• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
674 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
do you mean taking out the CMOS battery
Yes, that's one way to do it. Unplug the PSU from the wall and pull the battery. Wait a few minutes then plug the PSU back in & put the battery back in.
The time should be reset if it worked properly.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
Yes, that's one way to do it. Unplug the PSU from the wall and pull the battery. Wait a few minutes then plug the PSU back in & put the battery back in.
The time should be reset if it worked properly.
I did all that but no good ,does it mean the Ram is bad? o_O
or that it is not compatable with the motherboard? o_O
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
674 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
I did all that but no good ,does it mean the Ram is bad? o_O
or that it is not compatable with the motherboard? o_O
Have you tried the pencil eraser trick on the contact edges of your new (to you) RAM? At this point, it is worth a try. Are the blanks & new RAM in the same slots as the blanks & old RAM?


BTW, my Avatar is my favorite LOL Cat meme, not my kitten. The quote is from Zelda. :)

Danger_Kitten_Meme.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
Have you tried the pencil eraser trick on the contact edges of your new (to you) RAM? At this point, it is worth a try. Are the blanks & new RAM in the same slots as the blanks & old RAM?


BTW, my Avatar is my favorite LOL Cat meme, not my kitten. The quote is from Zelda. :)

View attachment 354069
I have tried all that and it does not work. :(
on Phils video he has the the Ram sticks next to each other and the two Crimms in the next two slots.That does not work on here you have to have a ram in slot one slot two a Crimm slot 3 Ram slot 4 ram.I keep on trying different CMOS battery,s ,one time the as soon as i powered us and posted but would not switch off .I put a different CMOS in and the switch is working again.:)The seller of the sticks has messaged me to say he found the other sticks.Either the sticks i bought don,t work, or they only work in a HP PC is that possible?o_O

Is it because the new ram is double sided, the ram the PC came with is single sided. And the reason Phils two stick are in the first two slots is because they are double sided?

I have just seen this
Compatibility: Double-sided RAM modules can be used in systems that support single-sided RAM, but it’s essential to ensure that the motherboard and system configuration can handle the double-sided RAM. Some older systems might not support double-sided RAM, so it’s crucial to check the system specifications before making the replacement.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
766 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Another BTC drive. Pulled from a Pentium 2 PC I got recently from the local car boot sales.
 

Attachments

  • 20240707_230714.jpg
    20240707_230714.jpg
    726.6 KB · Views: 20
  • 20240707_230724.jpg
    20240707_230724.jpg
    740.9 KB · Views: 19
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,045 (6.47/day)
After a Socket 1366 motherboard died rather suddenly, I just upgraded my 2004 Dell Optiplex 170L yet again. This time, I got an AsRock board for my old 1600X, fitted it with a ThermalRight SI-100 heatsink/fan combo, a 512GB NVMe SSD, a Hitachi 2TB HDD, a PNY GTX1060 and 24GB of RAM. Photo's below.
DellOptiplex170LUpgrade02.jpg

DellOptiplex170LUpgrade03-FF14DTB[1366x768].jpg

DellOptiplex170LUpgrade04-FF14DTB[1920x1080]-01.jpg

DellOptiplex170LUpgrade05-FF14DTB[1920x1080]-02.jpg

Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_14473_1720319323_1.jpg

Not too shabby for older hardware!

Not my main system, it will serve as a spare for visitors, the kids/grandkids and other various tasks as needed.
Still, I'm not letting go of this system. I've had it for 20 years and it will continue to be upgrade until I die.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
I know this is not Retro but i am getting this for free. from the seller
1720425258757.png
*In fairness if you can use it you can have it for free. I just didn't want to bin a some what working board just seemed like such a waste.* :)
Selling an MSI Z170-A Pro motherboard, no I/O back plate/shield. Got it free years ago and haven't tested it since as I don't have a compatible CPU to hand. Selling as-is (bought as seen) as I can't confirm if it works. I believe it did post and work fine when I first got it, but there might be a minor issue with a USB slot or RAM slot, so long ago I can't remember. As there was thermal paste in the box will chuck that in as well.He did say on the Gumtree advert it was £5.
At the end of the day if it does not work nothing lost, i have the ram for it and a cpu 660OK and some coolers.
1720425338684.png


1720425295152.png
 

Ruru

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
11,544 (2.73/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X h2o
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3080 TUF h2o
Storage ~3TB SSDs + 6TB external HDDs
Display(s) Acer 27" 4K120 + Lenovo 32" 4K60
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 + Asus TUF P1 mousepad
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores It runs Crysis
I know this is not Retro but i am getting this for free. from the seller
View attachment 354428*In fairness if you can use it you can have it for free. I just didn't want to bin a some what working board just seemed like such a waste.* :)
Selling an MSI Z170-A Pro motherboard, no I/O back plate/shield. Got it free years ago and haven't tested it since as I don't have a compatible CPU to hand. Selling as-is (bought as seen) as I can't confirm if it works. I believe it did post and work fine when I first got it, but there might be a minor issue with a USB slot or RAM slot, so long ago I can't remember. As there was thermal paste in the box will chuck that in as well.He did say on the Gumtree advert it was £5.
At the end of the day if it does not work nothing lost, i have the ram for it and a cpu 660OK and some coolers.
View attachment 354430

View attachment 354429
Well, maybe not truly retro, but Z170 is without a doubt tech from yesteryear. Still usable though as I have a 6700K on my 2nd setup.

Very excited and pleased with this pick-up, it's either brand spanking new, extremely lightly used or excellently refurbished, I can't find a spec of dust or any signs of wear and tear. Can't wait to test this in my retro rig against other close era cards, right at the birth of PCI Express. Let's go table fog!

Based on the FX5950 series NV38 but perofming more in line with the lower NV35 FX5900 series cards (hey at least it's 256-bit!) we have the;

Quadro FX 1300 128M DDR

View attachment 353985
Uuh, those few FX chips which were ported to PCIe. Did you know that also a PCX4300 (yes, a GF4 MX PCIe) exists? :laugh:

 

wolf

Better Than Native
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
7,981 (1.27/day)
System Name MightyX
Processor Ryzen 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 32GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus TUF RTX3080 Deshrouded
Storage WD Black SN850X 2TB
Display(s) LG 42C2 4K OLED
Case Coolermaster NR200P
Audio Device(s) LG SN5Y / Focal Clear
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RBG Pro SE
Keyboard Glorious GMMK Compact w/pudding
VR HMD Meta Quest 3
Software case populated with Artic P12's
Benchmark Scores 4k120 OLED Gsync bliss
Uuh, those few FX chips which were ported to PCIe. Did you know that also a PCX4300 (yes, a GF4 MX PCIe) exists? :laugh:
Well, I know what I'm on the lookout for now!
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
Well, maybe not truly retro, but Z170 is without a doubt tech from yesteryear. Still usable though as I have a 6700K on my 2nd setup.


Uuh, those few FX chips which were ported to PCIe. Did you know that also a PCX4300 (yes, a GF4 MX PCIe) exists? :laugh:

I am just off to collect it now as usual it is the other side of London a bus to London Bridge and a tube to the end of the line.Should take about an hour..As he says i don,t know if the problem is fixable ,but it is for nothing so nothing lost.Plus the fact i get free travel. :)All home now the guy friendly like all all the sellers i have bought from :) Just have to see what is the problem with it, and hope i can fix whatever it is.He said he used a 6700k with it when he used it some time ago.I have a 6600k which i got for another board i got for free that came with a 6100 and heatsink MSI b150m PRO VDH i realise that board would not be clockable i had to buy the ram for it.I can,t see anything that looks PSYCHICAL wrong with it.o_O

I have just looked at the CPU socket and see where the problem is bent pins :( I can see a couple in the middle ,of course that would cause Ram and USB problems.:(Can anyone confirm that they are there.Circle them thanks:)
 

Attachments

  • DSC02169.JPG
    DSC02169.JPG
    7 MB · Views: 32
  • DSC02170.JPG
    DSC02170.JPG
    7 MB · Views: 20
  • DSC02171.JPG
    DSC02171.JPG
    6.4 MB · Views: 23
  • DSC02173.JPG
    DSC02173.JPG
    6.9 MB · Views: 31
  • DSC02172.JPG
    DSC02172.JPG
    7.3 MB · Views: 33
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
766 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Well, Sunday's car boot sale, among the Pentium 2 machine, proved to be quite the score.

I've now got my vanilla NF7 v2.0 a sibling - the NF7-S v2.0, with a pretty legendary BIOS.
 

Attachments

  • IMG-20240709-WA0039.jpg
    IMG-20240709-WA0039.jpg
    333.2 KB · Views: 40
  • IMG-20240709-WA0011.jpg
    IMG-20240709-WA0011.jpg
    316.1 KB · Views: 40
  • IMG-20240709-WA0032.jpg
    IMG-20240709-WA0032.jpg
    189.6 KB · Views: 39

Ruru

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
11,544 (2.73/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X h2o
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3080 TUF h2o
Storage ~3TB SSDs + 6TB external HDDs
Display(s) Acer 27" 4K120 + Lenovo 32" 4K60
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 + Asus TUF P1 mousepad
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores It runs Crysis
Well, Sunday's car boot sale, among the Pentium 2 machine, proved to be quite the score.

I've now got my vanilla NF7 v2.0 a sibling - the NF7-S v2.0, with a pretty legendary BIOS.
nF2 kicks ass always. I have a Asus A7N8X-X (NF2 400, non-ultra) and it's a surprisingly good board even though it's nothing like those better boards.

I have just looked at the CPU socket and see where the problem is bent pins :( I can see a couple in the middle ,of course that would cause Ram and USB problems.:(Can anyone confirm that they are there.Circle them thanks:)
I see bent pin(s) at least here


1720548990372.png
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
Instaling windows ME with the best

StarTech.com IDE to SATA Hard Drive or Optical Drive Adapter​

, 40-Pin PATA to 2.5" SATA HDD / SSD / ODD Converter by far the best a lot better than those dodge cheap ones from china like the last one i bought :( .They are a fair bit more but Star Tech products are quality .I think you get what you pay for .:)The thing now is to get is to get 3DMARK on here thats a challengeo_OI see this has been a problem for years :(

3Dmark could not initialize your 3D Accelerator.​

When you encounter the error “3Dmark could not initialize your 3D Accelerator,” it’s often due to compatibility issues or displa o_O y settings thet sat turn down to 260 but i can,t see how to do it.I thing i will try my old monitor this one is 27inches.do you know how i can get 7zip or WINRAR on a Retro PC?o_O

1720537501921.png

nF2 kicks ass always. I have a Asus A7N8X-X (NF2 400, non-ultra) and it's a surprisingly good board even though it's nothing like those better boards.


I see bent pin(s) at least here


View attachment 354642
No wonfer he had problems with the ram and or the usb s :(Glad he gave it to me for free :) rather than me paying £5. for it.I am not good at fixing pins.:(And what versions?
 
Last edited:

Ruru

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
11,544 (2.73/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X h2o
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3080 TUF h2o
Storage ~3TB SSDs + 6TB external HDDs
Display(s) Acer 27" 4K120 + Lenovo 32" 4K60
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 + Asus TUF P1 mousepad
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores It runs Crysis
No wonfer he had problems with the ram and or the usb s :(Glad he gave it to me for free :) rather than me paying £5. for it.I am not good at fixing pins.:(And what versions?
Train the pin fix-bending with known broken mobo. A sewing needle or something similar is pretty fine tool for fixing them.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
1,031 (0.16/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard ASUS A520M-K
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu Mark II
Memory 2 x 16GB SK Hynix OEM DDR4-3200 @ 3666 18-20-18-36
Video Card(s) Colorful RTX 2060 SUPER 8GB GDDR6
Storage 250GB WD BLACK SN750 M.2 + 4TB WD Red Plus + 4TB WD Purple
Display(s) AOpen 27HC5R 27" 1080p 165Hz
Case COUGAR MX440 Mesh RGB
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD + Kurtzweil KS-40A bookshelf
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential
Keyboard Cougar Attack2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Hmm with all the talk about more modern hardware, I'm thinking of building ultimate Windows 7 gaming PC. What would the hardware be? I know officially for Windows XP, Intel up to about Ivy Bridge and Haswell have the driver for it, but is Ryzen too 'new' for Windows 7?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
5,446 (1.03/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2021
Processor AMD RyZen R7 7800X3D
Motherboard Asus Strix X670E - E Gaming WIFI
Cooling Deep Cool LT720 + CM MasterGel Pro TP + Lian Li Uni Fan V2
Memory 32GB GSkill Trident Z5 Neo 6000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ OC RX6800 16GB DDR6 2270Cclk / 2010Mclk
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe 1TB gen3 x4 1X Samsung 980 Pro NVMe Gen 4 x4 1TB, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) AOC 24G2 IPS 144Hz FreeSync Premium 1920x1080p
Case Lian Li O11D XL ROG edition
Audio Device(s) RX6800 via HDMI + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W 5.1 Speaker set
Power Supply EVGA 1000W G5 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core Wired
Keyboard Logitech G915 Wireless
Software Windows 11 X64 PRO (build 23H2)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
Well, Sunday's car boot sale, among the Pentium 2 machine, proved to be quite the score.

I've now got my vanilla NF7 v2.0 a sibling - the NF7-S v2.0, with a pretty legendary BIOS.
Abit made probably thee best NF7S mobo's I couldn't kill mine
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,212 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
nF2 kicks ass always. I have a Asus A7N8X-X (NF2 400, non-ultra) and it's a surprisingly good board even though it's nothing like those better boards.


I see bent pin(s) at least here


View attachment 354642
I see one that does not seem to be there o_O I don,t know how you can draw on there o_O I don,t know if there is something that can draw like that on my main PC a 27 inch IMAC.
 

Attachments

  • DSC02180.JPG
    DSC02180.JPG
    6.6 MB · Views: 15
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
766 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Abit made probably thee best NF7S mobo's I couldn't kill mine
As you can see, I have both vanilla and SATA RAID versions.
Tough as nails, but then, aside from ASUS' A7N8X series (which IMO feels like the PCB quality wasn't their top priority at all, lest we mention capactiors), most nForce 2 boards I've owned were solid and mean overclockers - MSI K7N2 Delta-ILSR, EpoX EP-8RDA6+, Soltek SL-75FRN2-RL are my most popular choices, besides the ABIT that is king (especially the SATA equipped board, since that one runs the D27 TaiPan BIOS)
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
1,530 (1.10/day)
Processor 5800X3D -30 CO
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling DeepCool Assassin III
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaws V @ 3800 CL14
Video Card(s) ASRock MBA 7900XTX
Storage 1TB WD SN850X + 1TB ADATA SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell S2721QS 4K60
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced USB 3.0
Audio Device(s) Audiotrak Prodigy Cube Black (JRC MUSES 8820D) + CAL (recabled)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TX-750
Mouse Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Software Windows 10 Pro
I'm thinking of building ultimate Windows 7 gaming PC ... is Ryzen too 'new' for Windows 7?
I like your idea! Windows Embedded POSReady 7, the last supported OS in the Win7 family, will receive its final updates in October. I think we can now classify Windows 7 as a "retro" system :)

The B450 and X470 chipsets have official drivers for Win7. Dependent on motherboard support, the fastest CPU you could use would be the Ryzen 9 5950X, or the 5800X3D strictly for gaming.

In terms of graphics, both Nvidia RTX 30 series and AMD RX 6000 series support Windows 7. The RTX3090Ti would be the ultimate Win7 GPU.

Now, as I was typing this on my Win7 system a funny thing happened. The July updates were installing, and I just entered an address in the browser and hit Enter to confirm. At this very moment the update window popped up from the background with the "reboot now" button highlighted, and of course it registered my input. Talk about irony :oops:

Luckily, TPU had saved my message, so I didn't have to re-type it.
 

Ruru

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
11,544 (2.73/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X h2o
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3080 TUF h2o
Storage ~3TB SSDs + 6TB external HDDs
Display(s) Acer 27" 4K120 + Lenovo 32" 4K60
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 + Asus TUF P1 mousepad
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores It runs Crysis
Hmm with all the talk about more modern hardware, I'm thinking of building ultimate Windows 7 gaming PC. What would the hardware be? I know officially for Windows XP, Intel up to about Ivy Bridge and Haswell have the driver for it, but is Ryzen too 'new' for Windows 7?
Not sure about Ryzen, but at least Skylake is the last officially supported Win7 platform from Intel.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
509 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
PCX 5300 (FX5200 PCIe)
139440_nwzqtpiasxb46taq_20220905_132518_2.jpg139440_dhexgynlzaghauwz_20220905_132532_2.jpg
139440_jh5dxleidpa857kl_20220905_132645_2.jpg139440_smnjdpefegnjtfep_20220905_133014_2.jpg

And it is slower than an ATI X300 SE (slowest ATI card in Pcie)
139440_go5cq3n15np6jv1v_fx5300.png139440_jd0weszgr09fwzv0_x300.png

For reference Geforce4 MX440 AGP 64bit
So i think the PCX4300 is probably faster in dx7 than the PCX5300
139440_x3kmoxgxttgh1egn_139440_139440_20220607_195744.jpg

And i have an FX1300 (5950 GPU with slower vram, pcie)
139440_g9fszlzruztrnnqn_20240126_195221.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
1,031 (0.16/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard ASUS A520M-K
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu Mark II
Memory 2 x 16GB SK Hynix OEM DDR4-3200 @ 3666 18-20-18-36
Video Card(s) Colorful RTX 2060 SUPER 8GB GDDR6
Storage 250GB WD BLACK SN750 M.2 + 4TB WD Red Plus + 4TB WD Purple
Display(s) AOpen 27HC5R 27" 1080p 165Hz
Case COUGAR MX440 Mesh RGB
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD + Kurtzweil KS-40A bookshelf
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential
Keyboard Cougar Attack2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
That PCX5300 only got 64-bit memory bus that's why it's lacking, well you have all those low end card in their worse 64-bit variant anyway so yeah FX chips were terrible either way, the FX5200 don't have memory bandwidth saving tech the higher tier got, so it hits hard in performance with only 64-bit memory. I used to have various MX-440 variant back in the day too. Man this card is so common back in the day.
 

Ruru

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
11,544 (2.73/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X h2o
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3080 TUF h2o
Storage ~3TB SSDs + 6TB external HDDs
Display(s) Acer 27" 4K120 + Lenovo 32" 4K60
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 + Asus TUF P1 mousepad
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores It runs Crysis
That PCX5300 only got 64-bit memory bus that's why it's lacking, well you have all those low end card in their worse 64-bit variant anyway so yeah FX chips were terrible either way, the FX5200 don't have memory bandwidth saving tech the higher tier got, so it hits hard in performance with only 64-bit memory. I used to have various MX-440 variant back in the day too. Man this card is so common back in the day.
I hate nothing as much in old hardware as ruining a card with a narrow memory bus.
 
Top