li 7FNWX
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
#4
Looks good! is the benchmark available in the demo or just the full game?

EDIT: Oh yeah and that is excellent multi gpu scaling :)
Not sure about the demo but it's definitely included in the full game
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#5
what do you get when you do the dx9 bench
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#6
hmm i was aware of theis bench option before it was enabled thanks to a certain someone, overall i found the bench rather worthless compared to upping the unit sizes and just doing a custom battle
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Processor i7 980X [6C6T] @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA E760
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 6 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz C7, Uncore 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 810/1250, 1536SP
Storage Intel X25-M 160G G2, 2 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Lian Li 7FNWX
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
#7
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#9
I just want the damn game, but Im poor at the moment:banghead:
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Processor i7 980X [6C6T] @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA E760
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 6 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz C7, Uncore 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 810/1250, 1536SP
Storage Intel X25-M 160G G2, 2 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Lian Li 7FNWX
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
#10

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#11
How about just filling out your system spec's? :laugh:


Results in OP are due to AA levels. 6950 2GB (unlocked @ 850/1300)get 9x.x FPS with no AA, 4x.x FPS with 4x, P67 platform, 2600k @ stock, 4GB @ 1333 CAS9.



DX9 CPU:

dx9 CPU.jpg



DX9 Balanced:

dx9 balanced.jpg


Game settings maxed(No AA):

game settings.jpg


DX11 1080P(4xAA)

DX11 1080p.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Processor i7 980X [6C6T] @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA E760
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 6 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz C7, Uncore 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 810/1250, 1536SP
Storage Intel X25-M 160G G2, 2 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Lian Li 7FNWX
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
#12
How about jsut filling out your system spec's? :laugh:
It's damn annoying :D OK then, I'll try to recall the full spec...

980X [6C6T] @ 4GHz
EVGA E760
6 x 2GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz C7, Uncore 3200MHz
2 x MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 810/1250, 1536SP
Catalyst 11.5 WHQL
Intel X25-M 160G G2
2 x 1TB WD Black
blablah

It doesn't seem to work when I fill in the form :confused: never mind
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#13
Well, seems, like I surmised, CPU doesn't really play much of a role in this benchmark, or it's stupidly memory intensive.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Processor i7 980X [6C6T] @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA E760
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 6 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz C7, Uncore 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 810/1250, 1536SP
Storage Intel X25-M 160G G2, 2 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Lian Li 7FNWX
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
#14
Well, seems, like I surmised, CPU doesn't really play much of a role in this benchmark, or it's stupidly memory intensive.
I was sure that before this patch, the game fully utilize 3 cores of my CPU.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#15
Wow, 3 cores.:laugh: No, but really, lol WHUT.

I just love the EPIC music. :laugh:
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#16
3 cores LOLZ if i remember right all CA did the entire time the game was in development was keep saying the game will use up to 6 cores up to 6 cores up to 6 cores yadda yadda lol



more on topic


Steam will no longer allow me to play Shogun II, gives me game not available try again later.

scratch that now it dosent even do that,

steam is loading shogun II... then it just dissappears and nothing happens no exe loaded nothing lol this patch is full of fail
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Processor i7 980X [6C6T] @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA E760
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 6 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz C7, Uncore 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 810/1250, 1536SP
Storage Intel X25-M 160G G2, 2 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Lian Li 7FNWX
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
#17
3 cores LOLZ if i remember right all CA did the entire time the game was in development was keep saying the game will use up to 6 cores up to 6 cores up to 6 cores yadda yadda lol



more on topic


Steam will no longer allow me to play Shogun II, gives me game not available try again later.
Well maybe I was not observing the peak usage. I just looked into task manager and saw 50% usage on my 6C6T (HT off) several times. I'll now make a log of CPU usage during the benchmark using Everest.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,559 (1.34/day)
Likes
2,699
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#18
same Crazy, Steam kept crashing every time i tried to run the game or the benckmark. Now i cant even log into Steam, getting the network connection error or steam network problem message :banghead:
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#19
awesome so Creative Assembly's new patch systematically wiped out Steam LOL, man they never cease to impress me Creative Assembly's games are like mini nukes using guesstimation timer on when to detonate.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#20
Same problem here. WTF!!!
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#21
WOOO HOOO ALL ABOARD THE CA FAIL TRAIN!!!! lmao, worse case senario it will be fixed within 6 months, best case senario an hour or 2 lol
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Processor i7 980X [6C6T] @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA E760
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 6 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz C7, Uncore 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 810/1250, 1536SP
Storage Intel X25-M 160G G2, 2 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Lian Li 7FNWX
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
#22
3 cores LOLZ if i remember right all CA did the entire time the game was in development was keep saying the game will use up to 6 cores up to 6 cores up to 6 cores yadda yadda lol



more on topic


Steam will no longer allow me to play Shogun II, gives me game not available try again later.

scratch that now it dosent even do that,

steam is loading shogun II... then it just dissappears and nothing happens no exe loaded nothing lol this patch is full of fail
Yes it can sometimes use 6 cores during my most stressful benchmark session :)



However most of the time my graphics cards are clearly the bottleneck.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,559 (1.34/day)
Likes
2,699
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#23
I blame the OP for bringing this benchmark to our attention :p as soon as i seen this thread and tried to load the game and/or benchmark it, crash city :(
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Processor i7 980X [6C6T] @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA E760
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 6 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz C7, Uncore 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 810/1250, 1536SP
Storage Intel X25-M 160G G2, 2 x 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Lian Li 7FNWX
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
#24
Results in OP are due to AA levels. 6950 2GB (unlocked @ 850/1300)get 9x.x FPS with no AA, 4x.x FPS with 4x, P67 platform, 2600k @ stock, 4GB @ 1333 CAS9.
I was suspecting that the game in DX11 mode with AA eats a huge amount of vram, because when I disable AA I get dramatical boost of fps. I speculate that not even 2GB vram is enough to feed it. I'm also interested to see how 580 1.5GB performs at such stress benchmark. It is reported that 5870 1GB is refused by the benchmark at DX11 max settings because of insufficient vram.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#25
id like to see how a 580 performance as well since some german pc magazine basically said all ATi cards were unable to sustain 30fps in DX11 mode.