1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,022 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Darn, my gtx280 vs a gtx260 core 216 55nm on 450 pointers, both highly oced and both at 1512 shaders:

    [​IMG]

    280 still has grunt!
     
  2. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,105 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Ohio
    From what I saw, my overclock was below average, heh
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,150 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Hehe

    [​IMG]

    Moving on up in points. Slowly, but I be getting there. Wish I had a few more machines to turn lose about now.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,105 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Ohio
    Folding on a PSP?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,150 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,937 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    [09:15:38] Completed 30%
    [09:20:07] Run: exception thrown during GuardedRun
    [09:20:07] Run: exception thrown in GuardedRun -- Gromacs cannot continue further.
    [09:20:07] Going to send back what have done -- stepsTotalG=10000000
    [09:20:07] Work fraction=0.3075 steps=10000000.
    [09:20:11] logfile size=0 infoLength=0 edr=0 trr=23
    [09:20:11] + Opened results file
    [09:20:11] - Writing 642 bytes of core data to disk...
    [09:20:11] Done: 130 -> 127 (compressed to 97.6 percent)
    [09:20:11] ... Done.
    [09:20:11] DeleteFrameFiles: successfully deleted file=work/wudata_05.ckp
    [09:20:11]
    [09:20:11] Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
    [09:20:14] CoreStatus = 7A (122)
    [09:20:14] Sending work to server
    [09:20:14] Project: 10103 (Run 907, Clone 6, Gen 33)
    [09:20:14] - Read packet limit of 540015616... Set to 524286976.

    I read around and seems to happen quite abit on 8600 series of cards. Either something that the FAHCore_11 dont like on my card or its just goin out lol. My rig is not O/C'ed so how can I be unstable?:confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    That's awesome!!!! :toast::toast::toast:
    I had this same issue with my 8600GTS, it crashed for no apparent reason in F@H, but was stable for hours of Furmark. I replaced the card with a pair of G92 9600GSOs and got a reliable ~7k PPD vs an unreliable 1.5k PPD
     
    Taz100420 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,150 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It's just remote play, but you can log into the internet anywhere with it. Then be able to see where it's at, or change a setting.

    I just keep it charging off the USB on the Laptop with my PS3 mini screen rollin tho.:)

    I thought it was kool.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,937 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Yea I really cant fold anymore due to this card crashing all the time. I mean I should have 4 WUs done today but they ALL crashed. My points have steadily been goin downhill. Ok no more folding till I get my new 9600GSO:cry:
     
    [Ion] and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Those are good cards, with a decent OC they can easily pull 4-4.5k PPD (at least on 353pt WUs, on 548/511pt WUs they only get ~3.3k) :)
     
    Taz100420 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,105 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Ohio
    I havn't seen any 1888 point units for a while... I liked those ones :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    They did run nice and cool, but the PPD was bad and they made my cards squeal (biggest issue). I would like some cooler WUs, even w/ the fan at 100% the GTS is getting up to 83c (88F ambients don't help :()
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    Bring back the 550pt WU's, where a 9600GSO would push 6500ppd:rockout:
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    :eek::eek::eek:
    That's pretty awesome!
    Stanford had some uniprocessor 250pt WUs a while back...I loved those, I pulled 3k PPD (according to FAHmon, I never got an entire days worth of them) on a 1.4ghz Pentium M laptop...and FAHmon estimated 30k PPD across 4 uniprocessor clients on a stock-clocked Q6600. Shame they only lasted for about a week, that was a fun week
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,105 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Ohio
    My cards squeal with every unit, heh
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    The 550PT WU's were great on the G80/G92 cards. For some reason they exploited a flaw in the WU. 9800GTX+ would do 8500+ppd. Too bad the GT200 cards architecture would not pick up on the exploit. A GTX260 would only do 7200ppd? Stanford has never been concerned about over-awarding of points, but when the GPU's start returning flawed work(exploit allowed skipping of work within the unit), then they will pull the work units.
     
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    The 8800GTS exhibits no squealing (although the fan more than makes up for that), but the 8800GT squealed like a pig, as did the GSOs I had (and the 8600GTS just crashed a lot)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,105 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Ohio
    My 9600GSO squeals, and my 8800GTS does, but not as bad as the 9600.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,022 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    My points may go down for a day or 2, swapping cards around, need to reinstall server ect. Got my sli gtx260s working finally, kicks my 280s butt!
     
  20. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,022 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Just so everyone knows, yes you can fold on sli'ed cards. Just disable sli in cp, and you can use -gpu 0 and 1 like normal. Don't need to remove sli bridge. Thank gawd, nice and easy!
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  21. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    Pete, I just want to make sure we can count on you switching over to ChimPowerUp by tomorrow night? Thanks in advance!

    :toast:
     
  22. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,201 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,520
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest

    You can actually fold the two cards with SLI enabled believe it or not ;)
     
  23. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,022 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I'll switch over if you want. My 280 is out of the picture for now, the corsair is too sick to power it, and my server mobo is finished. So just the 2 260s for now, and I'm going to do some gaming for the first time in a year! So I won't have a lot of points for now.
     
  24. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    I want you to switch only if you want to. This is a voluntary thing, but a show of support for TechpowerUp nonetheless. We could always use your firepower.

    :toast:
     
  25. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Count me in with whatever GPU power I have for the duration of the contest, I may not run SMP2 on the X4 955 for the whole time, but I will at least for a while :cool:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)