• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TPU's F@H Team

Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
1,317 (0.35/day)
Likes
211
Location
New Zealand
Processor AMD Phenom II 555BE unlocked X4 @3.8GHz
Motherboard GA-78LMT-S2P
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb + open case in cold room = low temps lol
Memory 8Gb DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX580
Storage 64GB SSD Super Talent
Display(s) 22" Chimei, 17" Philips
Case POS!
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 800W
If you are using the tray version, change to console. I fixed up all my problems with the console! :toast:
Console version does the same.
 

_jM

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
1,453 (0.42/day)
Likes
167
Location
Ocala,FL
System Name The money pit v.2 (v.1 is the wife!)
Processor Core2Quad-Q9550@3.9ghz/1860mhzFSB @1.344v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus II Formula = best damn P45 OCer out there!
Cooling CoolerMster V8-- Custom WC system on the way! =]
Memory 8GB DOMINATORS @1100mhz 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 280
Storage 150GB WesternDigital Velociraptor OS Drive/1 WD 500AAKS for Storage
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2243SWX 22" LCD
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S w/custom lighting and cable management
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium (Fatality edition) - paired with RAZER Barracuda's
Power Supply CORSAIR HX1000W modular PSU
Software Windows 7 RC 7100--eats vista for breakfast lunch and dinner!
Benchmark Scores Coming to a theater near you!
You should drop the Tray Client and go console only. The display slows down the card/PPD and never is a true estimate of production. The console is all performance.
I never leave that open, I just did that to show the comparison:D How would I go console? When you say "tray client" you mean the regular version with the icon in the systray?
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Console version does the same.
How? The console client has no additional graphical burden like the System Tray Client does. Do you know how many times I crashed a system tray client using the display when I was a "wee folder"??? More times than I want to recall;). The real PPD is with Console. NUFF SAID!


On another note: Installed 2 more 9600 GSO's in the HTPC. Ah, it was a glorious 2 weeks that I had my dear HTPC back. Downloading and watching 720p movies was so much fun. Now it's back to work with an additional 9500 PPD as of this post. Below is a pic of the 2 demon's that are in control of my HTPC for now. This brings my total to 16 GPU2 & 5 SMP Clients. I have maxed out all circuits within 15ft of my folding room. Need more extension cords....

 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
Console version does the same.
Did you uninstall everything (Program files and core files) before starting the console?

----------------------

Buck:

Fantastic work! :toast:

Have you been dreaming back to the 1.15 era. With 16 GPUs would be a blast!!!!

OK, still good numbers. ;)

All for the cure!

Fold ON TPU!! :rockout:
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,139 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,635
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
I have maxed out all circuits within 15ft of my folding room. Need more extension cords....
Good god man... what is that power bill like? You should do like in Aqua Teen and sneak a cord to the neighbor's house :D
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
It is amazing really, I've found the ambient temp in my apt higher since starting folding , despite sub-zero temps outside at nite, haven't turned on the heat once! You should feel the exhaust from my 280 while folding, hair dryer..
Buck should be able to heat his house all winter with his farm!
edit: I need a 2nd m2n32 sli mobo sooo bad....
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
It is amazing really, I've found the ambient temp in my apt higher since starting folding , despite sub-zero temps outside at nite, haven't turned on the heat once! You should feel the exhaust from my 280 while folding, hair dryer..
Buck should be able to heat his house all winter with his farm!
edit: I need a 2nd m2n32 sli mobo sooo bad....
Too bad Buck lives in South Florida and it rarely dips below 40F here...:laugh:

I have S939 Sli Mobo/CPU/Ram/Cpu Cooler available for free if you can put it to work folding for TPU. I'll ship it out asap. Let me know...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
1,317 (0.35/day)
Likes
211
Location
New Zealand
Processor AMD Phenom II 555BE unlocked X4 @3.8GHz
Motherboard GA-78LMT-S2P
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb + open case in cold room = low temps lol
Memory 8Gb DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX580
Storage 64GB SSD Super Talent
Display(s) 22" Chimei, 17" Philips
Case POS!
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 800W
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
Hey TPU Folding team, I have an extra mobo with processor that I can donate to anyone who wants it. The board comes with a 1.8GHz Sempron so you'll need all the rest. Perhaps someone wants to add this for an additional folding rig?

PM me for details.
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.24/day)
Likes
347
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
Hi tpu. This morning i received my new cpu/mobo/ram for folding 24/7 but the saler don't send me the graphic card.Unfortunately the saler was real pain in the ass.So i don't expect to received it later.If somebody have a 8800 serie for sale or sometime good for folding 24/7 and ship to Canada via money order (express post) let me know.Thanks (looking for something cheap $$)
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,139 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,635
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
hey is there a difference between the GPU tray clients and the Console clients? I keep hearing that the console is way faster... how can i run dual cards with a console in vista?

F@H only gives directions for the tray client.
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.24/day)
Likes
347
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
I think you have to run 2 console (1 for each card) but really not sure.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
hey is there a difference between the GPU tray clients and the Console clients? I keep hearing that the console is way faster... how can i run dual cards with a console in vista?

F@H only gives directions for the tray client.
I have one rig that is Vista/Dual GPU2 Console client. Go with the Console Client, it is less buggy. The only difference in OS is the use of another monitor or VGA plug in Vista for the 2nd GPU. Do you a 2nd monitor or TV with S-Video? I need to know this before we move on.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Heheh, yeah, forgot to look at your locale, you prob need an air conditioner in winter! That mobo/cpu combo sounds very nice as I do have a case and psu ready to go, but the shipping all the way up here even ground might be pricey. I might have to wait a bit to scrounge up some funds to send for shipping. I'll also have to find a cheap low end 8 series or up card to drive 2 monitors. Ug, being broke sucks!
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,139 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,635
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
I have one rig that is Vista/Dual GPU2 Console client. Go with the Console Client, it is less buggy. The only difference in OS is the use of another monitor or VGA plug in Vista for the 2nd GPU. Do you a 2nd monitor or TV with S-Video? I need to know this before we move on.
Yep got that all set up... running my monitor on 2 cables (one DVI and one VGA) using the internal monitor input switch to fool vista into thinking I got 2 monitors. I just know that when i set up the tray client all i had to do was paste diffent targets into the shortcut properties and specify which GPU to use. - and then set each client to use a diff machine ID... but dunno where to start with console.

thanks for the help buck...
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
Too bad Buck lives in South Florida and it rarely dips below 40F here...:laugh:

I have S939 Sli Mobo/CPU/Ram/Cpu Cooler available for free if you can put it to work folding for TPU. I'll ship it out asap. Let me know...
I would take it if i had an extra video card. also what CPU?
 

lamil

New Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
284 (0.08/day)
Likes
35
Location
cleveland, oh
before I go and read some more at work =P.. thought I would ask a few questions really quick.

At home I'm folding with my ps3 right now which I can do whenever I'm not playing anything.

But I wanted to start folding with my pc. I have a 7200 OC'd a bit and a 9600gt and was wondering if you have any links you know of easily that you could throw at me for steps I need to take.

I also have an old rig im trying to get up and running again with a p4 2.8 and like a geforce5200. Is that worth getting up and running also?

let me know or point me in the right direction before I slack off more at work searching =)

THANKS!
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.24/day)
Likes
347
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
Hi i know that we can only use the 2xxx,3xxx,4xxx serie from ATI to fold. but for nvidia what is the minimum requirement card.thanks
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,139 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,635
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
Hi i know that we can only use the 2xxx,3xxx,4xxx serie from ATI to fold. but for nvidia what is the minimum requirement card.thanks
I think any 8 series/9 series card *can* fold, I personally wouldn't go for less than a 9500 GT... there is an asus 9600GSO with 96 stream shaders and 512MB $59 on the egg which is perfect.
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
before I go and read some more at work =P.. thought I would ask a few questions really quick.

At home I'm folding with my ps3 right now which I can do whenever I'm not playing anything.

But I wanted to start folding with my pc. I have a 7200 OC'd a bit and a 9600gt and was wondering if you have any links you know of easily that you could throw at me for steps I need to take.

I also have an old rig im trying to get up and running again with a p4 2.8 and like a geforce5200. Is that worth getting up and running also?

let me know or point me in the right direction before I slack off more at work searching =)

THANKS!
The E7200 and 9600GT can certainly be used for folding. (I used to have a 9600GT folding with an E8200 and it worked fine). Don't have a link but I just downloaded and installed the console versions of the CPU and GPU client. The GPU client requires the Physx drivers so I think that is driver version 177.xx minimum. I think that the current WHQL driver is 180.48 so suggest you download and install that (it will install the necessary Physx drivers for folding).

Another suggestion. Download and install an affinity changer of some sort. See this link for one example:
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=895683#post895683


Then assign one core to the GPU client and the other to the CPU client. Helps boost your PPD.

I have an old E1200 dual core (OC to 2.4GHz) that I set up as a Linux machine (Ubuntu) and running the Linux SMP client I am getitng about 2000ppd. This is less than you get with a video card but from what I understand there is certain research they can only do on a CPU so they really need people to donate CPU time as well.

Welcome aboard. :toast:
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
just for kicks before i got my new PSU today i was folding on my HD3300 it said it would take about 6hrs for a WU but IDK how many PPD I didn't let it go because the UPS guy came knocking on the door about 20mins later with my PSU
BTW i should have my 8800GT back to folding tonight.

keep up the good work guys lets aim for #1
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Another suggestion. Download and install an affinity changer of some sort. See this link for one example:
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=895683#post895683
Affinty Changer's are for CPU based rig's only. On a rig with mixed CPU/GPU2 Clients, you must isolate the clients to separate cores of the CPU. You can run as many as 4 GPU2 clients on a single core of a CPU and run SMP on the other core(s) to max out PPD. Affinity changer's will mix the cores and drop your GPU ppd substantially. Affinity changers are installed as a service and must me stopped in the services/start-up tab's.
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Affinty Changer's are for CPU based rig's only. On a rig with mixed CPU/GPU2 Clients, you must isolate the clients to separate cores of the CPU. You can run as many as 4 GPU2 clients on a single core of a CPU and run SMP on the other core(s) to max out PPD. Affinity changer's will mix the cores and drop your GPU ppd substantially. Affinity changers are installed as a service and must me stopped in the services/start-up tab's.
Just to make sure I am understanding this right... I may be using the affinity changer terminology incorrectly. The affinity software that Kursah pointed us to has some sort of auto load leveling. But there is also affinity SW that just allows you to set an affinity for a program statically.

All of my rigs are running combination CPU (non-SMP) and GPU. I downloaded the "get and set" affinity changer based on Buck's suggestion and that works great. The GPU client seems to automatically pick core1 (on dual cores) and core3 (on quad cores). But then my CPU folding client would pick all cores. So what I did with the affinity program was to set the CPU folding client dedicated to a different core than the GPU (core 0 for my dual cores and core 1 for my quad core). My line of thinking is that the CPU folding client will not cut into the GPU folding requirement for it's core (which is what Buck is saying).

The reason I am not running the SMP versions of the CPU client is that I want some spare bandwidth available for everyday computing without disabling folding (3 of the computers are non-dedicated rigs). The one exception is my Linux rig which is dedicated to folding so I run the Linux SMP client on that.

The nice thing about my main quad core rig (in my way of thinking) is that I chew up one core for GPU, one core for CPU, and then still have 2 cores available for everyday (non-gaming use).

Well that's the way it works in my theory anyways. Should I be considering something different?
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
When it happened with me, I was like crazy trying to find out what was the cause...

Didn't find :shadedshu

:) The solution: Believed or not "Microsoft System Restore". I went back couple of days and Bingo!! 3D settings working full speed again! :toast:

Has been around a 2 weeks and so far no more problems. And I did update drivers from 178 to 180.48 - All cool.

Cheers
I did end up resolving this by disabling my screen saver. I "think" that the screen saver was triggering the 2D clocks. I now just turn off my monitor switch overnight and when I get up it is still in 3D clock mode.