• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,234 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
I'd try and score the system with the Athlon 1800+ vs the Duron @Greenslade

It will be much faster and you will have a much better experience vs trying to run the Duron chip.

I'd try and score the system with the Athlon 1800+ vs the Duron @Greenslade

It will be much faster and you will have a much better experience vs trying to run the Duron chip.
Thanks for that i did look it up before on CPU world and other sites like that. :)I was chating to Lex in conversation on here he said that the HP one was the beter one.But he just got back to me ,saying i would get a better experance with ine if these Dell Dimensions 4500 4700 i can,t see any in the UK anyway.I should have a good enouh experaince with the HP i should think,Besides i don,t really want one of thouse big heavy old PC,s

That one will work! The Athlon 1800+ was an excellent CPU. An Athlon64 based system would be better though and should be in the same price range.


Yeah, that is a crap ton of custom config and patching stuff there and a lot of it is super janky. Not something for the average RetroPC user. Props for getting it working! However, most people are not going to have the BIOS options to make for a compatible operating environment as most OEM systems don't have many of those options.

Someone who just wants something to Plug&Play is just going to want to stick in the Windows ME CD, boot up, install and away they go.. For that, an AGP based system is the best option and the only option with Official driver support for the chipsets and CPUs.
Thats me Lex something simple Plug and play :clap:I have just sent the seller a message looking at his other PC,s he says *Tested working*all he says about this one is
*In good condition ,considering the age*
i have eyes i can see what condition it is in. o_O I want to know if it is working how it should be, thats what i have asked him o_OAs it is a big seller rather than someone selling it for them selves proberly blown it with that email to them.Isee that when i click used on the item on eBay it says USED
*The item may have some signs of cosmetic wear, but is fully operational and functions as intended. * in that case i will put in a bid as it is not a personal seller i want get much off. :( I will be luckey to get a fiver off it.
 
Last edited:

Ruru

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
11,590 (2.74/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name 4K-gaming
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X h2o
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Custom loop, Arctic & Corsair fans
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3080 TUF h2o
Storage ~3TB SSDs + 6TB external HDDs
Display(s) Acer 27" 4K120 IPS + Lenovo 32" 4K60 IPS
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 + Asus TUF P1 mousepad
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores It runs Crysis
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,234 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Is it posible it upgrade the CPU in this? I cab see this *M7UIG VERY 1* is this the number of the Motherboard?ATA 133.I do prefer this one to the other one but it is lower specs.It looks a lot cleaner inside more room inside there.

1653246373583.png
 

Attachments

  • 1653246327347.png
    1653246327347.png
    12 KB · Views: 54
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
960 (0.29/day)
System Name The Banshee
Processor Ryzen 5 5600 @ 4.65GHz CO -30
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Plus
Memory 16GB 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z 3600 CL16 1.35V
Video Card(s) RTX 3060M 6GB @ 1750-2100MHz Core / 1875MHz Mem
Storage 1TB Kingston NV2 & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P @ 75Hz OC
Case Fractal Design Arc XL
Audio Device(s) ATH-M20x
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
Is it posible it upgrade the CPU in this? I cab see this *M7UIG VERY 1* is this the number of the Motherboard?ATA 133
Absolutely, though only up to an Athlon XP (200 or 266MHz FSB). So like a 2600+ 266FSB.

Might also want to upgrade it with DDR ram if you end up getting it.

That would make a pretty decent Win 2000/XP machine.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,234 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Absolutely, though only up to an Athlon XP (200 or 266MHz FSB). So like a 2600+ 266FSB.
Thanks for that. :)I take it that is not the motherboard number i gave on here?Do you know the mptherboard it is?i know ir is Socket 462
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 2.08GHz/256KB/333MHz AXDA2600DKV3D Socket 462/Socket A CPU only avaleable from Germany o_O£10.
This is inside of the other case with the better specs do you think it looks cluctered in there thouse ide cabals.
A lot clearer on the one with the blue fan.:)It looks like the psu will have to removed to get the fan heat sink out.Very cramped in both cases. :(
1653248766810.png




1653248528853.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
684 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
The first motherboard is a Biostar M7VIG ver. 1.0. Interesting board, it had memory slots for DDR1 or SDR RAM.

The second motherboard is an MSI MS-6367, the ver. # is blocked in the image. Manuals for different versions below.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,234 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
The first motherboard is a Biostar M7VIG ver. 1.0. Interesting board, it had memory slots for DDR1 or SDR RAM.

The second motherboard is an MSI MS-6367, the ver. # is blocked in the image. Manuals for different versions below.
Thanks for that it is going to be hard to get to change the CPU on the Bioster one ,which one do you think is best should i go for the other one with the better cpu?Or try and put a better cpu for the Biostar one?There is very little room inside both of the cases :(
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,142 (1.94/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
Is it posible it upgrade the CPU in this?
Absolutely, though only up to an Athlon XP (200 or 266MHz FSB). So like a 2600+ 266FSB.

Yes @Greenslade , as @DR4G00N stated, however, he stated that you would only be able to upgrade to a 2600+ chip. If my memory isn't failing, I think that is false. I had an early 133FSB motherboard (266) and had no issues upgrading to a 3200+ 133FSB chip.

Heck, I've even used a 200FSB (400) 3200+ chip on some later motherboards. You can also find some amazing 2800+ mobile chips from time to time. They overclock insanely.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
684 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
I can't get the Biostar manual to download from the ftp link (anyone else have any luck?). I'm guessing it is the better choice between the two because it should have a Biostar BIOS.
The MSI MS-6367 is an HP board & will have very limited BIOS options.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,142 (1.94/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
The MSI MS-6367 is an HP board & will have very limited BIOS options.

I have to agree on this one! Go with the system that has the Biostar motherboard.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
2,100 (0.50/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 7-7-7-21
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
Biostar board is VIA chipset. You can mod any chip you want to run in it. ;)
Use bigger multi because FSB will be limited by no PCI lock.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,142 (1.94/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
Biostar board is VIA chipset. You can mod any chip you want to run in it. ;)
Use bigger multi because FSB will be limited by no PCI lock.

Oh hell, I forgot that the Biostar's ran the VIA chipset! Great pointing that out brother!!!!! :respect:
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.08/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,076 (6.46/day)
Use bigger multi because FSB will be limited by no PCI lock.
This. It was a real problem BITD for OCing.
Please post that on every motherboard review TPU ever does
Right? In all seriousness, older systems that have the pinholes for an AGP slot but didn't actually have one should be avoided at all costs. The reason is simple, you'd be stuck with IGP or PCI based GPU's and both of those choices are lame-duck compared to AGP on systems of that time.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,234 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Yes @Greenslade , as @DR4G00N stated, however, he stated that you would only be able to upgrade to a 2600+ chip. If my memory isn't failing, I think that is false. I had an early 133FSB motherboard (266) and had no issues upgrading to a 3200+ 133FSB chip.

Heck, I've even used a 200FSB (400) 3200+ chip on some later motherboards. You can also find some amazing 2800+ mobile chips from time to time. They overclock insanely.
This is what it says. M7VIG is an all-in-one Micro ATX motherboard supports up to Athlon XP 2600+ processor with 266 MHz front side bus. M7VIG is powered by the VIA KM266 chipset, with its integrated S3 Graphics,I understand that AMD CPUS are fitted in the socket a different way to intel ones.Unforunatly the Athlon XP 2600+is as far as it goes for this board.If i went this route 10,50 for the cpu and with having to get more ram that would put the price of the PC way over the ready to go HP 432 that is max price of 50 pounds.The Midi Tower AMD Duron 1.3Ghz 128MB Ram price 65 plus 10,50 the extra for the ram.How much better would the Athlon XP 2600+be to the Athlon XP 1800 ? And would the extra price be justefied?The guy who is selling the Hp 432 got back to me after i sent him this message *
You say *In good condation considering the age* but nothing about it wotking?
On some of your PC,s you say tested wotking.Has it been tested .and Is it working?
Reply from seller
*Yes, I forgot to clarify , but the PC workign well, boot without trouble.
I wiped the HDD ,and installed a freedos.
All components tested and working as well.*
Question to peiple on here what is *Freedos*?
And also bearing in mind all the info on here, is it worth the extra money to get the other PC up par ,with the HP432 ready ro go our of the box?
I like this guys very informative videos, :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
1,800 (0.52/day)
Location
EU
System Name Adison "Open Space" 19
Processor Intel Pentium II, 350MHz
Motherboard Chaintech 6BTM, Slot 1
Cooling SECC Cartridge
Memory 1x 64MB, PC100
Video Card(s) ATI Rage IIc AGP, Diamond Monster 3DII 12MB
Storage BTC BCD-40XH, Quantum Fireball 3.5 Series, EX6.4 GB
Display(s) LG StudioWorks 57M
Case Adison Midi Tower, ATX
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster 128
Power Supply Codegen 300W
Mouse Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Keyboard Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Software Microsoft Windows 98
Please post that on every motherboard review TPU ever does
Seriously, I told someone very similar thing recently. I believe we were discussing floppy drives & IDE/ATA ports, and I mentioned that it's best to avoid motherboards without them. Or in worst case scenario, have the two optical drives routed through SATA.

Yes, yes, I know ... none of modern boards no longer have IDE controllers, and some people don't even use optical drives to begin with. Which is a mystery of its own, how you guys can manage without CDs and DVDs is beyond me! :wtf:
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,234 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Seriously, I told someone very similar thing recently. I believe we were discussing floppy drives & IDE/ATA ports, and I mentioned that it's best to avoid motherboards without them. Or in worst case scenario, have the two optical drives routed through SATA.

Yes, yes, I know ... none of modern boards no longer have IDE controllers, and some people don't even use optical drives to begin with. Which is a mystery of its own, how you guys can manage without CDs and DVDs is beyond me! :wtf:
I am there with you about CD,s and DVD,s :)
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
454 (0.42/day)
Location
Tornado Alley
System Name Main W10
Processor i7 2700K
Motherboard Gig Z77 HD4
Cooling Xigmatech Tower Cooler
Memory 16 GB G-Skill 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080ti 11GB
Storage WD Gold 2 TB HD
Display(s) Acer 27" 1440P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) JDS Labs Element DAC/AMP
Power Supply Rosewill Hive 650 watt
Mouse MX 518
Keyboard Cherry 3000 with Blues
I move a lot of game files with USB, but even with cutting the cable some years ago I might want to stick in an old movie to watch. I don't hardly use my TV anymore.
Plus I own hundreds of games on disc. I hate the idea that "online" means someone else can cancel your ownership. NOPE!
That's why this case still sets in the box new...
 

Attachments

  • SANY0434.JPG
    SANY0434.JPG
    927.9 KB · Views: 49
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
1,800 (0.52/day)
Location
EU
System Name Adison "Open Space" 19
Processor Intel Pentium II, 350MHz
Motherboard Chaintech 6BTM, Slot 1
Cooling SECC Cartridge
Memory 1x 64MB, PC100
Video Card(s) ATI Rage IIc AGP, Diamond Monster 3DII 12MB
Storage BTC BCD-40XH, Quantum Fireball 3.5 Series, EX6.4 GB
Display(s) LG StudioWorks 57M
Case Adison Midi Tower, ATX
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster 128
Power Supply Codegen 300W
Mouse Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Keyboard Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Software Microsoft Windows 98
Right? I don't get it either. How the hell do people do backups?
Backups, games, DVD movies, CD (digital audio) music, etc, etc... The list goes on & on!

I mean, it's not like I'm expecting a compact cassette player or a turntable, just your good ol' CD or DVD drive.

Edit
@Audioave10 My point exactly... It's as if everyone threw their CDs and DVDs out through the window & are now streaming/downloading everything online... *shrug*
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,234 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Right? I don't get it either. How the hell do people do backups?
My backup s atr done on a HDD,s on a Seagatre Backup+Plus Hub 6tb.With four Partition,s.So LEX what should i do buy the ready to go Hp 432 ,or go with the other one *upgrade the cpu 10,50 plus more memery i don,t know how much that will cost but i would say anout 10 pounds so thats 65 for the PC Plus say 20 so that would be 85 all together as opossed to 50 , i will make an offer of 40 so i am guessing i would be able to get it for 45,Is it worth 30 pounds for the other one?Would it be that much better than the Athlon x 1800+?
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
1,800 (0.52/day)
Location
EU
System Name Adison "Open Space" 19
Processor Intel Pentium II, 350MHz
Motherboard Chaintech 6BTM, Slot 1
Cooling SECC Cartridge
Memory 1x 64MB, PC100
Video Card(s) ATI Rage IIc AGP, Diamond Monster 3DII 12MB
Storage BTC BCD-40XH, Quantum Fireball 3.5 Series, EX6.4 GB
Display(s) LG StudioWorks 57M
Case Adison Midi Tower, ATX
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster 128
Power Supply Codegen 300W
Mouse Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Keyboard Genius SlimStar 110, PS/2
Software Microsoft Windows 98
Plus I own hundreds of games on disc. I hate the idea that "online" means someone else can cancel your ownership. NOPE!
That's the idea... What most people don't seem to understand is that you don't legally "own" streamed/downloaded content. Where on the other hand, you /do/ own physical media, such as CDs and DVDs.

So, when you buy audio CD, DVD movie, cassette tape or even vinyl LP, it is yours ... and will be yours for as long as you own it. For a month, a year or even 30 years from now - doesn't matter.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,234 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
I move a lot of game files with USB, but even with cutting the cable some years ago I might want to stick in an old movie to watch. I don't hardly use my TV anymore.
Plus I own hundreds of games on disc. I hate the idea that "online" means someone else can cancel your ownership. NOPE!
That's why this case still sets in the box new...
I don,t own or want a TV , and have not had one for for over 30 years.I watch you tube and DVD,s on my 27 inch Imac thats big enough for me plus it os a loverly screen. :)I have about 80 PC games on Discs :)I am with you on that online stuff ,i like Physical
stuff like vinyl records you can,t beat them.:)

That's the idea... What most people don't seem to understand is that you don't legally "own" streamed/downloaded content. Where on the other hand, you /do/ own physical media, such as CDs and DVDs.

So, when you buy audio CD, DVD movie, cassette tape or even vinyl LP, it is yours ... and will be yours for as long as you own it. For a month, a year or even 30 years from now - doesn't matter.
You can,t beat vinyl records :)I have not had cassettes for years i don,t miss them ,no love for them at all.
 
Last edited:
Top