• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Total Windows meltdown

Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,714 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#1
This is gonna be long, so hold on...

So today I woke up and my cable, internet, and phone connections all didn't work. So my mom called up Verizon and asked them WTF was going on, and as far as they can tell it's their stupid wall box thing. I'm not sure whether it's related or no, but I'm currently on my neighbor's wireless - which causes all sorts of shit because Windows translates horrible horrible network latency to horrible horrible desktop latency (I was not when everything turned to shit).

So I was bored and actually getting around to doing things I should have done, and ended up installing Bulk Rename Utility from an installer I had stashed away - I've used it before and no problems. After I was done I decided to cook some lunch and then go outside, so I shutdown the thing and went about my business.

When I came back I turned it back on I was playing Morrowind (it's not installed on the C drive - that'll come in handy later), and a few seconds after I quit my computer froze so I restarted it. When Windows was booting it said it wanted to check my C drive, and when it actually tries to check it it says it can't access it directly because of a recent software package, and then just loads Windows - which then puts me into a temporary profile which is full of an annoying background, annoying default firefox settings, annoying animations, an annoying control panel, and annoying alerts everywhere.

I've uninstalled BRU in a vain attempt, but to no avail and I'm gonna try to repair it from the DVD, and I'd appreciate thoughts on just exactly what the hell is going on.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#2
I'm scratching my head here, because there are two problems.

1) Network speed does not influence windows, unless you've got some nasty malware running your computer. My laptop doesn't speed up on my home 100 mbit connection, or slow down on the wireless work 50 mbit.
2) What in Hades caused your crash. I've run the bulk image renamer, but never (win 7, vista, and xp) has it caused a windows failure.


Not knowing more, there are two possible problems that I can see.
1) You corrupted a windows file, and the boot loader doesn't know what to do. This is easy if you used the bulk renamer incorrectly, and renamed child directories accidentally, or the crash occurred while writing new data to the user profile. In the case of the former, you'll have to manually rename files. In the case of the later, you're SOL.
2) The installer you used piggy-backed some nasty crap into the system, or there was already some there.


Please excuse the assumption, but either of these situations is likely. You've not given much to work with, other than a corrupt profile. Perhaps something more substantial would allow us to help more, but "annoying background, annoying default firefox settings, annoying animations, an annoying control panel, and annoying alerts everywhere." are the symptoms of so many things it isn't funny.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,714 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#3
So it turns out one of my hard drives died and tried to take the one with Windows out with it, but Windows still won't let me log in to my profile.

1) Network speed does not influence windows, unless you've got some nasty malware running your computer. My laptop doesn't speed up on my home 100 mbit connection, or slow down on the wireless work 50 mbit.
I've always had really bad latency when I connect to their wireless, both ping and desktop latency, and the only other times I get the same symptoms are when I connect to a network with almost no reception.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#4
I've always had really bad latency when I connect to their wireless, both ping and desktop latency, and the only other times I get the same symptoms are when I connect to a network with almost no reception.
My condolences on the HDD death. That always sucks.

As far as desktop latency, what? Do you mean a slow opening/closing of programs? Do you mean it's slow to access web pages?

Along the same lines, I'm guessing you've tried to ping something, presumably using the command prompt, and that is what you mean by ping latency. Please correct me if I am wrong.


No matter how I look at this, program access speeds in windows aren't related to internet connection speed unless you're on a remote desktop. From the sounds of it, that is not the case. I'm still scratching my head here...?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#5
Stupid box thing in the wall? A wall plug that runs a semi wireless connection? One of those? If so those things suck. I'd remove that and go straight cable or wireless, directly to a wireless receiver.
I was using one of those and it cut my bandwidth in more than half. Took it out and wala, perfect..
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,714 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#6
As far as desktop latency, what? Do you mean a slow opening/closing of programs? Do you mean it's slow to access web pages?
DPC latency, it's basically how long it takes for the computer toget around to processing the highest-priority tasks. Basically if it's too high it causes all sorts of hitching and tripping over itself. There's a good utility to check it over here. It's usually caused by services or drivers taking forever to do something.

Stupid box thing in the wall? A wall plug that runs a semi wireless connection? One of those? If so those things suck. I'd remove that and go straight cable or wireless, directly to a wireless receiver.
I was using one of those and it cut my bandwidth in more than half. Took it out and wala, perfect..
It's some giant white box they shoved in one of the closets that has a few phone jacks and some battery back-up thing.... If I can find a camera I'll try to put up a picture. But the power went out at like 7 in the morning and when the power went out it just assumed the end of the world came and never thought to check whether the electricity came back on, so it just burned through the battery. I'm still a little fuzzy on the details and why that would disrupt my cable, internet, and even the phone.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#7
DPC latency, it's basically how long it takes for the computer toget around to processing the highest-priority tasks. Basically if it's too high it causes all sorts of hitching and tripping over itself. There's a good utility to check it over here. It's usually caused by services or drivers taking forever to do something.



It's some giant white box they shoved in one of the closets that has a few phone jacks and some battery back-up thing.... If I can find a camera I'll try to put up a picture. But the power went out at like 7 in the morning and when the power went out it just assumed the end of the world came and never thought to check whether the electricity came back on, so it just burned through the battery. I'm still a little fuzzy on the details and why that would disrupt my cable, internet, and even the phone.
Ok there's the disconnect.

That resplendence software basically monitors the process list, and check to see how much is on it over time. You can do basically the same with ctrl+alt+dlt, task manager, Processes/Performance, and a bit of logic. The only way windows would take longer to respond on Wifi is if you've got malware which activates when connected to the internet (or some updater programs...), and the glut of programs accessing all at once brings windows to its knees.

This is not Wifi's fault, nor is it yours. Learn to kill auto-updaters, and you'll see faster performance.


There is one device a telecom puts into your house, a modem. Whether with a battery back-up (for phone), or not, it does one thing. A modem changes coaxial data feed into something else; in this case, the new data feed is either ethernet, telephony, or television. That failing would cause all the problems. To fix it:
1) Remove power
2) Remove battery
3) Reconnect power
4) Wait for modem lights to stabilize
5) Reconnect battery
6) Enjoy everything (tv, phone, internet) again


Perhaps we are looking at the same thing, from different angles. Troubleshoot first, then assume the apocalypse. As it stands, you seem to have skipped out on the troubleshooting, and went directly to rage. Too much of that will kill you.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,714 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#8
There are a few threads on the subject, this is one of my favorites.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#9
There are a few threads on the subject, this is one of my favorites.
I'm getting the distinct feeling that you're mixing terminology.

Latency: time between sending and receiving signals
Ping: measure of time between sending and receiving computer signals


So, on wireless you can ping another device, and measure the latency between those devices. A ping time that is higher means more delay, and dropped packets means a poor signal.


So, I'm going to extrapolate here:
You have a high latency on the neighbor's wifi. This is reasonable, considering both distance and signal strength. This latency will make browsing the internet slow.

If you've got a bunch of background programs that want to access the internet, they will consume resources until they've completed contact. A high latency internet connection will cause these programs to access data slowly, which will slow down windows because resources are not being freed up.

My advice still stands. Kill auto-updaters, so that the computer doesn't spend too many resources there. As you're leeching off the neighbor's wifi, you don't have room to complain there. The router from your telecom needs a good hard reboot.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,714 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#10
The problem is that I don't have any auto-updaters, I've had this problem on fresh installs of Windows (completely stock), old installs of Windows and everywhere in between.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#11
Holy thread jesus batman. Have you tried system restore with Win 7 dvd? Should fix any re-named files that might have been accident'ed. To be safe load in safemode and run malwarebytes.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,388
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#12
sniff sniff

smells like malware or a virus!