1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    518 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Bahrain
    @Misaki Its always fun to revive a "dead" motherboard :D, reminds me of our original xbox that died one time but turns out a few caps needed a change

    btw TrackID said (Illusion - 140) correct?
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,085 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    on the hunt again :
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    but not now (9 days left for that auction) and i have a camping today (maybe non nostalgic pics soon for the pleasure of your eyes ... if i keep up till i reach the area i want... :D )
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2015
    stinger608 says thanks.
  3. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    160 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Yup.

    If you want, I personally don't see a problem ;)
    Nforce chipset on 462? *Sniff* *sniff*, overclocking time! :D
     
  4. DigitalxxxFr34k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i am looking to relive my history with computers, over the years i started collecting old video games, mainly consoles and handhelds from the nes/gameboy, to current, i enjoy reliving the classic games, but there is one system that i do not have yet, and that is a 98se box, yes i am aware of dos box and other 3rd party programs, that will allow you to run old programs and games, currently i have a box, that has windows 7 and covers everything from, xp- current, now i want something to cover dos-98se/me that is authentic and whats considered top of the line back in 99-01 era before xp hit the market, i already have an idea what 98se can handle
    back in the day i ran a
    600mhz amd cpu
    64mb geforce pci video card
    sound blaster live 2 audio card
    512mb of sd ram
    20gb ide 5200 rpm hdd

    and i remember having troubles making games run maxed out and for most games i had to run them at medium settings, but of course it had norton anti virus, which took alot of resources back in the day, and it prob didn't help i was downloading music from napster alot back in that day either lol,

    im lookng to be running at

    800mhz-1ghz cpu
    768mb-1gb ram
    128mb agp card
    and a awesome mother board to plug all this into :)

    i already have a good sound card that will work with 98
    and i have a 120gb ide 7200 rpm seagate drive


    i just need to know exactley what i should be looking for as far as cpu motherboard ram and gpu brand names and model numbers would make things so much easier.

    and i already know you have to make some tweaks to run 98 with higher components and thats no problem:)

    thanks
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  5. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    518 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Hello and welcome to TPU!

    That seems like a good and fun idea, i don't remember much from the 98/ME era (still a kid back then :p) but i do have my dad's first PC from back then "Dino in my system specs"

    if you're looking at a 800-1GHz CPU you should check out these motherboard socket types
    Socket 370 : Intel
    Socket A "462": AMD
    Slot A: both Intel and AMD "i think"
    What comes to my mind now is :Intel Pentium III "available in socket 370 &Slot A" and AMD Athlon/Duron/Sempron series CPUs in "Socket A & Slot A"

    as for GPUs you have nVidia's geforce 2/3/4 series or ATI's Radeon R100 & R200 Series

    As for a motherboard i have no idea what's the best chipset were back then but nForce2 chipsets were among the top ones (someone correct me if i'm wrong)

    That's all i can think of right now, lets see what the others can share :toast:
     
    stinger608 and debs3759 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    119 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Close. Slot A was AMD's slot technology, for Athlons up to 1 GHz.
    Intel's slots were Slot 1, which was different. Slot 1 was used for Pentium II up to 450 MHz then the original Pentium III "Katmai" up to 600 MHz.
     
    stinger608 and Doc41 say thanks.
  7. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    119 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    An afterthought tells me that was a good time for the integrated Voodoo cards as well. The Banshee came out in June 98, but as it only had one texture unit was not as good as a Voodoo2 with separate 2D card. Voodoo3, released in 99, rectified this by adding in the second texture unit the Voodoo2 had, and that made it among the best cards around.
     
    stinger608 and Doc41 say thanks.
  8. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    160 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Where do you live? I have a spare ASUS motherboard with Slot "socket", some CPU for it and RAM. If you live near my country, It will be yours for shipping costs :p

    By the way, I must do a cleaning with hardware (cons of living with parents). Someone here wants ASUS CUV4X-D with Dual Pentium III 866MHz (Coopermine) and 512MB SDRAM?

    Today I repaired a Forton 300W PSU. Sorry for bad English (but I talked seriously in this language for first time, lol) :p

     
    stinger608 and Doc41 say thanks.
  9. DigitalxxxFr34k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    thanks guys

    so voodoo 3 for graphics card sounds good to me
    amd socket a 1ghz athlon cpu sounds good to me as well
    and a nforce 2 i remember seeing that on my old mb back in the day so if any one can think of a better chipset on a mobo let me know :)
    what about ram, what was good ram back in that day id like to have around 768-1gb of ram

    and misaki thanks for the offer but i live in the states, i have access to parts from friends and family, only thing ill have to order online is a prob the voodoo 3 card and maybe a cpu
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  10. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,085 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    the correction as already been given but : WRONG YOU HERETIC!

    also @debs3759 use edit function would you please :)

    and now @Misaki : who did you contact for "name change"

    also i received a mail from a friend and he wrote : what do you wish for Xmas with theses pics in it
    seriously a 3870x2 ? DOWANT! (i hope he can keep it )
    737798180_2_Big.jpg asus-eah3870x2-g-htdi-1g.jpg

    hummm a Quadro FX3700 nah unless a pack of two duntwant
    740016396_2_Big.jpg nvidia-quadro-fx-3700.jpg
    9800 GTX and FX3450 hummm same as the 3700 (except for collection purpose)
    geforce-9800-gtx.jpg nvidia-quadro-fx-3450.jpg


    eh a 295 for the workstation .... it's a bit overkill.... and he has 2 of them ...
    739965796_2_Big.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2014
    stinger608 and Doc41 say thanks.
  11. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    518 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Bahrain
    @debs3759 @GreiverBlade Please forgive this poor ignorant fool that is me :fear:
    /jk

    Voodoo cards are nice too, i always wanted a voodoo3 or that glorious "quad core :laugh:" voodoo5 ......
    which reminds me since i gave up on updating the BIOS i should look for 2 20GB HDDs for mine
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,058 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    :C A lot of stuff you guys consider old are upgrades for systems in my house
     
  13. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    119 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    I've been thinking the same. It makes me smile when I see people get nostalgic about hardware that is only 5/6 years old. Makes me feel old as well, 5 years is just like yesterday :)

    I think most stuff qualifies as old in technology terms though. I mean, I could get nostalgic about the Sandy Bridge system I used to benchmark with, even though it was only a couple of years ago. My main system these days (mostly used for watching movies, browsing and downloading) is a Llano based system, probably last me a few more years for what it does.
     
    stinger608, GreiverBlade and Misaki say thanks.
  14. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    119 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Wow, I just finished browsing through the entire 101 pages of the thread. Probably only read half of it, but I was more interested in the hardware. Shame not everybody uses a decent image hosting site, too many early images are dead links. The thread has given me some ideas of hardware for my want list though (it was already so long it'll take me all year to fill half the list!).

    I really must sort out a well lit space for photographing some of my goodies, I want to start showing it off :)
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  15. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,082 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,425
    Location:
    Wyoming

    Oh man Debs, can't wait to see some of the pictures!!! :respect: :respect: :respect:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,983 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Amd was Slot A and intel had different slot's. They where slot 1 and 2. :toast:
     
    GreiverBlade and Doc41 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,085 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    no need anymore : TPU "Upload a File" button, is awesome!

    bring it on!
     
  18. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,735 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,359
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Not exactly computer-related but it's cool and nostalgic.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Some pictures of my latest activities.
    I bought some radiators at ebay. They look a little used, but the function is 100%.

    Phalanx 1200 01.jpg

    From left to right: 2x Magicool 360 slim, XSPC RX360, Airplex EVO 360.
    The XSPC was painted with fresh black spraypaint.

    XSPC geschliffen 1024 02.jpg

    XSPC lackiert 800 01.jpg

    I screwed this one together with the Airplex and 3 powerful 120 x 38mm fans. This will be the heat exchanger for my DFI/ crossfire youngtimer.

    Thai-Chi Brikett.jpg

    As it is impossible to find a chipset cooler for the DFI CFX3200, I had to build one by myself.
    So I took 2 coolers which I couldn't identify, made them fit and soldered them together.

    DFI CFX3200 CPU + Bridges 1200 03.jpg

    03 1024.jpg

    This fits pretty good and I'm happy with it.

    Last but not least I'm building a "pull-out mainboard sled" for the "Thai-Chi" case.

    Thai-Chi Schlitten 800 01.jpg

    just a pic. It's not in use at the moment.

    HK02 800.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2014
  20. toastem2004

    toastem2004

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    127 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Universal City, Texas, USA
    Love reading this thread! I know its not as old as most of the stuff in here, but I just got my hands on a nvidia GT240 GDDR5. Been thinking about swapping it into my system labeled "experimental" in my sig instead of the HD6450, what y'all think? I plan on getting that thing back up n running, got a bunch of old games that just will not play on 7/8 but ran just fine under XP. I tried some of them in a virtualized XP using vmware player, a few were ok, but most did not function.

    Also, found a old compaq from about 2000 in my dads storage unit. If its the one I'm thinking of, it should have a K6-2+ 450MHz skt 7 in it... gonna try to tear into it this weekend.
     
    Doc41 and stinger608 say thanks.
  21. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,983 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    My Slot A win 98se rig.


    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    The ORB!!! :respect:
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,925 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,806
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    Not only is that brilliant, but masterfully put together. You never cease to amaze me, Backfire.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    937 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Finland
    Did a little job today. I got a GF4 MX420 from my uncle and damn that heatsink was like glued on it! Well, AtiTool's artifact scanner for 30min and when the card got enough heat, I finally managed to pop that heatsink out... And guess what? The TIM was that stupid classic bubblegum-like stuff :D And the weirdest thing was that in the chip was text "MX440-SE" :confused:

    Well, took the most bubblegum out with sandpaper and wiped the heatsink too to a little better shape and put some GC-Extreme to it. Some day I must try OC that piece of crap. :D
     
    Doc41 and stinger608 say thanks.
  25. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    My Slot A: 1.0GHz, Rage Fury Maxx, Voodoo 2 SLI, Terratec EWS64 XL

    K7M Athlon 1GHz Rage Fury MAXX 1200.jpg
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)