1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Core i7 Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dark2099, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Sol, that is some cpu. :rockout:
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    thank you very much sir :)
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,234
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    ya i know!!! god i was pulling my hair out a couple hours ago it would stall after DMI verification and i was like WTF?!?!!?!?!?! it worked last night...so after chattin with binge i finally got it to post at stock clocks...with my ram at like 800mhz...i got it to boot from the thumb drive. flashed to S1ZG from S1ZC or w/e and whalla now it pretty much loves me...and i love it. month and a half later i finally got my board to boot.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,234
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    yeah bro the new BIOS improved my overall CPU and memory overclock amazingly. Stable at 191*21 4.0 GHz @ 1.305v, before it took me 1.35v and ram divider at 2:6
     
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    i just need to play with my ram some more...it doesnt like it when i run 133 at the rated 9-9-9-24 so i do 1600 @ 11-11-11-28 1T and it boots but if i force 1333 i cant boot at any clock. weird. i disabled turbo mode though. i think the 20x multi is alot easier to work with i was getting frustrate because i couldnt pin point when it engaged and when it didnt so i would think i was getting 4Ghz but it would try and boot at like 4.3 and crash
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,234
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    hmm, that is indeed weird. you setting your RAM voltage manually?
     
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    i edited my post

    ya i set it normally...i did everything manually including setting the trfc to 74 but it did not like that...so atm my ram is all on auto because i figured once i get what the system is doing with it i can adjust that because i had no idea it was loosining the timings that much so i was clocking blind for a bit couldnt figure out why the system was tweaking but now that i know what the board is auto setting i can tighten from their and hope.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,234
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thats what I did.

    Hey about turbo mode, mine is always at 21x when ih ave it enabled, it engages always.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    ahhhh that makes things alot easier then.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,234
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    at least i've never seen mine drop down, never ever.

    for example right now :D

    I got a shot of my rig now with the new cooling setup, in case you missed it :toast: link to that thread below

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=82607

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    that looks nice i just spent like 30min rebuiulding my block...my fan was making like a clicking noice so i take a flashlight and look in my side panel and i see movement i look and theirs waves in my rez...problem? their shouldnt be because it was full to the brim....i freak out and pull the side panel off...and their is a puddle forming all over the bottum of my case and my cards. and its dropping out of my barbs and into my NB!!! its all fine now hopefully. thank god for this feser my GF gave me..NON CONDUCTIVE!!
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,234
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    dude you have bad luck with water cooling, thank god everything is ok. Keep us posted.
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    ill keep ya posted and ya iv had too many close calls to really like water cooling...i might give up one day and go streight to phase....because you need to cool pelts w/ water and im all done this BS. but it keeps the i7 happy so a little longer. right now im installing vista because i really didnt like 7 as the primary os on my desktop its still very beta imo. so ill keep it on my laptop.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,234
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  18. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    [​IMG]

    4.2GHz @ 1.375V on air as per screen capture above. Hyperthreading is enabled. Fully stable in all 3DMarks except Vantage where it keeps giving me "Application lost focus or display resolution changed". Weird, I can do several loops of 3DMark 2006 but Vantage crashes and gives me that error every single time. I'm thinking it has to do with my GPU OC.

    Lot of tweaking left to do. My CPU responds to VTT voltage increases very well. CPU voltage has little effect on it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,234
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ^^^thats a very good clock ! try running vantage with video card at default clocks see if you get the same error message
     
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    CP can i have a voltage layout plz? i cant seem to get my rig to run stable. i want all the voltages under the voltage page if you dont mind.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,433 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Sol, love your processor. I can't believe I haven't posted in this forever and I started it. LOL.
     
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    lol thanks man im loving it too...she has some probs at 4.2 but 4 and 4.1 are solid. i just need to know CP's voltage table..he can do it much lower than me. i think ill try adjusting the vtt because my core is 1.475 and at 4.2 anything heavy is a joke and things start to crash like super fetch sidebar etc.

    @Dark is your ram really at 1.9v? i thought anything over 1.65 was crazy dangerous.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,433 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I can bench at 4.3GHz, just found that out tonight, had windows open so loop was extra cold. Hopefully you'll get things working better.
     
  24. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i benched 4.4ghz

    not posting the results yet.

    my new cooler setup allows me to use high vcore without temps getting too high even under load.
     
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    is your ram really that high 1.9?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)