1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

tower wont start up.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by cookiemonster, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    886 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I have my daughters desktop down to have a look at it because the last time when she turned it on it shut off all the electric sockets and turned the switch of on the main circuit board and she said she smelled burning in the tower. I gave it a good clean and plugged it in here and it didn't turn on and flipped the switch on the main circuit board, could it be the power supply. Where do I start.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. DeathtoGnomes

    DeathtoGnomes

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,617 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    PSU, unplug the 24 pin cable from the motherboard and plug a molex fan into a molex cable. Use a paperclip or anything to jump the solid green wire and any black wire. If the power power up, it might be ok.
     
    cookiemonster and EarthDog say thanks.
  3. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,296 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    Ohio
    Check the psu by jumping it as described above or on the internet...

    If that works, it likely the mobo if it smoked. If it smoked, you shojld be able to see a damaged area or at least smell approximately where the source is.
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  4. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    886 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Do I need to unplug all other stuff ie graphics card, the other connector that goes into the mobo and the other fans
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,176 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,039
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    Start with the Basic's
    unplug everything from PSU
    then
    If PSU powers up It may be ok
    Then inspect her motherboard and other components for signs of overheating/melting visualy and with your nose
    If Everything seems ok
    test with a Different PSU in minimal Build State
    ie
    Motherboard ram keyboard mouse ( onboard Graphics if board Supports that)
     
    EarthDog and cookiemonster say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,122 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    If I smelled something burning and suspected the power supply I sure would not power it up again with it connected any expensive components. I would test the isolated PSU on its own first.

    Have you taken a big snort of the PSU? If you smell "that" burnt electronics smell from the back of the PSU, don't even think of trying it connected to any components. Just replace it.
     
    EarthDog and cookiemonster say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,296 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    Ohio
    You should, absolutely... here is a google of 'how to jumper a PSU'...

     
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,287 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,389
    Smoke, typically psu first than mobo
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    886 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Tried the jumper test with two different power leads lead and in two different sockets with the cable clip in the right place and no life at all, so time to dig my spare psi out of the big deep dark cupboard.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,176 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,039
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    Please inspect all the other components before you test with other PSU
    and
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Rehmanpa

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    309 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    I would also just for the heck of it suggest trying to jump your other psu with the same fan you used for testing. That way before you get rid of that psu you ensure you didn't accidentally misjump it.
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  12. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    886 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    will do. thanks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    886 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Replacement psu worked now just got to lay the cables in and clip them, a job I hate.
     
    dorsetknob says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. DeathtoGnomes

    DeathtoGnomes

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,617 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    now its time to figure out what made the old PSU blow up.
     
  15. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,296 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    Ohio
    Is it? Seems to stand if it was the pc, it wouldnt work now? Psu provably crapped out.. it happens. :)

    Aint got no time fo dat in my life.. :)
     
  16. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    886 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It's already in the bin.
     
    dorsetknob and EarthDog say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,287 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,389
    Only thing that can be truly tested is the source power. If its way out of tolerance, yeah that can make a psu prematurly fail...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. DeathtoGnomes

    DeathtoGnomes

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,617 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    Well, if the new PSU craps out too...
     
  19. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    886 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi thanks for advice daughters PC is up and running.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)