1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,720 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,570
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Thats what I was thinking, or put it in the other cruncher and sell that cpu, Also need a new SSD.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11,143 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30,883
    A 1045T should get you $100 any day of the week :)
     
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,720 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,570
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    I dont think I would need to reinstall O/S, if I was just doing a swap.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11,143 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30,883
    You should be able to get it done with just a BIOS reset....
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,222
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario Canada
    have to shut the laptop down as its getting too hot and its going with the kids and their mother when they move at the end of the month :(
     
    Norton and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,145 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,816
    Location:
    Washington, US
    This is the exact upgrade I just did. I expected more performance than I got (judging solely on 7-zip performance, which should have been excellent). The 1100T (and PII X6s in general) are still rather good processors. I managed 4GHz-4.2GHz fairly easily on my X6 (with decent voltage) and a (measly) 4.6GHz-4.8GHz on the FX with a bit of voltage (and somewhat high temps). Despite a ~14% clock speed increase on the FX, single-threaded performance actually went down (in 7-zip multi-threaded benchmark, per thread performance). It made up for this with 33% more threads, of course, but still. Actual single-threaded performance is up, thanks to the clock speed (see Anandtech bench link below)

    ..and yes, the OS would boot just fine between processors.

    Anandtech Bench Comparison
     
    Norton and Bow say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,493 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    My 5800k also never leaves 3.8ghz. It actually runs 3.6-3.8ghz. Some weird quirk in the bios. Cadaveca mentioned in his review of my motherboard and they still haven't fixed it. I do use the apu as both cpu and gpu. The ssd is fine in there because it is pretty much new. Mine is not sluggish.

    Yours obviously has something very wrong by ppd and sluggishness. I used to think mine should at leach match my old phenom 965 but, I have now accepted it wont. I don't know what to do for performance for mine.
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,720 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,570
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Thanks for the info:toast:
     
    xvi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,145 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,816
    Location:
    Washington, US
    If you can keep it cool (sig says Corsair water? Should work), the FX would be an upgrade. I'd say if you can get a good price for the FX, it'd probably be a good way to go. All up to preference though.

    (Oh, and I suppose my overclock isn't as bad as I thought. People with my board, my proc and water are actually seeing less speed on more volts with no word on temps. Considering I'm hovering around the 50c mark under load, I may have more room.)
     
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,493 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    You may want to consider @TRWOV 's experiences with his amd rigs too.

    @manofthem, I got my 3930 just now. Unless I have extra complicatations I should have everything switched out tomorrow and what not. How far along are you?
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,720 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,570
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    I have an old H50 that I would upgrade also.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,222
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario Canada
    thats next on my pc list, to build an AMD box :) either A10 or FX, depends on my money situation in the coming months
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,720 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,570
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    With 4 kids, 3 still at home its AMD for the cost all the way.:roll:
     
    stinger608, Norton and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,581 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,069
    Location:
    Florida

    I posted these a bit ago in the PC ATM thread. Just finished my rig late last night, everything back together and running pretty well. Also got the i3 moved into the old Haf but no pics of that yet.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    theonedub, t_ski, Vinska and 5 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,720 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,570
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    :rockout:
    I wonder if I can Crunch on my LG-G2
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,963 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,253
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Lift for said Durango. Love mine.
     
    Bow, xvi, stinger608 and 1 other person say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,782 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,038
    Yes, you can. There's a BOINC client you can run on an android device while it's plugged in.

    I was hoping for more :(
     
    Bow says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  19. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,493 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    Shouldn't it be more? I would think it would equal a phenom quad at 4-4.2ghz.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,782 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,038
    Maybe if I overclocked it and threw in a dedicated GPU...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  21. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,493 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    Do you really think a dedicated gpu would help? An overclock certainly would help.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,581 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,069
    Location:
    Florida
    @james888 how's that rig maintenance going? Looking forward to seeing some pics thrown up when you finish :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,493 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    Two down and the x79 to go. I have 6 cores from 2 cpu's crunching again. Ended up having some friends come to town surprising me, but taking me from my work. I have many pictures taken, and will post when finished.

    X79 6 core running. I desire to overclock it first before it crunches. Test for stability and what not. Previous owner had it at 4.7ghz at lower volts for this kind of chip so... Excited.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2014
    manofthem and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,782 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,038
    Just a guess really. Honestly I have no clue, but I'd be willing to try. Should at least help a little due to the fact that the GPU shares system ram, so a dedicated card should free that up.

    I upgraded this rig to Ubuntu 13.10, and it seems like there is a small amount of graphics corruption: the cursor is squished with a floating box below it.
     
    james888 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11,143 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30,883
    My turn next for a build since I just finished up the two I was working on :)

    This is a rebuild of my folding rig so I can dedicate the 2nd FX-8350 to full time crunching

    Specs (some new/used and some parts from my other rigs):
    GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4
    i3-2100
    2x4GB DDR1600
    HD 7970 LCS
    Swiftech H220
    SeaSonic M12II 750
    CM HAF 932 case (my old one- it's a bit beat up but still great for a water cooling setup)

    Just need to get a decent HDD for it ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)