• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPM Reset

tristanls14

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
4 (0.14/day)
I recently factory reset my windows 10 laptop and during the reset it asked me if I wanted to clear my TPM, I did because I wanted a full reset. Now when I boot up my computer and go through the setup process it says it needs to update and never gets past that point. HELP PLEASE!!
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,739 (4.03/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
TPM = Trusted Platform Module?
yeah this doesnt make much sense. a reset TPM wouldnt cause issues with a windows install unless it was set to auto enable bitlocker. Even then iv never seen it (or seen mention of it in task sequences) say anything about "needing drivers" during the install. If it cant interface it simply moves on.
 

tristanls14

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
4 (0.14/day)
yeah this doesnt make much sense. a reset TPM wouldnt cause issues with a windows install unless it was set to auto enable bitlocker. Even then iv never seen it (or seen mention of it in task sequences) say anything about "needing drivers" during the install. If it cant interface it simply moves on.
It just keeps going to this screen and I click next, the computer resets then comes back to it
 

Attachments

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,739 (4.03/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
It just keeps going to this screen and I click next, the computer resets then comes back to it
that literally says nothing about TPMs. correlation does not equal causation. have you tried downloading a different build? or simply booting off USB and formatting again?

EDIT:: looks like you factory reset. (iv personally never had this work) I reccomend downloading the ISO and grabbing a thumb drive and installing windows fresh.
 

tristanls14

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
4 (0.14/day)
I'm not computer smart and dont know how to troubleshoot worth a damn to be completely honest, so I'm not sure what to do
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,251 (3.20/day)
Location
USA
yeah this doesnt make much sense. a reset TPM wouldnt cause issues with a windows install unless it was set to auto enable bitlocker. Even then iv never seen it (or seen mention of it in task sequences) say anything about "needing drivers" during the install. If it cant interface it simply moves on.
That's what I was thinking.

EDIT:: looks like you factory reset. (iv personally never had this work)
Many of the recovery systems do work well when you create external media, like a DVD set or USB drive.
I reccomend downloading the ISO and grabbing a thumb drive and installing windows fresh.
But this will work if the recovery borks up, which it seems like it has..
 
Last edited:
Top