• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TPU's F@H Team

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
I have my cards running at 702/1782/995 and 702/1836/995 actual speeds. Setting your shaders to 1750 will actually have them at 1728. They increase in steps of 54 MHz (I think someone actually posted the chart of actual settable speeds earlier, if you use rivatuner you'll see what I mean). Both of these 8800GT's have the 1.1V bios mod and some pretty damn good cooling, a bit ghetto but good. I also found that lowering the core clock didn't give me too much more headroom for the shaders. I lowered mine for less heat output since my PNY with the shaders @ 1782 will freeze if the temps get too high. Each card really is a little different, the best way to find out how to get your highest shader clock is to take an hour or two away from folding and experiment with different clocks and scan for artifacts with ATItool.
I knew about the shader increments for mt gtx260. I didn't realize it applied to the 88xx series as well. Thanks, I will update my clocks. Sounds like 1782 is a good target.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
Well, only a couple hundred before I mentioned anything :rolleyes: oops I really like running the SMP client in addition to the GPU's since I've heard they are more robust in the amount of positive work they do for the folding cause (something about the type of simulations they can run compared to the GPU, can't remember where I read that... will look for it after I walk the dog before it starts to rain/ice/snow here in about 30 min.) Only downside is the added power consumption.
Beertintedgoggles, I think that not too many people go far backwards in our forum pages. So re-posting good stuff is never too much. :D

...we are just recycling good ideas! :D
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2005
Messages
1,041 (0.23/day)
Likes
116
Location
USA
So I've been thinking about getting a powerful nvidia card, such as the gtx260, but a lot of people say the card squeals. Can anyone recommend a good f@h card that doesn't squeal?
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
I knew about the shader increments for mt gtx260. I didn't realize it applied to the 88xx series as well. Thanks, I will update my clocks. Sounds like 1782 is a good target.
I set the shaders to 1836 (might as well go for it). So far so good but I will see over time if I get any unstable machine messages. The 2 cards are running at about 63C to 66C which I am comfortable with. Here is what my numbers look like on a 511 point unit.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
1,050 (0.27/day)
Likes
114
Location
indiana
Processor c2d e8400@ 3.8ghz 24/7
Motherboard Abit IP-35e 80$ lol
Cooling zalman cnps9700 led
Memory 2 x 2 gig patriot viper
Video Card(s) evga Gtx 285 oc
Storage 2 x 300gig sata seagate 7200.10 in raid 0/ 1.5TB for backup
Display(s) acer 24" TFT LCD AL2416WBSD
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro series
Power Supply ocz gamextreme 700w
Software windows 7 ultimate
So I've been thinking about getting a powerful nvidia card, such as the gtx260, but a lot of people say the card squeals. Can anyone recommend a good f@h card that doesn't squeal?
I've yet to have one not "squeal" since the (g80's) were released :)
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Great work guy's. We have been averaging 300K+ all day long:toast: Congrats to the Top 20 for their hard work.

 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.16/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
are you kidding? i made the list? wow. thats funny.

too bad my lan port crapped out there for a bit. i had to get it back up and running with a wifi card. back churning away now though.
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
My server is really cranking now. 13334 ppd on the one machine :)

Of course that is with the help of two 384 pointers...
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
Great work guy's. We have been averaging 300K+ all day long:toast: Congrats to the Top 20 for their hard work.
Great stuff.

I'm really happy with my new results. The new 8800GTS and 3 SMP Clients are making the difference for me.

I'm now folding only with 5 rigs (were 8 before), but my PPD is down only 6K.

Way to go TPU :toast:
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.16/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
if i didnt have this damn wifi card in my board cause of the lan port on my dfi dying out today i would be folding on both gtx295's but yeah.... hopefully i can get that fixed this week.

i have a gtx260 that i will soon have in my main rig for folding as well.

hopefully soon i can be up in the top ranks with you guys and help tpu get into top 100.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
if i didnt have this damn wifi card in my board cause of the lan port on my dfi dying out today i would be folding on both gtx295's but yeah.... hopefully i can get that fixed this week.

i have a gtx260 that i will soon have in my main rig for folding as well.

hopefully soon i can be up in the top ranks with you guys and help tpu get into top 100.
Fit, you are our GTX295 Hero!

Put those wonders to sweat :rockout:

...you will fly to the top!

Thanks for the effort :toast:
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.16/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
question

should i just run one client on each card or one on each core? i could not get each core to work even after disabling SLI completely. i did manage to get one per card running.

by the looks of the temps i cant really tell.

card 1 core 1 is 74c max
card 1 core 2 is 68c max

card 2 core 1 is 72c max
card 2 core 2 is 69c max

i havent gotten it to run on both cards at once though. im new to this so i been having some setup issues.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
question

should i just run one client on each card or one on each core? i could not get each core to work even after disabling SLI completely. i did manage to get one per card running.

by the looks of the temps i cant really tell.

card 1 core 1 is 74c max
card 1 core 2 is 68c max

card 2 core 1 is 72c max
card 2 core 2 is 69c max

i havent gotten it to run on both cards at once though. im new to this so i been having some setup issues.
Yes you can run 4 Clients. Some crazy fellas are running 8 Clients :eek: (4 GTX 295 in a single rig :eek::eek:).

I have experience of running 4 Clients with 2 HD3870X2.

I will guide you tomorrow (Sunday)... I have to get some sleep now :p

:toast:
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
1,818 (0.50/day)
Likes
241
Location
Just South of Mars
System Name Decent Lappy
if i didnt have this damn wifi card in my board cause of the lan port on my dfi dying out today i would be folding on both gtx295's but yeah.... hopefully i can get that fixed this week.

i have a gtx260 that i will soon have in my main rig for folding as well.

hopefully soon i can be up in the top ranks with you guys and help tpu get into top 100.
It's all good brother! As a TEAM we're CRUISING to the top 100! Thanks for YOUR effort dude! :cool:
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
750 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
Location
RI, USA
Processor FX 8150 4.41Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws X 1600
Video Card(s) Diamond Multimedia HD7970 3GB
Storage 2x WD Black 640GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" LED
Case Cooler Master Cosmos (new version)
Audio Device(s) Platronics 777
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Geekbench: 10,136 3DMark 11: P7792
Got my rig stable again, crunching with my 8800GTX is back on track, just a tad slower. :\
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Messages
254 (0.07/day)
Likes
45
Location
FT. LEWIS
System Name 떡을치래
Processor Phenom II 965 @4GHz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Zerotherm Nirvana NV120
Memory 2x4GB OCZ Gold DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 5970
Storage OCZ Vertex2 SSD 100GB; WD Black Caviar 1TB
Display(s) 24" HPZR24W (1920x1200) & 24" Westinghouse L2410NM (1920x1200)
Case Cooler Master 632 HAF
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD
Power Supply Corsair HX1000W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit)
I read today that the 9.2 catalyst driver supports multi GPU work... how do I get F@H to work on both gpus on my 4870X2?
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Woke up to 8 clients waiting to download new core. The core is not even available yet.
This is what Pande Group had to say about it:

Hi all,

Sorry about this. These WUs are not supposed to be going out to the non-beta public yet; we're currently testing core 14 in beta (as you've all noticed). I'm not sure why you're being assigned these WUs, as the project is set to beta-only. I'm looking into this and will try to get it resolved as soon as I can.

I understand your frustration with this kind of situation, but please understand that we do care, and we appreciate the effort that all of you make by donating your computer time. We're human and mistakes happen here too :oops:.


When this happens on the weekend, no one is @ Stanford to fix it. They have to try to send someone over and It take several hours to correct. The only temporary fix is to open your GPU2 folder and delete the queue file. Re-start the client and it will get a Fahcore 11 work unit.
 
Last edited:

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Woke up to 8 clients waiting to download new core. The core is not even available yet.
I had the same thing on my machine. Deleted the queue and all the files in my work folder and that fixed it. Don't know how long I was out of commission... maybe 6 hours or so. Oh well... stuff happens...
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
I had the same thing on my machine. Deleted the queue and all the files in my work folder and that fixed it. Don't know how long I was out of commission... maybe 6 hours or so. Oh well... stuff happens...
Yep, i figure I was down 6 hrs also. I have not had it happen again since this morning.