• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
1,133 (0.71/day)
Location
EU
System Name RetroMaster 2500
Processor Athlon XP 1800+
Motherboard Asus A7V8X-X, ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Jet7
Memory 2x 256MB DDR1, 400MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce4 Titanium 4200, 2x 3dfx Voodoo2 1000 12Mb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB (ATA), Seagate Barracuda 40GB (ATA)
Display(s) LG StudioWorks 57M
Case Cooler Master, ATX
Audio Device(s) Diamond Monster MX300, Creative WaveBlaster II
Power Supply 300W, ATX
Mouse Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Keyboard Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Software Windows 98 2nd Edition, Windows XP Home (SP1)
Decided not to build another Pentium II rig, after all... As much as I hate to say this, 6th would be one too many ;)


Still, I'm keeping the board (obviously!) With so many Slot-1 systems in my collection (at least 15 in total) it's only a matter of time before something goes wrong, so it'll be nice to have a fully working spare!
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
544 (0.45/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Ryzen Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i RGB Platinum
Memory Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, OCZ 500Gb SSD WD M.2 500Gb, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX on board
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64 Start 10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy 4532
I'm pretty sure I once had a Legend QDI, but I must have sold it, probably as a working system a few years ago.
Anyway, I'm still without a case on my Pentium II 350 project with XP installed to SP3. I even managed to activate it over the Net, which surprised me and I've since learnt that you can only do this if SP3 is installed.
Then I forgot the LAN cable was still connected, went out to do a few jobs and came back to find 130 Windows updates, which took forever to install. Updates have been switched off now as more of a nuisance and I don't intend to use the Net with the one.
I also found my old Gainward Geforce 3 64Mb which I remember buying at Overclockers UK (Stafford) back in 2000. Anyway, Half Life runs a treat, so does DX Diag, so the card is still in good working order.
Except that TR2 will only play in pixelated mode for some reason.
This really is a lot of fun and I haven't done it for ages, what with writing the book and everything.
xp-activate.jpg

geforce3-gainward.jpg

PII-bench.jpg

PII-half-life.jpg
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,587 (4.50/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
That's great, but would you mind if I ask you - why XP?! That Pentium II (not to mention the Voodoo card) would be SO much happier with Windows 98, Second Edition! (the one from the pic)
Ain't that the truth. I once installed XP on a 300MHz Pentium 2 machine. Then I tried to browse eBay on it. Frustratingly slow...
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
1,133 (0.71/day)
Location
EU
System Name RetroMaster 2500
Processor Athlon XP 1800+
Motherboard Asus A7V8X-X, ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Jet7
Memory 2x 256MB DDR1, 400MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce4 Titanium 4200, 2x 3dfx Voodoo2 1000 12Mb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB (ATA), Seagate Barracuda 40GB (ATA)
Display(s) LG StudioWorks 57M
Case Cooler Master, ATX
Audio Device(s) Diamond Monster MX300, Creative WaveBlaster II
Power Supply 300W, ATX
Mouse Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Keyboard Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Software Windows 98 2nd Edition, Windows XP Home (SP1)
I'm pretty sure I once had a Legend QDI, but I must have sold it, probably as a working system a few years ago.
Anyway, I'm still without a case on my Pentium II 350 project with XP installed to SP3. I even managed to activate it over the Net, which surprised me and I've since learnt that you can only do this if SP3 is installed.
Then I forgot the LAN cable was still connected, went out to do a few jobs and came back to find 130 Windows updates, which took forever to install. Updates have been switched off now as more of a nuisance and I don't intend to use the Net with the one.
I also found my old Gainward Geforce 3 64Mb which I remember buying at Overclockers UK (Stafford) back in 2000. Anyway, Half Life runs a treat, so does DX Diag, so the card is still in good working order.
Except that TR2 will only play in pixelated mode for some reason.
This really is a lot of fun and I haven't done it for ages, what with writing the book and everything.
View attachment 122287

View attachment 122288

View attachment 122289

View attachment 122290
Hmm... I would highly recommend that you keep the XP stock & off the internet. Poor thing just doesn't have what it takes to handle SP3, it barely even runs SP2 to be completely honest. In fact, I just booted up XP Professional on an old Athlon 1000 last night, but it kept on stalling at 100% CPU usage all the time & couldn't handle anything else. And that was a 1GHz, yours is 350. Again, I know you're doing so for fun, but I hope you understand, Pentium II was not designed to handle XP, especially not the latest SP3.

And pixelated mode is known as "Software Rendering" mode, due to the fact that TR2 couldn't detect appropriate 3D accelerator. See, this is exactly what I was telling you about, these things happen when you mix together older & newer software/hardware. I'm assuming this problem wouldn't exist under Win98/ME, but then again it could have been due to your choice of graphics - TR2 was designed to run on older PCI cards & 3dfx Voodoo! Maybe you could try with unofficial patch or an update, to compensate for this issue?

Ain't that the truth. I once installed XP on a 300MHz Pentium 2 machine. Then I tried to browse eBay on it. Frustratingly slow...
I don't mean to brag, but I have tons of experience with Slot 1 systems, ESPECIALLY PII 350. In fact, my very first "modern" computer, after upgrading from 4x86 DX2 was a Pentium II, 350. I still have have that machine here in my room, except it is now unfortunately housed inside generic (and modern) ATX case ... the original one is long gone, and I was never able to find another, identical one :(

Then, as I got into older computers, I've started making these for fun. So I've made another PII system, which is pretty much the clone of my own system from back in a day. Then I wanted to raise the stakes, so I made a Voodoo2 SLI system, powered by PII 350. I even made a Voodoo3 2000, also powered by the same processor. Overall I tried just about every single combination I could think of! :) Which is why I'm familiar with these things & know what (and how much) to expect from them. I also had a WinXP on my system back in early 2000s, it was a temporary solution before I upgraded to S423 Pentium 4. Come to think of it, I still used my Pentium 2 for a while longer after that, and it had XP Home edition, SP2 but as MS was pushing out the updates every once in a while, things got slower & slower, to the point where it was taken out of service. In fact, I believe that was around 2005, 2006, when I decided to revert the Pentium II back to its original form & use it for retro gaming. Because it was either that, or to scrap the entire thing & throw it into the dumpster (which is exactly what everyone told me to do, back then). It was too modern to be a classic, yet it was too old & outdated to be anything else. Which is why hundreds (thousands) of these ended up being recycled or simply abandoned & sold for scrap/recycling.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
544 (0.45/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Ryzen Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i RGB Platinum
Memory Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, OCZ 500Gb SSD WD M.2 500Gb, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX on board
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64 Start 10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy 4532
You're right about XP @Trekkie4 , so I'll be installing Win 98 instead during the weekend.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
1,180 (0.50/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
You're right about XP @Trekkie4 , so I'll be installing Win 98 instead during the weekend.
Depends on what you're doing.
The PII's run just fine on XP sp3.....just slow. It's the preferred OS if you're benching these........with a few exceptions in the 3D benches.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
1,133 (0.71/day)
Location
EU
System Name RetroMaster 2500
Processor Athlon XP 1800+
Motherboard Asus A7V8X-X, ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Jet7
Memory 2x 256MB DDR1, 400MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce4 Titanium 4200, 2x 3dfx Voodoo2 1000 12Mb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB (ATA), Seagate Barracuda 40GB (ATA)
Display(s) LG StudioWorks 57M
Case Cooler Master, ATX
Audio Device(s) Diamond Monster MX300, Creative WaveBlaster II
Power Supply 300W, ATX
Mouse Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Keyboard Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Software Windows 98 2nd Edition, Windows XP Home (SP1)
Depends on what you're doing.
The PII's run just fine on XP sp3.....just slow. It's the preferred OS if you're benching these........with a few exceptions in the 3D benches.
Which is what I said... Yes, it will work, but it has a huge impact on the performance & will slow PII down to a crawl. Especially if you want to play the game(s) such as Half-Life... ;)
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
1,133 (0.71/day)
Location
EU
System Name RetroMaster 2500
Processor Athlon XP 1800+
Motherboard Asus A7V8X-X, ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Jet7
Memory 2x 256MB DDR1, 400MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce4 Titanium 4200, 2x 3dfx Voodoo2 1000 12Mb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB (ATA), Seagate Barracuda 40GB (ATA)
Display(s) LG StudioWorks 57M
Case Cooler Master, ATX
Audio Device(s) Diamond Monster MX300, Creative WaveBlaster II
Power Supply 300W, ATX
Mouse Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Keyboard Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Software Windows 98 2nd Edition, Windows XP Home (SP1)
Have any luck finding out what you've got on hand?
No, not yet. I know where it is (I think), I just need to take some time to actually do it. Been having crapload of problems ever since 2019 started, so I just need to wait for that right moment ... hopefully! :)
OK, so let's take this from the top... ECS board. I was too lazy to remove it from the static bag, but it seems to be "N2U400 - A, REV: 1.0A" Last time I checked, fully operational. As I already explained in one of my previous posts, it was going to be another AMD build, which never happened. Sooo, there it is :)


Moving on...

QDI board had been disassembled, CPU mounting rails removed, so that I could fit the entire thing inside the box. This board seems to be in mint condition from what I can tell, so I really don't want to keep this outside, where it can easily get bumped, scratched and/or damaged in any way.


So, as I was digging through my spares, I found this Soyo SY-6BA+. Another Slot-1 board, except this one seems to have Pentium III support. Not sure how fast it can go, as I was given this long time ago & promised that it works, despite few blown capacitors, near the PSU connector. And since I happened to have a spare PSU nearby, including the AGP card, memory stick & power cord, I figured this would be a perfect opportunity to give it a try. Because why not?!


And yes, as you can see, the board DOES appear to boot up. Please ignore the weird-looking colors, this is due to my GF2 AGP card, which seems to have a solder connection issue. I'll most likely remove the heatsink & scrap the card, but it comes in handy for testing purposes, such as this one here :)


Actually, speaking of Slot-1 & Pentium II, I also have yet another 350 in here. I believe this one came with Soyo board, but I'm not 100% sure. Either way, I'm guessing that it works OK. It was never tested, but I have no reasons to believe otherwise *shrug*. The board underneath is "Matsonic", Socket 370. Nothing special, just a regular Mendocino & Coppermine board which was once removed from the case & was placed in here for safekeeping.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
457 (0.10/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2400 @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon RX Vega 56 flashed 64 VBIOS
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case Tecware Nexus M
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD with Kurtzweil KS-40A
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I've been thinking whether to fix the artifacts GPU or not, here's the GPU and the problem
xtpe.jpg

122667


But after watching Louis videos about reballing I have my doubts whether I should go for it or just buy another card. These cards are old to begin with.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Messages
224 (0.10/day)
Location
Nehr'esham
System Name Neverending Story
Processor 9900K / 4790K / 3770K / 8750 / 5800K / 3870K / QX6700 / 6500K / 5750M
Motherboard Gene / Z97X-SOCF / Z77X-UP5 / Z77CROWN-U1D / F2A88X-UP4 / A75-UD4H / IX48-GT3 / BlackOps / FS1r2A75
Cooling HR-22 / Archon SB-E / Mega Shadow / Frio / TRUE-Black
Memory Corsair Dominator GT / GTX / Platinum, G.SKILL Flare / Perfect Storm / Pi / Trident (X/Z)
Case Lancool / Silverstone / Thermaltake / Cubitek
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply 80plus Platinum
Software -
Benchmark Scores -
Joined
Oct 15, 2017
Messages
43 (0.07/day)
Location
Czech Republic
Processor Core i7-8700K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Extreme4
Cooling Scythe Ninja 4
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3100 CL15-17-17-35 CR1 (Corsair)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Xtreme @ ~1800/12300 MHz (170W PL)
Storage Kingston V300 240 GB, Toshiba X300 6 TB
Display(s) Acer XF270HU, HP LP2065
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM650x
Mouse Microsoft Wireless IntelliMouse Explorer 2.0A
Keyboard Cherry Stream 3.0
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Time Spy 7782 https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/20643300
HD 4850 X2 is huge card indeed, especially when compared to the mATX board. :D

Btw - I decided to make GPU Duels with older HW as well, here is the first one - Radeon X1300 Pro vs S3 Chrome S25.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
1,133 (0.71/day)
Location
EU
System Name RetroMaster 2500
Processor Athlon XP 1800+
Motherboard Asus A7V8X-X, ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Jet7
Memory 2x 256MB DDR1, 400MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce4 Titanium 4200, 2x 3dfx Voodoo2 1000 12Mb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB (ATA), Seagate Barracuda 40GB (ATA)
Display(s) LG StudioWorks 57M
Case Cooler Master, ATX
Audio Device(s) Diamond Monster MX300, Creative WaveBlaster II
Power Supply 300W, ATX
Mouse Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Keyboard Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Software Windows 98 2nd Edition, Windows XP Home (SP1)
I'm not really that much into urban exploration & documenting the abandoned buildings, although I /did/ watch couple of vids last year because of the abandoned elevators & old electromechanic relays, something which I always found fascinating & entertaining to watch. Anyhow, for some reason YouTube thought this video would be relevant to me & my interests, and so it ended up being on my "recommended" list. If you're not willing to watch the whole thing, just skip to 15:55 mark. This is where things get interesting, to say at least :)

So apparently, this thing ran non-stop for 10, 15yrs?! Although I sincerely doubt that, my personal estimation would be much less because I doubt that ANY power supply (or cooling fan, for that matter) would keep up working for that long without breaking down. But then again, who knows...? One thing's for certain though, it looks awfully clean & dust-free for something that hasn't been touched in 15yrs. :kookoo:
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
190 (0.10/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Nuclear Quattro III/ Froppy / 002
Processor Intel Core i3-3220 3.30GHz/Pentium MMX 200MHz/ Pentium 3 650MHz
Motherboard ASUS H61M-A / Acorp 5VIA77 REV:A4 / Acorp 6VIA81P-133
Cooling Deepcool / generic cooler / stock cooling
Memory 6GB DDR3 / 256MB PC133 SDRAM (running at 100MHz) / 256MB PC133SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GTX750Ti TwinFrozr 2GB PCI-E/ 3dfx Voodoo3 3000 16MB / MSI Geforce2 Pro 64MB
Storage Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II / IBM DCAA-34330 4.3GB/ Seagate ST310211A 10GB
Display(s) JWS LED2452 Horizon H-W2204S 22" LCD
Case JNC RJA-52 / Agier AT case / none
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio / Yamaha YMF-719 ISA / Soundblaster SB16 Value CT2770
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500XT 500W (recapped) / 200W AT / Deer DR-A300ATX
Mouse Marvo KM400 Mouse / ASUS UT200 USB
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard / Hama K210 Classic
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC / Windows 98 SE/ Windows 2000 Server SP4
Not sure if that much retro, but I managed to fix a LGA1156. Mind you, this was before UEFI was a thing on Core i3/5/7 CPUs :)

The only thing I can't figure out is a problem with the reset signal - trying to reset the PC results in a hang. 4seconds OFF does work however.

Board boots and works fine in Windows 8.1 Pro. PSU is a CWT ISO disguised in a 450W Frontier LC-8460BTX made by L&C/Deer

20190511_095913.jpg


received_428960697917191.jpegreceived_594266961063779.jpeg
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
457 (0.10/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2400 @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon RX Vega 56 flashed 64 VBIOS
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case Tecware Nexus M
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD with Kurtzweil KS-40A
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I've actually done reballing successfully. It has to be done right, but does work.
You convinced me. I send it for repairs today, cross my fingers this will fix it. I want this card to work, its my dream card back in 2004, the best year for gaming IMO.

On unrelated note, I don't know if HD 6950 flashed to 6970 is considered 'nostalgic', the card was released 9 years ago. I put it in my main system just to give it some workout.

123045


It worked beautifully with all shaders unlocked. Undervolted to 970mV from 1100mV reducing heat and noise. Overclocking old card like these are trivial, since there are no more driver optimisation for it.
123047


And run some Crysis with it. There was a time where 30fps was considered a 'bare minimum' for gaming.

123046
 
Last edited:
Top