• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

D

Deleted member 202104

Guest
Day Six of the Time 2022.02 challenge complete.

Looks like we might have this one in the bag. Steady at #1. :D

The Top 10 for today:

1642297929264.png

-----------------------------

Day One of the Compute for the Cure Jan 2022 complete.

Starting to see a pattern with these... We're #1. :lovetpu:

The Top 10 for today:
1642298041269.png


Quick link to the Challenge Stats:

 
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
1,265 (0.47/day)
Location
North Dakota
System Name Office
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Ultra
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock 3
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3050 XC Gaming
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB, Western Digital WD10EZEX
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF
Case Fractal Define 7 Compact
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 550
Mouse EVGA X15
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Home
Day Six of the Time 2022.02 challenge complete.

Looks like we might have this one in the bag. Steady at #1. :D

The Top 10 for today:

View attachment 232554
-----------------------------

Day One of the Compute for the Cure Jan 2022 complete.

Starting to see a pattern with these... We're #1. :lovetpu:

The Top 10 for today:
View attachment 232555

Quick link to the Challenge Stats:


Yeah, it seems like the big hitters don't bother to join the challenges for some reason.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
13,627 (3.24/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill - There are others!! Just no room to put! :D
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
Motherboard Asus Zenith 2 Extreme Alpha
Cooling Lots!! Dual GTX 560 rads with D5 pumps for each rad. One rad for each component
Memory Viper Steel 4 x 16GB DDR4 3600MHz not sure on the timings... Probably still at 2667!! :(
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 3090 with front and rear active full cover water blocks
Storage I'm bound to forget something here - 250GB OS, 2 x 1TB NVME, 2 x 1TB SSD, 4TB SSD, 2 x 8TB HD etc...
Display(s) 3 x Dell 27" S2721DGFA @ 7680 x 1440P @ 144Hz or 165Hz - working on it!!
Case The big Thermaltake that looks like a Case Mods
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 1600W T2
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Razer something or other....
VR HMD No headset yet
Software Windows 11 OS... Not a fan!!
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming! :( :( Not OC'd it!! :(
Yeah, it seems like the big hitters don't bother to join the challenges for some reason.
I do wonder if they don't because of how big a contribution they can make... It's not exactly I guess, 'fighting fair' :confused:

I hope everyone is doing well??
 
D

Deleted member 202104

Guest
I do wonder if they don't because of how big a contribution they can make... It's not exactly I guess, 'fighting fair' :confused:

I hope everyone is doing well??

That's a really good point. I guess it really hadn't set in with me how many points/results and runtime the team produces in comparison.

I'm always up for a good challenge but I suppose, as they say, no one likes a showoff. :shrug:
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,208 (4.44/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I noticed I actually have one HSTB task :peace:
Estimated run time for it is just over 9 hours for one task :eek:
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
13,627 (3.24/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill - There are others!! Just no room to put! :D
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
Motherboard Asus Zenith 2 Extreme Alpha
Cooling Lots!! Dual GTX 560 rads with D5 pumps for each rad. One rad for each component
Memory Viper Steel 4 x 16GB DDR4 3600MHz not sure on the timings... Probably still at 2667!! :(
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 3090 with front and rear active full cover water blocks
Storage I'm bound to forget something here - 250GB OS, 2 x 1TB NVME, 2 x 1TB SSD, 4TB SSD, 2 x 8TB HD etc...
Display(s) 3 x Dell 27" S2721DGFA @ 7680 x 1440P @ 144Hz or 165Hz - working on it!!
Case The big Thermaltake that looks like a Case Mods
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 1600W T2
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Razer something or other....
VR HMD No headset yet
Software Windows 11 OS... Not a fan!!
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming! :( :( Not OC'd it!! :(
I noticed I actually have one HSTB task :peace:
Estimated run time for it is just over 9 hours for one task :eek:
Some of the Africa tasks I get take about 12 to 14 hours..... Wish I could actually get some of those tasks, I'd like to get myself up to 2 years on the project before they close it down, whenever that might be....
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
1,265 (0.47/day)
Location
North Dakota
System Name Office
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Ultra
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock 3
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3050 XC Gaming
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB, Western Digital WD10EZEX
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF
Case Fractal Define 7 Compact
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 550
Mouse EVGA X15
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Home
Some of the Africa tasks I get take about 12 to 14 hours..... Wish I could actually get some of those tasks, I'd like to get myself up to 2 years on the project before they close it down, whenever that might be....

My pool seems to get an ARP every day or three on each machine, but never more than one assigned at any given time to a specific client.
 
D

Deleted member 202104

Guest
My pool seems to get an ARP every day or three on each machine, but never more than one assigned at any given time to a specific client.

Do you have them limited in your device profile? I have mine set to 8 maximum at a time and usually have 6-8 on each machine that use that profile.

1642434840175.png
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,393 (0.92/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
Do you have them limited in your device profile? I have mine set to 8 maximum at a time and usually have 6-8 on each machine that use that profile.

View attachment 232841
You have the hardware to support that setting now that you abandoned Rosetta;). I remember that my old i7 plus 8 GB struggled with more than 2-3 if I was using the PC. I settled for the five year badge with a slight 4 day margin.
 
D

Deleted member 202104

Guest
You have the hardware to support that setting now that you abandoned Rosetta;). I remember that my old i7 plus 8 GB struggled with more than 2-3 if I was using the PC. I settled for the five year badge with a slight 4 day margin.

Very true - I think I remember reading that the maximum recommended number of ARP is no more than your physical cores. Memory requirements are higher as well.

I did suspend Rosetta for the WCG challenges we entered, but after seeing the results I resumed Rosetta yesterday. Nothing but the 'VirtualBox is not installed error' so far. I think the team at U of W just doesn't want to send me any jobs. :)
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,393 (0.92/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
Very true - I think I remember reading that the maximum recommended number of ARP is no more than your physical cores. Memory requirements are higher as well.

I did suspend Rosetta for the WCG challenges we entered, but after seeing the results I resumed Rosetta yesterday. Nothing but the 'VirtualBox is not installed error' so far. I think the team at U of W just doesn't want to send me any jobs. :)
You have to strike at the right time and that was yesterday evening, my time. I got more than I can handle since I changed the run-time from 8 to 12 hours. Ups.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
13,627 (3.24/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill - There are others!! Just no room to put! :D
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
Motherboard Asus Zenith 2 Extreme Alpha
Cooling Lots!! Dual GTX 560 rads with D5 pumps for each rad. One rad for each component
Memory Viper Steel 4 x 16GB DDR4 3600MHz not sure on the timings... Probably still at 2667!! :(
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 3090 with front and rear active full cover water blocks
Storage I'm bound to forget something here - 250GB OS, 2 x 1TB NVME, 2 x 1TB SSD, 4TB SSD, 2 x 8TB HD etc...
Display(s) 3 x Dell 27" S2721DGFA @ 7680 x 1440P @ 144Hz or 165Hz - working on it!!
Case The big Thermaltake that looks like a Case Mods
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 1600W T2
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Razer something or other....
VR HMD No headset yet
Software Windows 11 OS... Not a fan!!
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming! :( :( Not OC'd it!! :(
Guys I'm having a senior moment I think but I just wished to check in with you...

I've got some OPNG work units in and they are ready to go. Sadly for some reason today, they only seem to be completing one at a time. Yesterday they where doing 12 at a time as I had it set in the settings when we did the app_config and cc_config setup back along.

Would anyone know why or what would be stopping it carry on with the GPU work at all??

1642442081863.png


1642442150606.png


Here's my config files as they where yesterday -
app_config

<app_config>
<app>
<name>opng</name>
<max_concurrent>12</max_concurrent>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>0.0833</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>1</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>

cc_config
<cc_config>
<options>
<use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
</options>
</cc_config>

Am I missing something or am I having a senior moment here??
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
307 (0.40/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
app_config.xml looks OK.

I don't really know what cc_config does , but syntax also looks OK.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,393 (0.92/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
Guys I'm having a senior moment I think but I just wished to check in with you...

I've got some OPNG work units in and they are ready to go. Sadly for some reason today, they only seem to be completing one at a time. Yesterday they where doing 12 at a time as I had it set in the settings when we did the app_config and cc_config setup back along.

Would anyone know why or what would be stopping it carry on with the GPU work at all??

View attachment 232849

View attachment 232850

Here's my config files as they where yesterday -
app_config

<app_config>
<app>
<name>opng</name>
<max_concurrent>12</max_concurrent>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>0.0833</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>1</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>

cc_config
<cc_config>
<options>
<use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
</options>
</cc_config>

Am I missing something or am I having a senior moment here??
The app_config looks ok. The last six lines isn’t a part of it, right? Ninja…
Run the file and ask for work or re-start if that doesn’t work.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
13,627 (3.24/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill - There are others!! Just no room to put! :D
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
Motherboard Asus Zenith 2 Extreme Alpha
Cooling Lots!! Dual GTX 560 rads with D5 pumps for each rad. One rad for each component
Memory Viper Steel 4 x 16GB DDR4 3600MHz not sure on the timings... Probably still at 2667!! :(
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 3090 with front and rear active full cover water blocks
Storage I'm bound to forget something here - 250GB OS, 2 x 1TB NVME, 2 x 1TB SSD, 4TB SSD, 2 x 8TB HD etc...
Display(s) 3 x Dell 27" S2721DGFA @ 7680 x 1440P @ 144Hz or 165Hz - working on it!!
Case The big Thermaltake that looks like a Case Mods
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 1600W T2
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Razer something or other....
VR HMD No headset yet
Software Windows 11 OS... Not a fan!!
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming! :( :( Not OC'd it!! :(
Tried shutting down Boinc and restarting it but that came back with the same issue... Tried a restart (cause in IT, that fixes everything more often than not!!) but sadly that's not worked either... I'm getting this now -

1642450532885.png


I think it started last night/this morning after a reboot as I noticed I had a few jobs to do but they were just sat there... I've checked over the preferences...

1642450616827.png


Couldn't see anything in there that would have caused anything that I'm aware of.... Rarely look in there as it is anyways...

1642450728652.png


I can't see what is going on there either....

1642450832672.png


Also noticed that the GPU is not constantly under load via MSI...

1642451044728.png


Am I being stupid or is there an issue there? Is anyone else getting this sort of thing at all?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,393 (0.92/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
The fluctuating load is normal when you run one or few units. The rest of the settings look ok. All that I can suggest is to try 10 and 0.1. The PC is running the correct program, it just read the numbers wrong. This is the best I can do.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
307 (0.40/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
Aren't the maximum number of tasks already running, and is it showing the tasks that are ready to run next as soon as another task is completed?

You can switch between views with a click on the button on the left side to :

"show active tasks" vs "show all tasks"
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
13,627 (3.24/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill - There are others!! Just no room to put! :D
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
Motherboard Asus Zenith 2 Extreme Alpha
Cooling Lots!! Dual GTX 560 rads with D5 pumps for each rad. One rad for each component
Memory Viper Steel 4 x 16GB DDR4 3600MHz not sure on the timings... Probably still at 2667!! :(
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 3090 with front and rear active full cover water blocks
Storage I'm bound to forget something here - 250GB OS, 2 x 1TB NVME, 2 x 1TB SSD, 4TB SSD, 2 x 8TB HD etc...
Display(s) 3 x Dell 27" S2721DGFA @ 7680 x 1440P @ 144Hz or 165Hz - working on it!!
Case The big Thermaltake that looks like a Case Mods
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 1600W T2
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Razer something or other....
VR HMD No headset yet
Software Windows 11 OS... Not a fan!!
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming! :( :( Not OC'd it!! :(
The fluctuating load is normal when you run one or few units. The rest of the settings look ok. All that I can suggest is to try 10 and 0.1. The PC is running the correct program, it just read the numbers wrong. This is the best I can do.
Sadly I've just ran out of the OPNG tasks for the moment, but I've changed it to 10 just for a trial and to see if that makes any difference...
Aren't the maximum number of tasks already running, and is it showing the tasks that are ready to run next as soon as another task is completed?

You can switch between views with a click on the button on the left side to :

"show active tasks" vs "show all tasks"
Well that's the thing, before hand, when the tasks would come, they'd put other tasks on hold, so I'm guessing like a priority type thing? At the moment, this doesn't seem to have been happening and has just done the one at a time... I'll see what happens :) I'll keep my eye on it... If anyone else gets the same sort of thing happening, please do let us know back here :)
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,393 (0.92/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
My two 2xOPNG GPUs are still running like that and my 8x has dried out and has been from before your first post. I will of course report if I see a similar behavior
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
1,265 (0.47/day)
Location
North Dakota
System Name Office
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Ultra
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock 3
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3050 XC Gaming
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB, Western Digital WD10EZEX
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF
Case Fractal Define 7 Compact
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 550
Mouse EVGA X15
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Home
Do you have them limited in your device profile? I have mine set to 8 maximum at a time and usually have 6-8 on each machine that use that profile.

View attachment 232841

Well, it was limited to whatever Maximum Output sets. I'd never dug into the Custom profile until now. Although I think all machines are set to use local prefs (although maybe that only applies to schedule?), so would editing web profile have an effect?
 
D

Deleted member 202104

Guest
Well, it was limited to whatever Maximum Output sets. I'd never dug into the Custom profile until now. Although I think all machines are set to use local prefs (although maybe that only applies to schedule?), so would editing web profile have an effect?

I think I remember that when you opt in to ARP, it defaults to one concurrent job because of the greater system requirements. I can't find anything on the WCG site about it, so I may not know what I'm talking about (wouldn't be the first time).

I think it's either/or for web or local profile. If you choose web it ignores anything you've changed in the client settings.

I moved to using web profiles so I could pick and choose without touching the computer.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
13,627 (3.24/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill - There are others!! Just no room to put! :D
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
Motherboard Asus Zenith 2 Extreme Alpha
Cooling Lots!! Dual GTX 560 rads with D5 pumps for each rad. One rad for each component
Memory Viper Steel 4 x 16GB DDR4 3600MHz not sure on the timings... Probably still at 2667!! :(
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 3090 with front and rear active full cover water blocks
Storage I'm bound to forget something here - 250GB OS, 2 x 1TB NVME, 2 x 1TB SSD, 4TB SSD, 2 x 8TB HD etc...
Display(s) 3 x Dell 27" S2721DGFA @ 7680 x 1440P @ 144Hz or 165Hz - working on it!!
Case The big Thermaltake that looks like a Case Mods
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 1600W T2
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Razer something or other....
VR HMD No headset yet
Software Windows 11 OS... Not a fan!!
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming! :( :( Not OC'd it!! :(
My two 2xOPNG GPUs are still running like that and my 8x has dried out and has been from before your first post. I will of course report if I see a similar behavior
Well, it was limited to whatever Maximum Output sets. I'd never dug into the Custom profile until now. Although I think all machines are set to use local prefs (although maybe that only applies to schedule?), so would editing web profile have an effect?
I couldn't see anything to maximum output set or anything like that, I know there's something there for the how many types of tasks do you wish to have but nothing more that I could see...
I think I remember that when you opt in to ARP, it defaults to one concurrent job because of the greater system requirements. I can't find anything on the WCG site about it, so I may not know what I'm talking about (wouldn't be the first time).

I think it's either/or for web or local profile. If you choose web it ignores anything you've changed in the client settings.

I moved to using web profiles so I could pick and choose without touching the computer.
I normally just leave it to whatever if I'm honest, I don't tend to worry about the tweaking and such, I just crunch whatever comes down :D :D Here's hoping it's sorts itself out a little quickly... I'm on the hunt for points!!
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
307 (0.40/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
I am still puzzled why 3 of my machines won't run OPNG's.
Same program configurations, same profiles and it just won't run them.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
1,265 (0.47/day)
Location
North Dakota
System Name Office
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Ultra
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock 3
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3050 XC Gaming
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB, Western Digital WD10EZEX
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF
Case Fractal Define 7 Compact
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 550
Mouse EVGA X15
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Home
I am still puzzled why 3 of my machines won't run OPNG's.
Same program configurations, same profiles and it just won't run them.

Connect them to F@H instead? My impression from some of @mstenholm's comments (though I can, as always, be wrong) is that there's generally less OPNG work than there are clients to run them. May as well put them to good use somewhere.

(I realize that's not actually a solution to the stated problem.)
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,393 (0.92/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
Connect them to F@H instead? My impression from some of @mstenholm's comments (though I can, as always, be wrong) is that there's generally less OPNG work than there are clients to run them. May as well put them to good use somewhere.

(I realize that's not actually a solution to the stated problem.)
A small number of crunchers from two teams uses cron and Windows Scheduler to query for work every 3-5 minute. They have a great number of decent hardware but they have decreased their involvement in WCG when the nature of jobs increased the run-time without a similar increase in points. When the jobs return to normal they might return and then we will be back to the few jobs again. My low-end GPUs have had jobs more or less constant the past week but my 2070S spend 90-95% of its time in 2D clocks.

F@H is a better bet if you want to stay warm during the winter.
 
Top