1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,976 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,269
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Mine is a 800 mhz proc with a Rage Fury pro and a Aureal Vortex 2 SQ2500.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    849 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    Finland
    Gotta love that Backfire's setup.. :toast:

    Voodoo2 SLI? Well I guess I will put a photo of my "not in #1PC" graphics cards in a moment ;)
     
  3. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,150 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Canada
    Ronnie James Dio don't need that cooler casue he's born in hell! ;)
     
  4. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    849 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    Finland
    Sorry for a double post but this needs its own IMO :)

    Left to right: Matrox Millennium II (don't remember the RAM size), GF4 MX420 64MB, Radeon 9200 128MB, 6600GT 128MB (broken... damn!), X1650Pro 256MB and HD2900GT 256MB. Also some beer in the glass :toast:

    and sorry for the image quality, iPhone 4's camera just sucks :(
     

    Attached Files:

    stinger608 says thanks.
  5. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,150 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Canada

    If you were not that far I could have get it !

    I have 4 sticks of 512megs PC133, many psu, many agp cards, a sound blaster sound card, IDE hard drive and optical ide dvd.

    BTW here's the manual for this mobo http://www.motherboards.org/files/manuals/1/cuv4xd-100.pdf
     
    stinger608 and 9700 Pro say thanks.
  6. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    849 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    Finland
    Crap. I need somewhere a 100% working S754 CPU, dunno if the mobo or CPU is defect... or both. :|

    S754 set doesn't boot.. :(
     
  7. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,150 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Canada
    Too far also I had 2 of them in stock. a Sempron2800 and athlon 64 3200+
     
  8. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    849 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    Finland
    Canada is yeah too far to Finland.. :D Maybe I'll just wait :)

    Just put a "buying" thread to finnish HW site MuroBBS that I want a Athlon Thunderbird s462 what goes over 1500MHz on air.. :toast:
     
  9. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,992 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,668
    Location:
    Vinewood
    My first graphic card:
    [​IMG]

    ATI X300
    I had an acer aspire with pentium 4-630

    Other graphic cards i had:
    x1600pro
    [​IMG]
    XFX 6800GS XXX
    [​IMG]
    x1600xt
    [​IMG]
    Powercolor X1950PRO
    [​IMG]
    Gigabyte HD3870, was a superb overclocker! I used a ThermalRight heatsink on this one.
    [​IMG]
    Gigabyte HD4870, same here, superb overclocker! I used a ThermalRight heatsink.
    [​IMG]
    HIS 4870
    [​IMG]
    GT425M
    GTX770M
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2014
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    849 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    Finland
    Classic shit P4-630! I loved my Club 3D 6800GS <3
     
    P4-630 says thanks.
  11. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    849 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    Finland
    Sorry for (again) a double post...

    Gonna get Nokia N8 and E6 prototype for 50€ :toast:
     
  12. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,150 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi guys and girls.

    I decided to jump on the deal a friend made to me a one month old motherboard for 30$ and rebuild myself a setup.

    Mobo : G31M-GS R2.0 (30$)
    CPU : 6300 SL9SA 1.86gig/2M/1066FSB (Going on overclock at least 2.5gigs) (Junk)
    CPU cooler : CoolerMaster Vortex 752 (15$)
    Memory : (4gigs) 2gigs Kingston KVR800D2N5/2G + 2gigs Transcend JM800QLU-2G (Junk)
    Graphic : Asus EN9800GT HB/HTDI/512M/A (Junk)
    Optical : DVD-RW LG GH22NS70 (Sata2) (35$ back in time)
    Hard disk : Samsung Spinpoint SP2504C (Sata2) (Junk)
    Power supply : Enermax NoiseTaker 2 EG495P-VE (2$..yeah you've read right!)
    Case : Aerocool Qx-2000 (120$ back in time and used it in many setup already)

    Will probably add a 3.5" cards reader and use it for Office, Youtube, Facebook, Downloading, Battlefield 2 multiplayer. Maybe time to open my nib Arkham asylum to try it.

    Total cost of the setup 47$. Junk parts are parts i got from people who don't want anymore, municipal ecologic recycling depot and even on roadside the day of garbage.


    DSCF0080.JPG
     
  13. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    849 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    Finland
    JunkBear: Damn what a sweet set! :toast:
     
    JunkBear says thanks.
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,844 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,060
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    too bad none of them are still owned :D tsk tsk

    also i really need to find a SIS 6326 3D Pro AGP (i think i saw one pretty affordable on Ebay ... ) that was my 1st AGP card... i had it in a K6-2 build (1st self assembled one ) i still have the Heatsink of it ... tho xD

    oh well i need a G31 mobo for my spare 6300 or ... to use the 6700 2.66(1$) that replaced my 6300 1.86 i had in my DC7700p(free) with 4gb DDR800 Corsair XMS2 (free) ... hu... i love the DC7700p for internet/video/and retro XP gaming ... (ok the R7-240 is a bit too much... ) ... man i wan't a Wolfdale CPU back .... too much Conroe in my collection ...
     
    stinger608 and JunkBear say thanks.
  15. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,992 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,668
    Location:
    Vinewood
    My first own computer was a casio palmtop pc with windows CE.
    I ordered a modem for it and I could use the internet (dial up).
    [​IMG]
    After that I had a laptop from packard (hell)bell with 2Ghz celeron, no wifi and cam in it at that time.
    Amazingly I could play GTA Vice City on that laptop! :p The laptop had soon overheating issues, I used it a lot for 3d rendering and that was just too much for that laptop, I replaced the celeron 2Ghz processor once for a used P4 1.8Ghz, short after that I sold it.
    After that I bought a normal pc, Acer Aspire,
    (something like this but then with Pentium 4 630)
    [​IMG]
    had it several years, upgraded graphics card and later on I had build my own system with Lian Li case, I was happy with it.
    Later on I bought an Asus laptop, and just recently I bought this Asus ROG laptop, I'm happy with it :D
    My dad still uses my pc which has a cpu e7200, gpu HD 4870, 4gb geil ram , windows vista.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2014
    stinger608 and JunkBear say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Another try with the digicam. It's not really as easy as it seems. When you want a clean white background, the cards always look somehow artificial. Maybe I'll test some other lighting later and the pics get better.

    A-Trend Helios 3D 1200 02.jpg

    Diamond Monster 3D 1200 02.JPG

    test.jpg

    As I see in this moment, 1 chip of the Diamond Monster seems broken, but its only dust ;).
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2014
  17. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,992 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,668
    Location:
    Vinewood
    From what year are those cards? Are they the competition of the ati 9800 cards?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    These cards are afair from 1997. They are years older than the Radeon 9800. Also they are just 3D-accelerators, you need another (2D) graphics-adapter to make them run. The Voodoo Graphics-Chipset was the first way to have (for the time they were on the market) performant 3D-graphics on the PC.
     
    P4-630 says thanks.
  19. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    115 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    175
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    The original Voodoo Graphics was introduced in October 1996. That was around the same time that ATI introduced the Rage II.

    Radeon 9800 was introduced in March 2003.

    The other player in 3D graphics chips at the time of the early Voodoo cards was 3DLabs. Their first Permedia chips were out at around the same time, but I don't yet have an exact date for them. Permedia 2 was launched around summer 1997.
     
  20. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    My precious RFM's and the only Permedia 2 I got.

    ATI Rage Fury MAXX #1 1200 01.jpg ATI Rage Fury MAXX #1 & 2 1400 01.jpg 142.jpg
     
  21. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    375 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    found this in my dad's old boxes :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Backfire, JunkBear, Peter1986C and 4 others say thanks.
  22. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    115 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    175
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    I have one Permedia 2 with me, and another coming soon from my drop shipper in the US. The card I have here is a Diamond Fire GL 1000 Pro 8MB AGP, the other is the AccelGraphics AccelSTAR II I recently posted a pic of. I've bought a few 3DLabs cards recently (most collectors don't seem to be jumping on them and pushing prices up!).
     
    Peter1986C and stinger608 say thanks.
  23. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    I'm not really interested in the Permedia because there were better chips, but it's an interesting piece of hardware though. As I'm collecting old hardware, there will be always a place, even for the 2nd winner ;).
    From 3Dlabs/ dynamic pictures I've got some cad-cards. The OXYGEN 402 is really a beauty, and the Wildcat III 6110 would be nice to test in an older dual CPU- system. Unfortunately my dual socket A has no AGP Pro-slot. I think it would fit pretty well. I have got an Asus A7M266-D dual socket A board with AGP Pro- slot, but just because of the slot, I won't change from Tyan Tiger MPX to the boring Asus- board ;).

    3Dlabs Wildcat VP760.JPG 3Dlabs Wildcat III 6110 1600 02B.JPG Dynamic_Pictures_Oxygen 202.JPG 3Dlabs-dynamic pictures OXYGEN 402 1600 01.jpg

    These are old pics with a little fresh paint. Maybe I'm taking some new pics this evening, but I should be working on the Thai-Chi/ Crossfire system/ case, instead of posting in hw-boards ... .
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2014
  24. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,816 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Looks like that Wildcat 760 has a bulging cap :eek:
     
    stinger608 and Backfire say thanks.
  25. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Thanks for the good eye. I even don't know if the card is working. Never tested it ;). But a bulging cap should be no problem (I'm using Epox EP-8K5A3+ boards for my Voodoo 5- systems, so I'm used to exchange caps ).
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 member and 2 guests)

francisw19