• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TP-LINK Announces the AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter

Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Messages
4,785 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,187
Location
Still on the East Side
#1
TP-LINK, a global provider of networking products, today announced its new AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter, providing industry-leading performance, hassle-free set-up, for an instant, secure high-speed network for the home or office. The AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter provides high-speed streams at up to 500 Mbps on a line length of up to 300 meters, creating an incredibly fast, robust network. At these speeds, the AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter delivers the performance required for fast, whole home or office solutions to connect all network compatible devices from HD video streaming, online gaming, VolP or any other bandwidth intensive applications.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
709 (0.16/day)
Likes
157
Location
Austin, TX
System Name WAZAAM!
Processor Intel i5-2500k - 4.4GHz @ 1.3v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z (z68)
Cooling HSF:: Noctua NH-D14 || CASE:: 2x Intake: Noctua NF-P12-1300 | 2x Exhaust: Noctua NF-S12B
Memory G.Skill RipJaws 16GB (4x4GB) @ 1866MHz | 10-10-10-28-2T @ 1.35v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB SC
Storage Crucial 1.4TB P420m PCIe (boot & steam) | 4x Ultrastar 2TB in Storage Spaces Parity (Media)
Display(s) 3x1 nVidia Surround | Three Dell U2412m - 24" e-IPS 1920x1200
Case Antec P183 - Custom Interior Paint Job
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Bose Companion 2 Speakers
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series HX850
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Server -- Inte 4c Atom C2550D -- 2x4GB G.Skill 1866MHz DDR3 -- 100GB OS SSD -- 4x 2TB 5400 RAID5
#3
Does anyone else think it's disingenuous to call it a Gigabit PowerLine Adapter because of the port spec even though it only does 500 Mb/s actual throughput?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.65/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
#4
Yes. I also find it spammish to register at TPU just to say you order these from Amazon (second post). Is this Amazon or TP-Link paying for this kind of marketing trick?

+++++++++++++++++++

In the interests of fair-play and competition, I just bought a pair of these http://www.asokatech.com/ rebranded as "swisscom". What is nice about them (in addition to 500mbps) is that they will also i) measure power consumption, and ii) allow you to remotely turn on and off the socket via the internet. NEAT

http://asokatech.com/media/pdf/plugline/Datasheet-PL7667-Energy Management Devices.pdf
 
Joined
May 22, 2012
Messages
34 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#5
Does anyone else think it's disingenuous to call it a Gigabit PowerLine Adapter because of the port spec even though it only does 500 Mb/s actual throughput?
I'm guessing half-gigabit didn't quite have the same ring to it. :)
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
731 (0.22/day)
Likes
102
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.2 GHz Quad-core Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M Z77
Cooling ID-COOLING IS-50 TDP 130W
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2x4 GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage WD SiliconEdge Blue 64 GB SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1000AE 1000W 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse (Defective MOUSE3)
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
The reason why TP-LINK named it a "Gigabit..." adapter is because it comes in a set of two, therefore 500 Mbps + 500 Mbps = 1 Gbps. Yes, I know it's retarded. They used that naming scheme with all their products.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#7
The reason why TP-LINK named it a "Gigabit..." adapter is because it comes in a set of two, therefore 500 Mbps + 500 Mbps = 1 Gbps. Yes, I know it's retarded. They used that naming scheme with all their products.
It's just half duplex. 1 gbit bandwidth, 500mbit both ways.

Also, I highly doubt they actually are that fast. Last review of gigabit powerline adapters I read concluded they barely outperformed fast Ethernet.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.55/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#8
i believe they call it 'gigabit' because it has the gigabit port spec. it is like the nas devices that say gigabit on them but obviously can only transfer as fast as the hdd chip allows.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#9
i believe they call it 'gigabit' because it has the gigabit port spec. it is like the nas devices that say gigabit on them but obviously can only transfer as fast as the hdd chip allows.
What's the HDD chip? Most NAS devices are limited by processing power, most modern disks transfer 100+MB/s.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.55/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#10
What's the HDD chip? Most NAS devices are limited by processing power, most modern disks transfer 100+MB/s.
sorry yes i mean the sata controller or the cpu. my point being they call it a gigabit device because it has a gigabit port not because it can pass a gigabit connection (which in both cases it cant)