1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU homepage slow, or loading too much data?

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by Sasqui, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,269 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Past few weeks I've consitently noticed the TPU front page taking a 30 secs to minute or so to load, deosn't matter if I'm at work or at home, both broadband speeds

    If it's any coorelation, the home page is really long now. Is it that articles flowing at at faster pace than ever before, and the default home page loads everything back to a predefined posting date & time?

    It's frustrating.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  2. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,061 (10.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,899
    Hasen't been for me. Perhaps it's something regional?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,817 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    500
    Everything works nice and speedy for me
     
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,269 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Maybe virus software? I'm using IE 8 primarely, have comcast norton home virus suite at home, work is that and MalWareBytes (or something like that)

    Edit: I looked at the last news article loaded by default to the bottom of the home page (the page was huge), the last News article was from Mar 5th, 4 days ago.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,642 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,221
    it's very long indeed now. we will shorten it down to a half to a third of what unregistered users see.

    there's a load more button now, so shouldn't be a problem if you want more news.

    alternatively you can stay logged in to tpu and use the customize button on the top of the frontpage to change the number of days listed
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,269 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I *just* updated Java, and now it seems faster, but still have to wait. I get a Java null error when I try using the customize button.

    Surprised more people haven't mentioned it.

    Thanks!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)