• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TPU's F@H Team

Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
Yes, sometimes the servers are just really busy.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
One other quick question.

If your internet connection is unavailable when the WU finishes, will the program continue to retry access, or will it die and lose the WU.

The reason I ask is my home rig is on dial-up (yeah, I know. I live in the sticks), and it is our only phone line. I cannot guarantee that the connection will be available when the WU finishes. (especially if it finishes while I am at work or something).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
I wish I understood this..lol..
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
It loads the results into the cue untill the next opportunity comes along to send it.


And the only possible way for a WU to "die" is for it to be past the deadline, and that is not very likely as they are generous, or if it is a early finish unit that has become corrupted.


Of their servers some are for sending, some for receiving, and some for processing the results, however I believe they are running their systems to the full all the time, based on my past experience.


And I have alot of machines running, and been doing this for awhile, this is my second team, and hopefully the last team I fold for.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
Thanks for the info Steevo, I will again resume folding on my home rig.

I found some interesting things. When running the SMP client, all four cores peg at 100%.
When running the non-SMP core, but setting the CPU utilization to 100%, it splits the load over the cores so each core is running at approx. 25%. This is the same on the Pentium D I am running at work which uses 50% usage on each core.

Using the non-SMP core, I am pumping about 50000 steps (out of 5 million) about ever 12 minutes. If I remember correctly, the SMP core was pushing 50K in about 8 minutes. (on home rig)

I think I will keep using the regular core as it's getting a bit warm here in Cheeseland and the wife doesn't want to turn on the air conditioner yet. ;)

My cores are running about 20C over idle when folding. (hottest core at about 62c)

When Thermalright comes out with their 120 Extreme or the IFX-14 (or whatever it is called) I will see if I can get some lower temps with a better cooler.

I am glad to see people are still folding to help medical science.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
@ Alcpone, when you first opened it, it asked for you to put yes/no ? Cuz did you put the one they suggested of did you put what ever ?
I just put what was the better option LoL, cant remember what I put exactly? I might try and set it up again and see if that makes a difference, cant be lagging behind in the wu's for long or you will catch me up :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Alcpone,

When I first loaded the SMP client I also got the "Attempt to get work failed". I just let it loop and eventually it grabbed a WU. On the second try after the first WU finished it got one immediately.

The communication error is thrown (I think) when the SMP client sees a non-SMP type WU in processes. It dumbs it and tries to get one it likes. If I recall correctly the SMP core will only try to do large (>5MB) type WUs. Also, I think the SMP core will not restart a WU and will always get a new one if you stop and restart the core (unless they updated the program since the FAQ was written).

On another note, I broke into the top 20 !! WUhoo
I will try and work it out, see if ive done something wrong, thanks for the info :toast:
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
I will try and work it out, see if ive done something wrong, thanks for the info :toast:
Keep up the feedback, I will return to the SMP core to help you troubleshoot if need be.

It cooled off tonight so I bumped up to 3.03GHz.
Temps are about the same, but not seeing a real boost in frame processing speed.
(maybe about a minute or so better)
I may need to go back to SMP core to see a real boost.

Stupid ticks are horrible this year in WI. Had to stop writing to pull one off me. :banghead:
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
Running tonight at 3.104 GHz.
Using SMP A1 core. All 4 processor cores at 100%.
Hottest processor core at 71c.
Turned fan speed on GPUs to 75% in 2D mode just to get heat out of case.

No one probably cares, but I'm having fun :)

Keep folding my friends ....
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Running tonight at 3.104 GHz.
Using SMP A1 core. All 4 processor cores at 100%.
Hottest processor core at 71c.
Turned fan speed on GPUs to 75% in 2D mode just to get heat out of case.

No one probably cares, but I'm having fun :)

Keep folding my friends ....
Lucky bugger, I cant seem to get the smp working still :(

It is kinda fun doing it for the good of mankind and when they find cures we can be proud that we contributed something :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
I finished two GPU clients, however I cut my phone line at home last night while grading my yard with a skidsteer, so it couldn't send it and no net till I run a new phone line. :(


But at least my yard is almost ready to plant. :) 6:00-9:30 in the skidsteer and I feel like someone has beaten me.



I care, I just wish I had that much power working in my home PC. That would be sweet. For now I must be happy with my 4000+.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
Lucky bugger, I cant seem to get the smp working still :(
Did you try deleting it and re-downloading it? Maybe it got corrupted on the way in.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
I had to back off a little (down to 2.7GHz) as it's a bit warm this evening in Cheeseland.
I don't want the system to do a thermal shutdown or throttling while I'm folding ;)

The SMP core will continue where it left off with a stopped WU. I thought the FAQ said that it would not do this, so they must have updated that in one of the later betas.

@Steevo ... How intrusive to users is the Fah-Core when running as an Idle-set process. I was just wondering as, like you, I am a Network Admin and could potentially bring about 40 more systems online folding. I have one running on my machine at work and I notice some delays when doing little things ... like compiling code projects.
Thanks for any info you can supply.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I'm not steevo, but I can say that for the most part it is pretty unnoticeable to users. Anything that needs the CPU to not be sluggish will have a higher priority and use the CPU over FAH.

There are rare cases where something is set to a low priority(compilers can do this sometimes) and FAH will cause sluggishness sometimes, but nothing a normal user should notice.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
I'm not steevo, but I can say that for the most part it is pretty unnoticeable to users. Anything that needs the CPU to not be sluggish will have a higher priority and use the CPU over FAH.

There are rare cases where something is set to a low priority(compilers can do this sometimes) and FAH will cause sluggishness sometimes, but nothing a normal user should notice.
Thanks for the response newtekie.
I remebered after I posted that I had set the core priority to high on my machine at work. DOH! :banghead:

I think I will talk to the president of the company soon to see if I can get his blessings to put our computers to good work on the off hours.

Has anyone seen any issues with folding when things like automatic virus scanning kick in on the off hours ?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
Depends on system load.


I can manage it but on a few machines that don't have at least 512 of RAM I won't put it on, and laptops that are actually taken out of the place are not to good to run the client.



I have a flock of mostly P4 2.4's with a few better performers. The latter half that actually do the folding work for me are the ones I built, 3.0Ghz of better with a Gig of ram. Only three of the 2.4's actually fold due to lack of resources during the day.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I wish I had your folding power steevo. I would put it on some of the computers I manage at work, but I got pissed at a few users and decided to completely remove internet access from every single computer excpet mine and my boss'. Soon they will learn to not call their System/Network Admin "the bottom of the totum pole".
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
My peeps have learned.



I just get the content filter back going again, and forward some of their e-mail to the boss for a few days. They get hot around the collar and are really nice to meh. :)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I swear, they are like kids. Sometimes the only way to get their attention is to take their toys away.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
i just started folding with my 1950xt lets see just how fast this thing can really fold i don't believe it makes it 10x faster then usual but i don't really know much about F@H as i just started today

running the console fah 5.19 beta 3 for ATi atm Batou1986 tpu team :rockout:

lol my gpu is peaking at 71* so its doing something

wtf happend to post count i know i had more than 421
 
Last edited:

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
Welcome to the team Batou !
Let us know your approximate times and WU sizes when you get a few done.
I would like to know a little more about GPU folding.

I could use my pair, but I think you have to take them out of crossfire mode to do it.
Not sure I want to be switching back and forth all the time when foldng or gaming.

The post counts got mesed up a couple of days ago. Some forum admin goofup I think.

@Steevo & Newtekie : LOL .. The people in our plant don't give me any grief. Living out in
the sticks helps as many of the people have been there for many years and we're all pretty
close friends. Is someone gets a little insistant about interrupting what I am currently
working on, to handle their request, I tell them, "I'll put it on the whiteboard".
Which they know means it may not happen in their lifetimes. :D
 
Last edited:

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
On another note, the problem I have at home is that using the SMP client the core downloads very large WUs and it takes about three hours to send the results on dial-up.

Grumble ...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
Well im not to sure how all this works but since about 1am last night to 10 am this morning i managed 171 score and 1 wu is that good ?

http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&teamnum=50711&username=Batou1986
Nine hours is fast. How big was the Work Unit?

My system at 3.1GHz was running though 50,000 steps in under 7 minutes (on a 500K WU).
So approximately 11 hours for the whole WU.

When I backed it off to 2.7GHz it was taking a little over 8 minutes for the same amount.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro