• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TPU's F@H Team

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
This is the one that he is talking about. However i just go to task manager, click on the process and set affinity from there.

Also i set mine up to mirror your own setup and so it completes a step about every half hour.
Task manager works, but you must reconfigure at every re-boot. The software based versions have presets and you just click one button and done.
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
I swapped out the 8800GS for an 8800T so now I have a pair of 8800GT's in my server. I finally got everything together last night after lapping my Q6600 and my Vendetta 2 heatsink. Nice and shiny but temps seem to be the same :wtf: Guess it was as good as it was going to get. Hitting about 62C on 2 of the cores and 57C on the other 2 while folding (3.6GHz @ 1.44V). I can live with that.

Anyhoo... Here is ascreenshot of the numbers. Last night when I left it the 2 video cards were both working on 511 point units and getting about 3800ppd each. This morning one of them had a 384 point and the other just got a 511 point. These numbers look about right?

I checked affinity and the 2 GPU FAHcore are set at core 2 and core 3 respectively. The SMP cores have 4 instances spread across all 4 cores. Anything I need to do to improve on the setup?

Also, both 8800GT are clocked to 700 on teh core and 1750 shaders. If I back off on core can I push shaders higher and is that a better combo? For example is 650 core 1850 shaders better than 700 core 1750 shaders?

Any tips or advice appreciated.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.68/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
Well, my second 9800GTX is now running. And I found that the reason the socket was faulty is because the home handyman, who used to own the place, grounded the socket through the built in vacuum cleaner also on the circuit. Solution? Change sockets! Subsequently also changed circuits. Still having an issue with the SMP client restarting from 0% upon closing the client, but I've been usually letting this sucker run. So without any further issues I shouldn't have to worry too much. Next comes overclocking, which will be my first adventure into that area.
 
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
3,318 (0.95/day)
Likes
301
Processor Intel i5-3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock LGA1155 Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Cooler Master Evo 212
Memory 16GB (4X4) G.Skill Ripjaw 2 DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Nvidia gForce GTX 660ti
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 256GB 6Gb/s, 1x WD 500GB 6Gb/s, 1x WD 80GB 3Gb/s
Display(s) ASUS VH242H Black + 2 HP 2311x 23" LED
Case Fractal Design R4
Audio Device(s) Realtek OnBoard Both
Power Supply Cooler Master 850w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
Why does my PPD go down when I have big WU? If it is to work 200 then it is 300, 1500-200PPD, and 2000- 111PPD.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,281 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,190
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Anyone else having trouble getting work for their CPU?
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Why does my PPD go down when I have big WU? If it is to work 200 then it is 300, 1500-200PPD, and 2000- 111PPD.
???????:wtf:
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
Why does my PPD go down when I have big WU? If it is to work 200 then it is 300, 1500-200PPD, and 2000- 111PPD.
Bigger WUs take more power to process, so the CPU can do less PPD with a bigger WU. Usually the extra time is made up for the fact that you get more points for a large WU.
My laptop just finished folding a 401 WU! Avareged 55 PPD, running at night. Somehow peaked at 346 PPD for an hour or so, don't know wtf happened there...
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
Card Added

Today I bought a new 8800GTS G92 to match the other I have.



They were put together on a P5K, E6850 @ 3.2Ghz. Now I'm happy 'cos the SMP is folding well. Incredible 2 nVidia GPU Clients folding hard and the CPU usage only 2%~3%!!

Before, this mobo was folding 2 ATI GPU Clients, that are too CPU demanding 50%~70% - not a chance for SMP.



Tomorrow I will mess around my dual 9800GT rig. Adding a X6800 and setting up a nice SMP. :pimp:

I was wondering for a while to do this modifications... finally the laziness drop-off my back and I'm doing it :toast: :toast:
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Finally got everything working right I think. I should start averaging 3000ppd now. Thanks for the help everyone!
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.68/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
Sorry I wasn't more help Thermo. What ended up being the problem?
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Today I bought a new 8800GTS G92 to match the other I have.



They were put together on a P5K, E6850 @ 3.2Ghz. Now I'm happy 'cos the SMP is folding well. Incredible 2 nVidia GPU Clients folding hard and the CPU usage only 2%~3%!!

Before, this mobo was folding 2 ATI GPU Clients, that are too CPU demanding 50%~70% - not a chance for SMP.



Tomorrow I will mess around my dual 9800GT rig. Adding a X6800 and setting up a nice SMP. :pimp:

I was wondering for a while to do this modifications... finally the laziness drop-off my back and I'm doing it :toast: :toast:
Oh, nice card mmaakk.:rockout: Those cards are becoming one of the better deals in folding cards. It's a shame they are hard to find/discontinued. Are you running Vista on the 88800GTS rig? Also, what Nvidia driver version are you running?


Anyone else having trouble getting work for their CPU?
It happens from time to time when the Assignment Server is experiencing high loads. Have you been able to get work since yesteday?
 
Last edited:

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Just out of curiousity what are people running the shaders at on their 8800GT for folding? My server is not used for gaming at all... only folding. I have a pair of 8800GT's in there and currently have core 700 and shaders 1750 on both of them. I am thinking they can probably do more on the shaders (like, say 1850 or so). If I reduce the core does that give me more headroom on shaders and is a lower core/higher shader a more effective folding solution?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
Oh, nice card mmaakk.:rockout: Those cards are becoming one of the better deals in folding cards. It's a shame they are hard to find/discontinued. Are you running Vista on the 88800GTS rig? Also, what Nvidia driver version are you running?
The 8800GTS rig has vista - 181.22 driver, but my 9800GT rig runs XP and the CPU usage is the same.

I had posted about this matter when the 180 driver came out: nVidia solved the CPU usage with the 180.XX drivers.

Not long ago I guess you posted something about that you're still using 176.XX driver. My favorite so far for win XP is the "180.84_geforce_winxp_32bit_english_beta.exe".


:toast:

what about under XP? my GPU client pulls 50%(full load on one CPU core) if there is something i can do that will lower the CPU usage for the GPU it would be great.
Thanks p_o_s_pc! :toast:

The values I posted are for vista32 and with nvidia cards. I read that the latest nvidia beta (I'm using "180.84_geforce_winxp_32bit_english_beta") did solve the problem related with high CPU usage under GPU client.

Give a try, and this latest beta has GTA IV improvements too.

:toast:
Thank you!:toast: my CPU usage is 2-4% now :toast:

just so you know i was using 178.xx i don't remember what one but i know it was 178
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,281 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,190
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Ok folks, any idea what's causing this? Windows XP Pro. This started yesterday and then my Internet went down. I've had some successful connections, but....


[14:45:31] + Attempting to send results [February 21 14:45:31 UTC]
[14:45:32] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[14:45:32] (Got status 503)
[14:45:32] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[14:45:32] (171.67.108.17:8080)
[14:45:32] + Retrying using alternative port
[14:45:32] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[14:45:32] (Got status 503)
[14:45:32] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[14:45:32] (171.67.108.17:80)
[14:45:32] Could not transmit unit 02 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
[14:45:37] Working on 544 p4735_fip35_ww_domain
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
Ok folks, any idea what's causing this? Windows XP Pro. This started yesterday and then my Internet went down. I've had some successful connections, but....


[14:45:31] + Attempting to send results [February 21 14:45:31 UTC]
[14:45:32] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[14:45:32] (Got status 503)
[14:45:32] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[14:45:32] (171.67.108.17:8080)
[14:45:32] + Retrying using alternative port
[14:45:32] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[14:45:32] (Got status 503)
[14:45:32] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[14:45:32] (171.67.108.17:80)
[14:45:32] Could not transmit unit 02 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
[14:45:37] Working on 544 p4735_fip35_ww_domain
This means that the servers are too busy or in maintenance. Don't worry it will solve by itself. Happens sometimes with me and really piss me off. :toast:
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
The 8800GTS rig has vista - 181.22 driver, but my 9800GT rig runs XP and the CPU usage is the same.

I had posted about this matter when the 180 driver came out: nVidia solved the CPU usage with the 180.XX drivers.

Not long ago I guess you posted something about that you're still using 176.XX driver. My favorite so far for win XP is the "180.84_geforce_winxp_32bit_english_beta.exe".


:toast:
Yep, I'm still using 177.83 on several rigs. I won't upgrade until I see a PPD increase. It take to long to load drivers for 4 gpu's per rig...:laugh:

Ok folks, any idea what's causing this? Windows XP Pro. This started yesterday and then my Internet went down. I've had some successful connections, but....


[14:45:31] + Attempting to send results [February 21 14:45:31 UTC]
[14:45:32] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[14:45:32] (Got status 503)
[14:45:32] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[14:45:32] (171.67.108.17:8080)
[14:45:32] + Retrying using alternative port
[14:45:32] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[14:45:32] (Got status 503)
[14:45:32] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[14:45:32] (171.67.108.17:80)
[14:45:32] Could not transmit unit 02 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
[14:45:37] Working on 544 p4735_fip35_ww_domain
What version of SMP are you running? 6.20 or 6.23?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
Folding SMP mixed with GPU Client

infrared gave this tip and works 100%:

Fold with GPU Client in "low" priority and SMP in "idle". This way you can use all the cores for SMP without affecting the GPU folding performance.

I have been doing for over a month with my gaming rig - GTX 260 and E8400. Works GREAT :rockout:
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
880 (0.20/day)
Likes
394
Processor 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance 1600 9-9-9-24 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470
Storage Crucial m4 128GB + Seagate RAID 1 (1TB x 2)
Display(s) Dell 22" 1680x1050 nothing special
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W
Software Windows 7 64bit Pro
Just out of curiousity what are people running the shaders at on their 8800GT for folding? My server is not used for gaming at all... only folding. I have a pair of 8800GT's in there and currently have core 700 and shaders 1750 on both of them. I am thinking they can probably do more on the shaders (like, say 1850 or so). If I reduce the core does that give me more headroom on shaders and is a lower core/higher shader a more effective folding solution?
I have my cards running at 702/1782/995 and 702/1836/995 actual speeds. Setting your shaders to 1750 will actually have them at 1728. They increase in steps of 54 MHz (I think someone actually posted the chart of actual settable speeds earlier, if you use rivatuner you'll see what I mean). Both of these 8800GT's have the 1.1V bios mod and some pretty damn good cooling, a bit ghetto but good. I also found that lowering the core clock didn't give me too much more headroom for the shaders. I lowered mine for less heat output since my PNY with the shaders @ 1782 will freeze if the temps get too high. Each card really is a little different, the best way to find out how to get your highest shader clock is to take an hour or two away from folding and experiment with different clocks and scan for artifacts with ATItool.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
880 (0.20/day)
Likes
394
Processor 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance 1600 9-9-9-24 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470
Storage Crucial m4 128GB + Seagate RAID 1 (1TB x 2)
Display(s) Dell 22" 1680x1050 nothing special
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W
Software Windows 7 64bit Pro
infrared gave this tip and works 100%:

Fold with GPU Client in "low" priority and SMP in "idle". This way you can use all the cores for SMP without affecting the GPU folding performance.

I have been doing for over a month with my gaming rig - GTX 260 and E8400. Works GREAT :rockout:
I guess post #4218 in this thread was overlooked.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,281 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,190
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
I guess post #4218 in this thread was overlooked.
Overlooked no longer. I just went back and viewed it & also left my thanks.:toast:


infrared gave this tip and works 100%:

Fold with GPU Client in "low" priority and SMP in "idle". This way you can use all the cores for SMP without affecting the GPU folding performance.

I have been doing for over a month with my gaming rig - GTX 260 and E8400. Works GREAT :rockout:
I think I will try this today. Do I have to use the newer XP drivers for less CPU usage? I'll let you know how it goes. This is new territory for me, as I always keep my CPU and GPU clients on separate cores. Scary stuff:eek:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
I found the post I was talking about. #3881

1. Set password for user account - pain in the ass i know
2. before you set the client to work, run the install.bat thing to sort out the mci thingey.
3. add -smp flag.

Job done :D

Also, what i do is to set the priority on the console client to idle, and the gpu client to 'low'. That way the gpu client has the highest priority and won't get bogged down by the smp.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
I think I will try this today. Do I have to use the newer XP drivers for less CPU usage? I'll let you know how it goes. This is new territory for me, as I always keep my CPU and GPU clients on separate cores. Scary stuff:eek:
Yes, using the newer drives you gain more CPU usage for SMP = +PPD :cool:
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
880 (0.20/day)
Likes
394
Processor 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance 1600 9-9-9-24 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470
Storage Crucial m4 128GB + Seagate RAID 1 (1TB x 2)
Display(s) Dell 22" 1680x1050 nothing special
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W
Software Windows 7 64bit Pro
I found the post I was talking about. #3881
Well, only a couple hundred before I mentioned anything :rolleyes: oops I really like running the SMP client in addition to the GPU's since I've heard they are more robust in the amount of positive work they do for the folding cause (something about the type of simulations they can run compared to the GPU, can't remember where I read that... will look for it after I walk the dog before it starts to rain/ice/snow here in about 30 min.) Only downside is the added power consumption.