• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,941 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Eutopia!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
hwbot.org forums is a good place if ya need old hardware on newer stuff.
just ask there in the specific forum for your platform

greenslade get the dog\cat hairs out of the ram slots- i see it from here
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
hwbot.org forums is a good place if ya need old hardware on newer stuff
just ask there in the specific forum for your platform

greenslade get the dog\cat hairs out of the ram slots- i see it from here
I don,t have any cats or dogs sad to sayo_O. There are no hairs in there. :rockout:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
174 (0.10/day)
System Name Donnager
Processor 13900KS, lapped and contact frame
Motherboard Asus Z790 Hero
Cooling Heatkiller IV CPU block, Heatkiller V GPU block, GTX 480mm radiator, D5 pump
Memory 32GB Kingston Fury 7200C38
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX 3080Ti FTW3
Storage Optane 380GB M.2 OS drive, M.2 2TB game drive
Display(s) Alienware 34" Ultrawide 120Hz 3440x1440
Case Fractal Meshify 2 XL
Audio Device(s) Outlaw RR2150 stereo receiver driving DIY kits, Schiit Asgard for Sennheiser HD6XX headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1000W

Ok, I gotta try this with my G3258 once I get that new blower fan for my GTX 460.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,037 (6.47/day)
As you can see from the photo it is in yellow.and all the over connectors are in properly.
GPU and CPU fans spin for a few seconds then go off and back on again , changed the CMOS battery and changed the Ram the Ram sticks.over.Can you see any grime in the ram holders.?
Keyboard not working nothing on the monitor.No sound from the speaker..I think this is a lost cause.Can you see any grime in the Ram?I am getting used to putting the front panel connecters I have done it enough times now. :)
The hairs in those pics make me cringe...:eek:
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK

Attachments

  • DSC01148.JPG
    DSC01148.JPG
    7.1 MB · Views: 61
  • DSC01149.JPG
    DSC01149.JPG
    7.1 MB · Views: 61
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,941 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Eutopia!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
sorry greenslade wasn´t meant rude but the longer i see it looks like a strain from hot glue and i thought it could interfere with the ram contacts.
which cpu are you using in the msi p45d3 ?

sometimes had trouble booting on p45 mobo´s if the ram had no jedec spd-info for 1066 or 800mhz and i know msi was not the best for memory compatibility nor overclocking
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
:) sorry greenslade wasn´t meant rude but the longer i see it looks like a strain from hot glue and i thought it could interfere with the ram contacts.
which cpu are you using in the msi p45d3 ?

sometimes had trouble booting on p45 mobo´s if the ram had no jedec spd-info for 1066 or 800mhz and i know msi was not the best for memory compatibility nor overclocking
No problem Basco:)E8600 i have given up on it, the speaker dose not work. All Fans spin but stop and start,Keyboard not working no posting on the monitor.I have no idea why the speaker does not work otherwise i might be nearer finding out what is wrong with it.Something that might be the cause of it is the plastic pins broke off the Heatsink fan.I saw a video on you tube and replaced the pins with screws instead.It was a hell of a job to get it done .I am thinking perhaps the thermal paste spread out off the CPU.because i had to keep moving the heatsink fan about to get it screwed on there.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
2,100 (0.50/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 7-7-7-21
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
replaced the pins put screws in instead.It was a hell of a job to get it done
This. ^^^
Did you use insulated washers? You have a short if you didn't.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
This. ^^^
Did you use insulated washers? You have a short if you didn't.
No the guy in the video did not mention them in the video.So you think that is why the fans stop stop and start, and the lack of washers could be be the cause of the problem. o_O
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
I just finished building my first PC I was happy about it tell I found out that the front audio does not work. :(I looked it up on youtube but could not find a solution to the problem.o_O The videos were talking about Realtech
mine is VIV. I tried some headphones on the front they worked for a short time then went off. The CPU fan is noisy.:( The back panel audio works fine.:) The first time I built it with the PSU this case came with I found out it did not have enough Satta cabals. so I switched it out for the EVGA one from one of my Dell PC,s. Also one of the USB connectors on the front panel does not work, I am not worried about that though. But would like to get the front panel audio sorted out. The case fan does not make any noise the videos are talking about *:( Realtech* Audeo manager I don,t see a VIA Audeo manager in the control panel.:(So I can,t do the test the guy does in the video.o_O All so I can't get how those clips work to hold a drive ino_O
I know it is a bit of a mess in my case I just wanted to be sure everything was working properly before I tied it up in there. :)I had a bit of a job lining up the screws in the board.
 

Attachments

  • DSC01152.JPG
    DSC01152.JPG
    6.7 MB · Views: 48
  • DSC01153.JPG
    DSC01153.JPG
    6.7 MB · Views: 57
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
766 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Nice score today - a whole PC w/ E4600, 965P-DS4 (which @İsmailTPC_Hastanesi already covered running a Xeon - it's one of the boards I plan running a Xeon on as well), a GForce 7300LE Fujitsu OEM, and 4x512MB Hynix DDR2 sticks.

PSU is a 420W LC-Power unit. Pretty gutless but not quite - can be modded later down the road.
Case is made by MS-Tech, and looks solid enough. Gotta get some adhesive rubber feet for it tho.
 

Attachments

  • 20230127_191016.jpg
    20230127_191016.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 893
  • 20230127_191028.jpg
    20230127_191028.jpg
    804 KB · Views: 891
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
671 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
I just finished building my first PC I was happy about it tell I found out that the front audio does not work. :(I looked it up on youtube but could not find a solution to the problem.o_O The videos were talking about Realtech
mine is VIV. I tried some headphones on the front they worked for a short time then went off. The CPU fan is noisy.:( The back panel audio works fine.:) The first time I built it with the PSU this case came with I found out it did not have enough Satta cabals. so I switched it out for the EVGA one from one of my Dell PC,s. Also one of the USB connectors on the front panel does not work, I am not worried about that though. But would like to get the front panel audio sorted out. The case fan does not make any noise the videos are talking about *:( Realtech* Audeo manager I don,t see a VIA Audeo manager in the control panel.:(So I can,t do the test the guy does in the video.o_O All so I can't get how those clips work to hold a drive ino_O
I know it is a bit of a mess in my case I just wanted to be sure everything was working properly before I tied it up in there. :)I had a bit of a job lining up the screws in the board.
Congrats on completing your first build. :)
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Congrats on completing your first build. :)
I am ready to build my second one in the £10 case i bought sometime ago Socket 1150 . i have a Hp z230 which packed up the other day after saying how good it was. on the Hp forum o_O .I thought it was the PSU ,i tried it with the one i am using on this build it did not work but the Deltic one in there had died .I did not want to buy another one of them anyway. for it to pack up after 6 months.So i took out the E3 1246 3 and thought i would build a 1150 for it i have made sure that board i get will suport it.:)I will stick with the i5 2400 in this build. I could not get one of the front USB,s to work on this build.But i have put a PCIE USB 3 hub in there,i know you don,t get the full speed of USB 3 with it.I saw two of these at my flea market i was contemplating by one i thought better of it.
You never know what turns up there. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
671 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
It's very common to find a dead USB on old systems. Plugging something in on a cold dry day & ZAP - one less USB.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
It's very common to find a dead USB on old systems. Plugging something in on a cold dry day & ZAP - one less USB.
I was not expecting it ,but then again its not a new case and for a fiver with a PSU that works.bargin :) If i do need to get another one i will ask ,but i see that people do say if anything is wrong with it.and seen some saying some of the USB,s not working it is always
the front ones.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
455 (0.34/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name MSi Coffee Lake
Processor i7-8700k
Motherboard MSI Z370 GAMING PRO CARBON AC
Cooling NZXT something AIO loop
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) TITAN Xp Jedi Order Edition
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Cooler Master Stryker
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Keyboard Generic hp
Software Windows 10
It's very common to find a dead USB on old systems. Plugging something in on a cold dry day & ZAP - one less USB.
Wow , is it that easy?
Never knew about this or experienced it myself.

I'll be spending some time with a IBM ps/1000 and a hp vectra i picked up.
Back to revisit some DOS and win 9x.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
It's very common to find a dead USB on old systems. Plugging something in on a cold dry day & ZAP - one less USB.
I tried the other USB connection and the one USB still not working, :(What does that prove that it is the case at fault?.I have the same case for my Athlon 2400 Asus A7V600 motherboard.
it does not have any connection for either A97 or Hd Audio o_O But both front USB,s are working.I see there is a front panal audio by PCI3 connection but it has two jumpers on it, and why does it have them on it? o_O No Audio connecters were connected when i got it on eBay o_O So do i take the jumpers off it and plug either A97 or HD Audio connecter in there?o_OI can,t have used the front audio on there.o_O


1675001334915.png
 

Attachments

  • DSC01180.JPG
    DSC01180.JPG
    7.1 MB · Views: 57
  • DSC01181.JPG
    DSC01181.JPG
    6.9 MB · Views: 54
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
671 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
I tried the other USB connection and the one USB still not working, :(What does that prove that it is the case at fault?
Yes, I would say if the same front panel USB didn't work after switching headers it is most likely a problem with the FP USB wires or connectors. It would be unusual for two headers to have one of two bad USB. If they both work with the A7V600 mobo the problem may have been solved by sliding things in & out and on & off, which can clean the connections.

So do i take the jumpers off it and plug either A97 or HD Audio connecter in there?
Yes, just remove the jumpers if you want to use the onboard audio. Didn't that system come with an add-in sound card? The front panel audio connector would have been plugged into there if it did.

FP-audio.png
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Yes, I would say if the same front panel USB didn't work after switching headers it is most likely a problem with the FP USB wires or connectors. It would be unusual for two headers to have one of two bad USB. If they both work with the A7V600 mobo the problem may have been solved by sliding things in & out and on & off, which can clean the connections.


Yes, just remove the jumpers if you want to use the onboard audio. Didn't that system come with an add-in sound card? The front panel audio connector would have been plugged into there if it did.

View attachment 281354
It came with the AGP card no sound card.68 Olds I will take the jumpers off then. I did put a sound card in but it did not work for some reason it crashed. :(What do you mean by sliding things in & out and on & off, which can clean the connections on the Athlon 2400 PC? I have no idea why the seller did not connect the front panel A97 or the HD Audio o_O
I thought it was odd that they had not been connected.o_O
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
8,455 (1.90/day)
Location
Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
System Name main/SFFHTPCARGH!(tm)/Xiaomi Mi TV Stick/Samsung Galaxy S23/Ally
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D/i7-3770/S905X/Snapdragon 8 Gen 2/Ryzen Z1 Extreme
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk/HP SFF Q77 Express/uh?/uh?/Asus
Cooling Enermax ETS-T50 Axe aRGB /basic HP HSF /errr.../oh! liqui..wait, no:sizable vapor chamber/a nice one
Memory 64gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 3600mhz DDR4/8gb DDR3 1600/2gb LPDDR3/8gb LPDDR5x 4200/16gb LPDDR5
Video Card(s) Hellhound Spectral White RX 7900 XTX 24gb/GT 730/Mali 450MP5/Adreno 740/RDNA3 768 core
Storage 250gb870EVO/500gb860EVO/2tbSandisk/NVMe2tb+1tb/4tbextreme V2/1TB Arion/500gb/8gb/256gb/2tb SN770M
Display(s) X58222 32" 2880x1620/32"FHDTV/273E3LHSB 27" 1920x1080/6.67"/AMOLED 2X panel FHD+120hz/FHD 120hz
Case Cougar Panzer Max/Elite 8300 SFF/None/back/back-front Gorilla Glass Victus 2+ UAG Monarch Carbon
Audio Device(s) Logi Z333/SB Audigy RX/HDMI/HDMI/Dolby Atmos/KZ x HBB PR2/Edifier STAX Spirit S3 & SamsungxAKG beans
Power Supply Chieftec Proton BDF-1000C /HP 240w/12v 1.5A/4Smart Voltplug PD 30W/Asus USB-C 65W
Mouse Speedlink Sovos Vertical-Asus ROG Spatha-Logi Ergo M575/Xiaomi XMRM-006/touch/touch
Keyboard Endorfy Thock 75% <3/none/touch/virtual
VR HMD Medion Erazer
Software Win10 64/Win8.1 64/Android TV 8.1/Android 13/Win11 64
Benchmark Scores bench...mark? i do leave mark on bench sometime, to remember which one is the most comfortable. :o
MEDIA=youtube]YWSlC0PXb9I:123[/MEDIA] You never know what turns up there. :)
ah, my Powermac G4 Quicksilver is a bit younger than that one (2001) ... but i use it everytime i can just for fun ... :laugh: (well 1999 in 2020 for the video, 2001 in 2023 for me :D 11 vs 12yrs, I WIN! oh wait, he might be still using it in 2023 ... *sadface* )
yep, the one i paid 23 time more in shipping than i paid for it :D (23chf shipping )

i may hate the company but i love the hardware the G3 and G4 were quite nice and their cases were awesome, but waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyy too expensive for what they were, no matter how innovative the case were,the hardware was relatively average compared to a same value PC imho, although it was quite high end on the CPU side (mmhhhh IBM PowerPC) and for audio ...
and Apples products are still that way, which enabled a few other, mainly in the phone domain, to price their devices too high, luckily the alternatives are always 2 to 3 time cheaper, unluckily due to brand loyalty (or blindness in some case) they can keep these obnoxious pricing.

currently tracking 2 auctions, one on a TNT1 and one on a Matrox... *finger crossed*
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
ah, my Powermac G4 Quicksilver is a bit younger than that one (2001) ... but i use it everytime i can just for fun ... :laugh: (well 1999 in 2020 for the video, 2001 in 2023 for me :D 11 vs 12yrs, I WIN! oh wait, he might be still using it in 2023 ... *sadface* )
yep, the one i paid 23 time more in shipping than i paid for it :D (23chf shipping )

i may hate the company but i love the hardware the G3 and G4 were quite nice and their cases were awesome, but waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyy too expensive for what they were, no matter how innovative the case were,the hardware was relatively average compared to a same value PC imho, although it was quite high end on the CPU side (mmhhhh IBM PowerPC) and for audio ...
and Apples products are still that way, which enabled a few other, mainly in the phone domain, to price their devices too high, luckily the alternatives are always 2 to 3 time cheaper, unluckily due to brand loyalty (or blindness in some case) they can keep these obnoxious pricing.

currently tracking 2 auctions, one on a TNT1 and one on a Matrox... *finger crossed*
I must admit to owning a 2017 IMAC and do like it. :)But i don,t like their practices where people go to them for repair and they say it has to have this and that has to be done when it is just out of guarantee and not worth repairing then the person takes it to Louis he looks at it and says it is an easy thing to fix.
you know what I am talking about this guy
Yes I would imagine shipping one of those, I just picked it up I would not want to carry it too far, no wonder they have handles on themo_O. I did not ask how much they were but of course it's all those different connectors it needs.o_O
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
8,455 (1.90/day)
Location
Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
System Name main/SFFHTPCARGH!(tm)/Xiaomi Mi TV Stick/Samsung Galaxy S23/Ally
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D/i7-3770/S905X/Snapdragon 8 Gen 2/Ryzen Z1 Extreme
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk/HP SFF Q77 Express/uh?/uh?/Asus
Cooling Enermax ETS-T50 Axe aRGB /basic HP HSF /errr.../oh! liqui..wait, no:sizable vapor chamber/a nice one
Memory 64gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 3600mhz DDR4/8gb DDR3 1600/2gb LPDDR3/8gb LPDDR5x 4200/16gb LPDDR5
Video Card(s) Hellhound Spectral White RX 7900 XTX 24gb/GT 730/Mali 450MP5/Adreno 740/RDNA3 768 core
Storage 250gb870EVO/500gb860EVO/2tbSandisk/NVMe2tb+1tb/4tbextreme V2/1TB Arion/500gb/8gb/256gb/2tb SN770M
Display(s) X58222 32" 2880x1620/32"FHDTV/273E3LHSB 27" 1920x1080/6.67"/AMOLED 2X panel FHD+120hz/FHD 120hz
Case Cougar Panzer Max/Elite 8300 SFF/None/back/back-front Gorilla Glass Victus 2+ UAG Monarch Carbon
Audio Device(s) Logi Z333/SB Audigy RX/HDMI/HDMI/Dolby Atmos/KZ x HBB PR2/Edifier STAX Spirit S3 & SamsungxAKG beans
Power Supply Chieftec Proton BDF-1000C /HP 240w/12v 1.5A/4Smart Voltplug PD 30W/Asus USB-C 65W
Mouse Speedlink Sovos Vertical-Asus ROG Spatha-Logi Ergo M575/Xiaomi XMRM-006/touch/touch
Keyboard Endorfy Thock 75% <3/none/touch/virtual
VR HMD Medion Erazer
Software Win10 64/Win8.1 64/Android TV 8.1/Android 13/Win11 64
Benchmark Scores bench...mark? i do leave mark on bench sometime, to remember which one is the most comfortable. :o
I must admit to owning a 2017 IMAC and do like it. :)But i don,t like their practices where people go to them for repair and they say it has to have this and that has to be done when it is just out of guarantee and not worth repairing then the person takes it to Louis he looks at it and says it is an easy thing to fix.
you know what I am talking about this guy
Yes I would imagine shipping one of those, I just picked it up I would not want to carry it too far, no wonder they have handles on themo_O. I did not ask how much they were but of course it's all those different connectors it needs.o_O
i run a computer service and repair side hobby (also phone i changed around a hundreds iPhones battery and screens, and way more for Androids phone)
now ... if i would get personal... i would convert my Asus Radeon 9800 for swapping the Radeon 7500 my G4 has :laugh: but i am a bit lazy and since it worked just fine as it is ... i delayed the mod... ah .. now i get itches ..

also due to my side hobby/job i got gifted a Dell Dimension 5150 (P4-630, the CPU, not the user :D ) the day they gave the rig to me for a backup job, they changed for a more modern one and they wanted their data back, hilariously they did forget the old password on the 5150, thus : either a computer shop at a rate of 75chf/$ hrs (and yes, even for a simple job where the technician would just be sitting twiddling his thumbs while the computer do most of the work, would be charged full rate) or me ... accepting donnation in hardware and food! :D

ah ...
i remember that ... well all these nice words about the G4 almost convinced me at the time that the price was worth it :laugh:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
I just tried the Athlon 2800 PC I got for a fiver, it was not posting I took the ram out and put it back in smoke was coming out hope it is not the PSU in there. o_O As soon as it started smoking I turned it off.:) Would a PSU smoke? Here's a song from Kenny Rogers and the First Edition 1970 smash hit
:)Thank goodness I caught it early before it did.:)

The motherboard is out but it has no normal standoffs:( how do I get that fan thing sticking out of the back on one of the slots in 185?o_OAnd where can I get some of the standoff types like in 186?o_OTwo of them are stuck on the motherboard the ones that I did manage to get out the screws are left in them there were only four on board 187 ?o_OI was under the impression all cases had normal holes for standoffs.o_OOff course, i will have to get a fan for the case. Inside the case, it needs bigger stand-offs than normal.see188

Can anyone tell me if any other PC components can catch fire other than the PSU?Or is it always the PSU that catches fire? o_O I am hoping that it was another component that was the cause of it.
 

Attachments

  • DSC01182.JPG
    DSC01182.JPG
    6.5 MB · Views: 46
  • DSC01185.JPG
    DSC01185.JPG
    6.3 MB · Views: 37
  • DSC01186.JPG
    DSC01186.JPG
    6.1 MB · Views: 40
  • DSC01187.JPG
    DSC01187.JPG
    6.8 MB · Views: 39
  • DSC01188.JPG
    DSC01188.JPG
    6.1 MB · Views: 45
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
766 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Yesterday's bazaar loot proved rather interesting. I am aware the B85M-E isn't retro, but for the cheap price (5 RON, which would be around the $2-$3 price mark I think?) I couldn't pass it up. It may have bent pins by the dozens - but so did my Gigabyte H55M-USB3 before I got it working.

The seller for the M5A97 LE R2.0 also had a Striker Formula w/ a E5200, but it looked even worse than the actual M5A97 does, and I already have a 775 platform to max out (even if it's WAY older than the Striker Formula, the 965P-DS4 is still a capable OC board, and may be even more cooler (since I just noticed now that the Striker Formula runs on a nForce chipset - heck no, I don't think I want to touch anything from that period that's nForce.)
 

Attachments

  • IMG-20230129-WA0008.jpeg
    IMG-20230129-WA0008.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 42
  • IMG-20230129-WA0011.jpeg
    IMG-20230129-WA0011.jpeg
    884 KB · Views: 36
  • IMG-20230129-WA0002.jpeg
    IMG-20230129-WA0002.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 44
  • IMG-20230129-WA0004.jpeg
    IMG-20230129-WA0004.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 43
Last edited:

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
9,106 (1.29/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
If it has electricty running thru it than it can catch fire also it can cause fire in nearbye obbjects
ie a wire's insulation melting and burning can spread the fire to non electrical items.

"think of house fire caused by electrical fault"

I was under the impression all cases had normal holes for standoffs.
Some manafacture's would press bumps (threaded later ) into rear of case to replace stand offs to save cents
Thinking of Dell and HP for example
 
Top