• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
766 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Another goodie rescued from the car boot sale today.

P5Q Deluxe, 9600GT (unfortunately a bit broken, one of the MOSFETs seems to be dud), E8400, 640GB WD HDD, and a LC-Power LC6550H PSU that looks pretty solid.

Lots of dust to be cleaned tho. The 9600GT is a Gigabyte-Zalman version by the way, model GV-NX96T512H.

20230423_200614.jpg
20230423_200619.jpg
20230423_200624.jpg
20230423_200634.jpg

20230423_201201.jpg
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
766 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Welp, the 9600GT is working as well. Dunno what was up with it not wanting to POST on the P5Q Deluxe it resided in, but it successfully POST'd on my ol Gigabyte 965P-DS4.

Time to check up why is the fan still noisy (it's been lubed already) and add some fresh thermal paste to it. Off to tech groceries it is, today. :D
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
No CMOS BATTERY SLOT?o_O
I have just looked at one of the Motherboards i bought the other day, and noticed there is no CMOS slot on there? o_O I thought all boards had them on them.o_O
 

Attachments

  • DSC01393.JPG
    DSC01393.JPG
    6.9 MB · Views: 85

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,142 (1.94/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
No CMOS BATTERY SLOT?o_O
I have just looked at one of the Motherboards i bought the other day, and noticed there is no CMOS slot on there? o_O I thought all boards had them on them.o_O

Sure it does.
It's right at the very bottom below the chipset fan.
It's standing upright.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Sure it does.
It's right at the very bottom below the chipset fan.
It's standing upright.
Thanks stinger608 :) I have never seen one like that before, that is the first one i have seen like that.o_OI was looking for the normal sitting on the motherboard. o_O I just got a CPU for it. AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Processor CPU ADA3500DAA4BW Socket 939. That was the only one i could see for under £10 this one cost £6 there were a lot of the 3000 ones but they cost more than mine.Do i need to have that blue Heatsink on the broke off, i could not find the bit that broke off.:(I was trying to take the one off the 1395 but i can,t see how to get it off.o_O 1396 the back of it the lugs are like the back of the Intel heatsink fan.How do i get it off it looks the same size as the Blue Heatsink.The board that the blue heatsink came off 1394.I don,t know how i can get an OS on it .It keeps on saying there is no OS on there ,i know that i am trying to get one on there.:(
 

Attachments

  • DSC01392.JPG
    DSC01392.JPG
    6.3 MB · Views: 75
  • DSC01395.JPG
    DSC01395.JPG
    7.4 MB · Views: 61
  • DSC01396.JPG
    DSC01396.JPG
    6.8 MB · Views: 64
  • DSC01394.JPG
    DSC01394.JPG
    6.7 MB · Views: 61

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
9,106 (1.29/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
No CMOS BATTERY SLOT?o_O
I have just looked at one of the Motherboards i bought the other day, and noticed there is no CMOS slot on there? o_O I thought all boards had them on them.o_O
It has been known (mainly on laptops tho) that a cmos battery can be wired in a sealed package and connected to motherboard via small connector.
to replace such you just unplug and replace unit or ghetto fix unit with standard cmos type battery.
I presume its a space limitation thing in some designs of laptops.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
It has been known (mainly on laptops tho) that a cmos battery can be wired in a sealed package and connected to motherboard via small connector.
to replace such you just unplug and replace unit or ghetto fix unit with standard cmos type battery.
I presume its a space limitation thing in some designs of laptops.
I can understand it being on a laptop because lack of size of the board ,but this is a desktop board.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,142 (1.94/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
I can understand it being on a laptop because lack of size of the board ,but this is a desktop board.

There are a few manufactures that made them standing upright. Not a lot of them, but a few.

They work the same way though. You can just pop the battery in and out just like the ones laying flat on the board.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
There are a few manufactures that made them standing upright. Not a lot of them, but a few.

They work the same way though. You can just pop the battery in and out just like the ones laying flat on the board.
Thanks again.stinger608 :) What about the Heatsink on that board ,i can,t see how
to get it off there.:(It is not screwed in there it has those plastic bits that come out the bottom of the Motherboard it has a spring to it but that does not get if off the board.Do i actactuly need one on the other board anyway?o_OOr should glue Blue back on and put a touch if thermal. paste in the middle of it ?o_Ojust to remind you photos below of the one i want to take off the other board.
 

Attachments

  • DSC01395.JPG
    DSC01395.JPG
    7.4 MB · Views: 39
  • DSC01396.JPG
    DSC01396.JPG
    6.8 MB · Views: 37
Last edited:

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,142 (1.94/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
On the back side of the board, you can see them white plastic pins poking through on top and bottom of the heatsink.
I've always just taken a small pair of pliers or tweezers and pinched the two "ears" together and each pin will push right through to board.

Be careful though, don't scratch the back side of the motherboard.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
On the back side of the board, you can see them white plastic pins poking through on top and bottom of the heatsink.
I've always just taken a small pair of pliers or tweezers and pinched the two "ears" together and each pin will push right through to board.

Be careful though, don't scratch the back side of the motherboard.
Thanks yet again stinger608 :) I will give that ago. I am not worried about the Motherboard the only sign I get from it is when there is no Ram it bleeps nothing shows on the Monitor. But having said all that I will be careful getting it off there.

Sure it does.
It's right at the very bottom below the chipset fan.
It's standing upright.
I brought a IDE to Sata Docking station on F.M.P new boxed ,which i have a post on here.When ii tried it and plugged an IDE drive in the dock on my XP PC it showed up as *Removable disk E *i clicked it and it said please put a dick in disk E.I went to disk management and it said *NO MEDIA MASS STORAGE DEVICE*I have just tried it on my Windows 10 Pc it does not even turn up as a drive but it does say in Disk Management *Removable D NP MEDIA*It works with Sata and the rest of the dock stuff it has.But i did get it for the IDE part of the dock.Why do they say it works with IDE when it certainly does not.I did notice that people were saying it did not work with IDE. This one
They should be done under the trade description act. :banghead: I can hear the drive spinning..I did not get a disk with it but as itworks with the sata drive i would not think it needs one.Ijust looked and saw that onw of the three drives has bent pins:(It could be with me keeping on trying them in the dock ,so i will give that a miss.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
There are a few manufactures that made them standing upright. Not a lot of them, but a few.

They work the same way though. You can just pop the battery in and out just like the ones laying flat on the board.
O just got this today :)for £1 o_O The seller said that it would only go to landfill if it was not sold because I was surprised it was only £1 o_OThis was the seller I got the two boxed Motherboards last week.
The guy in the video above said it was this
. I don't understand how the motherboard ended up in the case I got today. It looks like a nice case but not sure if it can take an ATX Motherboard, It is sad that it is an OEM. board, :(I looked the motherboard number up hoping I could see a manual for it, but no such luck as it is an OEM board.:( But very good for £1:)It makes up for yesterday's £10 Dock that can,t read IDE as it should.:( There is no sound card in there sad to say. Does anyone know what case it is? I know the Pc is very dusty
i will have to use my air duster for the first time. I tried to get the hard drive out but it is so near the components on the motherboard, I just don't know how.
o_O
 

Attachments

  • DSC01403.JPG
    DSC01403.JPG
    6.1 MB · Views: 48
  • DSC01404.JPG
    DSC01404.JPG
    6.1 MB · Views: 58
  • DSC01405.JPG
    DSC01405.JPG
    6.1 MB · Views: 58
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
766 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Gave my "Techsolo" build an upgrade.

20230427_195902.jpg
20230427_195911.jpg
20230427_195938.jpg
20230427_200003.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
The case is very unusual think it is a LIAN LI case .I see a couple of caps have blown.Will i be able to put an ATX motherboard in there?I want be able to do anything about those tiny fans though. o_O Why the OEM motherboard is in that case is another thing.o_OAnd what ever that AGP is.

At least the Sata side of the docking station is working/ on my Mac:) The drive is out of the PC case i put on here.:)I just wish the IDE side of the Docking station would work.o_OAll though it is only 160 gb.

Does anyone know what these connecters are for?I know that one is for USB,The small canals where do they all go?I can,t see one see one for audio?
1.)MC POWER
2. MC IN
3.Ground
4.R.RET
5.R.OUT
6.L.OUT
7,L.RET
8 Ground
he card is
Sapphire AT Radeon 9600 pro 256mb :)

Apparently the board is not an OEM board it is Intel D865PERL Perl
 

Attachments

  • DSC01418.JPG
    DSC01418.JPG
    6.6 MB · Views: 62
  • DSC01420.JPG
    DSC01420.JPG
    6.8 MB · Views: 51
  • DSC01421.JPG
    DSC01421.JPG
    6.4 MB · Views: 45
  • DSC01422.JPG
    DSC01422.JPG
    6.3 MB · Views: 51
  • DSC01424.JPG
    DSC01424.JPG
    6.1 MB · Views: 45
  • DSC01428.JPG
    DSC01428.JPG
    5.6 MB · Views: 38
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Apparently the board is not an OEM board it is Intel D865PERL i will give this a try to fix bent pins
razer blade, o_OThis came with the £1 pc
9600 pro :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
This came in the £1 PC Silverstone PSU has anyone seen so many connectors on one PSU ? o_OIt works fine but only two Sata cabals o_OThat is the motherboard you can also see in the photo it does work but i see some caps gone:(.I don,t know when i can pluck up courage to replace them ,i will have to try on a board that is not working, can anyone recommend a decent solideriring iron and the other stuff i need to do the job?Having said that i might be able to get one at the market ,i never looked at the tools there before.I saw another AMD board there i gave it a miss after me bending all those pins and some breaking off as people on here have said on the cpu.

Oh the slot-loader optical drive. Pioneer was so excellent! They still are when you can find their products.
Lex can you tell me what all these commuters mean?They are little connectors like the front panal ones ,which are also on the case.There are two bigger ones black and blue with the same pin connections one must be USB there are no markings on themo_OI can,t see a Audio connecter is it one of these leads?In the photo are the small connectors in the list below in the photo,And the HDD drive that came in the case is in good health 100% according to Crystal Disc info:)Albeit Just 160gb.
1. MC power
2. MC IN
3.Ground
4.R.RET
5.R.OUT
6.L.OUT
7,L.RET
8 Ground
 

Attachments

  • DSC01426.JPG
    DSC01426.JPG
    6.9 MB · Views: 45
  • DSC01428.JPG
    DSC01428.JPG
    5.6 MB · Views: 42
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
683 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
1. MC power
2. MC IN
3.Ground
4.R.RET
5.R.OUT
6.L.OUT
7,L.RET
8 Ground
Yes, that's the front panel mic & speaker connections. Hopefully the mobo manual (or sound card) will show you the pin-out for the fp audio.
I had a case with the USB 2.0 with individual connectors and it was a pita to connect.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Yes, that's the front panel mic & speaker connections. Hopefully the mobo manual (or sound card) will show you the pin-out for the fp audio.
I had a case with the USB 2.0 with individual connectors and it was a pita to connect.
But i have the normal connecters in the case POWER LEDS, HDD ,RESET,POWER SW.It is only the audio i don,t see is it not one of those two bigger connecters Blue or Black?I don,t remember if any of those 8 connecters were connected. o_O
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
683 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
Are the black & blue connectors looped on the same cable? If so, one might be for HD audio & the other for AC97 audio.
audio.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,227 (1.97/day)
Location
UK
Are the black & blue connectors looped on the same cable? If so, one might be for HD audio & the other for AC97 audio.
no the blue one has the loop on,no lettering on them both..have the same pins with the one bloccked off.I saved this from the landfill it would have been a traversty f it had.I will never get a bargin like this at only £1 i was not exspecting it to work. Lian Li :)
class :) My two xases are not in there but the other pne o bought earler this year is a later modal ,is toue in there?
 

Attachments

  • DSC01432.JPG
    DSC01432.JPG
    6.3 MB · Views: 40
  • DSC01433.JPG
    DSC01433.JPG
    6.3 MB · Views: 39
  • DSC01434.JPG
    DSC01434.JPG
    6.2 MB · Views: 28
Last edited:

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,142 (1.94/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
This should be of interest to anyone who remembers PackardBell computers BITD.

Hell, I still have a Packard Bell from 1995. It's a tower and still running Windows 3.11 for work groups.

Jeez, makes me want to fire it up. :p
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
683 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
Open the door. What's in there? The cables all seem to come from there.

Door.png


My Packard Bell was a 286 that I bought in the late 80's. Sadly, I think all of it is now gone. Didn't save anything when I went to a 486 system.
 
Top