• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TPU's F@H Team

Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
878 (0.23/day)
Likes
201
Location
Overseas
System Name Old School
Processor Q6600 2.4Ghz @ 3.15Ghz (350x9, B3, Lapped)
Motherboard GA-P35C-DS3R (Ver. F4)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX-2 (Lapped)
Memory 2x2GB OCZ DDR2-1066 @ 534.0mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850
Storage Seagate 750GB, WD Caviar 120GB, WD Raptor 150GB
Display(s) LG 19" LCD L1952
Case Enermax Phoenix
Audio Device(s) Audigy X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W
Software Vista Home Premium X32 SP1
I've been getting weird issues ever since I started running 2 SMP clients on my Quad. My screen will go black after running the GPU client and it's like 5-9% on a WU and Vista will say the device driver stopped responding and recovered, ect. Then when I restart the GPU client it gives the Early WU end error. However, both SMP clients are running fine. I also tried reinstalling video drivers. I don't get any device driver failures while playing games.

All three client are on different Machine ID's. Does the GPU client need the '-local' tag now too or is it something else?
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.32/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
It's resolved now, I guess I just wasn't patient enough before. My 9600GSO is really running at a poor performance right now, but I'm fairly positive it's because of the second pci express slot I have is only running at x4. At least, I think so...It's a gigabyte p35-ds4 rev 2.0.

And I have two new additions arriving this weekend as well...

I'll have my 6000+ and onboard ATI Radeon 3200 HD serverish computer
And a PS3 will join
=)
x4 slots do not slow down GPU2. You are missing almost 2k ppd from the GSO. Does Rivatuner allow both cards to be overclocked?
 

xazraelx

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
179 (0.05/day)
Likes
10
Processor i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard EVGA x58
Cooling HAF 932
Memory 3x2 Gskills
Video Card(s) Dying 4890 1gb
Storage Too many
Case HAF 932
Software Win7
x4 slots do not slow down GPU2. You are missing almost 2k ppd from the GSO. Does Rivatuner allow both cards to be overclocked?
I barely overclocked it, just to see what the gains from a small increase were and now I'm up to 2880 ppd on the GSO. I still don't know where it's all going, but I'm confident I should be able to hit 3.3k or so with a stable overclock.

Edit: But to answer your question, yes, it does. And my timings for everything seem to be drastically lower than what I've seen quite a few 8800GS run at...and I believe they are the same card, no? Either way, if I don't go home this weekend I'll try to pump it up to see how much I get...I really don't need the 9600GSO to be stable, either. I'm just using it to display a monitor and to handle the PhysX graphics which I don't really utilize. Everything else is done through the 8800GT, I'm fairly positive. I could be wrong though, I am certainly no expert when it comes to dual graphics cards.
 
Last edited:

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,237 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,843
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
Hey,

I'm helping 'Bow' out, who's just started folding for us. He's got 2x 8800GT's but only 1 monitor, running on Vista 32bit. Every guide i've found on multi-gpu folding says you need 2 monitors and to extend the desktop. Has anyone found a way of doing it without the second monitor?

Thanks.
 

xazraelx

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
179 (0.05/day)
Likes
10
Processor i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard EVGA x58
Cooling HAF 932
Memory 3x2 Gskills
Video Card(s) Dying 4890 1gb
Storage Too many
Case HAF 932
Software Win7
There's a workaround that involves using both cords that the monitor can use (ie, if it has a dvi and a whatever that other thing is called), then plug one cord into the main 8800GT, and the other into the second 8800GT (just check extend desktop onto it...nothing will happen, of course, but still). There's a guide around somewhere, I'll try to find it for you.

Here's one thing I found:
http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=3712&p=35916&hilit=monitor+resistor#p35916
 
Last edited:

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.32/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Hey,

I'm helping 'Bow' out, who's just started folding for us. He's got 2x 8800GT's but only 1 monitor, running on Vista 32bit. Every guide i've found on multi-gpu folding says you need 2 monitors and to extend the desktop. Has anyone found a way of doing it without the second monitor?

Thanks.
Does Bow have a TV that he can run the S-Video to from the 2nd card? I have done this in Vista64. I am looking into inventing in cheap VGA dummy plugs that I can mail to members in need.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,869 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,806
Location
South of Planet Earth
System Name SLOW-MO-SHUN II
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 1600X 6-Core 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Pro4
Cooling AMD stock cooler, 6 case fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 2400MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage SEAGATE 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB ------SAMSUNG 250GB Solid State Drive SATA III
Display(s) Asus 24" widescreen 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 200R Black Steel
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SEASONIC 620 W E/P
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Does Bow have a TV that he can run the S-Video to from the 2nd card? I have done this in Vista64. I am looking into inventing in cheap VGA dummy plugs that I can mail to members in need.
My tv is to far away, I do have a second monitor but no place to put it:banghead: keep the ideas comming.
I have to work all weekend, but am going to work on overclocking the cards when I can.

Once I get both cards Folding may get the cpu going also.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,609 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,336
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
My tv is to far away, I do have a second monitor but no place to put it:banghead: keep the ideas comming.
I have to work all weekend, but am going to work on overclocking the cards when I can.

Once I get both cards Folding may get the cpu going also.
set it on the floor it only needs to be there to get things started!
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,869 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,806
Location
South of Planet Earth
System Name SLOW-MO-SHUN II
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 1600X 6-Core 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Pro4
Cooling AMD stock cooler, 6 case fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 2400MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage SEAGATE 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB ------SAMSUNG 250GB Solid State Drive SATA III
Display(s) Asus 24" widescreen 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 200R Black Steel
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SEASONIC 620 W E/P
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Ok then what do I have to do?
 

xazraelx

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
179 (0.05/day)
Likes
10
Processor i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard EVGA x58
Cooling HAF 932
Memory 3x2 Gskills
Video Card(s) Dying 4890 1gb
Storage Too many
Case HAF 932
Software Win7
Unplug it after you start the clients. That's all.

And buck, there are already VGA dummies for sale around ~15 a piece (not worth it to me, 3 dummies = one 9600GSO)
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.32/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Unplug it after you start the clients. That's all.

And buck, there are already VGA dummies for sale around ~15 a piece (not worth it to me, 3 dummies = one 9600GSO)
I can solder em' up for a few dollars each. I'm pretty handy like that:D
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,869 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,806
Location
South of Planet Earth
System Name SLOW-MO-SHUN II
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 1600X 6-Core 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Pro4
Cooling AMD stock cooler, 6 case fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 2400MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage SEAGATE 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB ------SAMSUNG 250GB Solid State Drive SATA III
Display(s) Asus 24" widescreen 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 200R Black Steel
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SEASONIC 620 W E/P
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Rookie question, when Folding with 2 gpu's you turn sli off. I do alot of gaming, so can I turn sli on to play or will is screw things up?
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.32/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Rookie question, when Folding with 2 gpu's you turn sli off. I do alot of gaming, so can I turn sli on to play or will is screw things up?
If you are gonna fold and play games at the same time, leave SLI off. SLI cannot be on at anytime while folding. I also find that i must drop my primary cards clocks to stock or she crashes mid-game. This is only when playing games BTW.
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
I need some help please! I know I SUCK - don't need to mention.

I just want to add the statistics info. Just like Buck_Nasty have. I edited my signature adding the link:

http://folding.extremeoverclocking....aaaaaaa&c2=000000&c3=000000&c4=0000CC&c5=aaaa

But the result is just the link, not showing the square info.

Thanks

Here is the cut and paste from my signature that seems to work. You would just need to substitute your user number and replace the two spots with "xxx" with "URL" and the "zzz" with "IMG"

[xxx=http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?u=355603][zzz]http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=355603[/zzz][/xxx]
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,869 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,806
Location
South of Planet Earth
System Name SLOW-MO-SHUN II
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 1600X 6-Core 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Pro4
Cooling AMD stock cooler, 6 case fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 2400MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage SEAGATE 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB ------SAMSUNG 250GB Solid State Drive SATA III
Display(s) Asus 24" widescreen 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 200R Black Steel
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SEASONIC 620 W E/P
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
stupid question, can't find my user number.
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
Here is the cut and paste from my signature that seems to work. You would just need to substitute your user number and replace the two spots with "xxx" with "URL" and the "zzz" with "IMG"

[xxx=http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?u=355603][zzz]http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=355603[/zzz][/xxx]
Thanks very much for the effort Daddio!!

But... :banghead: as you can see below, is still showing only the link! goddamn...

[xRL=http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?u=376693][/IMG]http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=376693[/IMG][/xRL]

x = U
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Thanks very much for the effort Daddio!!

But... :banghead: as you can see below, is still showing only the link! goddamn...
you put a slash at the first , remove it.

the / means end, and is only used on the last one, not the first one.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Cheers Mussels!! I own you one!

Do you drink Corona Extra?

Thanks very much to you and Daddio
never drank it. not exactly a common beer here in aus.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.32/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Holy Crap!

Do you guy realize how many points we are cranking out each week? At out current average of 143k ppd we will have 1.01 Million points per week!:eek: Is anyone having trouble getting cards up and running??? Please post so we can get it sorted out. Great work and Keep Folding!!!


 
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,869 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,806
Location
South of Planet Earth
System Name SLOW-MO-SHUN II
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 1600X 6-Core 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Pro4
Cooling AMD stock cooler, 6 case fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 2400MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage SEAGATE 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB ------SAMSUNG 250GB Solid State Drive SATA III
Display(s) Asus 24" widescreen 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 200R Black Steel
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SEASONIC 620 W E/P
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
I am a dumbass when it come to software, copying files and what not, so to get the other card going is going to take me some time...:laugh...sry

I want to get my q6600 folding also, can someone get me a link, and some tips to get the best performance out of my proc.

Thanks:toast:
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
Location
Germany
Do you guy realize how many points we are cranking out each week? At out current average of 143k ppd we will have 1.01 Million points per week!:eek: Is anyone having trouble getting cards up and running??? Please post so we can get it sorted out. Great work and Keep Folding!!!

Hey Buck, Great numbers!

But I'm not very happy with my numbers.

Do you think ATI cards will get a better performance in a near future? I already replaced a HD 3850 to a 8800 GTS G92 (spent $ 160.00) and I went from 2K PPD to 6K!! I'm impressed with nVidia!!

That's the deal:

I'm whiling to spend $ 300.00 more and get 2 9800GT, replacing my 2 HD 3870.

What do you think?
 

Attachments