• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.80/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
sounds good, but:
what about a new board?:)
another 8800 gt? youre sure?
you even got one more of them than me, if you doesnt want to sli them, i would have got me something DX11;)
CP is sending me a Asrock 790GX

I was thinking another 8800GT for folding... I would have them like this
I would like something DX11 but don't have the money and sucks for folding. Unless i was to get a 5770 and put the CPU off for longer
P4 rig: 2 8800GT(SLI'ed)
cruncher: 8800GTS
main 2 8800GT (SLI'ed)
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,386 (1.75/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
El got another one!
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.32/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
CP is sending me a Asrock 790GX

I was thinking another 8800GT for folding... I would have them like this
I would like something DX11 but don't have the money and sucks for folding. Unless i was to get a 5770 and put the CPU off for longer
P4 rig: 2 8800GT(SLI'ed)
cruncher: 8800GTS
main 2 8800GT (SLI'ed)
as long its only for folding, it should be quite nice;)

i could also use another 8800 gt... to exchage the 9500gt in my q9550 cruncher:D
do you game much pos? what do you game?:)
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.80/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
as long its only for folding, it should be quite nice;)

i could also use another 8800 gt... to exchage the 9500gt in my q9550 cruncher:D
do you game much pos? what do you game?:)
I dont game much at all anymore.When i do its nfs(all of them) TDU, Crysis,FEAR,prototype killing floor,RCT3.. Just stuff like that. The SLI'ed 8800GTs can max them all out fine at 1280x1024(what i game at) I went from gaming everyday to gaming about 1-3times a month unless a game holds me to it till i beat it

maybe grab a PSU and a 5770 and let it fold. May not be as good as another GT but should give better FPS and will let me run DX11 games/benches and be easier on the PSU
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.32/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
I dont game much at all anymore.When i do its nfs(all of them) TDU, Crysis,FEAR,prototype killing floor,RCT3.. Just stuff like that. The SLI'ed 8800GTs can max them all out fine at 1280x1024(what i game at) I went from gaming everyday to gaming about 1-3times a month unless a game holds me to it till i beat it

maybe grab a PSU and a 5770 and let it fold. May not be as good as another GT but should give better FPS and will let me run DX11 games/benches and be easier on the PSU
its up to you... both have their use.;)
until now, i believe i will get me one of the newer 5xxx, when they come out. or one of the older, because they will drop in price severly:D
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,974 (1.09/day)
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Excellent day folding for the team(947k ppd)! El Fiendo and Bogmali are really coming thru with the -bigadv WU on their i7's. If anyone has a Core i7 and wants to put some big numbers on the board for themselves and TPU, try the -bigadv work units. Remember, it for a great cause!

:toast:
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.80/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
its up to you... both have their use.;)
until now, i believe i will get me one of the newer 5xxx, when they come out. or one of the older, because they will drop in price severly:D
I am going to let my finger do the deciding. When i get my money in my hand i will get whatever i click on :laugh: i can spend months trying to pick what i want to buy but then when it comes time to buy i always change my mind. never once have i bought what i said i was going to...
 

bogmali

In Orbe Terrum Non Visi
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
8,258 (1.91/day)
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Apacer NOX 2x16GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB/Samsung EVO 860 512GB
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) AudioEngine D1 DAC/Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw RGB
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
From what I am seeing on the -bigadv WUs is that the 7-core SMPs are getting more PPDs compared to the 8-core ones:wtf::confused:. This is confirmed by El's 50K+ PPD as oppose to my measly 25K+ :mad: Will do some research to see what's up and will switch to the 7 core one if this is the case;)
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,498 (0.40/day)
Location
Bismarck, ND
System Name Fuzzy Bunny
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2
Memory 16GB Mushkin 2133
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti-Kraken G10
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD7501AALS 750GB
Display(s) ASUS 24"
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply CoolerMaster Gold 1000 Watt
Software Windows 7 64
Excellent day folding for the team(947k ppd)! El Fiendo and Bogmali are really coming thru with the -bigadv WU on their i7's. If anyone has a Core i7 and wants to put some big numbers on the board for themselves and TPU, try the -bigadv work units. Remember, it for a great cause!

:toast:
Congrats team.:rockout: I saw quite a few of us pulling numbers higher than average.:toast:
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,498 (0.40/day)
Location
Bismarck, ND
System Name Fuzzy Bunny
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2
Memory 16GB Mushkin 2133
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti-Kraken G10
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD7501AALS 750GB
Display(s) ASUS 24"
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply CoolerMaster Gold 1000 Watt
Software Windows 7 64
CarolinaKSU, thank's for posting up 10k for the team today.:toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.55/day)
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
From what I am seeing on the -bigadv WUs is that the 7-core SMPs are getting more PPDs compared to the 8-core ones:wtf::confused:. This is confirmed by El's 50K+ PPD as oppose to my measly 25K+ :mad: Will do some research to see what's up and will switch to the 7 core one if this is the case;)

Its possible, but it doesn't sound plausible. Are you sure you completed 10 regular A2 cores without error under your folding passkey? Without that requirement you won't be earning the bonus.
 

bogmali

In Orbe Terrum Non Visi
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
8,258 (1.91/day)
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Apacer NOX 2x16GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB/Samsung EVO 860 512GB
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) AudioEngine D1 DAC/Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw RGB
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
Its possible, but it doesn't sound plausible. Are you sure you completed 10 regular A2 cores without error under your folding passkey? Without that requirement you won't be earning the bonus.

I think that may have something to do with it. I remember I started folding with the 7 core and then switched to the 8 core without completing the 10 1920 WUs. But I've completed 20 of them so far but I don't know if I got credit with my passkey.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.32/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
I am going to let my finger do the deciding. When i get my money in my hand i will get whatever i click on :laugh: i can spend months trying to pick what i want to buy but then when it comes time to buy i always change my mind. never once have i bought what i said i was going to...
maximum bang, for just a few bucks:D
i also always search for this:laugh:
 

CarolinaKSU

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
442 (0.10/day)
System Name ANTC-1221
Processor Intel Core2 Quad - Q9550 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-Deluxe
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-1283
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-1100 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 280
Storage 2x Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB in RAID0, WD Caviar 500GB
Display(s) Hanns-G HW223D 22"
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker connected to Logitech G15 5.1 Surround
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower W0116RU 750W
Software Vista Home Premium 64-bit
CarolinaKSU, thank's for posting up 10k for the team today.:toast:
Thx for the warm welcome from you and Buck Nasty! I had been meaning to getting around to joining up with you guys for a while now after I got my server built. Anyway, after the first day of everything going well, I have run into issues and have no clue whats wrong. I keep getting the error: Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE

I did some research into it and everything I could find pointed to an overclock being too high, but I am running both of my 8800 GTS's completely stock :confused:

Any help would be hugely appreciated!
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.80/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
Thx for the warm welcome from you and Buck Nasty! I had been meaning to getting around to joining up with you guys for a while now after I got my server built. Anyway, after the first day of everything going well, I have run into issues and have no clue whats wrong. I keep getting the error: Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE

I did some research into it and everything I could find pointed to an overclock being too high, but I am running both of my 8800 GTS's completely stock :confused:

Any help would be hugely appreciated!
are you running them both in the same rig? Are they in SLI? what OS? Also are you using the console client? sorry for all the questions but i want to get some more info to try and help you :toast: i too have had that problem hopefully yours is a simple fix like mine
 

CarolinaKSU

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
442 (0.10/day)
System Name ANTC-1221
Processor Intel Core2 Quad - Q9550 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-Deluxe
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-1283
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-1100 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 280
Storage 2x Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB in RAID0, WD Caviar 500GB
Display(s) Hanns-G HW223D 22"
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker connected to Logitech G15 5.1 Surround
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower W0116RU 750W
Software Vista Home Premium 64-bit
are you running them both in the same rig? Are they in SLI? what OS? Also are you using the console client? sorry for all the questions but i want to get some more info to try and help you :toast: i too have had that problem hopefully yours is a simple fix like mine
Yes I am running them in the same rig, non SLI, XP Pro 32bit, and using the system tray client.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.80/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
Yes I am running them in the same rig, non SLI, XP Pro 32bit, and using the system tray client.
i recommend you use the console client to start with as it gives better PPD and doesn't cause as many problems... I assume you have the flags set(-gpu 0 -gpu 1). If you haven't already you need to extend the desktop to the 2nd card. Now if you don't have 2 monitors you will have to use a dummy plug. That is the only way i got my cards to fold under XP. If you can SLI them that is another way you can fold without a 2nd monitor or dummy plug... If that doesn't help post back and i will try to help some more... Thanks for folding for TPU and welcome to the team :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,386 (1.75/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
What I had to do on XP was to use the console client, -gpu 0/1 -forcegpu nvidia_g80. I also disabled SLI, but I don't know if that was necessary.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.80/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
What I had to do on XP was to use the console client, -gpu 0/1 -forcegpu nvidia_g80. I also disabled SLI, but I don't know if that was necessary.
I too did that. But i had to enable SLI to get them to work without 2 monitors
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (3.54/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
I too did that. But i had to enable SLI to get them to work without 2 monitors
That's weird, when I had a pair of GSOs + the 8600GTS on XP Pro x32 I ran with 1 monitor on the first GSO and nothing on either the second GSO or the GTS. SLI was disabled, and I folded on all 3 GPUs.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.80/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
That's weird, when I had a pair of GSOs + the 8600GTS on XP Pro x32 I ran with 1 monitor on the first GSO and nothing on either the second GSO or the GTS. SLI was disabled, and I folded on all 3 GPUs.
I agree it is weird but i seem to have alot of weird problems :wtf:
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.32/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
i recommend you use the console client to start with as it gives better PPD and doesn't cause as many problems... I assume you have the flags set(-gpu 0 -gpu 1). If you haven't already you need to extend the desktop to the 2nd card. Now if you don't have 2 monitors you will have to use a dummy plug. That is the only way i got my cards to fold under XP. If you can SLI them that is another way you can fold without a 2nd monitor or dummy plug... If that doesn't help post back and i will try to help some more... Thanks for folding for TPU and welcome to the team :toast:
i try to make the second card usable without a second screen... i had to give it back to its owner (was only borrowed). any tips, or flags, that might bring it to run,without it?:)
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.80/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
i try to make the second card usable without a second screen... i had to give it back to its owner (was only borrowed). any tips, or flags, that might bring it to run,without it?:)
:confused:so one of the GTs wasn't yours? The way i got mine to work was set the flags

for the GPU in the 2nd slot i set
Code:
-gpu 1 -forcegpu nvidia_g80 -local
for the GPU in the 1st slot i set
Code:
-gpu 0 -local
and then ENABLED SLI and it gave me no problems after that
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.32/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
:confused:so one of the GTs wasn't yours? The way i got mine to work was set the flags

for the GPU in the 2nd slot i set
Code:
-gpu 1 -forcegpu nvidia_g80 -local
for the GPU in the 1st slot i set
Code:
-gpu 0 -local
and then ENABLED SLI and it gave me no problems after that
it works! both fold away, with the forcegpu and local commands;)
but....
on 353 point WU´s
i only get
5545 ppd
and
3860 ppd???
is this normal?
the clients seem to react a little better, if i stop crunching?
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.80/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
it works! both fold away, with the forcegpu and local commands;)
but....
on 353 point WU´s
i only get
5545 ppd
and
3860 ppd???
is this normal?
the clients seem to react a little better, if i stop crunching?
if your using the rig the first card will have lower points... And stopping crunching frees the CPU clocks for it to feed alittle more info to the GPUs
 
Top