1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I've heard decent things about Sunbeam PSUs. Newegg has a listing for a 680W PSU for about 40 bucks. Good deal, or should I look for something better?
    Sunbeam PSU-H680-REV-US 680W ATX 12V 2.0 Power Sup...

    @(FIH) The Don: Just saw you had posted some links in your previous post. Checking them out now.

    EDIT2:
    I think I'll go for the Corsair 650W. I'm running a Corsair 850W in my main rig, and have had no problems. I'll stick with Corsair.
     
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    the 650w is also made by seasonic me tinks
     
  3. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Would anyone be interested in a EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896Mb for about 75-80 bucks? I'm getting a deal on a pair, and don't think I need both. Its a solid 8-9k PPD.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2010
  4. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    260's score 10-12k ppd?
     
  5. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Sigh...made the same mistake again. Saw scores for the 460. Oc'ed, the 260 would give about 9k PPD.
     
  6. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Just get urself a 460 so you can stop mixing them up :p
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,150 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Guys I've had issues with getting virsus of late shutting me down....No fault of F@h, and one of my cards is dirty cause it's started to lock up folding.

    Too broke to get cans of air to clean it out atm. I think I will pick up after the new years, and maybe something I'm working on........

    Just a status update....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,661 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,734
    Location:
    Denmark
    You will only be able to use 3 x 6+2 pin for GPUs and thats with one molex connector on the 650 W model. That means that 460 SLI is out of the question.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    You're talking about the Corsair, right? Why can't I use 4 x 6+2 connectors, using molex adapters (i have a few lying around). Considering this is quite a barebones rig, it should handle two 460s

    Found this as a feedback on Newegg

     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2010
  10. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Sorry about that man :( Possibly you could disassemble the cooler and blow it out with air from your mouth?:D
     
  11. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,661 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,734
    Location:
    Denmark
    You could, but I'm running a 450 and a 460 0n a TX650 and thats with 11.82 V on the 12 V rail. I don't think that you want to go any lower then that.
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
  13. dustyshiv

    dustyshiv

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Dubai, U.A.E
    My contribution frm my primary rig while I was away on vacation!! Last reboot was on Nov 30;)

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Honestly, I'd either just get a mobo tray (~$30 from Performance-PCs) or a full case, such as the Antec 300. That doesn't look very sturdy IMO
    Impressive! :respect:
     
    dustyshiv says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Don't want a full chassis since I'm going to have this on my desk, and I don't want a tower up on my desk. As for motherboard tray, I could look into it, but I'd need to get some soldering action so i can turn the rig on/off without having to short the power pins everytime
     
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i kinda like that bench wannabee tray

    gonna look into it more, would only require a few aluminium plates and cutting a bit of holes
     
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    You can get a power switch for just a couple bucks at most online PC shops
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    True. It looks slick though, and has only perfect reviews at Amazon. Everyone says it looks sturdy, and I like the acrylic finish. I kinda see what you're saying though. It looks like it might be prone to tipping over once loaded. I'll give it a shot, and if I don't like it, I can always return it to Amazon stating its unstable so I don't have to pay for shipping or restocking.
     
  19. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    if you load the thing with mb, gpu's, psu, hd and so on it wont move
     
  20. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Thats what I'm hoping.


    So, once I get the E7400, is it recommended that I use the SMP client, or two instances of the console client?
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2010
  21. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,893 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,117
    Smp!
     
    xbonez says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I read somewhere that older dual cores are better off with two instances of the console client unless OC'ed heavily. I don't pay a lot of attention to Intel processors, so I wasn't sure whicch one would suit the E7400. But I do now!
     
  23. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,661 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,734
    Location:
    Denmark
    So now we can expect higher numbers :D with secondary rigs being turned back on? Good rig you have there.

    Just checked one of my rigs - internet connected for 42 days. Pretty good since it was a new build running +4 GHz.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    This past week, I bought 2 GTX 470s, and am looking to buy another one because I'm getting a great deal. Now, I don't really need 3 of them, nor can I afford it, so I'll be getting rid of one. But first pick goes to folders. Special deal for you guys.

    An ASUS GTX 470 bought on 30th November for $220. It now retails for $270. I'll sell for what I got and throw in free priority shipping.
    It is OC'ed to Core 770Mhz, Memory 1700Mhz and runs stable. Folds for 12-16hours every day and gives me about 14.7k PPD.

    ASUS ENGTX470/2DI/1280MD5/V2 GeForce GTX 470 (Ferm...

    Let me know if anyone's interested.

    The card in action:

    [​IMG]
     
  25. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,661 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,734
    Location:
    Denmark
    I do need a good room heater since my own are poor in the regard at 42 and 45 C with an OC and on stock coolers. I know that you don't ship over sea but I have an even worse condition in my work shop but that takes a OC'ed pair of 480 to fix that. Ice is growing from my CPU cooler as I sit here ;). No seriously I need to get some more HW, I'm to cheap to turn on the ordinary electrical heaters. :laugh:

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)