1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,983 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    All I am going to say LOL is that I hated my 940be proc. Couldn't wait to get rid of it and replace it with something different. (1055t)
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,076 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,363
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    It was a sarcasm, refering to some native english who told me "in fact English is the hardest language in the world due to slang..."

    Yep English is bloody easy and slang is pretty straightforward if you have some logic ... Swiss patoué (dialect) are way more difficult
    Ie: tcheu l'botsh l'est taillé a botson en bas la dérupe! :D google translate me that ! ;)

    edit missed one
    package-big.jpg
    duh ... harder to find than to miss
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2014
    stinger608 says thanks.
  3. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    592
    Location:
    Canada
    FROM TOP TO BOTTOM

    AGP = BFG Tech GeForce 7800 GS OC http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814143046

    AGP = ATI Radeon 9250 series 256megs (Maybe PowerColor)

    PCI-E = Asus EN8600GT/HTDP/256M/A http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121096

    PCI-E = Acer ATI Radeon HD3450

    PCI-E = BFG Tech GeForce 3DFR6200LEE http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814143052R

    I tried them long time ago and still working but I don't remember the quantity of memory for the #4 and brand for #2.

    IMAG0329.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2014
  4. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    001.jpg 002.jpg 003.jpg 004.jpg 005.jpg 006.jpg 007.jpg
     
  5. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    592
    Location:
    Canada
    Ah remember when rigs equipped with these processors had a "TURBO" button on the case.
     
    Peter1986C and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  6. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    592
    Location:
    Canada
    Did you mean nice rack? Just asking.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  7. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,076 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,363
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    remember Junk you have a edit button ;) (it goes for all double poster of course)

    eeek dusty...
    Socket3overdrive.png
    not mine ... luckily

    ahahahhahah ... i remember when my 1st 486DX33 was running doom or doom 2 and a friend accidentally pressed the turbo button ... slideshow! (i wonder why the speed was 33 in turbo on and 7 turbo off ... )
     
    Doc41 and stinger608 say thanks.
  8. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
  9. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,076 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,363
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWWWW!!! F*CK YEAH!!!!

    i heard they will throw away a HP DC7900 again!!! PEANUT BUTTER WOLFDALE JELLY TIME! again...
     
    Doc41 says thanks.
  10. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,458 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,689
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I remember pressing that on my K6-2 system. It did not seem to do anything at that moment, so I never touched it again.
     
  11. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    484 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    LOL, something like that, yes. :D
     
    JunkBear says thanks.
  12. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,076 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,363
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    SOOO MUCH DUST'N GUNK... pfeewwww too bad i didn't took some pics of the cleaning...
    but... WELCOME BACK Wolfdale E8500 ! Wolfdale E8500 meet Oland R7 240 please get along well ... (a old bag with a young little card ... eh? odd couple)
    wfd.jpg
     
  13. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    937 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Finland
    Stock clocks.. :(

    Damn I missed a X6800 ES CPU on Finnish hardware forum's marketplace, I've could have it with 20 euros but I'm totally short of money atm :D
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,076 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,363
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    of course .... HP Compaq DC7900 non standard SFF mobo and ultra restrictive BIOS.... at last its compatible with Core 2 Quad ... and the PciE is 2.0 :roll:
    i sold the previous one i salvaged for 140chf... this one i will keep it... and sell the DC7700p (need money hurk hurk hurk ;) )

    but the R7 240 is nothing like at stock at last :D and hold pretty well considering the PSU being a 240W

    gosh i just realized the DC7900 SFF can be upgraded till 16gb ram... (4gb atm 2x2) ok it's DDR2 but still .... the highest quad compatible is the Q9650
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2014
  15. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,913 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,797
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    Still, a Q9650 with 8GB+ RAM and an R7 240, even with all at stock speed, is a pretty damn nice SFF system.
     
    GreiverBlade, stinger608 and 9700 Pro say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    937 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Finland
    Ah, then I understand why it's stock. The mobo looks pretty weird I have to admit.
     
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,418
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Yea no kidding. That is still a very capable system indeed!
     
    GreiverBlade and 9700 Pro say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    937 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah, not bad :) Some gaming for old games should be fine too with that kind of setup :toast:
     
  19. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,076 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,363
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    your joking right? i can even play FFXIV ARR in notebook settings with that ... (and i still have a E8500 C2D and 4gb not a Q9650 C2Q plus 8gb)

    pics... waiting for my video footage to be up on my dropbox and go youtube ! ;) soon (tm)
    IMG_20140509_234547_728.jpg

    seems pretty fluid for a 13-14fps xD oh and 45° max gpu temp


    the APU run result in my sig is a ultra 2x fxaa preset this one i ran it in medium to be fair to the "old" cpu ;)
    waiting on the upload of FFXIV benchmark standard
    result

    IMG_20140510_244202_707.jpg
    1000-1499 indeed notebook mode needed or custom

    in fact the ARR benchmark is more gentle than the initial FFXIV benchmark 54° max GPU 100% load 42-52° CPU 100% load on all core
    IMG_20140510_012706_020.jpg



    before i upload any result here is the chart
    [7000-]
    Extremely High PerformanceEasily capable of running the game on the highest settings.
    [5000-6999]
    Very High PerformanceEasily capable of running the game. Should perform exceptionally well, even at higher resolutions.
    [3500-4999]
    High PerformanceEasily capable of running the game. Should perform well, even at higher resolutions.
    [2500-3499]
    Fairly High PerformanceCapable of running the game on default settings. Consider switching to a higher resolution depending on performance.
    [2000-2499]
    Standard PerformanceCapable of running the game on default settings.
    [1500-1999]
    Slightly Low Performance – Changes to Settings RecommendedCapable of running the game, but will experience slowdown. Adjusting settings may improve performance.
    [1000-1499]
    Low Performance – Changes to Settings RequiredCapable of running the game, but will experience considerable slowdown. Adjusting settings is unlikely to improve performance.
    [Under1000]
    Insufficient PerformanceDoes not meet specifications for running the game.

    good to see a old bag still capable of a good kicking if you add a cheap entry level "modern" GPU
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2014
    stinger608 and Doc41 say thanks.
  20. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,386 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,477
    Location:
    Washington, US
    From what I understand, it's because back in the DOS days, all programs ran in real mode (aka: as fast as they can). The turbo button was a way to slow down the computer so older programs/games didn't run too fast. Programs didn't wait for a number of seconds, they waited for a number of clock cycles.
    Basically, it's a compatibility mode button.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  21. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    592
    Location:
    Canada
    Just did the round of street garbage before truck get all in morning. Got a full setup: MSI K4M4-L , Athlon 2400+ , 1gig memory, 2 x 80 gigs HDD (samsung+maxtor) , FX5200 agp 128megs, DVD-RW, hp cd-burner ,floppy, psu Coolmax V-400. Booting in XP but when background picture appear on desktop it goes all white after all over screen. Probably virus so i just save all files using external HDD enclosure then reboot system with xp pro.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2014
    Arjai and stinger608 say thanks.
  22. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    937 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Finland
    Wow, that was kinda surprise for me :) I easily underestimate the low/lower mid-end GPUs so my bad :D

    Haven't even tried FF XIV because IMO the whole FF series went to crap after FFX (when the Enix clowns came into FF business), so it's kinda unknown for me :D
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  23. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,076 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,363
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    technically Enix has nothing to do with the FF serie, Squaresoft did buy them but the FF team remained the same as before (afaik) and being one of the few to have as a favorite the VIII because of the non SD character i particularly like the XIV, tho from I to XIII i pretty much liked all FF except the XI which i never played. (well a part of the original FF team did quit and founded "Mistwalker" the studio behind one of the greatest rpg i played on Xbox360 ; Lost Odyssey ... duh i need to re buy a 360 :cry: )

    also you can see i am a FF VIII lover ... my AV is a drawing for a Griever Tatoo: Griever is one of Squall Lionheart's G-Force (nope not Nvidia...) also as i said once if i except the typo, my forum name come from Griever(Greiver) and the Blade of the Gunblade of squall (or Weiss in FF Dirge of Cerberus)

    also yep indeed never underestimate a R7 240 @950/2000 instead of 780/1800 (easiest OC ever! just push the limite to 20% and max all sliders... stock fan profile low temp : dead silent) even a DDR3 model :D since there was no 240 GDDR5 or 250 GDDR5 in 2gb low profile model i ended with that awesome piece from MSI (for 65chf ... could be worse)

    for FFXIV ARR using custom preset and 1080P instead of 720P laptop mode i get 2800ish
    now i totally need to find some DDR2 800(or more) RAM stick and a Q9650 to play some more with the old bag huhuhu

    ffxiv_29122013_102245.png ffxiv_31122013_103018.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2014
    Doc41 says thanks.
  24. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,418
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Nice score JunkBear!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,229 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    592
    Location:
    Canada
    .

    Why so impressed? :p jk

    The XP refused to boot so I installed Vista 32bits home premium. Disconnected the hp cd burner and removed the Samsung. Left Maxtor for this rig and Samsung will be used in other rig.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2014
    stinger608 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)