• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,284 (2.51/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Also, from the original post:



however, the link isn't working any longer. Not sure if we can dig up this patch somewhere.
This link mentions a patch related to the 3850 AGP on Socket A.

Is this the patch @stinger608?

VirusTotal: No engines detected this file
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,842 (0.97/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 2004)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
Even on 486 and socket 4?
Yup also if you have a copy of ME laying around copy the defrag program to 98's windows/system folder for better quicker defragging
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
61 (0.91/day)
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Macho Rev.B
Memory 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400MHz CL10
Video Card(s) Asus HD7970 @ 1135/1750 + Prolimatech MK-26 + 2x 140mm
Storage 256GB Toshiba Q Pro MLC + 500GB WD VelociRaptor
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced USB 3.0 + Lamptron FC6
Audio Device(s) Audiotrak Prodigy Cube Black (JRC MUSES 8820D) + CAL (recabled)
Power Supply 750W Enermax Platimax
Mouse Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
@phill
Have you tried installing newer drivers for the GPU? I see you're on 9.4. The latest XP driver supporting HD3000 series is 14.4. I've had no issues with that one.

I've tried the 9800 AIW and the X1650 Pro card, they seem to be working perfectly in the NF7-S as they install the drivers... but they didn't in the Asrock board
Catalyst 9.4 only supports HD2000 series and newer.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 12, 2015
Messages
102 (0.05/day)
Location
Croatia
System Name Coffee Lake
Processor Intel Core I7-8700K
Motherboard Asus RoG Maximus X Hero Wi-Fi AC
Cooling NZXT Kraker x72
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 2x8 Gb 4000 Mhz DDR 4
Video Card(s) Gainward RTX 2080 Ti Phoenix GS
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 Gb, WD Blue 4 Tb, WD Blue 2 Tb
Display(s) DELL S2719DGF 155 Hz, Sony Bravia KD-55XE8096 4K
Case Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV X
Power Supply Corsair RM650X
Mouse Glorious MODEL O-
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MK.2
Software Windows 10 Pro
I took out my FX5900XT and installed a Sapphire HD3850 AGP and did some 3dmark 03, 05, 06 tests.

1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
P4 & 3850 AGP 3dmark 2003.jpg
P4 & 3850 AGP 3dmark 2005.jpg
P4 & 3850 AGP 3dmark 2006.jpg
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
10,103 (2.30/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill DDR4
Video Card(s) R9-290X/TBA
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
8,693 (2.51/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
Hi guys, still having the same issue with that card... Tried 14.4 drivers, no good, same issue.. I'll see if I can get the working one installed and then copy down the ID tags as I did for the one that's not working and see if there's any differences....

Whatever driver I have used for the working 3850, it's picked up and install perfectly... Bit confused... It's happening to a few cards but the 9800 AIW and X1650 Pro work fine in my socket A system... I'm not sure what else I can do...

This might be a VBIOS VS motherboard incompatibility issue. Does the problem card work in another system?
Another 3850 works perfectly fine in the board, this is the screen grabs I've put up in my first post... I'm rather confused @lexluthermiester ...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
11,217 (4.15/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Another 3850 works perfectly fine in the board, this is the screen grabs I've put up in my first post... I'm rather confused @lexluthermiester ...
Maybe I'm confused?... The card that wouldn't run on that board, have you tested it on another board to verify it's not a problem with the 3850 card?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
61 (0.91/day)
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Macho Rev.B
Memory 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400MHz CL10
Video Card(s) Asus HD7970 @ 1135/1750 + Prolimatech MK-26 + 2x 140mm
Storage 256GB Toshiba Q Pro MLC + 500GB WD VelociRaptor
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced USB 3.0 + Lamptron FC6
Audio Device(s) Audiotrak Prodigy Cube Black (JRC MUSES 8820D) + CAL (recabled)
Power Supply 750W Enermax Platimax
Mouse Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
It's happening to a few cards but the 9800 AIW and X1650 Pro work fine in my socket A system
So these two cards don't install on the Asrock with driver 9.3 or earlier, as well?
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
8,693 (2.51/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
Maybe I'm confused?... The card that wouldn't run on that board, have you tested it on another board to verify it's not a problem with the 3850 card?
So these two cards don't install on the Asrock with driver 9.3 or earlier, as well?
Apologies guys, I'll start over :D

I've now two 3850's... One of them, seems to be working fine in the Asrock board and in Windows XP... The other just seems to be throwing up errors and not picking up the driver.. Same install, same OS. cables etc...

I've just managed to get a Windows 7 install on the Asrock board as we speak, I'm just making a run of 3D Mark 2000 with the X1950 Pro card with the standard 7 drivers and just checking that that works, which it seems to fine...
I'll test 2001SE as well just because I'm interested to see any differences between the two sets of drivers I'll be using now :)
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
1,478 (0.51/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
On the odd Asrock boards with AGP,
Apologies guys, I'll start over :D

I've now two 3850's... One of them, seems to be working fine in the Asrock board and in Windows XP... The other just seems to be throwing up errors and not picking up the driver.. Same install, same OS. cables etc...
Are the 2 3850's identical?
Check the bios revisions.

I have the same trouble with a HD4650 AGP that I'm working on now.
Make sure your're using an AGP hotfix driver if you're on XP, or an Omega driver.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,996 (1.72/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling Modified Alphacool Eisbaer 240
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD Green 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C Window
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
I've probably mentioned this already a million times, but I have a similar Sapphire HD 3850 as well. Put a Zalman VF700Cu it tho as the original cooler is kinda meh. Overclocks pretty ok.

Got also a P4 631 & D 925, those free Netburst CPUs are waiting for me to grab those from the post office. Probably tomorrow I'll grab those.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
10,103 (2.30/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill DDR4
Video Card(s) R9-290X/TBA
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
Also @phill here is a fairly large list of early ATI/AMD drivers for XP, Vista, Windows 7, and Windows 8.

SOFTPEDIA Has a ton of the hotfix drivers. You might give some of them a try man.

Also, here on Tomshardware is a discussion regarding the older drivers.

Both links are drivers and discussions regarding AGP versions of these cards so if yours is PCIe then these may not fit your scenario.

Also, here is a discussion on TechPowerUp! with these links I posted above and what was going on with the original poster @Master

Hopefully there is a solution to your issue. If the card isn't bad.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,141 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
There are usually two things broken in ATI drivers :
1) Lack of matching hardware IDs for installed card ("AGP hotfix" or not).
2) Lack of files needed to install CCC (in "CCC included" package).
For first one, you simply have to force install driver from device manager.
The latter needs a different download source (usually, there should be a source where package size is bigger with the same version - biggest you can find should be correct one).

I usually go for Catalyst 9.1/10.2 CCC and check after initial unpack if files are actually there (CCC folder) :
CCC.png

On left proper folder after unpack, on the right a "broken" one.

PS. Please keep in mind, that there are also Legacy versions for DX8/DX9c only (those usually don't have DX10 hardware drivers inside).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
302 (0.12/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II + 120GB ADATA SSD
Display(s) Samsung LE40M61B
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse Marvo KM400 Mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC
I just finished restoring this oldie. HP Pavilion DV5-1131EN.

Originally came w/ Pentium DualCore T3200, no RAM, no HDD, Sony AD-7561S DVDRW, Broadcom 4312 WLAN, Geforce 9200M GS 256MB and corrupt BIOS.

Current specs are - Core 2 Duo P8400, 4GB DDR2-800, 500GB HGST Z7K500, Pioneer DVRTD11RS DVDRW, Intel 4965AGN WiFi, same GPU and fully working F.21A BIOS (w/ no WLAN whitelist)

20201122_211048.jpg


Sadly battery is in dire need of recelling (78% wear) and since I don't want to risk anything with DIY, I'll very likely have to send it all the way across my country to a specialised shop that can also increase the capacity with quality cells, as well as reprogram the BMS so it can fully charge to the new capacity.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,996 (1.72/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling Modified Alphacool Eisbaer 240
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD Green 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C Window
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
302 (0.12/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II + 120GB ADATA SSD
Display(s) Samsung LE40M61B
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse Marvo KM400 Mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC
Argh, it sucks that some laptops allow only a limited number of WLAN cards. Same goes with my ThinkPad.
Yeah, IIRC Lenovo and HP usually do that. HP is quite easy as long as you know your board ID (e.g mine was 3603 for this, and 363A for a DV7-3165el I also have) but for Lenovo/IBM... I really have no idea.(haven't got the chance to tinker with these lol)

Dell might also have some models with whitelist on WLAN cards but I'm not really aware of which are those, as at least my old E6400 used to accept whatever WLAN card I'd throw at it.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
11,217 (4.15/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Argh, it sucks that some laptops allow only a limited number of WLAN cards. Same goes with my ThinkPad.
To be fair, they do that for compatibility reasons.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,996 (1.72/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling Modified Alphacool Eisbaer 240
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD Green 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C Window
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
8,693 (2.51/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
On the odd Asrock boards with AGP,

Are the 2 3850's identical?
Check the bios revisions.

I have the same trouble with a HD4650 AGP that I'm working on now.
Make sure your're using an AGP hotfix driver if you're on XP, or an Omega driver.
To be fair to the Asrock and the 3850, the one I'm currently testing seems to work with any driver I throw at it. The other card I have, no matter what driver I try that just doesn't work at all... I think the card is knackered because the card gets very warm in places on it, whereas the one that works and I'm doing 3D Mark tests and such with it, never gets hot like that... It's quite strange to be honest....

I'll post up the info I have with the cards, then if need be I'll get things tested deeper as soon as I know which way down the rabbit hole I need to go :)

Thanks guys for the help :)
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
647 (0.75/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
I took my LAN-PC 2 on its first trip. Visited my brother at our parents place. The midi-tower is really nice to handle. It is old and beaten, but super lightweight. The case without components is so light that I can lift it with my pinky.

Overall it fits nice under one arm and thus can be carried without blocking you from opening doors.



So here is the ghetto rig, I'll walk you through.

Starting at the front we have a few missing covers for drive bays, which now acts as an additional front intake. Only complete with the crudely improvised dust filter made from insect window net. The power and reset buttons are no longer functional. One day I decided I would like to use the front LEDs for a project and while cutting them free I snapped the cables for the buttons. This is why I rigged a case-open switch to the top of the panel which now acts as power on.
Of course this additional front intake is held in place with zip ties. Moving further inwards we find a large 200mm fan that is just ridiculous. I had it in storage and decided I'll use it as extra support for the CPU cooler. Some foam padding squeezed inbetween keeps things safe during transport and removes vibration noise. It is held in place with zip tie to the lower screw hole from the 120mm exhaust fan and on the bottom with some velcro tape to the foam while the foam itself is taped on.

Cables exist. They have a secure minimum distance to each fan. Thats about it. You already saw the heatsinks I glued to the board.

Outside is covered in scratch marks and dents. Has some stickers on it. The completly white one is from G.Skill and has glow-in-the-dark paint on it. Looks nice but does not glow very long.



The fans run rather slow and the machine is nice and quiet when idle but that GTX280 has its typical scream. 34 db idle noise from ~40cm away, during high GPU loads the 280 takes that up to 5X db.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
302 (0.12/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II + 120GB ADATA SSD
Display(s) Samsung LE40M61B
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse Marvo KM400 Mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC
To be fair, they do that for compatibility reasons.
And what compatibility reasons would be exactly? Why would they force me to use a Broadcom adapter on my HP instead of letting me install whatever card I'd like? (e.g I originally wanted to install a Centrino N-100, but ultimately had to go with 4965AGN due to missing holes for half-height cards, holes which are present on DV6 starting with the 2000 series and DV7 starting with 2000 series)

Anyways, just ordered today another HP, this time it's a DV7-1214el, w/ Turion RM-74 (wonder if it takes a ZM-82?), HD3450 256MB, 3GB of RAM, HDD, as well as Bluray drive.
Sadly the chipset (or GPU) needs a reflow. I hope this one will work after that (at least a Acer 5536G w/ same chipset but newer GPU did work after reflowing the chipset (which is kinda mislabeled as IGP - it never shows up any IGP when used w/ a discrete GPU like HD3450 or the 4570 the Acer had) but no biggie if it doesn't, at least it's gonna sit on display.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
11,217 (4.15/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
And what compatibility reasons would be exactly? Why would they force me to use a Broadcom adapter on my HP instead of letting me install whatever card I'd like? (e.g I originally wanted to install a Centrino N-100, but ultimately had to go with 4965AGN due to missing holes for half-height cards, holes which are present on DV6 starting with the 2000 series and DV7 starting with 2000 series)
Has to do with interface specs. Not all of them were 100% compatible with one-another which could cause OS instability and security issues. There was also potential for damage to the mobo as well. Every manufacturer chose a different way of handling the problem. Dell, for example, handled it by baking universal compatibility into their systems so as not cause their users problems down the line. HP, Lenovo and a few others went the limitation/whitelist route. Dell's way of handling it required more effort but was easily the better way of doing it.

Sadly the chipset (or GPU) needs a reflow.
When you do that reflow, remember, be VERY generous with the liquid flux to get solid results!
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
302 (0.12/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II + 120GB ADATA SSD
Display(s) Samsung LE40M61B
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse Marvo KM400 Mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC
Okay, damage to the mobo? How can that happen from a mini-PCI WLAN card?

As for universal compatibility, aren't all laptops (except HP and Lenovo) universally compatible?

As for reflow - I have flux paste (generally used for soldering, but has been recommended by a advanced tech that also does iPhones) which should do the job (saved a few machines with it, including a DV7-3165EL) so here's hope it's gonna work. I use pretty big chunks of it around every side of the chip.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
11,217 (4.15/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Okay, damage to the mobo? How can that happen from a mini-PCI WLAN card?
Voltage signaling differences.
As for universal compatibility, aren't all laptops (except HP and Lenovo) universally compatible?
There were a few others that did the whitelisting thing for a limited time until specs were universally agreed upon.
 
Top