• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TPU's F@H Team

Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
367 (0.10/day)
Likes
40
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.6ghz (1.25v)
Motherboard Evga 680i SLI
Cooling ASUS Arctic Square
Memory 4GB GSKILL PI Black (2x2GB) 4-4-4-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 Superclocked
Storage WD 320GB (B3 revision)/WD 160GB
Display(s) Acer X241W
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I shall join when I get my desktop up and running again. :)

But, will the client only fold when my desktop is idle? Also, will it do it automatically (start folding after 5 mins of a desktop being idle for example)? But if I go to my desktop again, will it stop? (If it says it does, must of missed it :laugh:)

Or is it pretty much similar to BONIC with seti@home?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,631 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,356
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
does fahmon work with the gpu2 client?
yes sir...Infrared walked me through it and got it to function 100%

A squirrely. F@H can start when the PC boots, it will not however turn on and off automatically. If you are folding and tick open a game it will fold while gaming. If you right click in the taskbar you can pause or stop it manually!
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
does fahmon work with the gpu2 client?
Yup. You just need to point FAHMon to the rigth directory. For the GPU2 client it creates a folder in the "My Documents" somewhere so make sure you point to the right place.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
The gpu2 client stores the files here:

C:\documents and settings\user name\application data\Folding@Home-gpu\
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
thanks guys.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Clevo M570RU
Processor Intel Core2Duo T9300 (2.5GHz/45nm/800MHz/6MB L2 Cache)
Memory 4096MB DDR2 800MHz
Video Card(s) nVIDIA Geforce 8800M GTX 512MB DDR3
Storage 160GB @ 7,200RPM SATA300 Storage 8MB
Display(s) 17" HD WUXGA+ 1920x1200
Software Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Yes, the multi-core client is more efficient at utilizing multiple cores, and does more advanced work than the single core client.
I'm running the SMP client, but CPU usage is only hitting 50% (near 100% on one core)... does it take a while to kick in or does it only spike above that when needed? seems to fluctuate between 49-51%.
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
I am going to be installing a Q6600 soon on my main rig and was looking for help and advice on a few things related to folding.

Right now I run the GPU2 folding client pretty much fulltime on the 8800GT in this rig. I sometimes run the CPU client (non-SMP) overnight only and leave it off during the day when my family is using the machine (so I don't get any complaints of slow response). With the GPU client running, Core1 loads to 100% and Core0 seems to be left untouched which makes it available for other tasks on the machine. Therefore, with the GPU client running I don't really notice any performance hit in non-3D tasks.

With the replacement of my E8400 dual core with the Q6600 Quad core I was thinking I could get the extra 2 cores folding full-time without really impacting anything (including gaming).

So given this background what would be the best implementation of folding 24/7 that still allows general use of the machine, including gaming?

For example, can I somehow force the affinity on a non-SMP client to core2 and run another instance on Core3, leaving core0 and core1 to deal with the GPU client?

BTW I am most of the way through building a completely dedicated folding rig made up of an E1200 dual core on a Nforce 610 mobo with 2GB RAM and the 8800GT from my main rig (once my 260GTX arrives). I was thinking I would run the GPU2 client on the 8800GT and a non-SMP client on the processor, 24/7.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Can I fold with my 4850? Folding with my E7200 @ 3.8 doesn't seem to be going very fast..

And its only making Core0 go up, how do I get it to do multicore?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
how do i get my gpu to stay in 3d mode so the gpu client doesnt go slow?
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Can I fold with my 4850? Folding with my E7200 @ 3.8 doesn't seem to be going very fast..

And its only making Core0 go up, how do I get it to do multicore?
You need to use the SMP client. It is in the "High Performance" section rather than the generic download section.

http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther

And yes, you can fold with the 4850. The GPU client is also in the high performance download section.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Think my 4850 would fold better?
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
how do i get my gpu to stay in 3d mode so the gpu client doesnt go slow?
I believe that the GPU client is accessing your shaders directly so there is no need to worry about 2D vs 3D mode. I would think that the video card knows it's shaders are active and switches to the 3D clocks automatically (I would hope).
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Think my 4850 would fold better?
The GPU client hands out points about 10X faster than the non-SMP mode on my 3 rigs. The GPU is much better at certain calculations than the CPU. I run a single instance of the CPU folding and the GPU folding at the same time on my rigs.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
has anyone else seen a huge hit in their ppd in the last few days? we were hitting 6k+ per day and now we're struggling to hit 2k, and i've even upped my cpu usage and thrown my 3870's core in as well...
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,631 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,356
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
They're using different WU's that aren't PPD heavy, GPU and CPU from what I've heard...though the hardest hit is the GPU clients...my GTX get's around 6.5-7.2kPPD on 480PPD WU's, and drops to around 4-5k on 430PPD WU's.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
im folding as fast as i can! 1790 points in a day and a bit - i cant go any faster! :rockout:
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
has anyone else seen a huge hit in their ppd in the last few days? we were hitting 6k+ per day and now we're struggling to hit 2k, and i've even upped my cpu usage and thrown my 3870's core in as well...

new public NV projects 5508-5513, 5017-5022

Postby DanEnsign on Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:56 pm
Hi,

I'm warning you, you will start to see a new series of projects coming out this morning. The proteins we're studying here are larger and in some sense more relevant to biology than anything we've run on GPU2 to date.

However, due to the larger size of the protein, you may see a PPD drop putting NV cards more in line with ATI production. This isn't due to different benchmarking or a different way to assign points, but rather we anticipate NV to be slightly less efficient with larger proteins than it has been with the smaller ones.

Dan

User avatar
DanEnsign
Pande Group Member

Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:41 pm
Location: Stanford, CA
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"

new public NV projects 5508-5513, 5017-5022

Postby DanEnsign on Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:56 pm
Hi,

I'm warning you, you will start to see a new series of projects coming out this morning. The proteins we're studying here are larger and in some sense more relevant to biology than anything we've run on GPU2 to date.

However, due to the larger size of the protein, you may see a PPD drop putting NV cards more in line with ATI production. This isn't due to different benchmarking or a different way to assign points, but rather we anticipate NV to be slightly less efficient with larger proteins than it has been with the smaller ones.

Dan

User avatar
DanEnsign
Pande Group Member

Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:41 pm
Location: Stanford, CA
yes, i knew about that, but that only applies to gpu2 clients, and before the drop i wasn't even using the gpu2 client... so wtf?

to sneeky, yes we were seeing a similar fluctuation, but all of a sudden you could see where it took a complete nose dive.
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?s=&u=355822
note: 8/27 is when i dedicated my cores to my dad.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,631 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,356
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
yes, i knew about that, but that only applies to gpu2 clients, and before the drop i wasn't even using the gpu2 client... so wtf?

to sneeky, yes we were seeing a similar fluctuation, but all of a sudden you could see where it took a complete nose dive.
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?s=&u=355822
note: 8/27 is when i dedicated my cores to my dad.
Well I wasnt folding my GPU at all this past weekend, all points were from just her rig and one client on the E6400....funny thing its I did better those days with just her on the F@H.

It has to be just a server delay of when the work is posted vs what was actually folded that day!:confused:
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Clevo M570RU
Processor Intel Core2Duo T9300 (2.5GHz/45nm/800MHz/6MB L2 Cache)
Memory 4096MB DDR2 800MHz
Video Card(s) nVIDIA Geforce 8800M GTX 512MB DDR3
Storage 160GB @ 7,200RPM SATA300 Storage 8MB
Display(s) 17" HD WUXGA+ 1920x1200
Software Vista Home Premium 64-bit
I'm now folding on all my PC's -

Athlon 64 - 1 client
X2 4400+ - 2 clients
Laptop (in specs) - 3 clients, 1 gpu, 2 cpu...

FAHMon is showing 5200 PPD... guess thats good?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,281 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,382
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I'm running the SMP client, but CPU usage is only hitting 50% (near 100% on one core)... does it take a while to kick in or does it only spike above that when needed? seems to fluctuate between 49-51%.
You need to start the client with the -smp argument, or set the -smp option in the advanced options. Otherwise it will only use one core, you also have to go into your install directory and run the install.bat file.

Can I fold with my 4850? Folding with my E7200 @ 3.8 doesn't seem to be going very fast..

And its only making Core0 go up, how do I get it to do multicore?
Same as above, use the smp argument. You can fold on your 4850 using the gpu2 client.
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
I am trying to find the right mix of OC settings that avoid getting the "mdrun_gpu returned -1" message. See below. The funny thing is, I can OC this 8800GT stable to 750 core and 2100 memory and test til the cows come home with furmark, various benchmarks, gaming, etc... The GPU is watercooled and hits in the 48C range in a warm (26C) room.

But when I leave it folding then about 1 run out of 5 or so I get the unstable machine message. The funny thing is it ALWAYS happens at the very end of the run, right after the "Completed 100%" message. I have backed off the OC all the way to 700 core and 1900 memory and I still get the occasional error. I went down to 680 core and 1900 memory and it seemed to run a few days without errors. It just seems to me that is a LOOOONG way from the 750/2100 settings that I can game at with confidence.

I have 2 other overclocked cards that run fine without these errors. A 8800GT @ 700 core, 2000 memory and a 9600GT @ 740 core, 2140 memory.

Is it possible this can be the OC on my CPU causing the issue? E8400 @ 3.88GHz. Maybe I am chasing the wrong problem?

==================================================================

[13:07:39] Completed 92%
[13:08:58] Completed 93%
[13:10:18] Completed 94%
[13:11:37] Completed 95%
[13:12:57] Completed 96%
[13:14:17] Completed 97%
[13:15:36] Completed 98%
[13:16:56] Completed 99%
[13:18:15] Completed 100%
[13:18:15] mdrun_gpu returned -1
[13:18:15] Going to send back what have done.
[13:18:16] logfile size: 127747 info=127747 bed=0 hdr=25
[13:18:16] - Writing 128285 bytes of core data to disk...
[13:18:16] Done: 127773 -> 12800 (compressed to 10.0 percent)
[13:18:16] ... Done.
[13:18:16]
[13:18:16] Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
[13:18:20] CoreStatus = 7A (122)
[13:18:20] Sending work to server
[13:18:20] Project: 5015 (Run 6, Clone 456, Gen 52)
[13:18:20] - Read packet limit of 540015616... Set to 524286976.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
I am trying to find the right mix of OC settings that avoid getting the "mdrun_gpu returned -1" message. See below. The funny thing is, I can OC this 8800GT stable to 750 core and 2100 memory and test til the cows come home with furmark, various benchmarks, gaming, etc... The GPU is watercooled and hits in the 48C range in a warm (26C) room.

But when I leave it folding then about 1 run out of 5 or so I get the unstable machine message. The funny thing is it ALWAYS happens at the very end of the run, right after the "Completed 100%" message. I have backed off the OC all the way to 700 core and 1900 memory and I still get the occasional error. I went down to 680 core and 1900 memory and it seemed to run a few days without errors. It just seems to me that is a LOOOONG way from the 750/2100 settings that I can game at with confidence.

I have 2 other overclocked cards that run fine without these errors. A 8800GT @ 700 core, 2000 memory and a 9600GT @ 740 core, 2140 memory.

Is it possible this can be the OC on my CPU causing the issue? E8400 @ 3.88GHz. Maybe I am chasing the wrong problem?

==================================================================

[13:07:39] Completed 92%
[13:08:58] Completed 93%
[13:10:18] Completed 94%
[13:11:37] Completed 95%
[13:12:57] Completed 96%
[13:14:17] Completed 97%
[13:15:36] Completed 98%
[13:16:56] Completed 99%
[13:18:15] Completed 100%
[13:18:15] mdrun_gpu returned -1
[13:18:15] Going to send back what have done.
[13:18:16] logfile size: 127747 info=127747 bed=0 hdr=25
[13:18:16] - Writing 128285 bytes of core data to disk...
[13:18:16] Done: 127773 -> 12800 (compressed to 10.0 percent)
[13:18:16] ... Done.
[13:18:16]
[13:18:16] Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
[13:18:20] CoreStatus = 7A (122)
[13:18:20] Sending work to server
[13:18:20] Project: 5015 (Run 6, Clone 456, Gen 52)
[13:18:20] - Read packet limit of 540015616... Set to 524286976.
Have you unlocked the shader clock from the core clock? GPU2 is shader intensive. Find your shader threshold first, then start bringing the core and mem up. For example, this is my 8800GS set-up
Core - 750mhz
Shaders - 1758mhz
Memory - 898mhz
Fans @ 80%
Yeilds 4937PPD on a 480pt WU

Also, are you running a single or dual card set-up? Single card set-ups have the clocks set higher on the shaders only (1836mhz) for my applications. Like any overclocking, you have to find the sweet spot. Just remember that shaders are the rule with GPU2.