1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's GTX460 Club

Discussion in 'TechPowerUp Club Forum' started by puma99dk|, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,419 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,878
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    HAHA! My GTX 560Ti ships today :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yeah yeah yeah
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,419 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,878
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    GTX 560 TI vs GTX 460 SLI?

    More than likely the SLI will win but we can do some tests. I will download vantage :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I'm bottlenecked. It will be close dude. Let me know when you get it. Woot
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Which program can I use to test my GPU overclock? Furmark? But it doesn't really stress the memory...
     
  6. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    948 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    NorCal
    I use OCCT. If it can pass that without errors I know its fine for my gaming.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What settings do you use in OCCT and how long do you run it?
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,868 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,548
    I use furmark for about 5 minutes. No need to overly stress your card using these applications as it can do harm to them.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well I have tested my card 30 mins furmark stable but got artefacts in BF3 :) (or maybe that was a BF3 glitch?)
     
  10. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    Forgot to update my entry a long time ago. Now running 2x1gb Gigabytes 800core@1.087v. Can't remember the memory speed since I'm away now.

    Still takes anything I throw at it.
     
  11. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    [​IMG]

    Seems to run 3DMark 11 fine :)

    860/1125 1.05v 3D Performance, 2D and low 3D performance 0.825v

    edit- but not all games, lowered ram to 1090 and runs all games no problem.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2012
  12. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Just bought the Accelero XTREME Plus for 27 euros for my GTX 460

    beast cooler if you ask me, going to OC my gtx460 to 900mhz with the new cooler.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    948 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    NorCal
    I put an AC Accelero Twin Turbo II on mine. Its more than enough

    http://www.mwave.com/mwave/SKUSearch.asp?px=FO&scriteria=AA79371

    Sounds like you got a very good price for Xtreme though. Even with the Twin Turbo II I can't go higher than 875 Mhz with my PNY GTX 460. It never gets hotter than 56C with the fan on auto and I've adjust the voltage to various levels. It just refuses to go any higher than that. Kind of disappointing, but it still games pretty well.

    I just noticed your question about OCCT. I think about ten to fifteen minutes.
     
    mudkip says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    which voltages do you use? I think mine would run 900MHz stable @ 1.10v of maybe 1.11v but I'm not sure. Can't test it with stock cooler.
     
  15. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    948 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    NorCal
    1.062. I tried it at the maximum Afterburner would allow and it still would have artifacts and corruption. I suppose I could try it higher, but I doubt even then I could go much above 875 Mhz and the performance difference in games would be minor. Some cards just OC better than others and PNY apparently is on the lower end of the scale. Prior to installing the Twin Turbo I couldn't go higher than 815 Mhz (it had a reference cooler).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    How many slots does the Twin Turbo II take up? Are they a direct fit on reference 460's?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,419 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,878
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I get the same thing with my 560TI, I can OC and pass about 10-15 minutes on kombuster/furmark wide open but will only play BF3 for like 2 minutes before hard lock. At stock clocks it plays no problems :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    948 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    NorCal
    Two and a slight overhang into the third, so for all intents and purposes its three. Yeah, it was a direct fit. The installation only took about 15 minutes - the hardest part and longest wait was applying the heatsinks and waiting for the thermal glue to cure (which is removable should you need to take them off). I'm not super handy with fiddly things like this and even I got it installed with no drama.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Crap. No any other coolers that would do 2 slots max?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Arctic Twin Turbo, Zalman 3000
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Which version 3000?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    948 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    NorCal
    Zalman 3000 is a triple slot.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Guess I'm looking at either swapping out my cards or going watercooling. Twin turbo 1 looks to be 3 slot also.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,499 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    canada
    I have a gtx 460 SE and was looking into over clocking it a bit for bf3. What kind of clock should i be getting with this card and what would yo say a max safe gamming temp would be?
    I will upload gpuz shot when i get home.
     
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    900 core is slim and rare on the SE parts, leave mem clock alone it barely nets any performance gain ALTHOUGH with BF3 and it being vram biased it MAY help. So I would say max 865core max volts 1.14v max temps 75C.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)