1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. kyle2020 Guest

    Anyone know if an S1 rev2 will fit on a 9600GSO?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    What is the difference between the GPU and the GPU2 app? Link?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. infrared

    infrared

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,397 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    The GPU client is old and obsolete. It was the first client that only ran on ATI cards when they started to utilize the graphics cards for folding. The GPU2 client will run on both NV and ATI cards and will run a wider range of work units, therefore producing more points per day.

    Use the console version instead of the tray client since it's more reliable and more efficient ;)
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,166
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Well, a 9600GSO is a rebadged 8800GS, which is a crippled 8800GT. It fits a GT for certain. I did some searching and there are people who fit it to an 8800GS. Apparently XFX uses a different PCB layout so they're right out the window. But I wasn't able to find anyone who said they applied it to a 9600GSO.

    Because I can't answer your question for certain, I'll also provide some alternatives that I know will work.

    Coolink GFXChilla

    Thermalright T-Rad²

    Not sure of availability / pricing in your area, but hopefully you can find one that works.
     
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I am running the third one down... is this the correct one for me?:

    [​IMG]

    Console version!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. infrared

    infrared

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,397 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Yep that's the one ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    K thanks! I seem to producing about ~3000 points a day. Does that sound about right for my 4850?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,570 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    yea i get about the same. Highest i have hit is 4400ppd i think can't remember on what credit protein though.
     
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    [​IMG]

    PPD really fluctuates, but I'm not complaining, my card is pumping out the WU's just fine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,075 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,671
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    PVTCaboose1337

    My 939/3700+ with a 4830 at 650/950 does 2640 on a 477.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Performance on the 4830 sounds pretty good for the price! Too bad a 9600GSO totally destroys even the best ATI cards at F@H.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,075 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,671
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    :eek: Don't rub it in!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    LULZ. GTX 285 and 940BE to be folding by the end of the week. :D
     
  14. mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho
    Is there times when its hard to get a new WU? 2 of my comps have been trying for over 2 hours .
     
    More than 25k PPD
  15. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,750 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,610
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I have an AC S1 rev1 that fit perfectly on a 9600GT, so I would assume a rev2 would fit just fine on your GSO! Take the card out and line up the holes with the back of the card to make sure!

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    HELP!

    I am sick of getting measly little 225 point WUs for my CPU! They take ages to process and they get me low points for the effort! :mad:
    How do I get rid of them?? :cry:
     
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,592 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    in the configuration choose "YES" for scientific ones.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    are you using the smp client? if you you need to add -smp to the command line (don't do it where it asks you for additional peramaters when you actually configure the client, it doesn't work... at least not for me)

    my phenom 9500 should be paid for by now.. expecting to get it probably within a week
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Not using SMP, the deadlines were too soon for me as I'm not running 24/7. Good luck with that Phenom!;)

    And I'll try doing what you suggested, solaris.
     
  20. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well if you're not going to run SMP, don't even bother with the little guys. As you said, they take forever to process and are relatively low-point value and therefore low-worth/interest. The single core cpu client is rather old and primative... honestly I don't think it's worth running anymore.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Yes, but I can't run the SMP because by the time its done half to 2 thirds of a WU, the due date has already gone by! I'm not allowed to run my PC 24/7, otherwise I'd have a much higher PPD.

    I've set it to do -advmethods, but now my client is not able to get work from the server! What is happening? :cry:
     
  22. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    as I said do not worry about the cpu client. it's not worth it anymore
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Its worth it when you consider my avarege PPD is less than 500 atm...
     
  24. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    well that's just my way of seeing it. I see running the single core cpu client a waste if you can just run the gpu client.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,967 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,638
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    Meh, came home to find 4 rigs down:shadedshu. Thus, my PPD will be half of normal. Might have been a power outage, but one rig has a corrupt OS install now. Seems like voodoo or something at work here:laugh: Well, off to repair XP I go...

    P.S. Great PPD guys. I never would have imagined 389k PPD in one day 6 months ago. You guy's ROCK!!!
    :toast::toast::toast::toast::toast::toast::toast:
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)