• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TPU's F@H Team

Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
681 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i GTX
Memory Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB
Storage 1TB WD Red
Display(s) 1920x1080 HDTV
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Power Supply Corsair CX750M 750w
Software Win7 Professional though I hate it, I want XP back!
i am going to tell you this right now, don't run the gpu client if you have a weak gpu with less than 512mb of vram

there is a reason they make this suggestion

i had it running on an x1600pro with 256mb of ram, i fold for another forum

when i first started it, everything worked fine, but the system seemed a little laggy whenever i did anything like move windows around

sort of like when you first install windows and it doesn't have a driver for the video card so everything seems to work fine, but when you scroll windows or move them around it starts to get real sluggish

it was exactly like that

then when i let it go over night and came back the mouse and keyboard just stopped taking commands, but i had task manager up and everything was still chugging away in it just fine, and the clock was still moving

it never failed to show this behavior when i folded using the gpu

when i folded using just the cpu it worked fine, so i can only assume it was because i had a much weaker gpu than is recommended
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
While I suppose the GPU client can be run on your X300SE, I think F@H suggests an X1600 at the very very least.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
681 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i GTX
Memory Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB
Storage 1TB WD Red
Display(s) 1920x1080 HDTV
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Power Supply Corsair CX750M 750w
Software Win7 Professional though I hate it, I want XP back!
While I suppose the GPU client can be run on your X300SE, I think F@H suggests an X1600 at the very very least.
try rereading my post very very carefully:nutkick:
 

GIGGLA

New Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2004
Messages
156 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name PsychoTron
Processor Intel Q9450 @ 3.2
Motherboard Asus p5e (x38) @ 400 fsb Rampage Formula Bios
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro Antec 900 Case Fans
Memory 4gb G.Skill ddr2-1000
Video Card(s) MSI 280GTX @ 702/1404/1200
Storage 2X Seagate 500gb Raid-0 @7200rpm
Display(s) 24" Dell Widescreen LCD 1920x1200 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Onboard Supreme FX 2
Power Supply 750 watt pc power & cooling Crossfire edition
Software Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 64-bit
Why can't I get a work packet today?
You probably have to turn off- deadlineless work units. I have read that these deadlineless ones are no longer being sent out. I could not recieve any work when I had this option turned on.

If you are using the console text-only version- to turn it off create a shortcut to F@H exe then right-click the shortcut and select properties then at the end of the target line add a space then -config This will allow you to set options/adv.options the next time you click this shortcut. After the options are configured remove the -config flag from the shortcut if you don't want to go through the options at the next launch.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Still folding strong, working my way up the ladder. :)
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
What determines amount of points? I have only completed two work units, but I have more points than people who have completed more than I.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
What determines amount of points? I have only completed two work units, but I have more points than people who have completed more than I.
I think it has to do with how complex the work unit is and how much computational power it takes to complete.

I run the console version, and it tells me how many steps it has to complete, right now I have one that has 20,000,000 steps and another that has 5,000,000 steps. I assume work units with more steps give you more points since they take longer to complete.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
That was my guess, but I wanted to see what other thought. My last one was 20,000, my PIII is working on a 5,000, and my PIV just started a 5,000. I wonder if the amount of time it takes to finish a work unit effects points also? I guess I'll find out when the PIII finishes tonight.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
the score is determined in time to complete vs a 2.8ghz p4. they first run a wu on that then assign it a score. if you finish in half the time then you get double the score.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Ah, thank you. Exactly what I wanted to know.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Yep, folding strong @ my end, doing my bit to cure nasties :)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Someone has 71 work units and 0 score, how is that even possible?
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
They must be completing their WU past the deadline.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Im processing the lambda data and its taking longer than the usual proteins, maybe I have been seen as worthy for more complex data :D
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,237 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,845
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
yeah, taking longer for me too. About 15 mins per step on my C2D @ 3.2ghz =/
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
It says 1.7 secs per frame on mine, dunno if that is very accurate or what?
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,237 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,845
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
oh, you're using the graphical client.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
I gave you guys some publicity on the front page :).
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
One of my clients is on lambda, it is taking longer, but I am sure it is worth a lot more points too.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Someone has 71 work units and 0 score, how is that even possible?

Work units ending early.
I had problem running with one of the consoles, would always end early,so no points.
But all sorted now :)
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
:confused: when using Graphical Client, if the card is OCed will it make it finish faster :eek:
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
:confused: when using Graphical Client, if the card is OCed will it make it finish faster :eek:
Yeah it will, they recommend you dont switch between clocks when it is testing though as it resets the code and basically fucks that unit up!
 

TXcharger

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
431 (0.10/day)
Likes
2
Location
SAN ANTONE, TX
Processor Intel Prescott 3.0ghz with HT o/c to 3.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar P4M80-M4 (agp)
Cooling AIR!! with Arctic Silver 5 on processor and vga
Memory 2gb(1gb x 2) OCZ high performance PC3200 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800gto r430 445/545(1100 effective) w/ Zalman FATALITY fan and Omega Drivers 3.8.360
Storage Maxtor 80gb 7200rpm
Display(s) 19in dell flatscreen LCD
Case Dell Dimension 3000
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply stock 350 watt
Software Windows XP sp2
ok i give in because my grandmother has Alzheimer's where do i DL it? and ill see if i can get my moms c2d running it as well since shes never on it