• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
the way i'm going i'll be #13 within a day or two.

I aim to reach the top 10, then my efforts may diminish.
 

Skitzo

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
720 (0.20/day)
Likes
86
I checked my work folders this morning, unsent wu's for every client.
The smp clients were simple, I shut them down and started them with -send all as the only flag. All smp unsent wu's were sent so I started the client again in the normal fashion, folding continues...
the gpu clients still have 5 wu's between them so I'll look into it some more. From what I've read, it's prolly a waiting game ... if I find out different I'll post.

there is also a program called qfix that is supposed to submit wu's that failed for possible partial credit. From what I read, it repairs the queue to keep the failed wu listed for submission. This doesn't guarantee any credit, but it may be worth a try if you have failed wu's still kicking around.

edit: qfix is supposed to function with all three major os's
qfix discussion at Fah forum
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
NVM its for SMP :p

damn you Kursah :toast:

ive lost alot of points cuz of the net droping all the time hope they fixed it today seems to working good but for how long :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,044 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,145
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
Have to share, OC'd my GTX 260 last night, that thing went pretty damn far...got 12k in Vantage OC'd and 9.4k stock, pretty healthy...well I was averaging anywhere from 4.6k to 5.5k PPD in the last few days....just depended on WU, seems today my average is around almost 7K ppd...I can live with that. It's good stuff to see more and more people donating to TPU folding too. I think in the future with newer GPU clients and NV drivers that PPD will increase for everyone, which would be cool to get more out of what we have now to help fold...it's already improved in the last year performance wise, looking forward to this trend continuing!

:toast:
 

Attachments

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,972 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,636
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
One more day until the 8800GS arrives!!!!!:toast:.12k PPD is 2 days away:rockout: Sunday was not kind to me with issues with my OS install and the GPU2 servers not recieving results. I will try the best GPU2/SMP combinations on my Phenom board & Intel board to see what yields the most PPD.:rolleyes:
 
Last edited:

Skitzo

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
720 (0.20/day)
Likes
86
k lol ... I've been up since 4am yesterday, it's 3:20 pm now and I still can't get fahmon to monitor my VIRTUAL SMP running with VMware and xp on my am2.

Getting the vmware and ubuntu running was simple, the smp client wasn't much harder. Getting vista to access the virtual ubuntu files on xp has been a pain in the ass. I've tried several methods (guide whoring on the web lol); atm I can see the folders in ubuntu but I can't log in. It has to be one of two things, vista needs a reboot or I forgot to install the windows user authentication app in ubuntu. I can access the xp files no prob. Played with samba first cause I've accessed ubuntu fah from my vista rig already(diff install); must been using bad syntax again :(. Installed windows share but that didn't do much either. I even tried running a script in perl to mirror the files to a mount in xp so I can share them with vista but I couldn't get ubuntu visable so I went back to windos share ... now I can see but I can't touch :twitch:. I will get this figured out, I prolly missed something silly... Yes I'm a linux noob :laugh:
The reason I've put so much time into this is cause my virtual smp client running on the am2 (maxed out at 666 ppd, ~ 42 min per 1% with xp lol) is now pushing 'bout 6 min per 1%. I really wanna see what it's doing :)

Gonna start from scratch, do things a little different...
 

Skitzo

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
720 (0.20/day)
Likes
86
well, set it up again but still no monitoring, this time I tried to access the shares through ie... I'll figure it out :)
I think I know why it's cruising throut the wu's, it's running the amber core...

EDIOT:) k this was actually pretty easy when I found the correct procedures... It's up and running, waiting for a few frames to complete... So far my 8600gt (same pc) is up 150-250 ppd with the virtual ubuntu running. This is kinda funny cause that system only has 1G or ram and xp and ubuntu are sharing it lol. If I manage to run two os's with 1 gig of ram and increase my ppd average, I'll be impressed.

this is what I did:
downloaded and installed VMware Server 1.06
followed Solaris's guide for ubuntu for the os install
used finstall for Fah install with auto configured samba shares :rockout:
it took some playing around to get it right but it's done, I hope it was worth it...
I'm gonna have to get some sleep sooner or later, I'll put a post together with the info and results for anyone who is interested; after some shut-eye :toast:
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Look what I just got:

:)
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro

Skitzo

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
720 (0.20/day)
Likes
86
...not so success full... got an eue and no eta or ppd estimate this morning. ..... this setup is taxing the pc a fair bit more and has reveals an unstability so time to slow down the oc....

sweet Newtekkie, those should be fun :)

edit: k I know why it's unstable, bios update removed some voltage adjustments so I can't control the chipset or cpu voltage:banghead:

time for an older bios i think.

has anyone here tried a virtual folding setup yet? The time for each step seems to be on par with what I was getting with a regular install of ubuntu
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
...

has anyone here tried a virtual folding setup yet? The time for each step seems to be on par with what I was getting with a regular install of ubuntu
really? no i havent but i should that would be sick.
 

Skitzo

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
720 (0.20/day)
Likes
86
really? no i havent but i should that would be sick.
yeah it is sick lol. on my am2 i have xp running the gpu2 client and a virtual ubuntu smp client running under vmware. It's showing progress @ ~ 20 min per step on core a2. Still can't get eta or ppd in fahmon though.
I'm not gonna put a post together till I'm sure it's working... it should be doing better than 666 ppd day :)

Xubuntu is the stripped down version and it's supposed to produce higher ppd's

I might just have to break down and put fahmon in ubuntu.

this is what fahmon in vista sees:


the 8600gt is reading a little low, forgot to adjust the priority when i started it and vmware runs a normal priority so... I had to increase the gpu client priority to above normal to get it running proper
btw, this configuration on this hardware makes the pc unusable for anything else (so far it's taxing it pretty well) I'm not sure how well ubuntu will run if I lower the vmware priority, I'll play with that another day :)
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
yeah it is sick lol. on my am2 i have xp running the gpu2 client and a virtual ubuntu smp client running under vmware. It's showing progress @ ~ 20 min per step on core a2. Still can't get eta or ppd in fahmon though.
I'm not gonna put a post together till I'm sure it's working... it should be doing better than 666 ppd day :)

Xubuntu is the stripped down version and it's supposed to produce higher ppd's

I might just have to break down and put fahmon in ubuntu.

this is what fahmon in vista sees:
dude thats awsome
 

Skitzo

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
720 (0.20/day)
Likes
86
:D updated :rockout:



I lowered my oc, turned off everything I could in the bios and lowered the ram avail to ubuntu to 360mb, it's working so far :toast:


best I had with regular ubuntu install was ~ 1050 ppd .... yeah baby, I managed to squeeze a pony under that saddle :rockout:

I've doubled what xp smp was doing :)
:laugh: you guys keep spending money, I'll find other ways to get higher ppd ;)
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
your inginuity is amazing skitzo
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,288 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,915
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X 4.1GHz @ 1.425V
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling 240mm rad with Corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro (lapped).
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.3
Nice one mate!! :eek:
 

Skitzo

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
720 (0.20/day)
Likes
86
your inginuity is amazing skitzo
yeah, most peeps figure I just don't know when to stop mess'n with shit ... :D I don't :rockout:
Sometimes I get great results, others are not so great. The way I see it, with the vmware i can mess ubuntu up bad but xp will be fine :)
With other stuff, if I screw it up, odds are there will be some spare parts around for something else lol.

if it runs okay for a couple of days, I'll put together a post for those who want to try it, pretty sure I've given enough info for some to figure it out :toast:

@ Infared, thanks, it's been a learning experience

now I wonder how it will do on my c2d with vista x64 :D
 
Last edited:

Skitzo

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
720 (0.20/day)
Likes
86
Solaris, I have another idea for the am2 setup :D
If I can get the onboard video running along side the 8600, use the onboard as primary with the desktop extended to the 8600 so it can fold without the primary monitor duties.
onboard is 7050 (m2n-vm dvi) and I looked, it's also supported under the 177.-- drivers I run for the 8600.
I've never tried to use onboard at the same time but it's worth a try I think.

EDIT: k I just had a thought... when you run dual monitors the secondary is run from the dac right.(think that's what it is called) so does fah make use of this or is the gpu handling both at the same time. That doesn't make alot of sense but with my noob vocab I'm a little limited.

with ubuntu limited to 360mb, xp shows ~ 220mb free; I might be able to squeeze some shared mem for the onboard out of that

only 39 off 10k ppd :rockout:
 
Last edited:

Skitzo

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
720 (0.20/day)
Likes
86
it seems to be doing well. The gpu client is giving me some grief, but it has been doing so for a week so it shouldn't be related.

virtual SMP client is pushing ~1500 ppd :rockout:
that's a little better than the 666 ppd day from the smp in xp...
edit: and I lowered the oc by ~200 Mhz
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
504 (0.14/day)
Likes
121
Location
over there --->
System Name mcp
Processor amd phenom II 940 @ 3842
Motherboard asus m3a79-T dlx
Cooling coolit boreas
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms
Video Card(s) 2x hd3870s
Storage wdc 150gb raptor
Case silverstone tj07
Audio Device(s) xfi pro
Power Supply coolmax 1100w + visiontek 450w (for the boreas)
Benchmark Scores 19778 3dmark http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=9709800
joined
 

Skitzo

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
720 (0.20/day)
Likes
86
welcome to the folding factory servermonkey:)

Kursah, I plan to atleast try and be some competition for ya, I think newtekkie is gonna squash us all ... :cool:
edit: I looked at your last screenie, if you get all those clients running you are gonna squash me lol

Wolf, you still with us?
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,044 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,145
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
Yeah, well I'm just running the GPU clients for now...giving the CPU clients a rest...I still average around 10.5k PPD FAHMon est with the 9600GT and GTX260...it seems the WU's have fluxuating scores...right now it says my 260 is down to 4.8k PPD even though the time per percent has not changed from approx. 1minute flat,...the 9600GT is at about 4.3k PPD at about 1 minute and 40 seconds. Even though my time base doesn't vary much at all, my PPD can go from just over 7K down to 4K lol on the 260 lol! The 9600GT fluxuates between about 3.7k and 4.4k, but is usually right around 4-4.2K.

I may fire up the CPU clients again, but it gets so hot in the PC room and w/o AC...drives me nuts...I do have a couple of box fans in there now though, much more tolerable.

:toast:
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.32/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
could someone please tell me how the P4 i had folding got about 380ppd @3.1ghz and 430ppd @3.3ghz BUT my AMD Athlon x2 5kBE @3ghz ONLY GETS 135ppd :wtf:
so could someone please tell me how that happens?
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
504 (0.14/day)
Likes
121
Location
over there --->
System Name mcp
Processor amd phenom II 940 @ 3842
Motherboard asus m3a79-T dlx
Cooling coolit boreas
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms
Video Card(s) 2x hd3870s
Storage wdc 150gb raptor
Case silverstone tj07
Audio Device(s) xfi pro
Power Supply coolmax 1100w + visiontek 450w (for the boreas)
Benchmark Scores 19778 3dmark http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=9709800
welcome to the folding factory servermonkey:)

Kursah, I plan to atleast try and be some competition for ya, I think newtekkie is gonna squash us all ... :cool:
edit: I looked at your last screenie, if you get all those clients running you are gonna squash me lol

Wolf, you still with us?
ty